Qualicum Breeze Beach Resort
Message from Tripadvisor:This business is temporarily closed until 31/12/24

Qualicum Breeze Beach Resort

6695 Island Highway West, Bowser, British Columbia V0R 1G0 Canada
Wake up to this....
Traveller (80)
Beachfront Cottage deck
Room & Suite (53)
paddle the tranquil waters
Pool & Beach (4)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#1 of 1 hotels in Bowser
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Value
This property has identified as Women-owned.
Tripadvisor does not verify the accuracy of this information.
A Vancouver Island secluded beachfront paradise with the Ocean at your doorstep, you can enjoy beachcombing, bonfires, clam digging, oyster picking and salmon fishing. THe Qualicum area is known for first class fishing from early May to mid October. Anglers from around the world descend upon our shores to cast for one of the four salmon runs. Chest waders or belly boats are all that is necessary for an extreme day of cast or fly fishing. View an abundance of marine life, including blue heron, bald eagles, whales, seals and many other species. Kayaks and paddle board rentals are available to paddle along the tranquil beachfront on the east coast of Vancouver Island. Relax in our oceanfront hot tub while watching wildlife such as Bald eagles soaring and cruise ships passing by. Gather around a beach bonfire to roast marshmallows or weenies. or cook clams/oysters picked from our beach. We have a giant tide pool, which acts as a hands on aquarium for the kids to see the many species of marine life that gets caught up every tide changes. The Deep Bay Marine Field research station is near by that has live tanks, and tours that explains about the many species they will find. Qualicum Breeze Beach Resort is a short 5 minute walk from town where you will find grocery's, liquor store, bank. pharmacy. Also you can browse through the Salish Sea Art studio and the intriging gift shop. There is also a Pub, Legion and number of local restarants to visit. .Centrally located for day trips to many points of interest on Vancouver Island. Hike on trails through pristine local Provincial Parks like Cathederal Grove, Little Qualicum Falls, or Rathtrevor Provincial Park or explore the Horne Lake Caves. Numerous shops in Qualicum Beach or Coombs on the way to Parksville. Stop and enjoy Coombs Country Market where it is known for the goats on the roof, also notable is the delicious ice cream and culinary experience at Cuckoo's italian Restaurant. Book a round of golf at one of the sixteen golf courses within an hours drive. Or perhaps a day touring the winery's and brewery's that dot the Islands coast line. Extreme Mountain bike trails are found on Mt. Washington during the Summer, and is great skiing and snow boarding during the winter. Please call in advance if you have a service animal to get an accurate quote for cleaning.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot bath
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Beach
Boating
Kids stay free
Books, DVDs, music for children
Parking
Wifi
Complimentary tea
Outdoor dining area
Hiking
Water sport equipment rentals
Aerobics offsite
Canoeing offsite
Fishing
Patio
Tennis court offsite
Walking tours
Water park offsite
Board games / puzzles
Children's television networks
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Highchairs available
BBQ facilities
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour front desk
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Private beach
Dining area
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Extra long beds
Whirlpool bathtub
Fireplace
Private balcony
Seating area
Separate living room
Sofa
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Kitchenette
Microwave
Oven
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Sofa bed
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Room types
Mountain view
Ocean view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Languages Spoken
English
117Reviews2Q+A25Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 76
  • 17
  • 11
  • 9
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Nadejda I wrote a review Aug 2021
Richmond, Canada75 contributions69 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed Jul 31 - Aug 03, 2021. Located right on the beach! You can watch sunrise every day! Our room had its own little patio with chairs, table and a nice large umbrella. Very quiet, away from the road. Very secluded, perfect for relaxation. The owners supplied hand soap, soap bars for the shower, and lots of towels. You can swim in the ocean, but there is no beach there, just rocks and pebbles, so bring proper shoes if you are planning to get in the water. Only one minus - the room was very small, and the bathroom was microscopic, really uncomfortable to use. Aside from that - a great place!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Carolyn Graeme, Owner at Qualicum Breeze Beach Resort
Responded Aug 9, 2021
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. we actually designed these suites for overnighters, that were stranded for the night. They have become so popular with our regular clientele, we wish we had made them bigger. Next time perhaps you would prefer either the King suite which has a living room jetted tub and private patio. Or the 2 bedroom which also has a much larger living space. Happy trails
