Maidment House Bed & Breakfast

Maidment House Bed & Breakfast

4 Dandy Lane, Trinity, Newfoundland and Labrador A0C 2S0 Canada
Traveller (56)
Our bright Gardenview room
Room & Suite (21)
Cozy decor.
Dining (9)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

5.0
#3 of 8 B&Bs in Trinity
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Location
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Value
Built by Enoch Heber Maidment, a local cobbler, circa 1892, Maidment House has been masterfully restored by a third generation local carpenter. Come enjoy our memorable breakfasts, inviting beds, and friendly hospitality. We use eco-friendly cleaning and make our own unscented soaps. Laundry service available.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Charming

Location

4 Dandy Lane, Trinity, Newfoundland and Labrador A0C 2S0 Canada
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 63 out of 100
63
St. John's Airport
95.1 km
See all flights
125Reviews11Q+A21Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 108
  • 15
  • 2
  • 0
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Chris M wrote a review Jun 2012
London, Canada4 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We regret not spending more time here. Karen had email a plethora of activities to partake in around the area. Very friendly hosts, comfortable rooms that are charmingly decorated. Delicious gourmet breakfast. So grateful that these folks are willing to share their home with us. Would go back in a heartbeat.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2012
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Derfnej wrote a review Aug 2015
Ottawa, Canada135 contributions50 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a tastefully decorated, immaculately clean home. Our ensuite Queen room was wonderful - spacious, clean and had everything we needed. Location within Trinity is good; this is a tiny place after all.

However, because it is an older, historic home, and based on the style of construction, sounds travel well within the house. This is a typical "hazard" when staying in a b&b, but it was particularly bad during the day when every sound from the main floor (the kitchen in particular) traveled up to our bedroom.

Our only other remark is on breakfast which, despite being carefully prepared and delicious, was just a tad spartan, leaving us a bit hungry. Given the price point of this inn, this is really too bad. Some additional fruit, pastries or juice, for guests to self-serve, would go a long way.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2015
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Queen Room at the back is the largest.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from MerryMaidment, Owner at Maidment House Bed & Breakfast
Responded Aug 6, 2015
We thank you for your feedback. We only wish that you had given us the opportunity to rectify any perceived shortcomings during your stay, or expressed these concerns when asked about your stay at checkout. Alas, instead, we’re reading about them here. We are aware that sound travels in the house and when working in the kitchen early in the morning to prepare breakfast Karen tries to work quietly. As for the rest of the day, unless guests advise that they’re in the house and in need of a rest, we go about our business of housework, washing dishes, preparing food, doing laundry, pressing sheets, answering phone calls etc. While we endeavour to be respectful of the guests with whom we share the house, that they might enjoy their time here, this is our home, and although we sleep elsewhere during the summer season, we are, by necessity, present in the house. For travelers who prefer a house all their own, there are a number of vacation homes available in town.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rosslake wrote a review Sep 2019
Newmarket, Canada139 contributions120 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at Maidment House in Trinity for 2 nights. Trinity is a beautiful community with lots to see and is centrally located between the TCH and Cape Bonavista. Karen is a gracious host who shares a lot of information about the area, what to see and where to go. The B&B is a heritage home and is very comfortable, clean and the breakfasts are excellent. Karen also hand makes hand soap and hair shampoo. The soaps are wonderful and are available for sale. I would definitely stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Point2Point4Me wrote a review Jul 2012
Toronto, Canada2 contributions10 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Very well appointed B&B with clean rooms, comfortable bed and some nice touches (homemade soap). This is an old building however so you can hear EVERYTHING going on both upstairs and downstairs (including other guests in their rooms or someone putting away cups and saucers in the kitchen). After a long day of traveling we had hoped to sleep in a bit but were told that breakfast is ONLY served at 8:30 am (we have never been to a B&B where there has not been at least a ½ hour of flexibility for breakfast .. ) I felt uncomfortable asking if we could eat at 9am (but I asked) and was told no. Breakfast was very good and high quality food - but simple (pancakes and sausage) so it seems that the convenience of the homeowners is more important than the guests – which is a surprise considering most of the hospitality we felt around Newfoundland. Did not feel comfortable here so we left.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2012Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from MerryMaidment, Owner at Maidment House Bed & Breakfast
Responded May 7, 2013
We're sorry to hear that you didn't feel comfortable here. We endeavor to be accommodating. We gladly vacate our home each summer to accommodate guests for the season, and quite enjoy this business. Our home dates to 1892, and as they say in Newfoundland: "these old walls can't talk, but they sure can hear"...noise does travel in the house, despite our efforts to work gingerly. We likewise depend on our guests to be considerate of other guests. Our decision not to put televisions in the bedrooms stems from our concern about noise traveling through the house. In the case of breakfast, we seat everyone around the same table, and often serve something requiring advance preparation or something served warm from the oven (although not on this particular morning), so coordinating a different breakfast time, when our guests are arriving at different times and coming and going throughout the day, proves difficult. Most of the tourist activities here commence at 10am. We've found that serving breakfast at 8:30 gives our guests time for a leisurely and enjoyable chat, and yet time enough to organize for their chosen activities for the day, or to get checked out on time. The day after your arrival, we were away, to take our son to a medical appointment, and while we take responsibility for our absence, it is more difficult to be flexible when we know we won't be home, or when trying to leave instructions for staff. We sometimes have to choose between being parents and innkeepers. We thank you for your business and your feedback.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
DaveAndCarolyn_9 wrote a review Sep 2016
Mount Hope, Canada42 contributions69 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
A little disappointing to us. First the good. Rooms were excellent and well amenitied and Karen only to willing to assist with her advice. The not so good. Breakfasts pretty sparce, given the "gourmet" advertisement. No juice for breakfast 1st course, only a couple of fruit slices along side the egg or pancake dish, no baked goods, not even toast. At the price point charged, is not consistent with others, and we cannot recommend. Also, this inn accepts small children, providing unexpected wake-up calls at 3 in the morning. Not the best experience, given this Inns promotional material, and our complete satisfaction with 5 others we stayed at on this trip
Read more
Date of stay: September 2016
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Garden room is quite spacious.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from MerryMaidment, Owner at Maidment House Bed & Breakfast
Responded Sep 14, 2016
Sounds like we let you down and we’re sorry about that. We work so hard to ensure a memorable stay for our guests; to prepare hearty and healthy meals; to provide a realistic expectation and then work to exceed it. We offer a hot entree of my choosing (made entirely on site, from scratch, with local, seasonal, and organic ingredients where possible, like the blueberries in your pancakes). We base the menu on any preferences, allergies, and aversions of our guests, and serve it with a generous garnish of fresh fruit. We either offer, or simply put on the table, our homemade organic yogurt and granola (and sometimes fresh berries when available) for those who may prefer a little more to eat, a lighter menu, or a variety of choices. We always ask guests if they would like anything else or whether they have had enough to eat while at the table, and offer up any remaining breakfast. We provide juice on request, as we use it in baking, but generally try to avoid the high blood-sugar levels, choosing instead, to serve fresh, whole fruit. We do not stay in the house overnight, and have no idea what happens in our absence unless people tell us. We entrust our home to six (and sometimes seven) strangers and trust them to get along well enough between dusk and dawn. We’re sorry to learn that the baby in the next room disturbed your sleep for one night of your stay. We do allow children to stay with us, having a young son ourselves (although that only amounts to a half-dozen occasions a season). We trust our guests to decide whether they are bed & breakfast travellers. When any guest fails to consider the others staying with us, we must bear the consequence, although we cannot undo the experience. We make ourselves available around the clock and express a genuine interest in our guests comfort. We hope that guests will share their experiences with us, both at Maidment House and any places we recommend. We only wish you had given us the opportunity to rectify any shortcomings during your stay. We solicit feedback from our guests before accepting payment at the close of their stay, and wish you had told us of your displeasure. Instead of entrusting us to make things right, you hereby endeavour to tarnish our reputation on TripAdvisor. How disheartening. Thank you for your business. Karen
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Carly Z wrote a review Oct 2012
Montreal, Quebec, Canada1 contribution3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My partner and I (both young graduate students) had a wonderful stay at Maidment house. We arrived late (and unexpectedly) after some bad weather forced us to cut our drive to St. John's short, and our host Karen went out of her way to ensure that we were comfortable (right down to calling the local restaurant to stay open late for us so we could get something to eat!). The heritage B&B was beautiful, with lovely touches (homemade soaps, stacks of books to browse through), and Karen is an incredible cook! After a week long hiking trip in the backcountry, our short stay here was the perfect treat! The town was beautiful, and Karen was very knowledgeable about what to do and see in the area - we just wish we had more time to explore!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2012Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Deslaurier wrote a review Sep 2012
Toronto, Canada2 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A very welcoming place ... Karen was a lovely host, not to mention a cook. Breakfast,taken around a common table, was a pleasure. The food was excellent and the company around the table was amazing. People from across Canada and around the world. The B&B is located in more or less the centre of Trinity. I have a lung disease and cannot walk long distances, but Maidment was an ideal location for walking around the town. There was no TV in the rooms, but there was in the living room (the Olympics). Just a pleasure to spend a couple of days there.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2012
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: There was no swimming pool or fitness centre! In a B&B??
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Islay wrote a review Sep 2012
Duncan, Canada8 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this heritage house B&B. Friendly, comfortable and good food. Reminded me of what life was like back in the days when we didn't lock our doors and our children could play safely in the community. Recommend a visit to Trinity and a stay at the lovely Maidment House. Try dinner at the Twine Loft but make a reservation as there are only 2 sittings a night and it is popular. And don't miss a theatre production across the street from the B&B.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2012
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
annwilliams_8 wrote a review Jun 2019
Vancouver, B.C.85 contributions91 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in this lovely heritage house for two
Nights and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The house is immaculate and the breakfasts served were excellent. Karen and Eric are wonderful hosts and they are willing to share their extensive knowledge of the area with guests.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
718christine wrote a review Jul 2018
Brampton, Canada15 contributions23 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I spent three nights at Maidment House B&B. Karen was a welcoming and friendly host and she made us feel at home. Trinity is a special town and we enjoyed our time there. Maidment House has a lot of character and Karen has put a lot of effort into adding personal touches such as her homemade soap and gourmet breakfasts! We would highly recommend staying here!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lisa T asked a question Jul 2019
Bremerton13 contributions3 helpful votes
Any rooms available nights of august 16 and 17?
Answer from MerryMaidment
Good afternoon. We're fully booked on the 16th. Our Harbourview room with two twin beds and private bath is available for a three night stay beginning on the 17th. Thank you for considering a stay with us. Karen
Answer from MerryMaidment
Hi Carol. Our Harbourview room with two twin beds is not available on the 8th, and is the only room available on the 7th. Sounds like that might not work with your current plans. In the event we can catch you at a different time in your travels, we have a queen room and the twin room available beginning on the 10th or on the nights of the 3rd and 4th. Our room rate is $175 per room, per night, and includes a gourmet breakfast. Rates drop by 5% on stays of three or more nights, Thank you for considering a stay with us. Karen
janicesonnenberg asked a question May 2017
Jefferson City, Missouri
Do you have 3 rooms available on July 15 to 21?
Answer from MerryMaidment
Good morning. The only availability we have is a queen room for the 15th & 16th. Please visit "town of trinity" website for a listing of accommodation providers in town. Thank you for considering a stay with us.
Paul_T1015 wrote a tip Aug 2019
Montreal, Canada8 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Magnolia and Gardenview rooms, with en suite bathrooms, are slightly preferable to the Harbourview"
Read full review
Cindy B wrote a tip Sep 2018
11 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Most rooms have an en suite bathroom. One room has its own bathroom but it is beside the bedroom in the hall."
Read full review
Cheryl M wrote a tip Aug 2018
2 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"We stayed in the Magnolia room. It has a private bath and tasteful decor. The other two rooms seem equally as charming."
Read full review
Douglas H wrote a tip Aug 2017
16 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Just get the biggest room available."
Read full review
Flathead42 wrote a tip Jul 2017
Toronto, Canada38 contributions15 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Even the smallest room has very comfortable beds."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Trinity area.
LOCATION
CanadaNewfoundland and LabradorNewfoundlandTrinity
NUMBER OF ROOMS
3
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Maidment House Bed & Breakfast - Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Maidment House Bed & Breakfast
Which popular attractions are close to Maidment House Bed & Breakfast?
Nearby attractions include Skerwink Trail (2.2 km), Rising Tide Theatre (0.09 km), and Aunt Sarah's Chocolate Shop (0.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Maidment House Bed & Breakfast?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Maidment House Bed & Breakfast?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Maidment House Bed & Breakfast?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Maidment House Bed & Breakfast?
Conveniently located restaurants include Twine Loft Restaurant, Two Whales Coffee Shop, and Fishers' Loft Inn Restaurant.
Is Maidment House Bed & Breakfast located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 km away from the centre of Trinity.
Are there any historical sites close to Maidment House Bed & Breakfast?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Cooperage (0.03 km).
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars