Silver Dart Lodge

Silver Dart Lodge

257 Shore Road, Baddeck, Nova Scotia B0E 1B0 Canada
Our room
Traveller (280)
Chalets and MacNeil House Suites
Room & Suite (135)
Dining (16)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Fully refundable before Fri, Jun 7
Get rewarded with One Key
C$179
Fully refundable before Fri, Jun 7
Get rewarded with One Key
C$179
Fully refundable before Wed, Jun 5
Multiple ways to pay
C$159
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#1 of 7 hotels in Baddeck
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
MacNeil House is located in beautiful Baddeck on Cape Breton Island, sharing a 90-acre property with the Silver Dart Lodge. Whether you want to sit and relax on our observation deck while taking in the beautiful scenery and gorgeous view of the Bras d'Or Lakes or get active and take a hike on the walking trails, kayak on the lakes, or take part in our Cape Breton adventures, our goal is to help you build a better Cape Breton vacation. Relax, unwind and let our knowledgeable staff guide your Cape Breton adventure, the perfect starting point for your Cabot Trail experience. Our Taste of Nova Scotia approved restaurant, McCurdy's Dining Room includes a lounge area and patio. Enjoy your afternoons and evenings with our heated swimming pool and forested nature trails. Variety of hotel rooms and chalets, open mid-May to mid-October.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Banquet room
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fence around pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun terrace
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Park View
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English

Location

257 Shore Road, Baddeck, Nova Scotia B0E 1B0 Canada
Getting there
Car recommended
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 43 out of 100
43
Sydney Airport
55.5 km
See all flights
855Reviews10Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 327
  • 356
  • 122
  • 39
  • 11
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
corinascot wrote a review Sep 2021
Ohio344 contributions121 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in a chalet for 2 nights. The room and bed were comfy. The kitchenette had a dorm sized refrigerator, a microwave, a sink, some cabinets and a coffeemaker. There were dishes for 2-3 people. There's a deck off the back with a pretty view. We're an older couple, but this would be a great place to stay with children. You can sit on the deck and watch the kids on the nearby playground, or playing badminton or horseshoes. There a small outdoor pool that was pretty well heated, but not warm enough for me. We did laundry here. Two washers and two dryers. It cost $4 to wash and dry a load. They sold detergent at the main office if you need it. Wifi was good.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Denise MacLeod, General Manager at Silver Dart Lodge
Responded Feb 3, 2022
Thank you for your excellent review of your visit with us last September. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit and hope that you will stay with us again! Thank you.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hitesh wrote a review Sep 2023
13 contributions
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Overall we had a comfortable visit. We stayed at this lodge on route to do the Cabot trail and the location was easy to find and convenient.
It was in a short driving distance to the main road, a petrol station and the local town centre (which includes a supermarket Coop). Check in process was easy and the staff were friendly. There is a restaurant in the hotel (we did not eat there, but it is available 7 days a week).
Unfortunately there are no lifts, so you will either have to take your bag up or down a flight stairs. This may not be suitable for elderly/less abled individuals.
Room was very clean, but decor and furnishings are very dated (from 80s or even earlier). Same goes for the air con, which is also very noisy. There is a coffee machine provided and some toiletries (soap, shampoo, conditioner).

Views are lovely overlooking the lake and is very peaceful.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
FrequentFlier721562 wrote a review Jul 2022
Owen Sound, Canada26 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The Silver Dart is part motel and part lodge. We stayed in a motel room with a view of the lake. The room was spacious and very comfortable. The bathroom and sink were separated, which made usage easier. We are at the restaurant and found the food to be tasty and well priced. The restaurant was busy the night we stayed and our entrees were free due to what management felt was an unacceptable wait. We made no complaints about the wait. To us, this is a sign of a well run business. I would recommend this as a stop if you are visiting the Cabot Trail on Cape Breton Island.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
travelingteacup675 wrote a review Aug 2021
Toronto, Ontario93 contributions23 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I was thoroughly dissatisfied with my stay at the Silver Dart Lodge. Upon checking in, the stench of mold in our room in the East section was so overpowering that we had to keep the windows and patio door open. We could hardly sleep from the pungent odor. There were dehumidifiers in the hallway but none in the room.

The view of Baddeck was lovely, and the laundry facility was a nice convenience. The pool looked nice as well - I would suggest to have an adult-only hour so that adults can have some time to enjoy the pool without loud children running and jumping around.

I would not stay here again and wouldn’t recommend it as a place to stay for others while in Baddeck.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Denise MacLeod, General Manager at Silver Dart Lodge
Responded Feb 3, 2022
Thank you for taking the time to write in about your experience at our property. Please accept our apologies that our hotel was not up to our standards. I will certainly be speaking with all staff members to ensure we provide the best possible experience for all guests. Please contact me directly at 1-800-565-8439 as I would welcome the opportunity to discuss the situation. Thank you.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
GDD-Dartmouth wrote a review Aug 2020
Dartmouth, Canada8 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We were there just for one night at the end of July. Sure the rooms could be upgraded but it wasn't bad. The room was spacious and the King bed very comfortable and it was clean. We had a room on the bottom floor so we had access to the front lawn and chairs with a magnificent view. Note that the dining room is closed for the season due to Covid-19 so all the reviews about the great food don't apply this year and there's not even a coffee maker in the room so you have to go out for your meals. It's OK but their website doesn't reflect this and even the confirmation letter mentioned the great dining room so it is misleading. Only a later second e-mail warned us about this and it was too late to start looking for another place so that was quite disappointing.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Bottom floor gives you access to the large lawn area while the upper floor only has a balcony.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Denise MacLeod, General Manager at Silver Dart Lodge
Responded Aug 25, 2020
Thank you for your rating and comments. Please accept our apologies for the change in our operation due to COVID-19. We had planned on opening the dining room towards the end of July, but decided to leave it closed for the season. We tried our best to advise everyone that had booked and hope you were able to enjoy your meals in the village. We hope to be back to a fully operational property for next season. Thank you for staying with us!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
John M wrote a review Jul 2022
Omaha, Nebraska127 contributions97 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The Silver Dart Lodge is an older lodge/motel type of facility. It overlooks a beautiful lake. Has rooms in adjacent buildings where you can drive your car up to and park in front of your room. Many of the room s have balconies that overlook the lake. Very clean and well-maintained. Not fancy just very straightforward and satisfying. It has a very good restaurant and bar on site. If it's nice weather, sit out on the patio and have a drink. We had an issue with our room but Debbie took care of us and made things right. Debbie was very responsive and courteous. Two thumbs up for Debbie.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony overlooking the lake.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Andrew Y wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My family and I decided to stay here during a trip to Cape Breton where we had planned to explore the famous Cabot Trail. We were told that the town of Baddeck makes a great hub for starting out and returning back to from the trail. Within Baddeck, Silver Dart Lodge stood out with its clean and comfortable atmosphere - from the lodge's stunning and expansive frontage with a beautiful view of the Bras D'Or Lake to the staff's wonderful hospitality, we enjoyed our stay and wish we could have stayed longer. Our room was clean and had a very picturesque and wonderful view of the lake. We also wanted to extend a very big Thank You to Denise and her staff for welcoming us, extending such gracious hospitality, and making our visit a very memorable one!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
FreyaChristy wrote a review Oct 2020
Shag Harbour, Canada270 contributions75 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Very central location!
We stayed in the chalets for 3 nights the past weekend and we enjoyed our stay immensely! The room was very clean and spacious, we really enjoyed having the kitchenette in the room. Also enjoyed having a deck to sit out on and take in the view of the lake. The lady at the front desk was excellent and went above and beyond to help me out. The awesome customer service was like a breathe of fresh air and was definitely appreciated by me 🥰
We would recommend this place to all our friends and will be staying here whenever we are in the area!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: The chalets are spacious and have a great view of the lake!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Denise MacLeod, General Manager at Silver Dart Lodge
Responded Feb 3, 2022
Good afternoon and thank you for your message from your stay quite a while ago! I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit and hope you will stay with us again in the future! Thank you.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Davigeta wrote a review Sep 2023
Saint Louis, Missouri1,087 contribution411 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a nice property roughly 0.6 miles out of Baddeck. Is has good views and is very peaceful. Breakfast and dinner there were very good. Be aware that the doors do not close on their own! Good staff. Has a coin-operated laundry and staff will help with detergent and change.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Elizabeth W wrote a review Aug 2023
Toronto, Canada349 contributions189 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The location of this place is lovely! Fantastic view across the lake and walking trails in the woods behind. It’s a five minute drive to downtown and easy to find on the highway.

We stayed in one of the “chalets”, which are up the hill from the main lodge. Each has a private deck looking toward the water and there is teeny, tiny kitchen with a small fridge and a few dishes.

Towels and robes are soft and plentiful, nice toiletries in the bathroom and daily cleaning. The decor, however is from the 1980s. Or maybe earlier. The rooms and buildings are very tired looking and feel damp and dank. There is very poor lighting, no real place to do any work and not enough outlets, though the wi fi is pretty fast.

There is a clean and affordable guest laundry that’s open 24/7.

Most of the staff seem surprised when they are asked to help with something, like checking in or giving directions. Perhaps it’s just been a long season.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Terra M asked a question Jun 2022
Fergus, Canada
Is there fishing close by?
Answer from Jan B
Lunenburg, Canada88 contributions17 helpful votes
Its in Baddeck, so I am going to guess, Yes. However, I am uncertain if they offer fishing charters.
Johnna C asked a question Mar 2022
Dartmouth, Canada8 contributions6 helpful votes
How many 2 bedroom suites are in the MacNeil House?
Answer from Phil P
Overland Park, Kansas244 contributions100 helpful votes
Yes you can drive to the chalet. The incline to the chalet is not bad at all - it is a little long
LoveTravel789052 asked a question Dec 2018
5 contributions
Are there elevators for second floor rooms?
Answer from Traveler617617
Columbus, Ohio45 contributions31 helpful votes
No, there are no elevators. Stairs only.
Answer from Kelly S
Bowmanville, Canada27 contributions7 helpful votes
I think they cover either the buffet or to order from the menu.. not both but either .. that is how it worked for us on our trip.. this is a beautiful and tranquil place to stay... you will absolutely love it :)
AutumninChicago wrote a tip Oct 2023
Chicago63 contributions79 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"To begin the Cabot Trail, take Exit 12 and grab the free ferry across the river! Also, ask for a view of the lake - the views are lovely!"
Read full review
vmam wrote a tip Oct 2023
Centreville, Virginia14 contributions22 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"I would ask for a second floor room that has no connecting doors to other rooms. "
Read full review
Deborahjune wrote a tip Oct 2023
Toronto, Canada694 contributions331 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask for a room on the top floor. No elevators but it you can take stairs there's not too many."
Read full review
MegLark289 wrote a tip Sep 2023
Boston, Massachusetts228 contributions51 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Order the chowder"
Read full review
aboutmiami wrote a tip Aug 2023
miami264 contributions100 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Try the restaurant on buffet night."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Baddeck area.
PRICE RANGE
C$168 - C$258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
silver dart hotel baddeck, silver dart baddeck
LOCATION
CanadaNova ScotiaCape Breton IslandBaddeck
NUMBER OF ROOMS
90
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Silver Dart Lodge - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Silver Dart Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Silver Dart Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Theatre Baddeck (1.0 km), Baddeck Gathering Ceilidhs (0.8 km), and Baddeck’s Boardwalk (1.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Silver Dart Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Silver Dart Lodge?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Silver Dart Lodge?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Silver Dart Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Silver Dart Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include the cable room at the TELEGRAPH HOUSE, High Wheeler Cafe, and Tom's Pizza.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Silver Dart Lodge?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Silver Dart Lodge?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Silver Dart Lodge?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Silver Dart Lodge?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Alexander Graham Bell National Historic Site (1.6 km) and Victoria County Court House (1.0 km).
Does Silver Dart Lodge have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.
All Baddeck HotelsBaddeck Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Baddeck
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars