Lighthouse RV Park

Lighthouse RV Park

8256 Island Hwy S, Fanny Bay, British Columbia V0R 1W0 Canada
Traveller (14)
View from site #22
Room & Suite (12)
Sunrise
Pool & Beach (2)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

3.5
#1 of 1 campsite in Fanny Bay
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Value
The Lighthouse RV Park and Campground is located in Fanny Bay, B.C. on Highway 19A (Old Island Highway). We offer 30 oceanfront full hook-up RV sites. We are located 53 Km north of Nanaimo, B.C. and 32 Km South of Courtenay, B.C. We are 7 Km from the Buckley Bay Ferry Terminal which is the gateway to Denman and Hornby Island. Our sites offer an oceanfront view of Denman Island and the Chrome Island Lighthouse. Campers and tenting is also welcome at the Lighthouse RV Park. If you're hauling a boat we have a boat launch on site with nightly moorage available.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Beach
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Laundry service
22Reviews0Q+A3Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 10
  • 5
  • 2
  • 0
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
darlene p wrote a review Apr 2024
1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We called to book a site and were given a number to call. Which we did . Barb answered with " I'm back east do you realize what time it is here". We were unaware the call was forwarded to the owner who lives in Ottawa . If you don't want calls from B.C. time I suggest you not have the number forwarded to you.
Barb did say she would deal with us the next morning with a phone call. It never happened. This should have been our first red flag.
We arrived at the park not sure where the office check in was. A kind lady from the dwellings came out and said she would contact the grounds keeper.
Phill came by and we asked if we could move spots. He was very accommodating, and friendly.
There really is not much to do at this park. If you want to sit and look at the ocean along with the huge pile of oyster shell hill this is the park for you. The web page makes it sound like there is a 5klm trail to walk along. Nope not true. If you want to do anything other then sitting looking at the ocean you will be driving to do that.
If you have children they would be bored within the hour. If you want more activity from your trip this is not the place.
Their website shows miles of sandy beach. Not true . Access is not easy but once you do manage to get to it is is all barnacles and oyster shells so walking along a nice sandy beach is not going to happen at this place.
I will not stay here again, even with the friendly staff .
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: their web page wants you to believe there is lots to do at this camp site . When in fact all...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Carrie wrote a review Jun 2021
Vancouver, Canada52 contributions4 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We really enjoyed this Campsite. We were Site 12 looking out into the Bay. I wouldn't recommend it for kids they would get bored as there is no playground for them. It is great spot to unwind. Campsite was full but very quiet. The caretaker Dave was awesome. Lots of good stories.
Would definitely come back. Also try Famny Bay Inn for take out their chicken wings are amazing
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Miyajag wrote a review May 2019
Sooke, Canada38 contributions9 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
As said before the RV park is hidden off the road behind an old gas station, we saw the sign after! There's a lot of work gone in to this park and is still in progress. Lovely views, big lots, super wifi,great laundry room (2 washers and 2 dryers),lovely bathrooms (Did not shower here but even towels provided, coin operated) pet friendly. The restaurant is closed for reno's which we wish we'd known. There's a dog area being made but not finished yet.There is a very short walk in front of the park out to a firepit area right above the ocean. There were sea lions in the distance barking away!
The manager was very helpful and friendly.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Julie wrote a review Aug 2020
3 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I booked a premium campsite June 1/20 site 12, full ocean view, for July 24,25,26, we have a 25ft trailer..on July 23rd, I called to ask if we could put up a small tent on site? Matt, said yes, then proceeded to say, we couldn’t have that site because the people in it ( huge 5 th wheel ) couldn’t go to their next booking at another site..I wasn’t happy, but eventually, he sent me photos of another site 23 that looked similar, apparently premium, closest to ocean, full view, fire pit..so, I was still excited to go..July 24, we arrived later in the day, 6:30 pm to find another trailer and truck set up in that site which he offered us..we looked at the map posted on his site # 23, yes it looked good, but when we arrived, it was site # 22, not # 23..long story short, he squished us in between 15 people in 7 tents on one site, and travel trailer in other..it was so tight, I opened my trailer door, and the other campers truck was 7 ft from my door...my view was a grey dodge, unbelievable..I told Matt, this isn’t exceptable, not even safe, as he brought us a rim to build a campfire, directly by the trucks gas tank..I was so disappointed, I had tears in my eyes, it was around 8:30 pm, i told him we would stay overnight as my husband & I were tired, but would leave in the morning..he did a full refund that night..yes, we got money back, but, he knew that was not what I booked, and he could have told us from the get go, we would have not spent our holiday time, money, travel time going to that situation..people are absolutely squished in to the fullest in that front ( premium ) ocean area..good luck social distancing during Covid.. would never recommend this RV camping place
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
chanmight wrote a review May 2024
Burnaby, Canada24 contributions22 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I camped here originally in July 2019 and had a fabulous time. The park was busy, but the maintenance was meticulous. There was even fluffy white towels in the spotless bathrooms. We did get moved from the campsite we originally booked, but moved to a better, oceafront site, without added cost to us. Fast forward to April 2024, we decide to book 2 nights, one going up Island, and another one week later going down Island. Knowing there was a chance that we may be moved sites by management, we paid $10 extra for a site guarantee. When we arrived, the park was a ghost town. It looked unkempt, with just a few over-winter trailers, and 1 other camper... Set-up in the site we reserved. We went to the office, which was closed, and called the number indicated. The owner was currently in Alberta, and told us to pick another spot. I asked for my $10 site guarantee to be refunded, and was ridiculed. Really? She asked. It's only $10, she said. But the whole point of the $10 was to guarantee our spot, I replied. No response. Later, we realized that no one had given us the code for the bathroom door, and when we texted her and asked, she ignored that as well. My husband is a chatty guy and talked to a local to ask what happened to the park between 2019 and 2024 and he said that the owner's son was originally running the place, but she fired him because he wasn't making enough profit. So there you go. The park is profit above comfort and customer service. We cancelled the second night and will never return.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karen H wrote a review May 2021
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This campground was able to squeeze us in at the very last minute. The on site manager was so friendly and made sure we had everything we needed. He even baked apple fritters for the entire campground.
Can’t say enough about the amazing views!! Right on the ocean! A bird watchers paradise!
The sites were clean and spacious, the other campers were so friendly! There’s a huge field for fun games. And they are super pet friendly!
We will absolutely return! We felt like family there!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Milena wrote a review Oct 2020
5 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Initially I came here to leave a great review inspired by the amazing summer we had here at Lighthouse RV once again.
We have never been disappointed with anything and love the place.
I am sad to see that Matt has been almost demonized by another customer for trying to help us.
Matt has always been very accommodating. He is excellent at managing the place and works hard to make everyone happy.

In the unusual conditions of COVID 19 we found ourselves “homeless”. After a wonderful month here we had planned to go fishing in Bella Coola, BC and had booked at Rip Rap Campsite (Hagensborg, BC). In the last moment we were told that they will not open because of the pandemic. We were supposed to check-out on August 23rd. I called each and every campground that day (all the way up North to Telegraph Cove) and no one could take us. I asked Matt if we could stay couple more nights until we find something. Once again he went out of his way and let us stay three more nights. We would have rather stayed at a parking lot or anywhere If It was possible and if we knew that we were going to cause him troubles. I have to say that being a 62’ rig, we are limited when choosing where to stay.
I can understand another person’s frustration caused by the change in plans, but the description of the camp sites in their review is not correct. In the times we live in, I can say that I would be happy if I am able to help out fellow campers.
My apologies to the person who left the angry review for causing them discomfort! I’m sure that they would have appreciated what happened differently if they were in our situation.
The site they had is very comparable to site #12. We’ve chosen it for our stay here previous years when visiting with our previous RV.
There is plenty of room and I don’t remember seeing “7 tents” during the two months we spent here this summer.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Wayne U wrote a review Nov 2020
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We checked into this RV Park in July. The issues began immediately. Power problems for several weeks,raw sewage problems for entire stay,fish table that was not equipped to deal with left over fish waste,people living in campers that were not self contained and not using washroom facilities and last but not least failure to refund deposit.Also failure to follow a check in procedure that led to not living up to the rent agreement etc.Will be following this up with a full detailed description of these issues at later date
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lighthouse RV Park, Owner at Lighthouse RV Park
Responded Feb 22, 2021
Wayne, your review is unjustified and untrue. The fact is, the Lighthouse RV Park did not comply with your abusive threats and unreasonable demands. You requested a premium site for the winter months and refused to pay the advertised rate of $600.00 per month. You failed to pay for parking two additional passenger vehicles while staying at the Lighthouse RV Park. You then vacated the RV Park without providing the 30-day notice as required. You are making every effort to damage the reputation of the RV Park including an unsuccessful complaint to the Better Business Bureau. You have registered with TripAdvisor to make your one and only contribution in an effort to damage the RV Parks reputation. I now know what you meant when you tried to intimidate me with your threat of "We can do this the hard way". The only accurate statement in your review is the check-in date of July 2020. I wish you the best of luck in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Deborah D wrote a review Jul 2022
Mazatlan, Mexico8 contributions5 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Without a doubt, one of the absolute rudest owners ever! Stay away! My goodness! I would never stay there! Rude. No manners. Fortunately we had alternate accommodations. Beware. Keep driving right on past. Nice way to ruin a perfectly great weekend.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Don’t go there!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TravellingShell2016 wrote a review Aug 2019
Vancouver Island, Canada35 contributions35 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The ocean view is right by your rig. The bathrooms are updated and clean, the sites are flat with excellent hook up arrangements, Matt, the owner -operator is friendly and helpful, and the sites are a good size with some pull thrus. It is big rig friendly. A big highlight for us was the plentiful wifi. Most campsites say they have it but it is often just accessible near the office. Wi-Fi at Lighthouse RV is excellent. Our final words of praise go for the free firewood, which came with an excellent fire ring AND a specially labeled pail of water to douse your fire. This RV site is a winner!!!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Fanny Bay area.
LOCATION
CanadaBritish ColumbiaVancouver IslandComox ValleyFanny Bay
NUMBER OF ROOMS
30
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Lighthouse RV Park - UPDATED 2024 Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Lighthouse RV Park
Which popular attractions are close to Lighthouse RV Park?
Nearby attractions include Deep Bay Marine Field Station (4.6 km), Fillongley Provincial Park (7.9 km), and Boyle Point Provincial Park (7.3 km).
What are some restaurants close to Lighthouse RV Park?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ship & Shore Marine, Fanny Bay Inn, and West Coast Breeze Food Truck.
Are pets allowed at Lighthouse RV Park?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.