We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
240 Davis Rd, Gabriola Island, British Columbia V0R 1X1 Canada
E-mail hotel
Hotel direct offer!Special rate available
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveller (2)
Pool & Beach (5)
Videos (1)

About

#17 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Gabriola Island
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Haven is a not-for-profit charitable organization located on beautiful Gabriola Island, BC, Canada. Accommodations range from rustic cabins tucked away among the trees to suites overlooking quiet coastline waters. You will feel far from the hustle and bustle of the city, even though Gabriola Island is only 20 minutes by ferry from Nanaimo, or a 20 minute float plane ride from Vancouver. Facilities include an outdoor swimming pool (seasonal), fitness gym, and on-site massage and other bodywork. While you are here, take a walk on beachfront trails, visit local art galleries and shops, participate in morning yoga and movement, or slide into a comfortable chair to catch up on some reading.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Complimentary tea
Beach
Game room
Children's playground
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Wifi
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Golf course
Hiking
Canoeing offsite
Patio
Tennis court offsite
Board games / puzzles
Highchairs available
Shuttle bus service
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Full body massage
Massage
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
First aid kit
Show more
Room features
Private beach
Desk
Dining area
Fireplace
Coffee / tea maker
Radio
Sofa bed
Bath / shower
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Safe
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Microwave
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Complimentary toiletries
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Landmark view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Ocean View
Hotel links
Special Rate:Special rate available
13Reviews1Q+A3Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 5
  • 3
  • 3
  • 2
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
LarryTheRadioGuy wrote a review Aug. 2019
Victoria, Canada580 contributions199 helpful votes
Property's Favourite Review
The Haven, thanks to its founders Jock McKeen and the late Bennett Wong, has presented workshops and trained facilitators that have helped so many in their own personal growth. You go there, even if you're not taking a program, and can be inspired by the conversations you'll hear, as well as by the gorgeous ocean beach and the friendly and welcoming atmosphere. We went for a personal retreat after having not stayed there for over 25 years, and it was a wonderful homecoming. Our room was very comfortable, and the staff were ready to take care of any problems. The lunch was wonderful---served buffet style--Andouille sausage, pyrogies, lots of salads, the best Borscht I've had in years, and lots of choices for vegans or those choosing to go gluten free. I was ready to consider it perfect.....until we had some rather overcooked ham for dinner in a very hot dining room (no air conditioning). The morning's breakfast was again wonderful----quite the variety. Haven's granola is something to behold. I do wish that the person in the kitchen had been advised not to be playing fuzz guitar music on a tinny radio at 8 in the morning, however. But its an experience to have those wonderful beach walks---especially when the tide is out. A very enjoyable two day holiday. And the hot tub's wonderful. And they have an upright piano in one of the buildings that is accessible to anybody.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
wenda w wrote a review Jul. 2018
Calgary, Canada41 contributions17 helpful votes
Absolutely gorgeous, private location on the water. Beautiful view everywhere around property from woods to water & passing ferries. Older property but nicely maintained. Don’t forgot your hair dryer though, as they’re not supplied. Great retreat with lots of options for programs or just enjoying the lovely island.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
BillyRoseLee wrote a review Jun. 2017
8 contributions11 helpful votes
What a cool place to spend couple of days! Nice little restaurant with excellent vegetarian fare, really friendly staff, good programs and a beautiful property. The view is worth a million! A real island treasure! I'll be back.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2017
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from rachelathaven, Manager at The Haven Resort
Responded Jun. 25, 2017
Thanks so much for the great review BillyRoseLee. We hope to welcome you back soon! Rachel
Read more
private61 wrote a review Jul. 2016
Vancouver, Canada2 contributions1 helpful vote
I am sure there are nicer rooms available but ours was pathetic. We were told that it was a waterfront building, and then quite disappointed to find that for $140 we were put in a back basement type of room. Dank, dark, and tiny. No fridge, no coffee maker, no bottled water ( Island tap water is stinky to drink), no table, not even a chair to sit in or throw your pants or shirt on. Returned to the room in the evening to find a spider in my bed and two more on the walls. No one asked how our stay was when checking out. I guess this place has a greater purpose for retreats and counseling so don't expect it to be like a typical hotel or motel room.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2016
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from rachelathaven, Manager at The Haven Resort
Responded Jul. 20, 2016
Hi private61 - you are right, we are not a typical hotel! Most people come to The Haven for our programs and our rooms are set up primarily for that purpose. We do of course welcome other guests and I'm sorry to hear that you were disappointed in your room. We offer a range of room options, and our ocean view rooms have most of what you were looking for. We don't sell bottled water, however, for environmental reasons. I hope you enjoyed your stay on Gabriola.
Read more
Rayzor wrote a review Jul. 2016
Waterloo, Canada255 contributions139 helpful votes
Stopped in here for a quick coffee late in the evening. Although I can't comment on the food the coffee and fresh baked goods were very good and the view of the ocean are probably the best on the island. Be mindful this resort is a place that is primarily a retreat resort for workshops and large groups. It caters to those guests but everyone is welcome. Be prepared for large groups if there is a retreat going on.
Read more
Helpful
Share
Previous
ALSO KNOWN AS
the haven hotel gabriola island
LOCATION
CanadaBritish ColumbiaGabriola Island
NUMBER OF ROOMS
22
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Haven Resort
Which popular attractions are close to The Haven Resort?
Nearby attractions include Pipers Lagoon Park (7.7 km), Newcastle Island (4.9 km), and Maffeo Sutton Park (7.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Haven Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a fitness centre, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at The Haven Resort?
Top room amenities include a refrigerator, a desk, and a dining area.
What food & drink options are available at The Haven Resort?
Guests can enjoy complimentary tea, a free welcome drink, and an outdoor dining area during their stay.
Is parking available at The Haven Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Haven Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Woodfire Restaurant & Catering, The View Oceanside Grill, and Asteras Greek Taverna.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Haven Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre, an outdoor pool, and locker rooms available in the fitness centre during their stay.
Does The Haven Resort offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to The Haven Resort?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Bastion (6.0 km).
Does The Haven Resort have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is The Haven Resort accessible?
Yes, it offers facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.