We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Silver Lake Motel & Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ocracoke
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
The Silver Lake Motel & Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

164 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 163: English reviews
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 October 2016

My boyfriend and I drove down from Virginia Beach on Friday and were planning to stay the weekend until Sunday. I booked a room at this Motel since it is one of the only 2 pet friendly hotels in Ocracoke and we have 2 dogs. I was thinking if we liked it we could bring the dogs with us next... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank laurendacious
oldobxer, Public Relations Manager at The Silver Lake Motel & Inn, responded to this review

Please excuse my late response, we have been dealing with the aftermath of Hurricane Matthew. I am so sorry you had such a terrible experience. There is nothing else to say. No excuses will make it any better. I am going to try to get in touch with the manager about your refund as soon as I can. I am... More 

Terrytown, Louisiana
Level Contributor
152 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2016

We have stayed at Silverlake Motel before and loved it. We booked this hotel a few months ago when we decided to extend our vacation. During our previous stay we had a suite which was very nice. This time we had a room which was quite small. I did like the fact that it had a linoleum floor. Always nice... More 

Helpful?
Thank flowerchild48
oldobxer, Public Relations Manager at The Silver Lake Motel & Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and for staying at Silver Lake Motel and Inn. We do offer both suites and rooms...and the dog friendly rooms always seem to book up first. No one wants to leave their pup at home and we don't blame them. I am always pleased to hear that you found our staff pleasant so thank you... More 

New Bern, North Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2016 via mobile

We were unhappy with our decision to stay here. Although clean and in a good location, the rooms were extremely shabby as was the outside of the motel. Beds were old and uncomfortable and the kitchen was just okay. To top it off, no one cleaned our room during our 2 day stay. Would not recommend.

Helpful?
Thank laurakaz13
oldobxer, Public Relations Manager at The Silver Lake Motel & Inn, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear that you did not have a good stay and will not recommend us to others. We are not a fancy place, at all, but that does not excuse the fact that you found the bed uncomfortable. And as to why your room was not cleaned, I do not know but will certainly mention to housekeeping.... More 

Burlington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

We needed a room for one night and they do allow one night stays. The place is older and could use some updates. However, it is very clean and we found the staff friendly and helpful. The room had two bedrooms and a deck, and the rate for this was very reasonable. I would have given it four for my... More 

Helpful?
Thank R D
oldobxer, Public Relations Manager at The Silver Lake Motel & Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Silver Lake Motel and Inn. I am glad to hear that you found the room clean and our staff helpful. I am sorry the shower in your parents room did not work, that had to be inconvenient. We do refurbish and repair during the off season months and I hope you will be able... More 

Point Harbor
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2016

This is not what I expected. As a local of the Outer Banks I was looking for a weekend getaway. I should've let my instincts guide me when I had a couple encounters with rude people on the phone when I called to ask questions. Upon arrival we found the door between the rooms was left unlocked, not that big... More 

Helpful?
Thank sunbum4
oldobxer, Public Relations Manager at The Silver Lake Motel & Inn, responded to this review

I am sorry that you were so disappointed in your stay with us. I am quite upset to hear that you were treated rudely on the phone and will be addressing that. No excuses for that, ever. You did not mention if you reported the bugs or mentioned any of the other issues but regardless, you had a bad stay... More 

Greencastle, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2016 via mobile

I have visited Ocracoke before but never stayed. I picked this hotel out online thanks to the website which shows floor plans and pictures of every room. Ricky at the front desk was very helpful and happy to tell us about the island. We had a two bedroom suite which was very spacious and the balcony was huge! Excellent views... More 

Helpful?
Thank ajbaker924
oldobxer, Public Relations Manager at The Silver Lake Motel & Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for your kind review, which is appreciated it. As I have said many times, we are not fancy but we do hope guests find our rooms comfortable and clean and our staff welcoming. Views are always commented on...they are pretty spectacular! Thanks again and please come back More 

Poquoson, Virginia
Level Contributor
140 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2016

Right in the heart of the village is this place staff was friendly they had a good continental breakfast, our room was small but cozy with a great view of the harbor.. could use alittle TLC but otherwise nice.

Helpful?
Thank yorkhavenmarina
oldobxer, Public Relations Manager at The Silver Lake Motel & Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Silver Lake Motel and Inn on Ocracoke Island. And thank you for choosing to stay with us. During the off season (we close in late October) we clean up, fix up and get ready for the next season...so that time is coming up soon. Please come back and thanks again. More 

Tnine Ourika, Morocco
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2016

the staff was the most friendly and accomadating people I have ever met, if I needed any thing they would take care of it. the balcony was the best part, I could set and people watch all day if I wanted or walk to any shops or eating places. I will go back one day.

Helpful?
Thank 220dclark
oldobxer, Public Relations Manager at The Silver Lake Motel & Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of The Silver Lake Motel and Inn on Ocracoke Island. We appreciate hearing from guests and especially so when they had a good time with us. Please come back when you can. More 

Streatley
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2016

This motel on Ocracoke is in a great location overlooking Silver Lake. There are many shops and restaurants within walking distance. We rented a two bedroom suite. It was very comfortable, except for the beds. These are the WORST beds we have ever slept on. The property needs some upkeep and basic landscaping. Don't waste your time with the free... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Streatley
oldobxer, Public Relations Manager at The Silver Lake Motel & Inn, responded to this review

This was not easy to read but I do thank you for your review. I was especially dismayed about the poor customer service you referenced. That is not the way it is supposed to be. We are happy to have guests here and want them to come back. I have sent this to each person at the Silver Lake Motel... More 

Morehead City, North Carolina
Level Contributor
71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2016

Great little hotel in the heart of Ocracoke. Very clean. Decor is dated, but adds to charm. Wood floor and paneling on walls. Complimentary continental breakfast. Within walking distance to restaurants and shops. Can be a bit noisy at night, with The Jolly Roger right across the street. Would definitely stay here again and again!

Helpful?
Thank beamer98
oldobxer, Public Relations Manager at The Silver Lake Motel & Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Silver Lake Motel and Inn. We are not fancy, but we do have charm! It is always rewarding to hear that a guest wants to come back and we hope you do just that. Thanks again More 

57 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (33)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocracoke
28.7 km away
The Breakwater Inn
The Breakwater Inn
#6 of 12 in Hatteras Island
128 reviews
28.6 km away
Village Motel
Village Motel
#5 of 6 in Hatteras Island
2 reviews
29.3 km away
Hatteras Harbor Marina and Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Silver Lake Motel & Inn on Ocracoke Island offers a combination of traditional motel rooms, suites, efficiency units and motel rooms that adjoin suites, allowing guests the availability of an additional bedroom. Many of our rooms and suites at the Silver Lake Motel & Inn have private balcony porches with hammocks for relaxing and for enjoying the beautiful harbor sunset view. Pet friendly rooms are available. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Silver Lake Motel & Inn

Address: 395 Irvin Garrish Highway, Ocracoke, NC 27960
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Ocracoke
Number of rooms: 40
Also Known As:
The Silver Lake Hotel Ocracoke
The Silver Lake Motel And Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Silver Lake Motel & Inn staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question
Corapeake, North Carolina
Warren, Ohio
over a year ago
Lumberton, North Carolina
over a year ago
Columbia City, Indiana
over a year ago

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from The Silver Lake Motel & Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room on an upper floor”
 of 5 bubbles sunbum4, 30 Sep 2016 | Read review
“get the room above the office, it even has a neat bar in the room”
 of 5 bubbles 220dclark, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Upper floors have better views and are likely to be quieter”
 of 5 bubbles TravelinFamilyBoston, 21 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Somewhere else.”
 of 5 bubbles OBXhawkeye, 3 Apr 2016 | Read review
“The rooms in the Inn part may be better. And maybe they have the hammocks that the reviewers talk about.”
 of 5 bubbles LucyLoring, 17 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5