We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Guichen Bay Motel

Orbitz.comUS$76*
View Deal
#4 of 8 Hotels in Robe
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$78*
US$76*
US$78*
US$76*
US$78*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Professional photos
Guichen Bay Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

168 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Guichen Bay Motel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 151: English reviews
Athelstone
Reviewed 24 January 2017

The motel is just okay. Nothing to praise, definitely not a great place. The unacceptable part of the experience was unkind staff. At least the staff I spoke to (three people) were impatient and simply very rude. Far from friendly or helpful. This is one quality I find hard to accept. I do not know who the owners are, but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HirisPl
David F, Manager at Guichen Bay Motel, responded to this review

We believe this review is a spiteful response from a person who did not even stay at our motel but tried to park on premises whilst seeking shade to do some texting. When challenged by staff and asked to leave because she was restricting access for our clients she said she would be only 5 minutes. After another 10 minutes...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 16 January 2017

I'm a bit down on Australian motels and have stopped reviewing but Dave and Ant are the best hosts I've ever come across in a motel so I have come of review retirement to make an exception for the Guichen Bay. They are friendly, welcoming and helpful and the rooms, while certainly not flash, are comfortable and clean and (in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ATG66
David F, Manager at Guichen Bay Motel, responded to this review

Thanks guys for the fantastic review. It is easy when dealing with nice people and hopefully we will see you back some day.

Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

I am a harsh marker but this is a pretty fair review. The rooms were small and not worth the $120 per night we paid to stay there. It was a 3 night minimum which should be illegal as far as I am concerned, it is an awful rule, just because it is holiday time. Otherwise the outside BBQ area...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matthew M
David F, Manager at Guichen Bay Motel, responded to this review

I understand your concerns Matthew but we are a business and the simple fact is there is strong demand to the extended stay over that peak period. Conversely we run three night packages in the off season including an extra night free during May and August including a bottle of wine.

Wester Cape
Reviewed 29 December 2016

As far as motels go, this one was pretty poor. Room was reasonably clean except for the dirt in out of sight areas. The owners are lovely and accomodating, but the rooms and the location is undesirable I'm afraid. It's a room and then you have some garden furniture outside overlooking the car park. The walls are paper thin so...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank D_Dubb015
David F, Manager at Guichen Bay Motel, responded to this review

I think guest should look and the features and benefits of motels when booking. Clearly we were not the standard of accommodation these guests were looking for. Happily a large majority of guests who stay with us are happy as evidenced by the number of positive reviews.

Reviewed 28 December 2016

We arrived there at 6:45pm for check in, David greeted us at the reception providing us a detailed map of Robe with descriptions regardless we were 15 minutes before the closing time of the reception. The room was clean and perfect, just that the water tab inside toilet could not be turned off so we contacted David straight away. David...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank fan c
David F, Manager at Guichen Bay Motel, responded to this review

I am glad we enjoyed your stay despite the plumbing problem. Sometimes things do go wrong which are outside our control. All we can do is respond quickly and ensure our guests are well looked after.

Canberra
Reviewed 20 December 2016

Stayed here for one night with my wife and baby. I called ahead on the day and upon mentioning we had a baby the owners insisted on upgrading us to the family room for no extra charge which was much appreciated. The room was very large, clean and comfortable. There was a nice looking pool but it was not pool...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Firey500Canberra
Novar Gardens, Australia
Reviewed 11 December 2016

Came don here on business for a couple of days and found the motel to be very quiet and comfortable. David made sure that I knew all of the local attractions and places to see - even though it was a business trip.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Schoppy68
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 December 2016

Dave was an excellent host, he welcomed us and provided all the information we needed. The room was spotlessly clean and equipped to exactly the standard we expected. The motel is very well located in Robe. Thank you Dave, you made a difference!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank caroway
Benalla, Australia
Reviewed 26 November 2016 via mobile

Good value motel in the heart of town yet quiet. Owner David very friendly and helpful. We had room 14 - a double, which was clean, comfortable and looked like it had been recently updated. Couldn't ask for more.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gjenny1956
Gibsons, Canada
Reviewed 22 November 2016

The location is good. The reception was impressive. The room was spotlessly clean, the queen bed was very comfortable, and the bathroom was fully functional and efficient. The room itself was small and basic. Overall not good value.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan S

55 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (20)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Robe hotels
0.7 km away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#1 of 8 in Robe
350 reviews
0.3 km away
Robetown Motor Inn and Apartments
1.1 km away
Harbour View Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Best Western Melaleuca Motel
1.0 km away
Robe Haven Motel
Robe Haven Motel
#8 of 8 in Robe
67 reviews
2.0 km away
Discovery Parks - Robe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Centrally located in the main street of the pretty and popular seaside village of Robe, South Australia, our 3.5 Star motel has 17 clean and comfortable ground floor units with reverse cycle air conditioning, flat screen TV with Foxtel, tea & coffee facilities, toaster, hair dryer, iron & ironing board, parking at the door, and free wireless internet. Guests are encouraged to enjoy our outdoor pool and spa or make use of the BBQ in our well maintained garden setting. A short stroll to shopping, hotels, restaurants and cafes, and minutes to local attractions such as the fabulous Guichen Bay with its many sandy beaches including the famous Long Beach. And don't miss the chance to visit the Obelisk, Old Gaol, Historic Buildings, Art Galleries and Lake Butler boat haven. A short drive to rugged coastlines, inland Lakes, Pine Forests and Conservation Parks, and some of the country's premium wine districts, including Mt Benson, Cape Jaffa, and the renowned Coonawarra region. A perfect place to enjoy water sports of all kinds, play a lazy round of golf, take a joy flight in a Tiger Moth aircraft or relax and enjoy premium local food and wines, our staff are ready to help make your stay a memorable one. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Guichen Bay Motel

Address: 42 Victoria St, Robe, South Australia 5276, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Robe
Price Range: $102 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Guichen Bay Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Guichen Bay Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Guichen Bay Motel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Guichen Bay Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“there are none”
martinffm, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Family room has a convenient glass door to the back street.”
ATG66, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All the rooms are equal.”
caroway, 10 Dec 2016 | Read review
“On the main road into Robe but as it is situated at the back of the motel it is very quiet”
537maureent, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“perfect location”
maryd2001, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Orbitz.com
US$76* /night
View Deal
TravelocityUS$76
TripAdvisorUS$78
Booking.comUS$78
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates