We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Expressway Inn of Bismarck

Show Prices
#21 of 32 Hotels in Bismarck
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Expressway Inn of Bismarck
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

115 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 115: English reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed here a while ago and it hasn't been updated since. For the price there are other hotels in the area far superior and comparably priced. The hallways and common areas are really run down. Rooms seemed fairly clean but not excessively clean either.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dan K
ExpresswayInnGM, Manager at Expressway Inn of Bismarck, responded to this review

Thanks for the reply. The rooms were remodeled in 2015. This past summer we remodeled the outdoor pool area, and are currently remodeling the hot tub and exercise rooms (completion date is this coming Tuesday, December 13th). After that is completed, we will be moving onto the next project, so I'm sure you will see some nice changes really soon.

Chattanooga, Tennessee
Reviewed 9 October 2016

Had to pay way too much for this dump! Furniture not dusted, room phone gummy, very uncomfortable queen mattresses(lumpy, soft, old & overused), room coffee maker didn't work correctly, and what coffee did make was horrible. Even the coffee in the lobby & breakfast room was bad. There was a washer & dryer in the hallway close to our room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dennis S
ExpresswayInnGM, General Manager at Expressway Inn of Bismarck, responded to this review

I thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I'm sorry your experience was not good. I assure you this is not typical. I would greatly appreciate it if you could contact us and let us know what room you were in so we can correct the issues. We look forward to hearing from you. Thank you.

Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

Eric was very helpful and very nice The place was nice and clean and the suite was beautiful if you have time you should come and see the Whirlpool rooms they're big and very comfortable the best place in Bismarck to stab is here

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rudy H
Reviewed 19 September 2016 via mobile

Wow!! Just awesome. We booked a stay and birthday party here. It was so fun. The staff was more than helpful. This turned out so great. We will be back for sure! Thank you to everyone at expressway Inn and suites!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank britt h
Indian Head, Saskatchewan
Reviewed 18 September 2016 via mobile

Although the building is dated it was clean and the staff was friendly. We had a very good stay. It is great that they have a free hot breakfast, although we slept in and missed it! The location is close to downtown. Note that you should call them directly to book rather than booking online. When you book online they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TiffinyP
Rogers, North Dakota
Reviewed 9 September 2016

Close to everything so the location is the best. This hotel has excellent employees who go the extra mile for their customers(very helpful and friendly). There are decent -sized rooms with essential amenities like a fridge!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carmellekuehn
Reviewed 11 August 2016

Great place to stay.. 2nd time this summer we have stayed there and it was just as good the 2nd time as it was the first.. Did however think that we could sit by the fire a little later as we were not being loud.. but understand the common courtesy of the rest of the people staying there.. we will...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alex B
ExpresswayInnGM, General Manager at Expressway Inn of Bismarck, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed it! Hope to see you all again soon. Mike

North Dakota
Reviewed 27 July 2016

We’ve stayed at this motel several times and I’m still very satisfied. I don’t know where we’d get a room for $82 Monday night (our price for a King/2 adults/non-smoking with a sofa/fridge/ microwave/ table/ chairs) anywhere else that would be this clean in such a good location. You can tell the motel’s getting older as I noticed some wear...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TakinLotsaPictures
grand rapids, minnesota
Reviewed 20 July 2016

This was a very institutional place. It kind of reminded me of a college dorm with cement walls, etc. It was clean and the staff was helpful. Breakfasts were VERY basic and uninspired. No real amenities except an outdoor pool that was not yet open for the season and a hot tub. Location ok, good if access to the mall...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eric N
Grand Forks, North Dakota
Reviewed 29 June 2016

Very nice amenities, staff is accommodating, and bathrooms are so clean they feel sanitary. Nice breakfast room. Rooms are exceptionally large. Wifi works well! There golf packages available could be upgraded.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank richardedgar

42 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bismarck hotels
0.1 km away
Expressway Suites
Expressway Suites
#13 of 32 in Bismarck
70 reviews
0.3 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ramkota Hotel
0.3 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Bismarck South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Radisson Hotel Bismarck
Radisson Hotel Bismarck
#25 of 32 in Bismarck
494 reviews
5.4 km away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Bismarck
5.1 km away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#2 of 32 in Bismarck
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Airport Transportation
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Expressway Inn of Bismarck is a smoke free-pet free facility located close to everything that you will need while in Bismarck. We are three blocks away from the Bismarck Civic Center. Across the street is the area's largest shopping mall, Kirkwood Mall. We are five blocks from the downtown area, and there are about a dozen great restaurants within walking distance. We are the closest hotel to the Cottonwood Soccer Complex and Cottonwood Softball Complex. The Dakota Zoo is five blocks away, and the State Capital is one mile North of us. We have a variety of sleeping rooms, varying from Economy Single Rooms which are perfect for the cost conscious businessman all the way up to Executive Suites for guests that like a little luxury while they are here. You can also enjoy our 42 person hot-tub or during summer months, relax by our outdoor pool. We also serve a hot breakfast, provide free airport and hospital shuttle, and have free WIFI in all rooms. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Expressway Inn of Bismarck

Address: 200 E Bismarck Expy, Bismarck, ND 58504-6381
Region: United States > North Dakota > Bismarck
Price Range: $116 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Expressway Inn of Bismarck 2.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Expressway Inn of Bismarck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Expressway Hotel Bismarck
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Expressway Inn of Bismarck staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Clear Lake, Iowa
3 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Expressway Inn of Bismarck staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go look at the room before making a commentment”
 of 5 bubbles GaryS789, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
“1st or 3rd floor with ice on it..”
 of 5 bubbles O1525UGalexb, 11 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on the North side should be quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles TakinLotsaPictures, 27 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Ask for travelers package.”
 of 5 bubbles richardedgar, 29 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Request 3rd or 4th floor - quieter. ”
 of 5 bubbles dougb561, 25 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay