Governor's Mansion Inn

Governor's Mansion Inn

62 St. Patrick's Dr, Miramichi, New Brunswick E1N 5V5 Canada
Traveller (42)
Our bedroom
Room & Suite (11)
A cozy night by the fire!
Dining (7)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#1 of 1 inn in Miramichi
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
See why so many travelers make Governor's Mansion Inn their inn of choice when visiting Miramichi. Providing an ideal mix of value, comfort and convenience, it offers a romantic setting with an array of amenities designed for travelers like you. Given the close proximity of popular landmarks, such as Ritchie Wharf (1.5 mi) and French Fort Cove (2.7 mi), guests of Governor's Mansion Inn can easily experience some of Miramichi's most well known attractions. The rooms offer air conditioning, and getting online is possible, as free wifi is available, allowing you to rest and refresh with ease. Guests arriving by vehicle have access to free parking. While staying at Governor's Mansion Inn, you may want to check out Kingsway Restaurant (1.1 mi) which is a short walk away. Best of all, Governor's Mansion Inn makes it easy to experience Beaubears Island National Historic sites, just in front of Governor's Mansion. At Governor's Mansion Inn, your comfort and satisfaction come first, and they look forward to welcoming you to Miramichi.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Golf course
Fishing
Books, DVDs, music for children
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Wifi
Special diet menus
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Air conditioning
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Charming
Languages Spoken
English, French
60Reviews0Q+A14Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 31
  • 18
  • 5
  • 2
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Maurina J wrote a review Aug 2023
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates37 contributions31 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This Inn is not only unique and historically beautiful, it is warm and cozy . The host Mike is one of the most friendly I have ever had. I stayed in “Governor’s Lady” room for a week while visiting family. Last but not least the views of Beaubear’s Island are amazing, especially at sunset.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Michael Mersereau, Owner at Governor's Mansion Inn
Responded Aug 4, 2023
It was a pleasure to host Maurina who clearly appreciates our historic property and riverside location. She is the kind of guest that makes hosting worthwhile.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Michael R wrote a review Apr 2016
Oakville, Ontario, Canada25 contributions13 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Our Host was a lovely man, and service staff were all very likeable, but in truth, the actual facility and the breakfast were mediocre at best. It has to be said, we were there in the off season, but the peeling paint on the exterior and the musty smell was off putting. Breakfast was not free and ingredients were all pretty well standard supermarket fare. But it has to be said the mishmash of antiques were quite astonishing and the history of the place is very interesting to learn about, and it does inspire a connection to the past that is fascinating. So we would recommend it for history buffs, as long as you are not put off by the faded glory of the place.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2016
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Michael M, Owner at Governor's Mansion Inn
Responded Apr 26, 2016
Thanks for the helpful feedback. We are pleased that there were no concerns with your room. Yes, our breakfast menu options are limited by the low volume of guests this time of year. However, we have do have other menu options which we would have offered if you had informed us that the offered menu was not to your liking. Also, there is a breakfast-included rate in the online booking service which some guests find more economical and suited to their needs. Your rate could be adjusted to the breakfast-included rate if you had informed me that this was a concern. Often, guests do not wish to purchase breakfast so we try to provide guests with the economical options they desire. Thanks for drawing our attention to the mustiness, which is only in part of the public area. This time of year, before spring cleaning and opening up to the spring air, it can become musty indoors. A 156 year-old building will be musty. Hearing from you on this encourages us to address the matter soonest. It is always difficult to make any property shine during the "mud" season, before spring clean-up. We are aware of the peeling paint and we have found that remedy is complex. The current "modern" siding will no longer hold paint and needs to be replaced. We have been researching period-appropriate exterior siding. We believe we have found a solution - actually suggested by one of our guests - and work will be started during the coming months. We are confident that guests will be positively impressed with the results that will be consistent with the building's historic designation. Again, as I requested on your checkout, we desire guest feedback. Your visit and feedback are much appreciated.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
hwayneh2018 wrote a review Oct 2018
Charlottetown, Canada25 contributions46 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Having stayed at Governor’s Mansion before I wanted to share this experience with my grandson. It is a wonderful old mansion furnished with some very interesting antique furniture.
The other plus was the excellent breakfast that goes with it.
Our room and bath were well appointed and very spacious looking out over the river. All was well until breakfast, where I had expected a hot breakfast etc. Unfortunately the breakfast has diminished from a wonderful hot breakfast to a coffee and toast event. It was very disappointing, especially since I had really been looking forward to their wonderful hot breakfast.
Other than this disappointment everything else met my expectations z
Read more
Date of stay: July 2018Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from MichaelM19500, Owner at Governor's Mansion Inn
Responded Dec 16, 2018
Thank you for your feedback which is appreciated. We are sorry for the misunderstanding about the breakfast. We do offer a hot breakfast option but it appears that we did not know that this is what you desired. The standard is the continental buffet but would have been happy to prepare a hot breakfast for you had we known. We are glad you appreciated the inn museum character of our property.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Trish R wrote a review Aug 2021
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
After 40 years of wanting to stay at this hotel, as I have frequented this area often , I picked the wrong time to book it. The dining room isn't open due to covid, nor is there any cable tv due to the renos...as advertised by The innkeeper Mike advertised that is an understatement, it's more like under construction. The main floor rooms are full of stuff from other rooms (bathtubs, furniture) that you're not able to enjoy the rooms and the history this hotel offers, not to mention the inch of dust on the furniture as well. We booked for 2nights, but only stayed 1 as we felt unsafe and uneasy. The hallway to our room in the back was unfinished with no drywall, insulation and beams and wires exposed. Our room was "ok" the bed and pillows however were comfortable. After confronting Mike the Innkeeper about our wanting to leave and not feeling comfortable, he refused to work with us for any compensation or to only charge us for one night, claiming he was fully booked yet we were the only couple there.

