We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Alpine Retreat Mt Buller

Traveller (28)
Room & Suite (14)
Video
About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Alpine Retreat Mt Buller combines the facilities of a hotel with the warm and cosy atmosphere of a ski lodge, some spectacular views and plenty of retro alpine charm. Offering four floors of facilities to fill every hour of your Mt Buller holiday, come and enjoy our budget family accommodation just a 200m walk from the centre of the Mt Buller alpine village. Our warm and cosy bunk rooms offer great value accommodation at the snow, continental breakfast included! They're perfect for family ski and snow holidays or for groups of friends looking to enjoy the Mt Buller snow on a budget. All rooms benefit from ensuite bathrooms, under-floor heating, flat-screen TVs and luggage storage. Come home from the slopes to relax in the pool, sink into the comfy sofas of our TV and Games Room, enjoy a delicious meal at Dolomiti Italiano Restaurant or chill out with a drink and a game of pool at Off-Piste Bar. Let Danny take care of all your ski, board and winter clothing hire needs in our in-house ski shop, while our friendly staff look after the rest of your stay. This season STAY, EAT, PLAY, RELAX - all at the Alpine Retreat Mt Buller.
Read more
Property amenities
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Pool
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Spa
Babysitting
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Concierge
Heated pool
Indoor pool
Multilingual Staff
Non-Smoking Hotel
Public Wifi
Self-Serve Laundry
Shuttle Bus Service
Show more
Room features
Family Rooms
Non-Smoking Rooms
Refrigerator in room
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Mountain View
HOTEL CLASS
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
Reviews & more
235Reviews
72Photos
1Q+A
53Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 55
  • 83
  • 53
  • 19
  • 25
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Alpine Retreat Mt Buller provides basic accommodation offering everything you need in walking distance to the village. It was great having a restaurant on the premises so that other than going out skiing there was no need to leave!
Read more
Response from AlpineRetreat3723, Manager at Alpine Retreat Mt Buller
Responded Oct. 1, 2018
Thanks for reviewing us, it's always good to hear that you had everything you needed for a great stay at the snow. Hope to see you back again next winter!
Read more
Good value for money as far as accommodation goes. Room was basic (70's décor) but warm and comfortable. Staff where of the extremes some great and some just not interested (maybe due to end of ski season apathy). Ski hire was the worst experience ever mostly helped by Danny
Read more
Response from AlpineRetreat3723, Manager at Alpine Retreat Mt Buller
Responded Oct. 1, 2018
Thanks for reviewing us, I'm happy to hear that you found us good value for money. I do apologise for your experience in Ski Hire and for the cigarette butts. We are located in a National Park and I am always surprised at smokers' disregard for the environment, but while we do try to stay on top of this, unfortunately this is also exacerbated by the snow melt which reveals more and more at the end of the season. The pool tables will be receiving new covers next season since they have obviously been well used this winter. Hope to see you back then!
Read more
Our rooms were small but adequate - overall better than expected, although the mattress quality left a lot to be desired. We were there for a family holiday and therefore didn’t spend a lot of time in our rooms. The breakfast was very basic, with no real service. Didn’t like the
Read more
Response from AlpineRetreat3723, Manager at Alpine Retreat Mt Buller
Responded Oct. 1, 2018
Thanks for reviewing us and happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We do advertise that we don't provide cooking facilities in the Alpine rooms - we offer microwaves as an extra service for those with dietary requirements but do not guarantee their availability, although there is one for all guests to use on the Replenishment Station on the third floor. These are also easily broken but not easy to replace in a ski resort with no hardware shops. Maybe next time you would like to consider booking one of our apartments which have fully equipped kitchenettes so you can cook up family meals. Hope to see you back again next winter.
Read more
We booked this accommodation as part of an online deal and could not have been more pleased. The location was so convenient, just a short stroll from the village and main chairlifts. The decor is a little dated but very comfortable. The only issue we had was that the room got
Read more
Response from AlpineRetreat3723, Manager at Alpine Retreat Mt Buller
Responded Oct. 1, 2018
Thanks for reviewing us, great to hear you enjoyed your stay so much. It is difficult to set the thermostats at the the end of the season when temperatures can fluctuate so much from one day to the next and some people do feel the cold, but looking forward to seeing you again next winter!
Read more
We were a family of 5 between the ages of 6 & 53 who thoroughly enjoyed our 5 night stay in a Mezzanine room with a wonderful view of Bourke Street slopes. The kids loved the games room and pool of course. Breakfast is simple but enough to fill our tummy's everyday, my kids
Read more
Response from AlpineRetreat3723, Manager at Alpine Retreat Mt Buller
Responded Sep. 25, 2018
Thanks for taking the time to write such a lovely review, we're so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you back next winter!
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Pool & BeachFamily and Play Areas
Photo provided by managementAlpine Retreat Mt Buller
Alpine room for 5
Photo provided by managementAlpine Retreat Mt Buller
Mezzanine rooms for 6
View 20 feet from the hotel. Just beautiful.
PreviousNext
123
Hello, Thanks for your questions - Jaimi-Lee is correct, vehicle access is restricted into the Mt Buller alpine village during the winter so you cannot drive to or park at Alpine Retreat or any of the other accommodations in the village. Car parks for overnight guests are located about 2km before the entrance to the village and, from there, oversnow taxis will drop you off at your lodge (costing around $24pp). Once you are in the alpine village, though, everything is within walking distance and there are also free shuttle buses to take you around the village and to the ski slopes if you prefer not to walk
1 vote
Show all answers
"Stay away from rooms near to the bar to avoid the noise"
"Good all rounder."
"This place doesn't have a microwaves in the rooms, however it does have a communal microwave for people to use"
"We had a ground room with a bit of a view - window was almost burried under the snow. Upper floors have better views."
"great location"
PreviousNext
12345611
PRICE RANGE
US$126 - US$409 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
alpine retreat hotel mount buller
LOCATION
AustraliaVictoriaMount Buller
NUMBER OF ROOMS
25
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing