We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

148 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington
See the most recent reviews
Showing 146: English reviews
Reviewed 1 November 2016 via mobile

I loved my little room at Howard Johnson Express Inn. It has two queen sized beds, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, cute circle shaped mirrors, everything you need to be comfortable. The only draw back is it smells like this room was recently converted from a smoking room to a non-smoking room. I have horrible allergies to smoke so I've been...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RamonaL34
HotelGM329, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington, responded to this review

Dear Robin G, Thank you for completing our guest satisfaction survey and letting us know about your recent experience at our hotel. I am so sorry that you smelled smoke in your room and I want to assure you that we do our best to ensure that smokers do not smoke in our non-smoking rooms; and when a situation like...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 27 October 2016

I was looking for a cheaper rate for my one night stay and I got my money's worth. Overwhelming musty smell and a night's sleep on top of the covers and one of my shirts covered the pillows.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank bwm943
HotelGM329, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience, and I apologize if you did not feel that our housekeeping met your own standards of cleanliness, though our own standards are very high and include checking up to ensure that rooms are as clean as can be. We want you to experience the best value for your money, to feel comfortable, and to...

Wilmington, North Carolina
Reviewed 26 October 2016

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank E9170MKrobinp
HotelGM329, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington, responded to this review

Wilmington, North Carolina
Reviewed 16 October 2016

Everything was wonderful except the breakfast! Good customer service.. The room was beautiful well put together... Can't wait to visit again...

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank saramceachin
HotelGM329, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington, responded to this review

Thank you very much for sharing your travel experience you had with us. I am happy to learn that you enjoyed the value and the convenient location of our hotel! On behalf of our entire staff, we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area.

Mebane, North Carolina
Reviewed 4 October 2016

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Phillip C
HotelGM329, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington, responded to this review

Mebane, North Carolina
Reviewed 25 September 2016

My husband and I had been trying to get back to the beach since August! Finally made a quick one night 2-day trip to Kure Beach but stayed in Wilmington. Didn't want to spend much money since it was just one night. Big mistake! By far the worst place we have ever stayed at in Wilmington. The minute we opened...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank memecoble
HotelGM329, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington, responded to this review

Dear memecoble, Thank you for sharing your experience, and I apologize if you did not feel that our housekeeping met your own standards of cleanliness, though our own standards are very high and include checking up to ensure that rooms are as clean as can be. We want you to experience the best value for your money, to feel comfortable,...

Concord
Reviewed 21 September 2016

The toilet was plugged when we got there. When we called the desk the clerk expected me to come get the plunger and fix it myself. I got very angry. She did find "someone". I think he didn't want to come down.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katherine F
HotelGM329, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington Hotel , your feedback and your comments regarding your stay. I do apologize for the problem our staff has caused you regarding with the toilet . We look forward for a general orientation soon so we can better our services to our customers. We also promise to resolve the...

Spartanburg, South Carolina
Reviewed 30 August 2016

From the time I made my reservations until the time I checked in. The Hospitality was great. They even offered me a king size bed instead twin beds at no extra charge. I appreciate the quality service.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Z4103OCcathyd
HotelGM329, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington, responded to this review

Thank you again for your feedback! Our primary aim is to give you a comfortable and accommodating experience, and we are very pleased to hear of our success in this ambition. It means so much to us to hear of the success of our staff efforts to provide a comfortable and accommodating experience. Your feedback will serve as encouragement to...

Vienna, Virginia
Reviewed 30 August 2016

For 100 bucks a night I felt that this hotel is in the Motel 6 category. The location had a few folks loitering around the premise which made me felt unsafe. The interior room looks like they were just remodel but done in a cheap and poor way..where I come from it's call "slap up job". If I paid below...

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank doann663
HotelGM329, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our survey and share your experience! I am very sorry to hear of the difficulties you experienced with our internet connection, We already informed the management about this already as we see this a serious matter. We promise to be more careful soon as we believe that our customer's convenience are at...

Reviewed 21 August 2016 via mobile

I recently booked a room here and made reservations through hotels.com. Manger told me I could stay there without a backup credit card even thought the room was paid for. Got there and wouldn't follow through on promise. Now that I'm here need to find another room.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lynda W
HotelGM329, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our survey and share your experience! I am so disappointed to hear that you were so dissatisfied with our accommodations and services and that our rating for your experience is so low. It's important for us to impress our guests and your comments will make this goal that much more attainable. It...

46 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
2.1 km away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#24 of 45 in Wilmington
73 reviews
3.3 km away
Suburban Extended Stay of Wilmington
2.3 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Wilmington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Red Roof Inn Wilmington
Red Roof Inn Wilmington
#40 of 45 in Wilmington
228 reviews
1.6 km away
Jameson Inn Wilmington
Jameson Inn Wilmington
#29 of 45 in Wilmington
208 reviews
1.5 km away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#35 of 45 in Wilmington
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Address: 3901 Market St, Wilmington, NC 28403-1403
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Price Range: $82 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Orbitz so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Wilmington
Wilmington Howard Johnson
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“comeback after their renovation is done”
 of 5 bubbles MatthewT561, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All rooms were street level.”
 of 5 bubbles memecoble, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“The rooms are comfortable and you are able to park right in front of room.”
 of 5 bubbles jameseleeper, 22 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Go Somewhere Else!”
 of 5 bubbles 582chuckp, 2 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Try to get a room close to the lobby.”
 of 5 bubbles WeBJamman, 26 May 2015 | Read review
5 of 5