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
jldevlin wrote a review Jul 2023
Surrey BC Canada78 contributions122 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in a panarama room, we knew when we booked it the rooms were small and we would compare in size to a cruise ship cabin. We were very happy with the room, it had all the necessities and was very clean and comfy. We loved the idea of booking a one hour time for the hot tub so we were alone in it. Beautiful view of the ocean in the hot tub and we saw whales flipping and flopping plus seals eagles etc. the view from our room was outstanding open the door and the ocean is right there. We were very lucky to have no one in the cabin right beside us. We would not hesitate to book it again if we came with family or friends who book the unit beside us. It might be an idea to put a screen up partially on the deck so when both units are booked by people who don’t know each other a degree of privacy would make a huge difference That being said we loved the place and location there is a very nice pub 3 kms south and had great food Thank you for the wonderful 3 day stay
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: If the weather is hot bring a secondary fan It helped a lot at night
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from carolyn graeme, General Manager at Qualicum Breeze Beach Resort
Responded Jul 21, 2023
Thanks for your review. I'm so happy you were able to enjoy the marine life as we do every day. We are truly blessed, and would love to have you back anytime to share our tropical paradise. Cheers
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
rednecksunseekers wrote a review Sep 2021
Ontario48 contributions46 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed 6 nights in the honeymoon suite. Loved the in-room jacuzzi as a way to destress while waiting for our luggage to arrive 3 days late. The host kindly offered me some clothes, but fortunately we had enough packed to muddle through. The bbq was awesome, and our host provided us with some tin foil and lemon pepper to cook the amazing salmon and prawns that our fishing guide, Bill from Active Angler provided. We ate at a few restaurants and cooked a few meals at the resort. There are so many fun things to do nearby and it was so nice coming “home” at the end of the day to take in the beautiful sunsets. Being from Ontario, we don’t have tides, so watching the ins and outs of it was truly amazing. We will always remember our sunrises, drinking coffee out of the huge mugs, at the picnic table. Thanks for everything Carolyn.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mishoolak wrote a review Sep 2021
Vancouver, Canada30 contributions5 helpful votes
+1
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I would like to provide some constructive criticism for Qualicum Breeze Beach Resort so that they could provide a better service next time to their guests. There are so many things that need improvements. Here are a few:
1. Having shampoos, conditioners and shower gels are basic necessities even for the most basic accommodations. There was none available in our unit. I had to ask for a shampoo and the owner said that they don’t usually provide that to the guests. Finally she gave me one with a lot of hesitation.
2. There was no tissue paper, paper towel or Kleenex in the unit. We asked for a box of tissue and our request was declined. The justification didn’t make any sense to me since the owner used septic system as an excuse for not providing any cleaning papers, but then she added that if we buy our own tissues then it would be fine!!!
3. New towels would be provided after 3 days of stay again upon request. This is a beach front resort so logically we were swimming and showering every day. For three days I was using a wet towel after each shower and swimming. You can imagine how uncomfortable that could be especially for kids.
4. There is no Washer or dryer in the unit so you cannot even dry your wet towels.
5. There are lots of tall trees around the property, therefore most of the patios are covered with shades which means your towels are not going to get dry even by hanging them outside.
6. There is no dishwasher so be prepared to wash all your dishes. I washed more dishes during my 3 nights of vacation at this place than a week at my own place.
7. Bring your own hair dryer because again that is too much of a luxury.

We stayed in Unit 1 so everything I mentioned here is related to unit 1. I am not sure what is the deal with the other units. I highly recommend NOT staying in unit 1. It is extremely small and right beside the office. You don’t even have a good view because the hot tub completely blocks the view.

Other than the basic necessities that I listed here there are also some real issues with the way the owner interacts with her guests. As a guests I am here to relax and enjoy my vacation. I pay for a stress free time. She had so many rules and regulations that our whole trip ended up being very stressful and exhausting. I felt like a kid that was being schooled by her teacher.

The only positive that I can mention is that the beach is beautiful.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from carolyn graeme, General Manager at Qualicum Breeze Beach Resort
Responded Apr 15, 2023
I don't even know where to begin!!!! All I can say is you know they're out there,,,you just hope they are not breeding.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
jolantac728 wrote a review Aug 2021
Prince George, Canada4 contributions4 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We saw pictures on the internet, and everything looked big! When we arrived, everything was small. The bedrooms are tinyThe fridge cannot fit a gallon of milk. Luckily we had coolers, so we put excess drinks and food there. The beach is rocky and we would appreciate a warning that you need water shoes!
I think that the cost of the unit is overpriced as there was no dishwasher and the fridge was very very small. If you rent for a week, and you don't buy breakfasts from restaurants , sorry, no room!
And if you come with kids, better bring lots of clothes as there are no laundry facilities on the spot.
It was nice to sit on the lounge chairs and watch the sunset , unless you were forced to move because the host needed to water the grass!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Carolyn Graeme, Owner at Qualicum Breeze Beach Resort
Responded Aug 8, 2021
We are on water restrictions, and are limited to watering days, and times, Sorry if the beach chairs were not suitable while trying to save the landscaping in the evening, for future guests. We are scheduling a reno to accommodate a full kitchen in October. Happy Trails
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kelowna2266 wrote a review Sep 2022
Kelowna, Canada14 contributions1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I would rate the location and scenery of Qualicum Breeze Beach Resort a 10. However, the property is overgrown and needs some attention. The honeymoon suite which was the only one available has some nice updates but needs decluttering. Too much furniture, which my husband and I were both crashing into when up during the night. The suite also needs a good cleaning and new bed linens. There was an excessive amount of toss cushions and throws which are likely not cleaned between guests. The area rugs were dirty and did not look like they had been vacuumed after the last guest. There is a jetted tub in the sleeping area which leaves no room for luggage or to move around freely. The total cost for two nights was $885, not worth the money, we would not stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Beach Home, Owner at Qualicum Breeze Beach Resort
Responded Sep 6, 2022
The privilege of living in a free country...everyone is entitled to their opinions. But alas opinions are not based on facts. We actually have a turn over of throws/ cushions, and you are the very first junior interior designer to be opposed to the amount. If you are having difficulty crashing into furniture may I suggest turning on some lights or cutting down on the libations. Thank goodness most guests are thrilled with our newly renovated walk on waterfront oasis. But you are entitled to your opinion, but not noted by the management.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Judie H wrote a review Apr 2023
Dillon, Montana12 contributions2 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Nice little renovated attached units, right on the water. Fireplace is for heat. No heat in bathroom or the 2 bedrooms. Ok in the summer but a bit chilly this time of year. Coffee, tea, salt and pepper supplied and a small bar of soap for the shower and hand soap for the bathroom. Very friendly and helpful manager or owner didn't know which. Says no dogs but there was a dog in another unit. No issues with the dog but if your expecting a dander free area due to allergies, I wouldn't count on it
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Hot tub, steps to beach and ocean
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from carolyn graeme, General Manager at Qualicum Breeze Beach Resort
Responded Apr 18, 2023
Thanks Judie for your review. We have never had an issue with the heat, as the fireplaces heat uto 1500 sq ft, the suite being only 500 sq ft, Some of our winter residents that come from the prairies find they have to climatize, because of the dampness being that we are walk on oceanfront, and they are not used to the moisture. We do not generally allow for pets, except registered service animals we have to make exceptions, and the guests must pay for a complete professional steam cleaning before they leave. The guests in question are one of our winter residence, whom have lived here for 6 months, and their suite is the only one we will make an exception for any pets, providing the guests are willing to pay a rather large fee to have the cleaners come. I hope this helps. Cheers Carolyn
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
NallaVancouver wrote a review Aug 2021
Fort Langley, Canada52 contributions42 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife and I arrived late in the evening to check in. I told the rude lady who came to the door that we couldn’t stay as my wife was very sick and we would be trying to get the last ferry to the mainland. She said I don’t care I need my money. After I paid I said where do I park. She sent me to park at the end of the row of cars with bushes rubbing against my car.
I asked how far to get to the road to the Island highway. She wanted to know if I understood miles or Kilometers?
The place is nothing like it is portrayed on the internet. I haven’t been in such a dive in many years.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from carolyn graeme, General Manager at Qualicum Breeze Beach Resort
Responded Apr 15, 2023
Please don't park on our landscaped grounds. I'm sorry If I gave you an option for measurements. I'm sorry that your wife fell sick on your holidays. That is why trip insurance was invented. It became very apparent that she wasn't well, as the cleaners spent half the day removing urine from all the bedding and surrounding area. I hope she gets better soon. It is unfortunate that you weren't happy here. Happiness comes from within. I hope you find some. Happy trails
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sheri H wrote a review Sep 2021
Stony Plain, Canada6 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This place is amazing. The best little hidden gem. If you want a personalized experience with a fantastic owner this is the place to go. Not to mention you are right on the ocean with unreal views just steps from your door. Everything is here that you need for a wonderful holiday. The hot tub, kayaks, paddle boards, lounger chairs and beach chairs. We had coffee and breakfast every morning on the beach while watching seals. So peaceful. We booked and used the hot tub every night (it was wonderful!) and it overlooks the ocean. Couldn't have been placed in a better location. The rooms are absolutely perfect. They are not very big but they were exactly the perfect size for my husband, daughter and myself. With 2 queen bedrooms a full kitchen and living room with a fireplace seriously what more could you ask for?? There were even BBq'sfor guest to use. Can't wait to go back next year. I have stayed in Parksville every year for 9 years all at the same place, but unfortunately I was unable to get in this year due to the short notice. Best thing that happened, as now I will be staying at the Qualicum Breeze Beach Resort from now on! Thanks for a great time!!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: We stayed in room 3.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Beach Home, Owner at Qualicum Breeze Beach Resort
Responded Jul 15, 2022
Thanks for your review, come again
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
julie c wrote a review Aug 2020
Burnaby, Canada1,264 contribution66 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a great little few days away to this cozy resort. At check in we were told the covid protocols in place. Our seaside suite was cozy for 2 people. Wonderful for watching fish jumping, relaxing on our deck. Tiny kitchen was sufficient to make meals. Comfortable bed as well.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Voyager78345 asked a question Feb 2023
Kelowna, Canada
Hi are we aloud to bring a small dog
Answer from shadyshores2015
Bowser, Canada4 contributions1 helpful vote
Hi, Unfortunately we are a pet free resort so we could not accommodate a dog. Sorry!
jldevlin wrote a tip Jul 2023
Surrey BC Canada78 contributions122 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"If the weather is hot bring a secondary fan It helped a lot at night "
Read full review
Judie H wrote a tip Apr 2023
Dillon, Montana12 contributions2 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Hot tub, steps to beach and ocean"
Read full review
Sheri H wrote a tip Sep 2021
Stony Plain, Canada6 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"We stayed in room 3."
Read full review
Leanne S wrote a tip Aug 2018
Port Coquitlam19 contributions14 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"the small units have the best views and you can hear the waves."
Read full review
Lizy G wrote a tip Aug 2018
Hope, Canada4 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The cabins are secluded and comfy (my favourite) but families will love the 2 bedrooms :)"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Bowser area.
ALSO KNOWN AS
shady shores beach hotel bowser
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Shady Shores Beach Resort
LOCATION
CanadaBritish ColumbiaVancouver IslandBowser
NUMBER OF ROOMS
8
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Qualicum Breeze Beach Resort - Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Qualicum Breeze Beach Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Qualicum Breeze Beach Resort?
Nearby attractions include Salish Sea Market (1.6 km), Lighthouse Country Regional Trail (3.2 km), and Deep Bay Marine Field Station (6.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Qualicum Breeze Beach Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and a hot tub.
Which room amenities are available at Qualicum Breeze Beach Resort?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Qualicum Breeze Beach Resort?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Qualicum Breeze Beach Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Qualicum Breeze Beach Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Sandbar Cafe, Ship & Shore Marine, and That Extra Touch Roadside.
Does Qualicum Breeze Beach Resort have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is Qualicum Breeze Beach Resort accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars