We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Sophia's Heritage Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Sophia\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

26 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Sophia's Heritage Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 25: English reviews
St. John's, Canada
Reviewed 12 December 2012

Wanted a short getaway to celebrate a birthday milestone! We had stayed at this B&B a few years ago and really enjoyed the old (but not rundown) house and the meal served at the on site restaurant. So we thought to pay a return visit. We weren't disappointed! We stayed in the Tara Jean room, a large beautiful room with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BigBear50
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Our room was clean and comfortable. However we had to use the window fan to,get cool as the room was not air conditioned. Our disappointment was with the breakfast. It was very uninteresting based on the other places we have stayed. We were offered the same thing two days in a row. Others were offered the same menu three days....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Carl W
NLExperience, General Manager at Sophia's Heritage Inn, responded to this review

I am sorry your experience at our Inn did not meet your expectations. We do strive to provide our guests with the utmost in care and attention and we appreciate your feedback. To address your concerns: we do not live on this particular property, and in fact, operate 6 Inns in total which are located in two different locations. This...

Quebec City, Canada
Reviewed 22 August 2011

My husband and I had the summer love package, Dinner was lovely (salmon for him - beef filet for her). And an extrordinary caramel pudding worth the trip. Everything was perfect!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GenMich
Barrie, Canada
Reviewed 2 August 2011

We stayed at Sophia's for 2 nights and used it as our base for exploring the Baccalieu Trail (Heart's Content, Grate's Cove, Winterton) Beautiful well kept, clean inn. Friendly helpful staff. Our room was very clean and comfortable. Great bed! Breakfasts were filling and delicious. We had our dinner there one of our nights and it was EXCELLENT.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DLT1975
Waterloo, Canada
Reviewed 20 July 2011

This inn was a great find in the town of Carbonear. The beautiful historic house had all of the comforts of home. Jennifer was very friendly and provided us with information about the area. The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. In the morning we were treated with the most delicious berry pancakes I have ever tasted!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JenLFields
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 14 July 2011

The room was small but nice. We needed the window fan to cool off. The owner was around only when checking in or out and at breakfast time. We were hoping to get some area history and lore from the owner. The breakfast was very tasty, what there was of it. I can usually eat more than two pancakes. A...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Clark_Kent_Traveller
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 22 September 2010

The warm reception upon arrival set the stage for a pleasant stay. The heritage inn designation is appropriate as the common areas and rooms are period themed,spotless and comfortable. The staff are very knowledgeable regarding local attractions and hiking trails in the general area. The breakfasts provided are well balanced and evening meals when available are superior.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melville20
St. John's, Canada
Reviewed 15 August 2010

This B and B was the best B n B I have stayed in. Both the food and the room were first class. Highly recommend. Please note that the restaurant has a first class chef at the helm. Our server, Heather, was above average and worth noting in this review. EWe booked the romance package and this was worth every...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travelover62_10
Ontario
Reviewed 30 May 2010

An excellent B&B. Unfortunately all the large rooms were booked, so we had to settle for a smaller room at the back. But the real attraction here is the food. We had both dinner and breakfast, and they were probably the best meals we have ever had at a B&B. The partridgeberry pancakes at breakfast were absolutely delicious. Jennifer serves...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank canduo
Nova Scotia
Reviewed 13 September 2009

Can't recommend 'Sophia's' and 'The Merchant's Manor' highly enough! First-class surroundings, real Newfoundland ambience, superb food and hospitality, genuine comfort. After spending the night in a wonderfully luxurious bed, we needed a venue to host a small family reception. 'The Merchant's Manor' provided an occasion to remember -- wood-panelled study, adjacent reception room, trays of Newfoundland delicacies served in style,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BluenoseQueen

24 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carbonear
1.5 km away
Baccalieu Trail B&B
Baccalieu Trail B&B
#1 of 3 in Carbonear
20 reviews
5.0 km away
Rose Manor Inn
Rose Manor Inn
#2 of 4 in Harbour Grace
116 reviews
16.1 km away
The Spaniard's Room
The Spaniard's Room
#1 of 2 in Spaniard's Bay
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 km away
Stonewall Inn B&B
Stonewall Inn B&B
#2 of 2 in Spaniard's Bay
28 reviews
18.4 km away
The Bayside Bed and Breakfast
20.7 km away
Silverwood Inn Hotel
Silverwood Inn Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bay Roberts
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sophia's Heritage Inn is a completely restored Newfoundland heritage home. The original character of this 19th century merchant homestead has been maintained while providing all modern amenities for guests. Complete with ocean views, ensuites, whirlpool tubs, down duvets & warm hospitality. Casual fine dining, original artwork & gift shop. Hot breakfast is complimentary.Sophia's Heritage Inn belongs to the Newfoundland Experience collection of Heritage Inns and Dining located in Trinity & Carbonear. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sophia's Heritage Inn

Address: 150 Water St, Carbonear, Newfoundland and Labrador A1Y 1A9, Canada
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Carbonear
Price Range: $125 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sophia's Heritage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sophia's Heritage Inn Carbonear, Newfoundland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Sophia's Heritage Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The jacuzzi tub was awesome.”
 of 5 bubbles JenniferT831, 15 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Ask about bed sizes!”
 of 5 bubbles kgass, 28 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Pick the front room with the spa bath and air conditioner...top notch”
 of 5 bubbles mpmrb, 7 Aug 2014 | Read review
“Tara Jean's suite is quite large and has a whirlpool tub!”
 of 5 bubbles Rchafe, 4 Oct 2013 | Read review
“The Kali Justine suite has a king size bed, jacuzzi plus shower in the ensuite bathroom, fireplace (we didn't use); and best of all, air conditioning and a fan.”
 of 5 bubbles AnnMarie709_13, 29 Jul 2013 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay