We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Wilmingtonian

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Wilmingtonian
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

212 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Wilmingtonian
See the most recent reviews
Showing 209: English reviews
Reviewed 13 November 2014

I stayed just one night in a suite at the Wilmingtonian and liked it. It has a great location, walking distance from everything downtown. The kitchen is quite usable, full size frig, stove, and supplies to cook with. It is a place one could book a long stay and would work well. It even has a stacked washing machine/dryer. It...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank David S
erich1102, Front Office Manager at The Wilmingtonian, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review. We hope to see you again soon!

Raleigh, NC
Reviewed 5 October 2014

I stayed at this quaint hotel many years ago and had a wonderful experience, very clean , nice furniture, no "cookie cutter" rooms, very pleasant. I was so looking forward to return this past weekend in town on business. The room I had was very "run down" The couch in the living area was so stained I would not even...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank MDDay
erich1102, Front Office Manager at The Wilmingtonian, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We count on guests like you to help us maintain a property that we can be proud of. Please know that we agreed with your recommendation that we remove the couch in this suite and immediately ordered a replacement. We are also looking into replacing windows for the building and, of course, the other minor...

Charleston, South Carolina
Reviewed 1 October 2014

We escaped to Wilmington for one night to celebrate our 20th anniversary and to see a band play. We stumbled onto the Wilmingtonian as they were the only Inn in town that didn't make us have a two night reservation. What a pleasant surprise! The Inn is located in walking distance to all the great restaurants and nightlife of downtown...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank HippieChickee
erich1102, Front Office Manager at The Wilmingtonian, responded to this review

Thank you for this great review! We can't wait to see you on your next trip to Wilmington!

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 29 September 2014

The Wilmingtonian was recommended to me by a colleague and did not disappoint. The location is fantastic, with great access to all the shops, bars and coffee places you could ever need, and it is well within walking distance to the Cape Fear for evening walks or historical tours. The room was definitely old, but everything was in working order....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 604BVan
erich1102, Front Office Manager at The Wilmingtonian, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. It's great to hear that you had a pleasant stay in our city. We hope to see you again very soon.

Mt airy
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

I booked this hotel way in advance. I called about a month before our reservation to inform them it was for my 20th anniversary. I wanted to have a romantic room. The lady told me she would give us the Maritime House Captains Quarters. When we arrived we were given a room in the cinema house. I told the gentleman...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bjjctrips
erich1102, Front Office Manager at The Wilmingtonian, responded to this review

Once again, we apologize for the mistake. It was a simple case of human error. We hope that the larger room and the discounted rate helped to offset some of the disappointment.

Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Reviewed 17 August 2014

This is an amazing place. First of the team at the Front Desk so nice and welcoming, Housekeeping staff was great and very nice as well. My daughter and I were in town over night to see a show and meet up with some friends and we had an amazing time. Room was very clean and comfortable we were in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank James C
erich1102, Front Office Manager at The Wilmingtonian, responded to this review

It's great to hear that you had a pleasant stay at our inn. Thank you for choosing us and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed in the Lighthouse Suite July 2014. Room was clean and comfortable. Bed was comfortable, shower had good water pressure, and there was a nice sitting area that included a small dining table and kitchenette with microwave, sink and mini-fridge, Balcony with rocking chairs overlooking a well-kept garden area that was in full bloom and would have been much...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Jeff and Pam J
erich1102, Front Office Manager at The Wilmingtonian, responded to this review

Thank you so much! Sorry to hear that the weather didn't cooperate. Might I suggest another visit in October when the weather is absolutely gorgeous...? Again, thank you and we hope to see you again very soon.

Statesville, North Carolina
Reviewed 2 August 2014

we stayed here because our hotel of choice was booked. The Charleston suite was recommended and we were elated at its spaciousness, cute kitchen, nice bedroom and bathroom and the fact that there was a tv in both the bedroom and livingroom...with dish network. we enjoyed the balcony and looking down at the courtyard. the interior was clean and comfortable...the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kay P
erich1102, Front Office Manager at The Wilmingtonian, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. We apologize for the state of the roof and the courtyard area. During the time of your stay we were having an issue with one of the roofs. The repair of which affected the state of the courtyard as well. The problem has since been remedied. We hope to see you again soon!

Soperton, Georgia
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Cute property on the outside and in good downtown location. Suite bedroom is roomy. Okay. That is the positives. Bed was so hard I slept on the couch all night, Bed post was broken off and I made a point of telling them at checkin. It had to be seen by maid as it was leaning at an angle very...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Loopylue
erich1102, Front Office Manager at The Wilmingtonian, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Again let me apologize, we definitely dropped the ball here. Please know that we took immediate action to rectify these issues. Our housekeeping staff was informed of the items in the bathroom and received additional training including checking power outlets to make sure that only lamps are plugged into outlets that are controlled by light...

Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I stayed here this past weekend for a wedding and I thought it was adorable. It is an older hotel, but my room was very clean and cozy and I loved the location! It was nice that the office had beverages and snacks available. The front office staff was very nice! There was a gentleman working the night shift and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ChelsWCU1224
erich1102, Front Office Manager at The Wilmingtonian, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. We're so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again very soon.

76 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (75)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our hotel is located in historic, downtown Wilmington surrounded by beautifully restored 19th-century homes and tree-lined neighborhoods, the meticulously renovated Wilmingtonian Inn extends an invitation to unwind, relax, and absorb the romantic ambiance of Cape Fear Country. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Wilmingtonian

Address: 101 S 2nd St, Wilmington, NC 28401-4401
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Price Range: $165 - $287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Wilmingtonian 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your The Wilmingtonian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wilmingtonian Hotel Wilmington
Wilmingtonian Hotel Wilmington
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Wilmington
#18 Business Hotel in Wilmington
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Wilmingtonian staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Poughkeepsie, New York
9 months ago
West Union, West Virginia
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Wilmingtonian staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Note: The room had a microwave, it's just that it didn't work.”
115jaym, 2 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for an end unit for more windows.”
GoWolfpack, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“If possible choose a room overlooking the courtyard and away from the road.”
LJinSC, 24 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Room 21! The Captains quarters.”
732greggk, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Higher rooms can only be accessed by stairs in the Cinema House”
23betty, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5