We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Marion Bay Motel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marion Bay
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Marion Bay Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

52 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 50: English reviews
Start your review of Marion Bay Motel
 Click to rate
Adelaide South Australia
Reviewed 12 February 2017

We recently had the pleasure of staying at the Marion Bay Motel. The motel is positioned near the beach, so a lovely walk after dinner on Saturday night. Marion Bay is a small quiet community with the tavern, cafe, general store and jetty all a few steps away. The spotless room was well furnished with a comfortable bed which had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BilferG
Reviewed 25 October 2016

We were very pleased to find this great little Motel hosted by the very friendly and helpful Robyn. Extra care has been taken to make it a cut above your average Motel. Only 5 units so it's always quiet and peaceful. Rooms tastefully decorated. Great location right at the gateway to Innes National Park and the convenience of the Tavern...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LongStraightRoad
marionbaymotel, Owner at Marion Bay Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your thoughtful review and recommendation of the Motel & adjacent Tavern. We do promote that we are a seaside location & unaware of any advertising that we are beachfront & apologise for any misunderstanding. Thanks again. Regards Robyn

Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Reviewed 23 October 2016

This place is just so great. It is simple, stylish++, comfortable and run by a really friendly lady named Robin. It's right next door to the Tavern serving a great evening meal but is shielded from the noise making for a restful stay. It is the perfect place from which to travel into Innes National Park.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan E
marionbaymotel, Owner at Marion Bay Motel, responded to this review

Lovely review thank you. We always appreciate when guests like yourselves make the effort to write a review & promote our beautiful region. Thanks again Regards Robyn

Reviewed 22 October 2016 via mobile

Thank you Robyn for your hospitality and for sharing your wonderful little motel with us! We are rested and relaxed. Very comfy rooms and peaceful. Loved being so close to Innes National Park. The scenery was breathtaking! Hope to see you again one day soon! ❤️

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michelle S
marionbaymotel, Owner at Marion Bay Motel, responded to this review

Thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us & enjoyed our spectacular National Park. Its a wonderful get away & only 3 1/2 hours from the hustle & bustle of the city. So pleased that you felt rested & relaxed. Many thanks Regards Robyn

Elizabeth, Australia
Reviewed 22 October 2016

The Motel is very comfortable with clean rooms nicely painted and decorated. The bed was on the smaller side and more a double bed than a queen size which was a tad small for 2 large adults. The bathroom was nicely outfitted and functional. The many "post it" notes listed throughout the room about various things you can or cannot...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank hotblooded
marionbaymotel, Owner at Marion Bay Motel, responded to this review

Wow what a lengthy review 'Hotblooded' My apology for not responding to your review earlier. I do recall your visit & remember our many chats during your 2 day stay, I would have been quite happy to have supplied a microwave to the room should you have asked for it. We do not advertise that the motel has any cooking...

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 12 September 2016

We've stayed here quite a few times & love it. We like the spacious, modern bathroom and room, love the selection of Foxtel channels (includes several movie choices), beds are comfortable & service is always friendly. The location is central but still quiet. You can walk to the tavern, general store & coffee shop. As mentioned in other reviews Georges...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl P
marionbaymotel, Owner at Marion Bay Motel, responded to this review

Thank you Cheryl for your lovely review of the Motel & what Marion Bay has on offer - Great that you enjoy staying with us & keep returning!!

Reviewed 5 September 2016

Staying in late winter cold outside but cosy inside rain on the roof isolated lovely hosts beautiful spot for a romantic getaway. Recommend to anyone looking for a place to relax and get away from it all with your significant other whether it be a night or longer

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter D
marionbaymotel, Owner at Marion Bay Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, so pleasing to receive a great recommendation such as yours. We are thrilled that you were able to relax & enjoy your special time away. Regards Robyn Virgin

Gawler, Australia
Reviewed 21 August 2016

We stayed in unit 1 and while not luxurious it was lovely. We stayed on a Saturday and Sunday night and it was perfectly located for our day trips to Iness National Park. We ordered take away Indian from George which I highly recommend, although you will need your own knife and fork. Meals in the hotel are lovely and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tanbrimia
marionbaymotel, Owner at Marion Bay Motel, responded to this review

So pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us & ventured into the beautifully rugged Innes National Park for day visits. Georges Curries are very popular & it's great Marion Bay provides a variety of services for visitors to enjoy. Thanks again for great review.

Nanjing, Jiangsu, China
Reviewed 14 July 2016 via mobile

Great food, service and location. Nice wood oven pizza and the seafood basket. Definitely worth the drive. Great view. I do recommend it for your next fishing family trip when you traveling at York Peninsiula especially on the way to Innes National Park.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Arek O
marionbaymotel, Owner at Marion Bay Motel, responded to this review

Whilst this review is a recommendation for the Marion Bay Tavern, the Motel is adjacent & both businesses compliment each other. Offering delicious meals including an extensive menu & all day wood oven pizzas. The Tavern is open every day for lunch & dinner. Reservations are highly recommended & can be made by calling 88544141. Thanks again for your review.

Benalla
Reviewed 4 July 2016

We only stayed one night at Marion Bay, and found the motel to be most adequate. It is very new, and rooms are clean and comfortable, and despite the motel being next to the tavern car park, it was very, very quite at night, and we had a good sleep. Only issue was that is was a conventional double bed,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DidsterBenalla
marionbaymotel, Owner at Marion Bay Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our motel. It is always lovely to hear that guests have enjoyed their stay with us & we value your comments. thanks again Robyn

62 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (37)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (36)

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set in a beachside location & built from corrugated iron & natural timber the studio style complex combines an ultra modern exterior with Australian bush charm. Inside the room - and bathroom- is surprisingly spacious, with decor straight from the pages of a glossy home decorating magazine and quality linen you wouldn't normally expect to find in a country motel. Widescreen LCD TV, R/S Aircon, Foxtel, free WI-FI, bar fridge, tea & coffee facilities & continental breakfast available. The Marion Bay Motel is an accredited organisation & proudly boasts both local & state Tourism Awards. We Provide a high standard of quality customer service giving our guests a memorable experience. The Motel is adjacent the Marion Bay Tavern with fully licensed restaurant, A'la carte menu, Wood-oven pizza, extensive wine list & 10 beers on tap. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Marion Bay Motel

Address: Jetty Road, Marion Bay, South Australia 5575, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Marion Bay
Number of rooms: 5
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Marion Bay Motel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Marion Bay Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for room 1 to be the farthest from the Tavern”
 of 5 bubbles SusanE988, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“All are fantastic”
 of 5 bubbles CherylP631, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are great”
 of 5 bubbles Tanbrimia, 21 Aug 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are equal, one with disabled facilities.”
 of 5 bubbles CarolnBarry, 8 May 2016 | Read review
“There are only 5 rooms one is equiped for a wheelchair the others double plus a single bed”
 of 5 bubbles robynt357, 1 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5