We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ocean Crest Motel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oak Island
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

215 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
There are newer reviews for Ocean Crest Motel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 215: English reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2014

Great place.right on the beach, great people.stayed sept 15 thru sept 19. Will be back. Was gonna stay 1 extra night, but would have to moved luggage to another room and being physical handicap that would a problem.only complains were no local map . Their wifi not that great , keep losing signal, the metal chairs in the room are...

1Thank slicrick
Charleston, West Virginia
Reviewed 18 September 2014

Enjoy our visit! Our room was 3 steps from the sand. The hotel staff were wonderful and the people we met were friendly and helpful. Would recommend to couples, singles or family getaways. Excellent rates. Paid for 5 days and stayed 7. Will definitely return there again. Rooms are very clean and well-kept.

1Thank Darlene B
Reviewed 8 September 2014

We just stayed for two nightS while my husband fished at the pier. The staff was so accommodating from start to finish. We made our reservation at the last minute, and everything went smoothly. The room was exceptionally clean though nothing fancy. It came with a fridge, so we saved on eating out. We can highly recommend this motel.

2Thank Ljudy
Afton, New York
Reviewed 3 September 2014

I stayed at the Ocean Crest Motel for the first time a few weeks ago. Awesome experience, very clean, super friendly. The owners were extremely hospitable and they were very involved in the motel itself and the guests. The beach was truly at our doorstep and almost seemed private due to the location. With the beach right outside your door...

2Thank Rachael B
Reviewed 2 September 2014

We have stayed here twice and both times it was a positive experience. We've stayed in an ocean front room both times. The hotel is definitely dated but clean. The front desk staff is friendly and we love the charm of the place. You are steps from the ocean and the motel is close to the grocery store, shopping, and...

1Thank maceidson
Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewed 2 September 2014

This was out first time in Oak Island and first time at Ocean Crest. Our room (yellow building 2nd floor) was small for 2 adults and a baby but very clean. Same with swimming pool, small but clean & well maintained. Can't beat the proximity to the beach for the price! So glad we found this place, we will definitely...

Thank jkos2
Reviewed 30 August 2014

Our 4th year vacationing at Ocean Crest Motel. We absolutely love it!! We recommend you stay if you enjoy friendly people, clean rooms, easy accesses to beach and pier and a nice restaurant all with short walking distance. I need handicap room now, and for past 2 yrs. we have stayed in yellow building which has been GREAT. I'm told...

1Thank Brad R
Steubenville, Ohio
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We had a terrible experience. The room we got was next to leaking ice machine which made the walls in our room moldy. The room was very dark and dirty. While not expecting ocean front we were not told that when you walked out front door you were in the parking lot. The smell was so bad we could not...

6Thank Phyllisnsp
ocmownr, Owner at Ocean Crest Motel, responded to this review

I am very sorry you had a bad experience during your stay. We strive to insure our guests have a great experience. However, problems do occur in any motel as it does within your own home. I assure you that the ice machine problem was corrected the next day and the wall was thoroughly inspected. We did not find any...

Troy, North Carolina
Reviewed 23 August 2014

I loved the hotel! It was very clean and well kept. The office staff was awesome! This was by far the best beach vacation that I have ever had. I look forward to going back soon! Thanks for making our vacation wonderful! :)

2Thank Sharon H
Pinebluff, North Carolina
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Back home after another terrific eight day stay at Ocean Crest. I just can't say enough good things about the staff. Melissa and Sherry were friendly and went out of their way to help us extend our stay and extra day. The Townhouse was awesome as usual and we can't wait to get back there next year.

1Thank Mike R

93 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (93)
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Room/Suite (17)
View from Room (8)
Pool/Beach Area (18)
Bathroom (1)
Videos (1)
Other (31)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oak Island
27.3 km away
Ocean Isle Inn
Ocean Isle Inn
#1 of 3 in Ocean Isle Beach
646 reviews
6.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Southport - Oak Island Area
27.4 km away
Islander Inn
Islander Inn
#3 of 3 in Ocean Isle Beach
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 km away
Hampton Inn Southport
Hampton Inn Southport
#1 of 5 in Southport
477 reviews
9.8 km away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#2 of 5 in Southport
230 reviews
11.3 km away
Wingate by Wyndham Southport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located on the beach providing a unique location on Oak Island and the area. Your choice of 3 room types at fair rates. Stay for 7-Only pay for 5 night special year round. Ask about our awesome oceanfront Townhouse that sleeps 8 persons! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ocean Crest Motel

Address: 1417 E Beach Dr, Oak Island, NC 28465-6557
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Oak Island
Number of rooms: 62
Also Known As:
Ocean Crest Hotel Oak Island
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ocean Crest Motel staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Ocean Crest Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Balcony rooms, when available is worth the money. If not and you want value for your dollar, other bed and breakfast places in Southport.”
 of 5 bubbles mitchhigh, 11 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Yellow building ground floor very quite and no steps!”
 of 5 bubbles ncprism, 11 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ocean views are great!”
 of 5 bubbles C5578EElindah, 9 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Do NOT stay in room 109, it is right next to the ice machine.”
 of 5 bubbles cmatt43, 16 Jul 2016 | Read review
“If you call ahead, they will try to accommodate you.”
 of 5 bubbles gigicharl0tte, 22 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5