We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Northern Light Inn

Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in L'Anse au Clair
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Show Prices
Management photos
Northern Light Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

99 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Northern Light Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 91: English reviews
YONKERS
Reviewed 28 July 2016

Our tour traveled to Labrador and we spent one night in this inn. The rooms were very comfortable and spacious. There was an iceberg right outside which added to the lovely view, The staff is very friendly. The local students also performed a skit about a shipwreck, giving us a more intimate view of their ancestors and the area. They...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JAKSALEX
Northern_Light_Inn, Public Relations Manager at Northern Light Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review of our establishment. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and that we met your expectations for quality and service. As an added treat, the local youth performers do a wonderful job in presenting the story of the HMS Raleigh, and we are happy you were able to experience that...

Naples, Florida
Reviewed 26 July 2016

Smaller, comfortable room overlooking the water. Stairs to get up to the second floor. Fridge and microwave in room. Breakfast in restaurant starting at 6 AM. Wifi was ok and we would stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sam J
Northern_Light_Inn, Public Relations Manager at Northern Light Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for choosing the Northern Light Inn as your Labrador home away from home. We are happy that you had an enjoyable stay, and very much appreciate your time and business with us. We hope we will have the privilege of being your host again in the future.

Hamilton
Reviewed 13 July 2016

I didn't know what to expect from Labrador, but the Inn was better than I thought we would get. We were part of a bus tour with Atlantic Tours ( they are great). Dining experience was awesome. The staff were friendly given there were 50 mouths to feed all at once. In Newfoundland and Labrador you won't get 5 star...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank J0J0starbuck8
Northern_Light_Inn, Public Relations Manager at Northern Light Inn, responded to this review

Dear JOJOstarbuck8, Thank you for your most excellent review of our establishment. We are very happy to know that your stay with us was a pleasant experience. We certainly appreciate our bus tour groups, as we do each customer, and are happy to know that your dining experience was also wonderful. Customer service is very important to us, and we...

Iowa
Reviewed 10 July 2016 via mobile

This is a basic motel, with polyester bedspreads, and thin carpet. It is clean and the room was large with a view of the harbor and icebergs. Unfortunately, our room was next to the stairs, and the walls are thin. I think the floors are made from the same material as roller skating rinks, because that is exactly the sound...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank StephanyIowa
Northern_Light_Inn, Public Relations Manager at Northern Light Inn, responded to this review

Thank you kindly for your review and for staying at the Northern Light Inn. We are happy that you had a comfortable stay, and that the room met your expectations for cleanliness, view and spaciousness. It is wonderful to know that our staff were able to assist you in a friendly and helpful manner. We hope you had an enjoyable...

Cranbrook, Canada
Reviewed 9 July 2016

This is a nice hotel. Unfortunately, we had a disappointing experience when we first arrived. We didn't know that there was a time change here and wound up at the hotel a bit early for our room. Instead of being politely told that the room was not ready, we were basically scolded by the lady at the front desk. This...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Puckducker
Northern_Light_Inn, Public Relations Manager at Northern Light Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your stay at the Northern Light Inn, and your most sincere review. We are happy that you had a positive experience at our restaurant. We must apologize, however, for your reception at the front desk. We typically pride ourselves in the friendliness and hospitality of our staff - and although everyone is entitled to a...

Dundas, Ontario
Reviewed 6 July 2016

On a business trip, this hotel was recommended by my customer. Modern, nice rooms, great staff, lots of parking. On-site restaurant was just OK, a little slow service though. A bus tour group was staying as well, this might be the problem. Just offshore there was a grounded iceberg, simply great scenery.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John N
Northern_Light_Inn, Public Relations Manager at Northern Light Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so very much for your kind review, and for your visit at our establishment. We are very happy that you had a great experience and were pleased with the room, staff, view and parking area. During peak season, the restaurant can become quite busy, and it was likely that there were one or two bus tours dining at...

Dresden, Germany
Reviewed 2 July 2016

We stayed in the Northern Light Inn for one night in June. The hotel is conveniently located for anyone wanting to take the early morning ferry to Newfoundland. It is not even a 10 minutes drive to the ferry terminal. The room we stayed in was spacious. The layout (toilet and shower in a separate room, washbasin in the room)...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Naddi_46
Northern_Light_Inn, Public Relations Manager at Northern Light Inn, responded to this review

Dear Naddi_46, Thank you for your recent review of our establishment, and for your most valued business. As you identified, our proximity to the ferry and spacious accommodations are often appreciated by the traveling public. However, we are very disappointed that your room was not up to the standard of cleanliness that you both deserve and expect. This, we can...

Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 16 June 2016

A very comfortable place to stay in Labrador. Friendly staff, clean rooms and good restaurant. I only stayed one night and was happy with my decision to stay there. It isn't far from the ferry in Blanc Sablon, Quebec .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank linda l
Northern_Light_Inn, Public Relations Manager at Northern Light Inn, responded to this review

Thank you kindly for your recent review. We are happy to have had you stay with us, and are pleased that you had a great visit. As our guest, please know that we strive to provide the best possible service in all aspects of our business. We certainly appreciate knowing that your experience was a positive one. We look forward...

Corner Brook, Canada
Reviewed 25 April 2016

Stayed for 1 night in April. Pleased with how clean and modern the facility was. Check in-out was straightforward. Room was nice. Pillows were very comfortable. Continental breakfast was a pleasant surprise.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cbrookrob
Northern_Light_Inn, Public Relations Manager at Northern Light Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your stay with us. We certainly appreciate that you enjoyed your visit, and we hope to see you again in the future.

Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 30 October 2015

This was our hotel on the bus tour. After a cool foggy day it is a great place to end the day. The staff made our short stay pleasant and enjoyable. Our room was clean and comfortable. The supper was included with the room and was tasty.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andy S
Northern_Light_Inn, Public Relations Manager at Northern Light Inn, responded to this review

Dear Andy, Thank you so much for your feedback. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that we could assist in making your visit to Labrador a great one! We certainly value our bus tour groups, as we do each customer, and are happy that our services met your expectations for quality, cleanliness and more. Thank...

26 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near L'Anse au Clair
28.2 km away
Four Seasons Inn & Motel
Four Seasons Inn & Motel
#1 of 2 in Blanc-Sablon
18 reviews
0.0 km away
Dockside Motel
Dockside Motel
#1 of 2 in St Barbe
28 reviews
0.0 km away
Genevieve Bay Inn
Genevieve Bay Inn
#2 of 2 in St Barbe
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Northern Light Inn is the largest hotel in southern Labrador with 70 rooms, 5 housekeeping units, and an RV site to cater to the traveling public. The hotel also houses a family-style restaurant, lounge, gift shop, and conference facilities. With quality service as the utmost priority, the Northern Light Inn is proud to offer clean, comfortable accommodations, along with delicious meals and friendly service. The Northern Light Inn is where Labrador begins. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Northern Light Inn

Address: 58 Main St, L'Anse au Clair, Newfoundland and Labrador A0K 3K0, Canada
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Labrador > L'Anse au Clair
Price Range: $177 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Northern Light Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Also Known As:
Northern Light Hotel l`Anse Au Clair
Northern Light Inn Labrador, Canada
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Northern Light Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
8 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Northern Light Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Pre-booking is recommended as this is the best accommodation close to the ferry.”
OntarioPilot, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
“just make sure there isn't a wedding party. avoid a room near the ice machine”
zinka69, 10 Sep 2016 | Read review
“try and get a room away from the kitchen exhaust fan”
Puckducker, 9 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on the east side overlook the water”
499johnn, 6 Jul 2016 | Read review
“We had a first floor room close to reception. It was very loud since guests passed by frequently on the aisle.”
Naddi_46, 2 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5