We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

West Coast Wilderness Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
West Coast Wilderness Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

273 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for West Coast Wilderness Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 244: English reviews
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 October 2016

We stayed here in September 2016 as part of our honeymoon traveling around Canada. The scenery from the hotel is absolutely stunning. It's very peaceful, a great place to unwind and relax. We went to see the skookumchuck rapids which were incredible. There was also a lot of other activities to do such as walking & kayaking. Be aware of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steph2010187069
Reviewed 29 September 2016 via mobile

We spent 3 nights at this resort and had a wonderful time. The food was really good and the staff were pleasant. We took a zodiac trip to Princess Louisa. It was amazing. The guide was informative and entertaining. Kayaking was fun and we saw some cool seals and a stellar sea lion. The cabins were comfortable but not very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Booooyaaaa
WCWLodge, Manager at West Coast Wilderness Lodge, responded to this review

Thank-you for your comments. We are very sorry about the stains, but let me assure you that it was not blood, but a rust stain (which is still not an excuse). We operate with an outside laundry service which gets shipped in weekly from Vancouver and we have had numerous conversations with that company about their linen quality. Our apologies...

Langley City, Canada
Reviewed 27 September 2016

We were just at West Coast Wilderness Lodge this past weekend to attend a wedding.....a beautiful wedding that was unfortunately tainted because of the awful smell (stomach turning!!!) from leaking sewer pipes!! The smell could not be avoided if you were on the upper outside deck, the lower outside deck (where the ceremony was held) or in the lower room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank livelife4today
Burnaby, Canada
Reviewed 26 September 2016

We stayed the weekend at the West Coast Wilderness Lodge for a friends wedding. The view from the restaurant is spectacular. There is a very relaxing feel about the place, not a lot going on around so is great if you want to unwind. The food from the restaurant is pricey for what you get. The food served during the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LucyLiao
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 26 September 2016

This was to be our luxury break on a tour of British Columbia. Room large comfortable with balcony overlooking what was described as the forest. Chairs on balcony damp but as I was bitten in the few minutes I was out there we didn't use it anyway. We arrived too late to book the zodiac trip so if you are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jpc692016
WCWLodge, Manager at West Coast Wilderness Lodge, responded to this review

We are happy to hear you like Egmont we do too, sorry but damp weather, that can happen in the fall. I cant seen to find anyone at our front desk that wold charge for tea which is usually found at the coffee / tea station so this was weid,if we miss dropping tea off to your room I am...

Victoria, Canada
Reviewed 20 September 2016

Please allow me to say that the venue was a beautiful setting for a wedding, but unfortunately for us that was all we could say. The beauty was the only thing we felt this place had going for it. The beds were uncomfortable, the showers lacked pressure, and your "suites" were not suites, but large rooms, the staff was lacking...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank desireesteele78
WCWLodge, Manager at West Coast Wilderness Lodge, responded to this review

We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at West Coast Wilderness Lodge and that our accommodations were not what you were expecting. We understand your frustration with our accommodations and that our establishment is not what you would have booked, but it was bride that made the booking at the lodge you were wanting a place to...

Maple Ridge, Canada
Reviewed 19 September 2016

Who knew? Way out there, this oasis of ocean and mountains. Stayed 2nights with the Zodiac and dinner package. The food is outstanding !!! And ample !!! Glad we bought the package as the meals and drinks are pricey. But very very good. Be warned that you cannot sip your own wine on their patios and decks or propert, other...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank darlenew1919
Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 18 September 2016

My partner and I visited the place for a light lunch. We enjoyed an excellent bowl of Seafood Chowder and the Split Pea Soup of the day. We were offered bread : 4 slices of baguette sized white bread slices. The 2 glasses of IPA beer on tap was excellent, too. The waiter was friendly and efficient. We admired the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marie B
WCWLodge, Manager at West Coast Wilderness Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for coming in and we happy that you enjoy your meal , unfortunately whether to charge for bread or not is always a dilemma. We always appreciate feed back for next years season and the menu has been thoroughly discussed with managers. We hope you will grace us again in the future with your presence to see our improvements...

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 16 September 2016

Love, Love, Love the West Coast Wilderness Lodge. Gorgeous views, remote location, food is amazing, cozy rooms and the most helpful and accommodating staff! A must is the skookumchuck narrows hike, be sure to stop off at the quaint bakery on the trail! Delicious!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Smiles66
Reviewed 14 September 2016

Amazing no-cell-phone-reception location over looking the water and islands, so-so accommodation, so-so service, bad management, and nice food... all for a large price. One night in the Ocean View Suite costs $350 + tax. One evening mail for 2 adults and a teenager costed $190. So why only 1 star? WCWL was our last stop on a 2 week road...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Simon H
WCWLodge, Owner at West Coast Wilderness Lodge, responded to this review

We find this review peculiar, as it seems the reviewer has only just joined Trip advisor to point out at our faults, although we do accept the criticism. We can write a great long response, however it will always be a moot point when dealing with professional critics. Some of the photos posted with comments are this individuals personal opinion....

242 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (178)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (35)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
View from Room (22)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (75)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (64)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Other (19)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Egmont
16.6 km away
Painted Boat Resort
Painted Boat Resort
#1 of 4 in Madeira Park
296 reviews
16.0 km away
Sunshine Coast Resort Hotel & Marina
0.9 km away
Bathgate General Store, Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 km away
Ruby Lake Resort
Ruby Lake Resort
#4 of 4 in Madeira Park
127 reviews
24.2 km away
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Halfmoon Bay
739 reviews
0.2 km away
Backeddy Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
West Coast Wilderness Lodge resort brings first-class adventure, fine dining and luxury accommodations to the laid-back Sunshine Coast of British Columbia. Come experience the crisp salt air and breathtaking views of the Pacific Northwest -- at a place where every day is filled with romantic moments and unforgettable memories. Simple luxury on Nature's doorstep -- unforgettable. ... more   less 

Additional Information about West Coast Wilderness Lodge

Address: 6649 Maple Road, Egmont, British Columbia V0N 1N0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Sunshine Coast > Egmont
Price Range: $156 - $362 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — West Coast Wilderness Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your West Coast Wilderness Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Coast Wilderness Hotel Egmont
West Coast Wilderness Egmont
West Coast Wilderness Lodge Egmont, Sunshine Coast
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from West Coast Wilderness Lodge staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
9 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from West Coast Wilderness Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“all rooms have views and are quite similar”
 of 5 bubbles maiseymaisey, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Although potentially noisier, the Ocean Suites have stunning views.”
 of 5 bubbles ElizabethS253, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Its worth getting an oceanview if you can afford to.”
 of 5 bubbles Xavier759, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Depends on what you want to spend. If you want a view than you have to pay the price.”
 of 5 bubbles LucyLiao, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
“One overlooking the water would be better”
 of 5 bubbles jpc692016, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5