We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Wilmingtonian

Save
Traveller (101)
Room & Suite (44)
Dining (5)
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
Overview
  • Excellent48%
  • Very good29%
  • Average12%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“rocking chairs”(26 reviews)
“four poster bed”(6 reviews)
“full kitchen”(19 reviews)
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Air Conditioning
Non-Smoking Hotel
Suites
Kitchenette
3 Star Hotel
All hotel details
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (237)
There are newer reviews for The Wilmingtonian
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
234 results
Traveller rating
108
70
28
20
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
108
70
28
20
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrocking chairsfour poster bedfull kitchenwasher dryercharlie chaplinno elevatorbig boxfresh muffinsa small dining tablegranola barsliving areawithin walking distanceliving room and bedroomsmall apartmentreception areahistoric downtownthe river
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
81 - 85 of 234 reviews
Reviewed 7 December 2015

This is an older hotel that is well kept and very comfortable. It is not sleek like some of the high end hotels such as the Marriott or Hilton. The rooms are large and well equipped and the outdoor space is accessible and enjoyable. We...More

1  Thank Joel N
Response from erich1102, Front Office Manager at The WilmingtonianResponded 28 December 2015

Thank you for this great review. It's good to hear positive feedback about our staff and that attention to detail is appreciated. We look forward to seeing you again.

Reviewed 28 October 2015

Stayed 3 nights at this fabulous little "Bohemian" jewel in a terrific location. We could not have asked for anything else. We have stayed here many times and it never disappoints. The hotel is close to a lot of interesting nightlife and restaurants and has...More

Thank William C
Response from erich1102, Front Office Manager at The WilmingtonianResponded 2 November 2015

Thank you. Glad to hear that we have another loyal customer. Come back soon!

Reviewed 17 October 2015

My husband and I have stayed at the Wilmingtonian many times since 2005 and have never been disappointed. The rooms, service and location have always been what we wanted. It is a very nice clean historic place, low key, and has an old school charm...More

Thank kathy6149433
Response from erich1102, Front Office Manager at The WilmingtonianResponded 2 November 2015

Thank you so much for the review. We're always glad to have you. See you again soon.

Reviewed 17 October 2015

Large rooms, well located and good people. No real breakfast. Coffee, drinks, fruit, and muffins available all day long. No beach, no pool, no exercise area. Without a room safe and the dead bolt not working we did not feel security was sufficient. The room...More

Thank Wallyjoe
Response from erich1102, Front Office Manager at The WilmingtonianResponded 2 November 2015

Thank you for your review. We do not advertise a continental breakfast, but we do have the following items available, with no limit, for free all day long: soda, water, juices, yogurt, muffins, fruit, popcorn, snack bars, etc. Unfortunately, the city of Wilmington has no...More

Reviewed 12 October 2015

The Wilmingtonian was perfect for our needs for one night in downtown. We were attending a friend's wedding one block down & we didn't want to have to drive after the wedding. So, the location of this hotel was perfect for us, and is perfect...More

Thank b3inRaleigh
Response from erich1102, Front Office Manager at The WilmingtonianResponded 2 November 2015

Thank you for the suggestion on the carpet for your Maritime house suite. We count on guests like you to help us be the best we can be. We look forward to your next visit.

View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Wilmington, NC
See allSee all
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Microwave
Refrigerator in room
Details
Price range
US$159 - US$259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#12 Romantic Hotel in Wilmington
#18 Business Hotel in Wilmington
Room types
Suites, Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$159 - US$259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#12 Romantic Hotel in Wilmington
#18 Business Hotel in Wilmington
Room types
Suites, Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (101)
Room & Suite (44)
Dining (5)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
lildeb20
23 July 2016|
Answer
Response from erich1102 | Property representative |
Regular filter type coffee makers. We provide coffee, filters, cream and sugar for free.
0
Votes
1hreid
16 April 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from erich1102 | Property representative |
Our property has two rooms that have two double beds in them. These rooms are both in the Cinema House and are not listed online. Please call us to check on rates and availability for these rooms! (910) 343-1800.
0
Votes
Jamie B
9 September 2014|
Answer
Response from erich1102 | Property representative |
Good evening. I am glad you asked. As a lot of people have the same question. No we do not charge your card until you check out. So if you wish to pay using another card or cash you may do so. However if you make... More
1
Vote
Room Tips
"Maritime has unique history of having been a residence for nuns."
Read review
"Great location, hotel ambience and comfort."
Read review
"I think ours was room 2 - ground floor. Queen sized bed."
Read review
"Face courtyard vs bed to street IF a light sleeper."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing