We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
532 Grease Trail Service Road, New Aiyansh, Kitimat-Stikine District, British Columbia V0J 3J0 Canada
Booking.com
Priceline
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveller (37)
Dining (9)
Room & Suite (8)

About

#1 of 2 in New Aiyansh
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Anuttara Ashram is tucked away in the sacred mountains of the Nass Valley. With 100 acres of ancient old growth forest, water falls, cliffs and sitting right next to the Nass River we provide a quiet oasis for anyone seeking to retreat into the stillness. We provide 3 meals a day along with guided yoga and meditation. Satsangs are given upon request and during high season.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Yoga classes
Free breakfast
Hiking
Canoeing offsite
Kids stay free
Airport transportation
Wifi
Yoga room
Complimentary tea
Full body massage
Hot spring bath
Massage
Gift shop
Mosquito net
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Shared bathroom
First aid kit
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Dining area
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Room service
Room types
Mountain view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
Languages Spoken
English

Location

Full view
Contact
532 Grease Trail Service Road, New Aiyansh, Kitimat-Stikine District, British Columbia V0J 3J0 Canada
See all nearby hotels
21Reviews0Q+A4Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 19
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Starseed Magicians wrote a review Oct. 2021
Edmonton, Canada116 contributions5 helpful votes
I have been in touch with this Ashram for couple of years. I have donated, did Yoga and a prayer session with teachers. But when it was time to visit after opening after COVID, I was never invited/informed even though i just wanted to volunteer. Upon inquiring, they were very rude and disrespectful. Instead of apologizing for their behavior, they suggested to return my donation and "cut" the relationship. Now, what kind of Ashram would have these kinds of practices is a question on its own! My free time is only summer or spring break and they offered "next time" "whenever". A couple of times, the teacher did not show up and excuse was given. The organization and management of prayer session needs a long, hard look. Also, courses are unnecessary expensive. Hope this helps!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Anuttara Ashram, Owner at Anuttara Ashram
Responded Nov. 15, 2021
Dearest Utpala, We are so sorry that this is how you feel about the time that you have spent with us online. We will do our best to address your concerns and hopefully it will bring some understanding. The most important thing that should be stated is that because our relationship was 100% online we had no idea what your race is. So from our hearts to yours, any difficulties that have arisen have absolutely nothing to do with your race. Our hearts are heavy knowing that you might think this. Secondly, we get about 30 - 50 emails per day with people inquiring about coming to the ashram. At the time that you inquired we were closed due to COVID. We asked you to register for our newsletter so that you could stay up to date on when we reopen. We posted about our reopening on all of our social media networks and through our newsletter. We later received a very angry email from you because you did not receive a personal email inviting you to the ashram which you felt you should have received because you made a donation. Honestly, we would really truly love to be able to provide this kind of personalized service to people. The amount of people we had to turn away due to COVID was innumerable and we were unable to email people personally when we reopened. As we are a very small ashram, mainly run by volunteers, dealing with the difficulties of COVID lockdowns we were and are taxed and doing our best. We were and are disappointed and remorseful that we were unable to provide you with the kind of service that you needed. We really want people to feel loved and cared for through our community. Unfortunately, despite apologizing and trying to explain this to you, you were still quite upset. We wanted to express our regret and hopefully bring peace to the situations so we thought that the best thing to do was to refund you your donation and suggest you try a larger and more established ashram (as due to our small size we are unable to provide you with the services you wanted). We did not mean for this to be rude but was for us the best thing we knew how to do. To your final comments we will just say that the online gathering that you had registered for was free/by donation. There had been a sudden and unexpected death of a very dear friend and so we did our best to show up despite internally grieving. In regards to our prices, we try to offer below market pricing and sliding scale to be as accessible as possible. We give scholarships to BIPOC, LGBTQ2S+, and those in need. We are truly doing the best that we can in regards to financial accessibility in our school and ashram but it is true that not everything is free or by donation. Again, we are really sorry that you are unhappy with us and our services Utpala. We hope that you can come to understand our experience and perspective on this and that we truly never meant any harm to you. With love and kindness, The Anuttara Team
Read more
viivika k wrote a review Jul. 2021
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Amazing teachers and course content. Very authentic and so much to learn! I’m enjoying every moment.I have learned more about myself, happiness, compassion for others, letting go, amongst many others things. Not only did it deepen my yoga practice, but it taught me patience with myself and others, to look at people in a different way, and compassion on a whole new level. The teachers are PHENOMENAL and you will love every second. I am beyond thankful that the universe led me to Anuttara Ashram . Highly recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Jessica L wrote a review Nov. 2018
2 contributions
If you are looking for an off grid spiritual Yoga teacher training, dont look any further. By going to Anuttara Ashram, I got to explore parts of myself that Ive never seen before. Trough different spiritual ceremonies and activities I got to touch and heal parts of myself that I didn't even know were sick. I had 0 expectations before coming to Anattura and I believe I returned home with alot of experiences and knowledge that got me closer to my path. Aarti and Nirav are beautiful and genuine souls from whom I've learned alot. This is the place to disconnect from society to reconnect with your true self. Namaste!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: Cabins for the win!
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
cassh108 wrote a review Sep. 2018
High Level, Canada5 contributions
I'm a recent graduate of the August 2018 alumni. I can not believe all I have learned in the past month about yoga and about myself. This place turned my life around for the better. I will be forever grateful for this place. I plan on taking my family for a yoga retreat here next year for them to experience it all. The location is breath taking, food was great with so much love and the atmosphere and all the work they do holding space for you is amazing. I highly recommend experiencing Anuttara Ashram it won't disappoint. Being off grid was the best thing I have done for myself in a long time.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Tanya I wrote a review Sep. 2018
1 contribution
I recently just graduated from Anuttara Yoga and Meditation Teacher Training Program and am blown away by how much we learned in a short amount of time. From the moment I arrived at the Ashram, I felt welcomed and like family. The community atmosphere really makes you feel at home. The training went beyond any expectations that I had, it was so much more than just teacher training - we learned so much about ourselves in the process too. There is so much more to practicing yoga then what just happens on the mat and at Anuttara, they really helped us to understand that concept. The only downfall during the course was that we experienced a drought, so water was a little scarce for showering, etc. But the ashram handled really well and brought in water so we could continue with showers, etc. It also helped us to realize how important it is to be mindful of consumption. I recommend this training for everybody - even if you have no desire to teach, you can learn so much more than you thought you can. And also for anyone just wanted to get away from the city and to reconnect with nature - this is the place!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$114 - US$115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
CanadaBritish ColumbiaKitimat-Stikine DistrictNew Aiyansh
NUMBER OF ROOMS
8
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Anuttara Ashram
Which popular attractions are close to Anuttara Ashram?
Nearby attractions include Stair Creek Conservancy (6.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Anuttara Ashram?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Anuttara Ashram?
Top room amenities include a dining area, a fireplace, and a mosquito net.
What food & drink options are available at Anuttara Ashram?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Anuttara Ashram?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Anuttara Ashram?
Yes, guests have access to yoga classes during their stay.
Does Anuttara Ashram have airport transportation?
Yes, Anuttara Ashram offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.