We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Shell Island Resort

Orbitz.comUS$259*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Shell Island Resort
Shell Island Resort
Panoramas (17)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

963 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Shell Island Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 961: English reviews
Greenville, North Carolina
Reviewed 9 November 2015

If you ever need a wedding venue, I definitely recommend Shell Island Resort. My husband and I had both our ceremony and reception in the Ocean Ballroom. The view was absolutely breathtaking. George and James were phenomenal and made everything from set-up to execution perfect. The staff was extremely friendly and provided outstanding service. The rooms were beautiful and clean....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CrystalKirsanova
Todd R, Front Office Manager at Shell Island Resort, responded to this review

Thank you, Crystal for writing such a lovely review. It was our pleasure to accommodate you, and we're glad that you were so pleased with everything. On behalf of Leigh, George and James, thank you for putting your trust in us. We hope to see you again sometime in the near future. Warmest Regards, Todd Rogers Guest Service Manager

Wilmington, NC
Reviewed 8 November 2015

This was our third stay and it is consistently going down hill. We had our wedding reception here five years ago and came for our anniversary last year and again this year. While our unit last year was good (newly renovated unit) the maintenance levels had slumped. This year (our last) the place was terrible. The unit was not clean,...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank OldBristolSailor
Todd R, Front Office Manager at Shell Island Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Your feedback is important to us, and we're sorry we weren't able to meet your expectations as in the past. If there's anything I can do to be of further assistance please feel free to contact me directly. It would be my pleasure to speak to you. Kind Regards, Todd...

Fulton, Missouri
Reviewed 8 November 2015 via mobile

We enjoyed our visit with y'all, especially because of our restaurant experience. Breakfast will never be the same without Dylan, who is multi talented: efficient yet funny and friendly, you feel well taken care of, , affects whole rest of day's mood! Everyone in the kitchen was great: friendly, courteous.... What else could we ask for!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth H
Todd R, Front Office Manager at Shell Island Resort, responded to this review

Elizabeth, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Your feedback is important to us, and we'll be sure to pass your kind words along to Dylan. Kind Regards, Todd Rogers Guest Service Manager (910) 256-8696

Reviewed 7 November 2015 via mobile

Dylan was hilarious and a good waiter who deserves a good review. Restaurant manager John was also a gem and everyone provided great service. Nice selection - Belgian waffles on point! Mi Casa su casa!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lauren L
Todd R, Front Office Manager at Shell Island Resort, responded to this review

Lauren L, Thanks for your kind words. We'll be sure to pass them along to Dylan and Joseph, and we hope to see you again. Todd Rogers Guest Service Manager

Palm Desert, California, United States
Reviewed 6 November 2015 via mobile

This was a lovely spot to have a lunch out on the patio overlooking the ocean. Ryan was an entertaining waiter. I followed up my luncheon by making a Thanksgiving reservation for my family. A great private spit to enjoy out turkey dinner, then walk the beach afterwards.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mary M
Todd R, Front Office Manager at Shell Island Resort, responded to this review

Mary M, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Forgive me, I am behind in responding to reviews, so I can only hope that you enjoyed your Thanksgiving meal with us as well. Hope to see you again in the near future. Kind Regards, Todd Rogers Guest Service Manager (910) 256-8696

Greenlawn, New York
Reviewed 5 November 2015

We stayed at this lovely resort so we would not be far from our son who recently relocated from NY to Wilmington, NC. The room was beautiful with a lovely balcony overlooking the beach. A wonderful restaurant located on the ground flloor offered a great breakfast and Dylan, took great care ofr us and made us feel at home. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linda D
Todd R, Front Office Manager at Shell Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear Linda D, Thank you for your kind words. We're glad we could make your visit with your son so nice, and we hope to see you again soon! Todd Rogers, Guest Service Manager

Lawrence, Kansas
Reviewed 30 October 2015 via mobile

Enjoyed every minute at Shell Island Resort. Rooms were clean and very comfortable! Views were amazing and really enjoyed the fact the resort has nice grounds for an amazing morning run and the last hotel on the edge of the island. Staff was very friendly and onsite restaurant was delicious! Will definitely be coming back again!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MicheleLyA
Todd R, Front Office Manager at Shell Island Resort, responded to this review

Thank you, MicheleLyA for your kind review. We're glad you were able to enjoy your stay and our "Beautiful Views." Please come see us again when time permits. Kindest regards, Todd Rogers Guest Service Manager

Pinehurst, North Carolina
Reviewed 28 October 2015

Visited in October 2015 for a conference. The beauty, cleanliness and catering of the event made it feel like a vacation. Check-in was seamless as was check-out. Every room we utilized was clean and prepped for our presentations and meals.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charla M
Todd R, Front Office Manager at Shell Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear Charla M, We're glad you had "No Worries" while staying with us, and we hope to see you again in the near future. Kind Regards, Todd Rogers Guest Service Manager

Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewed 26 October 2015

I am a member of an organization and we had our Conference there. Our event coordinator -George provided excellent customer service and took great care of our group. I was very pleased with the service and meals provided.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tracy A
Todd R, Front Office Manager at Shell Island Resort, responded to this review

Thank you, Tracy for taking the time to write about your experience with us. It was our pleasure to accommodate you, and we look forward to many more opportunities. On behalf of George and the rest of our staff, thank you again. Warm Regards, Todd Rogers Guest Service Manager

Greensboro, North Carolina
Reviewed 26 October 2015

We recently held a conference at the Shell Island Hotel as in the past and as always, the accommodations, customer service and attention to our members and vendors was outstanding! Mr. George McCutcheon placed great emphasis and attention on the conference details and he and his staff did a wonderful job in meeting all of our expectations and requests. I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Erik C
Todd R, Front Office Manager at Shell Island Resort, responded to this review

Thanks, Erik for your kind words. It's always a pleasure to see "old friends" and we do look forward to your return. Todd Rogers Guest Service Manager

986 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (361)
Viewed
Room/Suite (56)
Viewed
View from Room (43)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (69)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (53)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (118)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (599)
Viewed
Amenities (69)
Viewed
Beach (23)
Viewed
Pool (38)
Viewed
Premium Double Full Kitchen Suite (76)
Viewed
Premium King Corner Full Kitchen Suite (71)
Viewed
Premium King Corner Suite (78)
Viewed
Premium King Suite (78)
Viewed
Dining (47)
Viewed
Standard Double Corner Suite (68)
Viewed
The Hotel (51)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wrightsville Beach
5.4 km away
Sandpeddler Inn & Suites
Sandpeddler Inn & Suites
#5 of 9 in Wrightsville Beach
126 reviews
4.3 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
4.7 km away
SpringHill Suites Wilmington Mayfaire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire
24.9 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carolina Beach Oceanfront
25.1 km away
Courtyard by Marriott Carolina Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled on the northern tip of Wrightsville Beach, Shell Island Resort is surrounded by a sprawling expanse of sand and unparalleled views of the Atlantic Ocean, Mason’s Inlet, and Figure Eight Island. This family-friendly resort and hotel boasts a front row seat to the beckoning sea and a beach that seems to stretch endlessly, making it feel like it is yours alone. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Shell Island Resort

Address: 2700 Lumina Ave N, Wrightsville Beach, NC 28480-1699
Region: United States > North Carolina > Wrightsville Beach
Price Range: $299 - $549 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shell Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Shell Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shell Island Oceanfront Hotel
Shell Island Oceanfront Resort
Wrightsville Beach Shell Island Resort
Shell Island Resort Nc
Shell Island North Carolina
Shell Island Hotel
Shell Island Nc
Shell Island Resort North Carolina
Shell Isl All Oceanfront Suites
Shell Is Resort Wrightsville Beach
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Shell Island Resort staff and other travellers.
23 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (23)

Questions? Get answers from Shell Island Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Beautiful location with ocean views from every room!”
isherman2017, 25 May 2017 | Read review
“Upper floor rooms or upscale rooms are the best”
ncroofer, 18 May 2017 | Read review
“floor 5 and up”
ocean4joan, 16 May 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are great because they are all ocean front!”
alysonj487, 3 May 2017 | Read review
“Every room is oceanfront with a full kitchenette, 1 1/2 bath and a pull out sleeper sofa.”
Beachirl, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Orbitz.com
US$259* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$259
Hotels.comUS$259
TravelocityUS$259
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates