We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Moonta Bay Patio Motel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Moonta
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Moonta Bay Patio Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

60 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 60: English reviews
Start your review of Moonta Bay Patio Motel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Six friends got together for an evening and it was an amazing experience. From the beautiful outlook to the fabulous staff we thought that the whole experience was great! We also couldn't believe the quality of the meals for the price. We had a wide range of meals from pasta to steak and also seafood and it was all cooked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul_Ange64
MBPatio, Manager at Moonta Bay Patio Motel, responded to this review

Hi Paul_Ange64, Thankyou so much for your wonderful review. I'll be sure to pass on your raving review to our chef. We look forward to you dining with us again soon! Kind Regards Management

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We often travel to Moonta as we run tours there from time to time, and have taken to staying at this Motel. The Motel rooms we have always been clean and comfortable. It is also situated close to the beach with the childrens water park next door, so great for families. They have their own restaurant and coffee/bar area. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MossCharm
MBPatio, Manager at Moonta Bay Patio Motel, responded to this review

Hi MossCharm, Thankyou for your great review. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon. Kind Regards Management

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 12 February 2017

stayed 3 nights at this motel after booking it through a travel auction. was disappointed to be given a downstairs room with only a view of the parked cars and houses opposite. the upstairs rooms have balcony & better view. was told by the cleaner we should have been offered a choice of upstairs or downstairs. also no information in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shazza1711
MBPatio, Manager at Moonta Bay Patio Motel, responded to this review

Hi Shazza1711, Upon booking guests are always offered a choice of upstairs or downstairs accommodation. The only reason you wouldn't have been offered an upstairs room would be due to them already being reserved. Travel auctions are always sought after and we always recommend booking in advance to avoid disappointment. We offer a copy of our extensive A la carte...

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 7 February 2017

Three of us stopped over just for a night and it was quite a comfortable room for the night but it might have been a little small for longer term stays (like a week). The bathroom was a bit tight with out-dated décor but everything was clean and functional including the air con and tv. The window was big and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cameroda
MBPatio, Manager at Moonta Bay Patio Motel, responded to this review

Hi cameroda, Thankyou for taking the time to review us, we've taken on board your comments and will review them appropriately. We have on offer our amazing espresso coffee every morning which you can opt for at breakfast. We do hope you stay with us again as we look forward to your next visit with us. Kind Regards Management

Reviewed 28 January 2017 via mobile

Booked a last minute trip to moonta and throughly enjoyed our stay. Had dinner and brekkie there and couldn't fault the meals or service. My wife was very happy with the gay time dessert and cake for breakfast

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daniel S
MBPatio, Manager at Moonta Bay Patio Motel, responded to this review

Hi Daniel S, Thankyou for your lovely review, we look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind Regards Management

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 3 January 2017

Overall it's in great location with spacious rooms overlooking the jetty. Very close to the main road, can be noisy sometimes. The pillows are not my type. I didn't sleep well with that soft pillow. Unlike other motels we stayed it doesn't have a microwave or toaster, obviously they try to encourage the guests to have meals in their restaurant....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 9Clouds
MBPatio, Manager at Moonta Bay Patio Motel, responded to this review

Hi 9Clouds, Unfortunately we do not offer self contained rooms. We offer breakfast daily and dinner 6 nights a week in our restaurant. However our rooms do offer tea and coffee making facilities and they also have a bar fridge. I would like to state that our Wi-Fi is 500mb per day for 3 devices for each room. Thankyou for...

Reviewed 28 December 2016 via mobile

Superb location and delicious evening meal with sea views to the jetty. Room was clean, bed comfortable and breakfast was good value ($9), again with seaviews from enclosed verandah area. Pleasant service, great stay and will come again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adam H
MBPatio, Manager at Moonta Bay Patio Motel, responded to this review

Hi Adam H, Thankyou for your wonderful review of our establishment, we're happy to hear that you enjoyed your time here. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind Regards Management

Reviewed 16 November 2016 via mobile

We enjoyed our time here. The rooms were clean and a good size. Housekeeping tidied the room well. The staff were friendly and made our stay very pleasant. It's close to the beach and there a good views of the sea. We brought bicycles with this and there only difficulty was there was no where to store them on our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
MBPatio, Manager at Moonta Bay Patio Motel, responded to this review

Hi Micheal M, Thank you for your review, we're glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We do apologize for not having appropriate spacing for push bikes on the balcony. We hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards Management

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 13 November 2016 via mobile

Our room was clean and comfortable. Nice meal at the restaurant at the motel. Good menu to choose from plus great breakfast every morning looking out across the water and jetty. Staff were excellent and obliging. Motel is situated close to the jetty and the beach. Will stay at the motel again when we next visit Moonta.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn K
MBPatio, Manager at Moonta Bay Patio Motel, responded to this review

Hi Carolyn K, Thank you so much for your kind review of our motel and restaurant. We look forward to your next visit to Moonta Bay. Kind Regards Management

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 12 November 2016 via mobile

This is a nice room, not fancy, but comfy, nice new shower room, clean. The bed was a little firm, but that wouldn't have been such a problem if the storm hadn't kept us awake! Lots of parking, very pleasant staff, lovely view of the bay. And the restaurant was very good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank slycarole
MBPatio, Manager at Moonta Bay Patio Motel, responded to this review

Hi slycarole, Thank you for your review, that storm did hit the motel very hard. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to your next stay with us. Kind Regards Management

31 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moonta
0.0 km away
Moonta Bay Accommodation
Moonta Bay Accommodation
#1 of 2 in Port Moonta
3 reviews
0.2 km away
Moonta Bay Caravan Park
2.8 km away
Port Hughes Tourist Park
Port Hughes Tourist Park
#1 of 1 in Port Hughes
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 km away
Wallaroo Marina Apartments
18.2 km away
Kadina Gateway Motor Inn
14.9 km away
Copper Coast Hotel
Copper Coast Hotel
#2 of 2 in Wallaroo
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
If you're looking for accommodation in Moonta Bay, the recently renovated Moonta Bay Patio Motel offers clean, comfortable rooms with all modern conveniences. The easy access car park free of charge is suitable for boat trailers. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Moonta Bay Patio Motel

Address: 196 Bay Rd, Moonta, South Australia 5558, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Moonta
Number of rooms: 18
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Moonta Bay Patio Motel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Moonta Bay Patio Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms at the front of the building offer better views”
 of 5 bubbles MossCharm, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Next time I will be asking for an upstairs room as it has a balcony.”
 of 5 bubbles cameroda, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ground level facing Bay Road is excellent. Meals (Breakfast and Evening) are great and good value.”
 of 5 bubbles RonaldR122, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
“we had a ground floor room so can't really comment.”
 of 5 bubbles anitak335, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on the front have a sea view”
 of 5 bubbles annerosemaryw, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5