He then proceeded to scream at me when I brought up the dining room and covid restrictions being lifted. He also claimed that our charges were put thru and wouldn't be able to do anything for us and that he's a small business owner, basically too bad so sad that we weren't happy! He is a liar, as he processed my card after we left.

Iam so disappointed, that my dream stay was ruined. Rest assured the Miramichi is a beautiful place with beautiful history and people. There are plenty of other places (B&Bs) to stay that are willing to work with the customer. This guy gives Miramichers a bad name!!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Michael Mersereau, Owner at Governor's Mansion Inn
Responded Sep 7, 2021
It is regretted that your stay during the pandemic and our renovations was disappointing. Yes, you did pick the wrong time to book. You were forewarned of the renovations and that the dining room is closed, yet you refused to accept this reality. Your room rate was discounted accordingly. Access to the guest rooms where work is ongoing was blocked and entirely safe . Common rooms are still accessible. Yes, as you wrote your conduct was confrontational from the outset and you could not be reasoned with. This is not consistent with the type of guests at our property. Most are interested in our historic restoration work.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
hwayneh2018 wrote a review Jun 2018
Charlottetown, Canada25 contributions46 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
On a quick trip to Bathurst in business with my grandson we decided to stay in Miramichi. Having stayed at the Governor’s Mansion on a previous trip we decided to overnight there. This was because I had had such a positive experience on my previous visit.
This stay was equally positive and we had the Queen’s Bedroom on the front overlooking Miramichi River. Very comfortable king bed with private bath including tub and shower.
Breakfast was included and Simone was very friendly and accommodating.
A small disappointment was no bacon and eggs and canned fruit but otherwise a very good experience.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2018Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from MichaelM19500, Owner at Governor's Mansion Inn
Responded Dec 16, 2018
Thank you for your positive feedback which is appreciated. We are glad you had the opportunity to stay with us again. Sorry for the misunderstanding about breakfast. As I explained upon your check-in, the breakfast options include both a hot breakfast and the continental buffet. We would have gladly served you a hot plate had we known. We will certainly make this up for you if given the opportunity to host you again! Thanks,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
travellpn wrote a review May 2016
Miramichi, Canada5 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had the pleasure of having our dream wedding here and also stayed 2 nights in the Governors room( spacious and beautiful). Mike, the owner was most gracious with all arrangements with our wedding and was most obliging with all the details we had asked for .Simone (staff) was most delightful to us and we enjoyed her company . We also purchased a 3 course dinner for 4 people and it was amazing!! We were treated like royalty and will be retuning for our anniversary .
Read more
Date of stay: May 2016Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Michael M, General Manager at Governor's Mansion Inn
Responded May 30, 2016
It was an honour to host your wedding and the newly weds as guests and for dinner. And the decorating was fun! Thank you for choosing Governor's Mansion.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Graeme P wrote a review Sep 2012
Kaiapoi, New Zealand88 contributions24 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Arrived here very late in the afternoon,tired from a 650kms trip of some very scenic travel.
The owner couldnt do enough to help us with our planned Irish Kitchen party music evening.
The morning breakfast was a very nice treat.The mansion is the original govenors house.,with all the rooms for the hired help.
We were given a very nice room on the top floor and every thing was clean and very comfortable.
Only had a night here but would of liked a couple more.,but needed to keep on the move.
The interior is filled with beautiful antique furniture.
A recommended stay if in this area.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2012
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stevethearchitect wrote a review Oct 2018
Benfleet, United Kingdom351 contributions114 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had the Governor’s room (who had clearly been removed from office and sent back to England!). The room was very large with plenty of space for luggage, huge bed and a good choice of seats. The bathroom was unheated, which does require rectification. Everything worked well; with two towel rails and space for wash- and make up bags and the bathroom soon warmed up after leaving the door open.

The breakfasts were great. The owner was extremely helpful with tips for outings and much besides. Top marks.

Some reviews may highlight niggling maintenance issues or old style decoration and fittings, but you’re not paying for a bland, modern, corporate hotel with ‘have a nice day’ staff.

Great place to stay!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from MichaelM19500, Owner at Governor's Mansion Inn
Responded Dec 16, 2018
Thank you for your feedback which is appreciated. We are not sure why heating provision was never made for that room but it has now been rectified with installation of heating. We are glad that you appreciate the inn museum nature of our property.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Janet K wrote a review Oct 2017
1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I enjoyed three days in the area visiting friends in August. We stayed at the Mansion and we're amazed by our host Michael's warmth and knowledge of this historic Mansion, home and the area. Breakfasts were plentiful and delicious with lots of choice. Rooms are delightful and historic. The location is excellent with easy access and walking distance to Beaubears Island, National Historic site We would highly recommend a night or two at the Governor's Mansion as a destination stop to anyone travelling through province or locals seeking a weekend getaway.!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2017
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Queen Elizabeth 's room for historic treat.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from MichaelM19500, Owner at Governor's Mansion Inn
Responded Dec 16, 2018
Thank you for your feedback which is appreciated. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
guiguisan1 wrote a review Aug 2017
Kobe, Japan3 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Great spot, quiet, comfortable and delicious breakfast! The only alternative if you are looking for something that is worth every penny. A glimps of the past
Superbe endroit, comfortable et déjeuner délicieux! La seule alternative si vous en voulez pour votre argent. Un voyage dans le temps.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
Michael M wrote a tip Aug 2019
Fort Walton Beach, Florida7 contributions2 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Breakfast is continental style. Coffee Excellent."
Read full review
terry W wrote a tip Jul 2019
Luton, United Kingdom42 contributions2 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask for the Governors room, it faces the river and the road, which has next to no traffic on it."
Read full review
Janet K wrote a tip Oct 2017
1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Queen Elizabeth 's room for historic treat."
Read full review
DebraJeanne52 wrote a tip Oct 2017
Alpine, Utah259 contributions81 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"They are all beautiful!"
Read full review
Katherine K wrote a tip Jun 2017
3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"I was in the least expensive (Governor's Lady) and it was gorgeous and enormous - the bathroom was a bit basic, but super for the price."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Miramichi area.
PRICE RANGE
C$213 - C$227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
CanadaNew BrunswickMiramichi
NUMBER OF ROOMS
4
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Governor's Mansion Inn - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Governor's Mansion Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Governor's Mansion Inn?
Nearby attractions include Ritchie Wharf (2.5 km), French Fort Cove (4.4 km), and Maurie's Mini-Putt & Ice Cream (5.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Governor's Mansion Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Governor's Mansion Inn?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Governor's Mansion Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Governor's Mansion Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Chatter's Pub & Eatery, Quesada, Burritos & Tacos, and Mike's Bar & Grill.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Governor's Mansion Inn?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and French.
Are there any historical sites close to Governor's Mansion Inn?
Many travellers enjoy visiting French Fort Cove (4.4 km).
All Miramichi HotelsMiramichi Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in MiramichiHotels near Governor's Mansion Inn
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars