We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Econo Lodge East

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Econo Lodge East
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

132 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 131: English reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2016 via mobile

If you're looking for cheap then you've found it but I wouldn't recommend staying here. The room wasn't completely cleaned, there was fast food garbage but the bath and bed seemed to be clean. The microwave is small and channels on the tv are limited.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kayefaye
Canada
Reviewed 15 July 2016

The room smelled like wet dog. It hit you as soon as you opened the door. I have stayed in pet friendly hotels before and never experienced anything like it. The breakfast was decent. I always like the make your own waffles.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CanadaVacationgirl
Jacala S, General Manager at Econo Lodge East, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to meet your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience...

Omaha, Nebraska
Reviewed 15 July 2016

I couldn't believe the cheap price. $55 a night. They do offer hot breakfast and free wii fi The room was clean but could have smelled a little fresher. AC worked and very good cable . Lots of channels.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sjebuffetfan
New London
Reviewed 18 June 2016 via mobile

Friend made Reservation ...I got there first so I checked in ...wanted to turn around at first sight ..but went in ..gross! Smelled of urine and dog..could not even think of staying. Left there and checked in to another motel that was clean even though there was no refund. Rough looking cars in the parking lot should have been first...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rita K
Wonewoc, Wisconsin
Reviewed 12 June 2016 via mobile

Problems from the initial booking when we accidentally clicked twice and booked double the rooms we wanted. Immediately called the hotel but they would not refund. Turns out that was the best part of our stay since our first room smelled so strongly of wet dog that it hit you as soon as the door was opened (room 120). The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank beelieve23
Patti H, General Manager at Econo Lodge East, responded to this review

I will be addressing the issues that you have mentioned and I do apologize

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewed 6 June 2016

I was not expecting much as the price was so good, and I figured I should have low expectations. I was pleasantly surprised to see the hotel and room was very clean, yes it is outdated, but at that price that is expected. It had everything you would want in a room, minifrig, coffee maker, hot shower,comfortable beds/pillows. I also...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ann m m
Patti H, Manager at Econo Lodge East, responded to this review

thank you so much for your review. It is nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope that you'll stay with us again when your in fargo

Reviewed 5 June 2016 via mobile

Wasn't impressed...the workers were surly and lazy. The bathroom in the lobby was filthy. Yeah, I understand that this is a budget hotel...but staff NEEDS to be friendly and bathrooms NEED to be clean. Next time I'm in town, I will find other lodging

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fluttershy34
Patti H, Manager at Econo Lodge East, responded to this review

we are sorry that your stay with us was not up to your standards. and ill be addressing the issues that you have mentioned

Fargo, North Dakota
Reviewed 31 May 2016

I stayed at this hotel for my sons graduation in a near by city only because the hotel chain that I work for was full. I have worked maintenance for 3 different brands and the condition of this one is worse than any I have seen, The hallways were never vacuumed the 4 days I was there, and littered with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank frankmorrowjr
Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewed 7 May 2016

We stayed for 1 night. Room was clean, staff was helpful. Got up too late for breakfast so can't comment on that. Will be staying again for a night next month. Location was close to restaurants, shopping and shuttle to Fargodome.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linda S
Missy J, Manager at Econo Lodge East, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return! Safe Travels, Melissa Jasperson Econolodge East

Shoreview, Minnesota
Reviewed 26 April 2016

We were greeted by a woman in a dirty shirt, who needed a shower. A young man came out of the office with no shoes on. Not a great first impression. When we pulled the bedding down, we noticed that the sheets were dirty. I went to tell her and she asked if I wanted her to come change the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SARAH J
Patti H, Manager at Econo Lodge East, responded to this review

we are sorry that we did not meet your expectations. but with your input we hope to improve the service we provide thank you for taking the time to let us know how we can improve and make your stay better

28 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fargo hotels
1.0 km away
Econo Lodge West Fargo
Econo Lodge West Fargo
#47 of 50 in Fargo
85 reviews
0.1 km away
Days Inn Fargo
Days Inn Fargo
#14 of 50 in Fargo
433 reviews
0.1 km away
Quality Suites
Quality Suites
#36 of 50 in Fargo
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Fargo Inn & Suites
Fargo Inn & Suites
#28 of 50 in Fargo
165 reviews
2.0 km away
Red Roof Inn
Red Roof Inn
#24 of 50 in Fargo
204 reviews
0.5 km away
Super 8 Fargo/I-29/West Acres Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Econo Lodge(R) East is situated across I29 from West Acres Mall, north of Interstate 94. Easy access to North Dakota State University, the Fargodome arena, Roger Maris Museum, Red River Valley Speedway and Bonanzaville USA Cass County Historical Society museum. Microwaves, refrigerators and coffee pots in all rooms at no extra charge. We also offer in-house special rates for vets/ active military (with ID), medical and construction. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Econo Lodge East

Address: 1401 35th St S, Fargo, ND 58103-3419
Region: United States > North Dakota > Fargo
Price Range: $66 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge East 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Choice Hotels and Priceline so you can book your Econo Lodge East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Fargo
Fargo Econo Lodge
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Fargo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Econo Lodge East staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Minnesota City, Minnesota
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Econo Lodge East staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“don't stay in Indian owned motels.”
 of 5 bubbles 211jw, 28 Oct 2015 | Read review
“if calling hotel for rooom request the things you would like, such as first or second floor.”
 of 5 bubbles Y207RYcarolk, 6 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Ground floor is my preference.”
 of 5 bubbles KayJay82, 11 Aug 2015 | Read review
“We had a room on ground floor next to street and had no traffic noise all rooms seem to be ok”
 of 5 bubbles ladonnah127, 10 Jan 2015 | Read review
“Stay away from the back end of the hotel(furthest from the lobby) Noisy other guests.”
 of 5 bubbles AlanC242, 23 Oct 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay