We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
365 Pleasant St, Miramichi, New Brunswick E1V 1X4 Canada
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Traveluro
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (35)
Room & Suite (18)
Dining (12)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Contactless check-out
  • Individually wrapped toiletries
Updated 20-07-21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Econo Lodge Miramichi
Updated 20-07-21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#4 of 6 in Miramichi
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Econo Lodge Miramichi is located in the heart of downtown Miramichi, offering rooms overlooking the scenic Maramichi River. And it is very close to popular tourist attractions. Famous Richie Wharf and River Tour Boats are just within 100 meters. We are very close to Beaubears Island, French Fort Cove Nature Park, the Miramichi Civie Center. Miramichi Dragway Park and Lord Beaverbrook Arena. Our convenient hotel is within walking distance to many government and city offices, major banks, super and liquor markets, and many parks.If your most concerns after long hours of trip are a comfortable bedroom, cozy dining and hospitality, the very answer is in our Miramichi hotel.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Bowling
Casino and Gambling
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Newspaper
Parking
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Vending machine
Hiking
Horseback riding
Fishing
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, German
150Reviews0Q+A31Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 75
  • 36
  • 16
  • 14
  • 9
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
ZipDr wrote a review Aug. 2021
Dieppe, Canada68 contributions13 helpful votes
I was driving to Moncton and stopped hoping to find a place to stay for the night, just too tired to drive any farther. The attached restaurant was closed Mondays although this isn’t mentioned on either website, and the smell of mold hit me walking in the door. I used the washroom and although it was early in the evening, and there were few guests around, the garbage was overflowing. Needless to say, I stayed elsewhere…
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Timmay C wrote a review May 2020
Quispamsis, Canada84 contributions6 helpful votes
Friendly reception, nice room. Baseboard heat and quiet fridge, unlike the hotel where we stayed last visit. THAT place was like sleeping on a factory floor, with window heating unit and fridge alternately roaring loudly to life all night long. Sadly the excellent attached resto (Chatters) which has become our favourite on the çhi is closed because of the pandemic. Next time we hope. As another reviewer noted, time to replace those $10 thermostats - 15 on the stat was actually about 20, phew! The hill by the legion was a bit of a drag strip but with all 3 radar patrol drinking coffee at McD around 11 that's not the hotel's fault.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Bev Goodwill wrote a review Feb. 2020
2 contributions
We stayed at econo lodge for a curling tournament. The owner and his staffs were very welcoming. The rooms were clean and spacious. My only complaint was that the room was a bit hot. I felt like I was in a sauna. We had all our meals at the adjacent restaurant and it was great. Service was a little bit slow, but overall, we had a really good stay.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: The rooms on the second floor had great view.
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
VintageGunEnth wrote a review Jan. 2020
2 contributions2 helpful votes
Friendly and efficient staff. Warm and proper room with great beds. Fast WiFi. Regular continental breakfast with waffle maker, yogourts, boiled eggs and fruits. No gym or laundry facility but more than enough for business travellers.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: Ask for ground floor for easier access.
See more room tips
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
mrcleansrainbow66 wrote a review Jan. 2020
Charlottetown, Canada3 contributions6 helpful votes
Had a room with two queens on the ground floor. The room was spotless. Floor was hard wood and very clean also. Before leaving for my son's game, he accidentally dropped some orange juice on the floor. When I tried to clean it with a tissue, it only picked up the juice which was impressive. The hotel also had a bathtub which was great because most hotels are shifting to showers to save water. The pub named Chatter's was attached to the hotel. It was closed for holidays but looked pretty nice. Great experience overall!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Get a ground floor room for easy access. I heard from other parents top floors had better views...
See more room tips
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from econolodgemiramichi1, Front Office Manager at Econo Lodge Miramichi
Responded Jan. 17, 2020
Hello mrcleansrainbow66, Juno here. Thank you for the great review. It was a great pleasure accommodating you and your team. Our housekeepers work their hearts off to keep our rooms spotless and clean so I thank you for recognizing their hard work. I will make sure to let them know about this. Have a great winter and stay warm! Juno Front Office Manager
Read more
Dude2030 wrote a review Jan. 2020
3 contributions2 helpful votes
Hot Water was brown and no one seemed to care. That is if you even had the luck of getting hit water at all. Yuck. Made me worry about the quality of the water all together. :( Don’t think I would stay again. Have been
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from econolodgemiramichi1, Front Office Manager at Econo Lodge Miramichi
Responded Jan. 15, 2020
Hello Dude203, Like I responded to the other review. There's nothing we can do about the temporarily brown water. When the city flushes water, they flush them. Unfortunately, that is not our call. Juno Front Office Manager
Read more
B Hoyt wrote a review Jan. 2020
Fredericton, Canada6 contributions3 helpful votes
My wife, son and I stayed at this hotel last week. We were booked for two nights. Upon arrival, the check-in process was efficient and the staff was very friendly. The door to our hotel room was frozen shut, however a quick tip from the desk clerk did the trick. The heat was on in our room. It was clean and appeared well maintained. There was a bit of staining in the tub, but it wasn’t dirty. The sound proofing was t great. The floor was freezing when we arrived, but it had warmed up 12 hours later. We had an unfortunate experience with the hotel owner that evening, as laid out in another review. Long story short, it was made quite clear that the owner was not happy about having us in his hotel, despite relatively benign behavior on the part of our group. While the owner’s treatment left us considering alternative options, the shower the following morning sealed the deal. My wife had a hot shower at 5:40am and reported no issues. I got in at 6:00am, and there was no hot water. But even worse, the cool water was also tinged brown (see pic posted below). That was the final straw for me. We checked out that morning and moved to another hotel. Interestingly, the staff at the next hotel offered unsolicited praise to our group for how well behaved our children were! If they fix their hot water problem, and if you’re not traveling as a group with a hockey team, this hotel would probably be fine. But it is quite clear that teams are not welcome here, and the shower experience was completely unacceptable.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from econolodgemiramichi1, Front Office Manager at Econo Lodge Miramichi
Responded Jan. 15, 2020
Hello bjaHoyt, This is Juno again. I have to say, you are a bit more reasonable than the other review. I do apologize for the brown water. The city must've flushed the water early in the morning and I can't do much about that. That's the city's call. Regarding us being unhappy accommodating your team, yes, we were very unhappy. We were actually relieved that your team was checking-out a day early. I mentioned to you and your team that bringing alcohol to the restaurant and conference room is violating the health code certification and could cost us losing liquor license. However, your team completely ignored me and sneaked them in anyway. Still, I know that you and two other parents were the only ones who actually listened and purchased alcohol legally through the bar. I have no idea if that was just to distract us, but anyhow, l appreciated that. Also the conference room was for pizza party only. Not for running around helplessly nor as a football field for your kids. You knew the conference room was on the second floor. Anyways, your team checking-out a day earlier, it was a good call. Juno Front Office Manager
Read more
Resort69638 wrote a review Jan. 2020
Fredericton, Canada3 contributions2 helpful votes
We were just in the Miramichi and booked into the Econolodge for 2 nights but we left after the first night. The hotel had a weird smell when you walked in that we could also smell in our room and the beds were extremely uncomfortable. We were staying in the hotel with a few other families that were part of the same hockey team, which the owners knew since we had booked a block of rooms months before our actual stay. The owners should have said at that time they don’t want teams or kids staying there as we were made to feel extremely unwelcome! During our stay we had rented the conference room to let the kids play and have some pizza. The only area of the hotel under the conference room was the the restaurant which was closed so we wouldn’t have been disturbing anyone, other than the one person playing a VLT machine. The kids were contained to one room, playing and not running around in the hallways but the owner kept coming up to the conference room and although we had it rented until 9pm, he kicked us out of the room. We also decided to check out early and stay at a different hotel which was amazing!! We travel a lot for sports and this is by far the worst experience we’ve ever had! I’ve never been treated so poorly by a hotel/owner before!! I do not recommend this hotel and we will never be back!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from econolodgemiramichi1, Front Office Manager at Econo Lodge Miramichi
Responded Jan. 16, 2020
Hello, Resort69638, This is Juno. I asked your team not to bring alcohol to the conference room (part of Chatter's Pub & Eatery) because that would violate the law regarding not only the serving of alcohol but also food handling laws in general. We would be risking not only our liquor license but also the health code certification for safe food service. You and your team ignored that and decided to bring alcohol with your kids anyway so I had to warn yous again in the conference room. Later I found out that you guys have completely dismissed my request again because I found out that some of the parents were using their kids to bring ice from the lobby and alcohol from hotel rooms. Also at the same time, you let one of your daughters who were around 3 years old wonder around alone near VLT. Our general manager/owner had found out about this and took her back to conference room where you and your team were too busy drinking and letting your kids do whatever. This was your getaway. How can our manager not be frustrated after all this? Furthermore, we asked to clean up after you guys were done in the conference room which you did not do. You left every garbage in the room, broke one of the heaters, and destroyed some of our Christmas decorations. I have much more to say but since it will take a day to write everything down I will stop. Also, thanks for leaving after just one night stay and please don't come back. I do not want to accommodate adults who are not responsible for their kids and their safety. I'm from Freddy and I'm ashamed of how your team portray Fredericton. Juno Front Desk Manager
Read more
Nathan L wrote a review Nov. 2019
Fredericton, Canada3 contributions2 helpful votes
We stayed here during the snow storm in early November since the power in our area went out. The owner and staff were kind and helpful, and our room was warm on arrival. Will come again if something happens in our area.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Travelled
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Wilf S wrote a review Oct. 2019
7 contributions9 helpful votes
I booked a stay and was given time to cancel should I choose to. I called at 10:15 am as I had until 3:00 pm to cancel. When I returned home I checked my visa and they had not cancelled the reservation and I was charged for two days. I called the hotel and spoke to a rep and they said that they would get back to me. I sent them all the pertinant information. They said I had made the resrvation through Reservations.com and had to pay a fee for the reservation so I should call them. I called Reservations.com and they gave me the same answer. I paid for two days stay when and after I cancelled. I have appealed to my credit card to dispute the charge but I have not been informed of the result of my appeal. I would never use Reservations.com as they are a useless group to deal with.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from FriendinMiramichi, General Manager at Econo Lodge Miramichi
Responded Oct. 24, 2019
Hello Wilf S, I think there's a misunderstanding here. The only reason why you couldn't cancel your reservation through Reservation.com was because you texted them instead of calling them. You pre-paid through Reservation.com not through us. If you had actually called them or did it the right away through their web-site, they wouldn't have recommend you to call us in the first place. This review seems to be more towards Reservations.com and not us, so we don't really understand why you would this in such way. Anyhow, when booking with hotels, try to book directly with the hotels. That way, it will be easier for you to cancel or change the date. It is only one phone call away. Have a nice fall. If you have any other inquiries, please give us a call. Juno General Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$65 - US$110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
miramichi econo lodge
LOCATION
CanadaNew BrunswickMiramichi
NUMBER OF ROOMS
38
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Econo Lodge Miramichi
Which popular attractions are close to Econo Lodge Miramichi?
Nearby attractions include Ritchie Wharf (0.1 km), Historic Beaverbrook House (0.4 km), and L&A Goldsmith (0.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Econo Lodge Miramichi?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Econo Lodge Miramichi?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Econo Lodge Miramichi?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Econo Lodge Miramichi?
Conveniently located restaurants include Chatter's Pub & Eatery, Tran's Palace Restaurant, and Vera kitchen & bar.
Does Econo Lodge Miramichi offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Econo Lodge Miramichi?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, and German.
Are there any historical sites close to Econo Lodge Miramichi?
Many travellers enjoy visiting French Fort Cove (2.4 km).
Does Econo Lodge Miramichi have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the river view available here.
Is Econo Lodge Miramichi accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.