Broadwater Inn

Broadwater Inn

975 Bay Rd., Baddeck, Nova Scotia B0E 1B0 Canada
Traveller (178)
Baddeck sunset from the wharf.
Room & Suite (58)
Dining (7)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#3 of 10 B&Bs in Baddeck
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
Historic Cape Breton Homestead in quiet setting along Baddeck Bay one and half mile east of village.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot bath
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Hiking
Archery offsite
Meeting rooms
BBQ facilities
Wifi
Complimentary tea
Canoeing offsite
Fishing
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Room features
Allergy-free room
Soundproof rooms
VIP room facilities
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Kitchenette
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Hidden Gem
Harbour View
Languages Spoken
English
373Reviews8Q+A86Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 244
  • 80
  • 32
  • 10
  • 7
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Sandy wrote a review Aug 2021
Dartmouth, Canada9 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in Cottage #3 for two nights and thoroughly enjoyed every moment! Check-in was great. John the Innkeeper met us and entertained us with great stories - very personable and true Cape Breton hospitality. The cottage was incredibly clean and bigger than we expected. It had everything we needed to prepare our meals on site. The hot tub was amazing and well used by us both nights! Quiet and even though this building has two other cottages in it, there must be great sound proofing because we heard nothing from the other guests. Toured around the village a bit; visited the Alexander Graham Bell museum and did a bit of shopping. A great get away made better by the hospitality of the host. We highly recommend this for a great getaway or home base if you are touring the Cabot Trail!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Brian H wrote a review Sep 2021
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We just wanted to extend our thanks for a wonderful stay at your Inn this past weekend. Your son was so helpful on our arrival with interest in our plans for the weekend and was well prepared to provide many wonderful suggestions, some of which we certainly took advantage of and others that we will on our next trip. There are so many things to enjoy and a long weekend is not long enough to fit them all in and do justice, so we will just have to come back again !!!!

Our cabin was wonderful, lovely and clean, comfortable and provided all that we needed and then some. The hot tub was definitely an added treat which we enjoyed for a short time every evening (was especially nice after the full loop Sky Line trail hike lol !!!!). The location provided a central point to all that we were looking to do and was close to Baddeck for dinner plans in the evening. Understanding the challenges that Covid 19 has caused for the tourism industry, I would like to thank you and your staff for your excellent customer service. Things were available to us if we needed them and you respected our need for a safe and protected environment. This is not an easy balance to maintain, but you did it exceptionally well. For this we thank you.

We are looking forward to another stay with you in the future and would definitely recommend your Inn as a place to stay.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Broadwater Inn and Cottages, Owner at Broadwater Inn
Responded Oct 1, 2021
Thank you for your encouragement and sharing your positive exspierence, its been a different couple seasons. Folks like you keep us motivated to share our community and culture (plus our second generation is exited to do so too)
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Monica S wrote a review Sep 2020
Halifax Regional Municipality, Canada8 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I spent 4 nights at the Broadwater Inn and Cottages. What a great setting!
The cottage was immaculately clean and had everything that we needed for our stay. The private hot tub was a great perk and the view of the Bras D’or Lakes was lovely.
Centrally located just outside the village of Baddeck, this is a great spot for all of your Cape Breton adventures!
Our hosts, John, Merico, and Nick were a wealth of local knowledge and were quick to recommend great local eateries and sights to see.
We will definitely be returning!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
canadellie wrote a review Oct 2021
ontario26 contributions13 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at the Inn and toured Cape Breton, Cabot Trail and areas near by…very convenient to all these locations The room was very spacious with fairly new bathroom…and very clean. However, being an old building the walls are very thin and I could hear snoring from one room and bathroom visits from another.
John was very knowledgeable about the area and recommended some excellent sites to see.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
worktotravel14 wrote a review Aug 2020
Trenton, New Jersey3,040 contributions302 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at the inn part of the Broadwater Inn, as cabins had already been booked at the time of our stay. We enjoyed it so. Check in was seamless. We had an upper, level, beautiful one-bedroom overlooking the lawn and thus the Bras d'Or Lake. We arrived late so settled in later on. Breakfast was delicious and we were indulged with tales of the owners history around the town. I couldn't quite tell if he was telling tall tales; he had so many great and meaningful stories to tell and a collection of memorabilia to go along side it. At check out, we received one of John's great maps. He also encouraged us to go to the Alexander Graham Bell site, a stop we were not planning on making. We're so glad we did and we took up many of John's other recommendations including a hike along the coastal trail. We hope to be back to Nova Scotia and would happily stay here again. We'd book early for the cabins.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Adelle L wrote a review Oct 2020
Elmsdale, Canada15 contributions3 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed one night in The Garden Shed cottage. So cute! Very bright, clean and welcoming. We were upgraded from a smaller cottage And we are very happy with ‘The Shed’. It had a hot tub but it was raining buckets so we did not use the hot tub. We were checked in by John (I am pretty sure that was the young man’s name) who also had suggestions for us for local eateries. Will definitely stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Bring your own hand soap as none was provided
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Natanya A wrote a review Sep 2021
3 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Pros
Friendly staff
Nice grounds
Private stand alone cottages with hot tub

Cons
No fan or air conditioning
Terrible WIFI
We had large ants all over our cottage that were dead or dying. They were all over the kitchen counters, among other places, that was off putting.
The most uncomfortable soft bed I have ever slept in
Expensive considering what we received at other places during our 3 night stay in Cape Breton and this being the most expensive of the three.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Broadwater Inn and Cottages, Owner at Broadwater Inn
Responded Sep 30, 2021
It takes a special kind of person to hack on a family run tourism business during a pandemic. We don`t advertise A/C and its only warm enough for it two days a year,appearently you were here one of them. We have fans in every cottage closet for guest use if particular unit does not have A/C. The cottages are nestled in the woods,they`ll be random wildlife but we employ measures and professionals to ensure all are outside the cottage.If you would have brought to our attention during your stay rather then leaving four crushed up ants on the counter upon your departure, we would have addressed such in a benificial manner. WIFi is brutal in this community due to folks working from home, there`s no evading that, (until this morning),we got our Star Link. So if any reader is looking for a one night get away to a cute cottage with a private hot tub and not be concerned about binge watching Netflix this is the place for you...
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sharon wrote a review Oct 2020
11 contributions1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in the veranda room. It was cheaply furnished and decorated, and looks like a motel room. It is spacious but really dark and damp. The windows were dirty and the amenities were lacking. It’s low quality for the price charged (with tax over $300 for a two bedroom with queen beds). Not sure if all their rooms were this way but we wouldn’t recommend it compared to other facilities and we wouldn’t return.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ghostpoo wrote a review Sep 2020
Fredericton, Canada34 contributions58 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I rented the Gardener's Shed for 3 nights and it was perfect. Lots of room and the bed was comfortable. The hot tub was perfect. Even though it was located right next to the driveway, it was very quiet and a little farther away than the other cottages. So it felt like we had our own little slice of paradise.

Check in was very easy. We never did meet John, but I had emailed him a few times and he was always quick to reply and clear on his answers. If I had to find one very small complaint, I wish there would have been more tea towels. We cooked breakfast every morning and one came with the cabin. I wish there were a few more, to make drying the dishes a bit easier. Like I said, an extremely small complaint and this is more of a suggestion to perhaps provide a few more.

I would highly recommend this Inn and Cottages. The area is breathtaking and after a long days hiking, the hot tub was amazing. To sit and look at the stars from it....well, I wish I was sitting in it right now!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Wayne H wrote a review Aug 2021
Toronto, Canada63 contributions28 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
John the proprietor of Broadwater is a real story teller who will fascinate you with stories not only of the house but generally of the Baddeck area. We stayed only one night however must say we were extremely comfortable and had one of the best rests during our month long trip.
We had Cottage # 1 which is quite complete and as a bonus has a hot tub! Unfortunately we didn't have an opportunity to use it.
Certainly would go back.
Covid did restrict any INN meals like breakfast so the recommendation was to go to one of the restaurants in town such as Yello Cello (see separate review).
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Go for a Cottage with a hot tub!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
wbw110 asked a question Apr 2017
what size are the beds
Answer from Broadwater Inn a
cape breton4 contributions2 helpful votes
Hi...all beds are queen except for a king bed in the Gardener`s Shed Suite
bubadog asked a question Mar 2017
Babylon, NY6 contributions6 helpful votes
We have reservations in the B Arran cottage. Can we get breakfast in the main house?
Answer from Broadwater Inn a
cape breton4 contributions2 helpful votes
what date are you here, so we can determine availability. How many are you?
luvtogotomexico asked a question May 2016
Calgary, Canada14 contributions18 helpful votes
Do the B&B rooms have queen size beds?
Answer from Broadwater Inn a
cape breton4 contributions2 helpful votes
all queen beds except for king in Gardener`s Shed Suite
Curtis D wrote a tip Oct 2021
Sydney, Canada15 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Score a hot tub if you can!"
Read full review
Craig P wrote a tip Oct 2021
3 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Rent a cottage with a private hot tub!!!!!"
Read full review
Wayne H wrote a tip Aug 2021
Toronto, Canada63 contributions28 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Go for a Cottage with a hot tub!"
Read full review
Adelle L wrote a tip Oct 2020
Elmsdale, Canada15 contributions3 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Bring your own hand soap as none was provided"
Read full review
Mitch095 wrote a tip Sep 2019
Montreal, Canada1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Very nice cottage."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Baddeck area.
ALSO KNOWN AS
broadwater hotel baddeck
LOCATION
CanadaNova ScotiaCape Breton IslandBaddeck
NUMBER OF ROOMS
13
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Broadwater Inn - Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Broadwater Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Broadwater Inn?
Nearby attractions include Theatre Baddeck (2.4 km), Alexander Graham Bell National Historic Site (1.8 km), and Baddeck Gathering Ceilidhs (2.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Broadwater Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and a hot tub.
What food & drink options are available at Broadwater Inn?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Broadwater Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Broadwater Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include the cable room at the TELEGRAPH HOUSE, Stand & Stuff Your Face, and High Wheeler Cafe.
Are there any historical sites close to Broadwater Inn?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Alexander Graham Bell National Historic Site (1.8 km) and Victoria County Court House (2.4 km).
All Baddeck HotelsBaddeck Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Baddeck
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars