Bras d'Or Lake Campground

Bras d'Or Lake Campground

Trans Canada Highway We are at km marker 80., Baddeck, Nova Scotia B0E 1B0 Canada
Traveller (19)
Bras d'Or Lake Campground
Pool & Beach (5)
View from campground to water.
Room & Suite (4)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

3.5
#3 of 3 campsites in Baddeck
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
Join your fellow campers by making us your base camp to explore Cape Breton. Closest campground to the lovely Village of Baddeck and the only lake front campground with 93 sites, 3 Basic Cabins and 3 Deluxe Cabins. Our cabins are designed to give you a camping experience without having to bring a camper or tent. Of course, all sites and cabins have a fire pot! We offer high speed Internet at your site or cabin, free private showers, pool, lake swimming/kyaking, playground, clubhouse with free morning coffee and office/store with ice, wood, ice cream/goodies, rv equipment.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Canoeing
Game room
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Concierge
Convenience store
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Golf course
Darts
Fishing
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Room features
Private beach
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
57Reviews1Q+A7Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 15
  • 22
  • 8
  • 5
  • 7
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Jeff L wrote a review Aug 2023
Vancouver, Canada
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Close access to Baddeck and the Cabot Trail is a definite plus. Back in site was level, small sitting area beside our RV with picnic table. Clean facilities and good laundry. Cool, rainy weather during our stay so didn’t use the pool. Don’t let the website fool you with ‘launch a boat or kayak’ to enjoy the water. No boat launch, and the only way to the water is 150 meter downhill walk through a grassy meadow, ending in a rocky path to the water. Lovely view of the water that I looked longingly at, wishing I could enjoy it more.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: No boat launch
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Michele M wrote a review Aug 2018
On Can
4.0 of 5 bubbles
A very nice campground and very close to Baddeck as well as a good base for seeing the Cabot Trail and everything surrounding this area. The campsites are a bit close together with not much shade. We were lucky and got a site with a large tree. The internet connection was great even from our campsite. They had coffee in the morning and a selection of books, games and DVD's that you could borrow and use. The beach was a surprising discovery, however, there were jelly fish when we were there. I wish there had been signs explaining that the white jelly fish were harmless, but that the red ones were not. We did swim and just tried to avoid all the jelly fish, which we did, and asked later and were told the differences. Signage though would be nice for potential beach users.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Katie C wrote a review Jul 2017
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The location is unbeatable to start the Cabot Trail in Baddeck! The owners were very friendly, although slightly disorganized. They were willing to accommodate a late check-in which was greatly appreciated after a long travel day. They do have access to Bra D'Or Lake, although the smell of their sewage system lingered at the shore and
it was very buggy and rocky so we did not spend any time by the water. The site was what we needed, relatively level and had a fire pit. Perfect for a stop along the way but not a destination.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2017
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kira C wrote a review Jul 2021
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We were so disappointed in this campground. It advertises it is on the lake which is true but the “beach” is a 6 foot wide rock path with no where to sit. The pool is freezing and the sites are so close together it is claustrophobic. It advertises a games area for basketball etc but all that was there was a rusty old hoop lying on its side in the grass.
For this we paid 100 bucks a night??? We paid 30 dollars a night less for an awesome place in PEI with a pool, basketball, tennis etc. Wish we had stayed there.
We got up this morning and left. 100 bucks down the drain.
So disappointing. This is an old run down campground
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Elizabeth Finnegan, Owner at Bras d'Or Lake Campground
Responded Sep 2, 2022
We are a lakefront campground. As typical of lakefront there is no sand (it washes away) and the sitting area is steps away overlooking the lake. The salt water lake is clear and refreshing. We followed the Covid guidelines and could not put up the basketball hoop or many other amenities. We have many spacious sites and would have given you your choice had you asked. We keep the campground spotlessly clean, manicured and continue to add updates such as our new shower building with individual 6 x 10 shower rooms and our state of the art waste water treatment plant. In addition, all showers and toilets are water savers. You are welcome to return and have a night on us with a site of your choosing.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
D F wrote a review Jul 2022
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Lovely staff. Kind, courteous and friendly. Disappointing campground. RV spots are so tight we wouldn't have been able to put out our awning. No trees/privacy in the RV area, and literally felt like a parking lot. Playground is outdated/old, pool was clean but dated. Very poor experience for the high price point (extra cost per day per person, etc).
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Elizabeth Finnegan, Owner at Bras d'Or Lake Campground
Responded Sep 2, 2022
So sorry you did not have a good experience with us. While we have a few tight spots, we have so many spacious sites and many with trees. We would have been happy to give you another site (if available) had you asked. The kids love the playground and squeals of delight can be heard from there and our sparkling clean pool. We will welcome you to come stay with us and choose a site to your liking. Wishing you happy camping.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Radster wrote a review Aug 2021
Halifax, Canada
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here one night and that was enough. The campground was pretty empty and we stayed in a cabin. Unfortunately the cabin is in the tenting area and not private or remotely quiet. One of the tenting couple played the music from their car all night and even in the morning. People in the adjacent cabin had kids that kept running over to our cabin to pet our dogs. The dishwashing station had no water and the pool was freezing. Needless to say we will never be staying there again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: There is a way better place up the road on the opposite side.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Elizabeth Finnegan, Owner at Bras d'Or Lake Campground
Responded Sep 2, 2022
Thank you for calling our attention to the problem tenters. Unfortunately, it was after the fact. Had we been notified, we would have handled the noise situation immediately. We will welcome you back and perhaps you would try our deluxe cab ins which are closer to the lake and away from the tent sites. Wishing you well.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Emma A wrote a review Aug 2022
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Horrible experience. My boyfriend and our friend tried to stay a night on a tent site and the staff were incredibly rude, wouldn’t provide us service and claimed they were closed at 615 when they don’t close till 7. We went in to check out the campsites before going to the office and an old lady was standing outside waiting for us with her arms crossed. We asked if we could get two sites for the night and she simply responded with ‘No.. I don’t think so.’ Awful experience and a waste of time and gas. Would never recommend this dump to anybody.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Elizabeth Finnegan, Owner at Bras d'Or Lake Campground
Responded Sep 2, 2022
The Rest of the Story As this old lady was closing the office my attention was drawn outside to loud muffler revving outfront. I stepped outside to see two cars driving out the entrance road. When they saw me they turned around and came back. Two very young men stepped outside to state they were looking for a very private tent site, not one in the open field. I asked where they were coming from ignoring the do not enter sign and driving out the entrance road. They stated they had gone into out tenting area (by passing the office ignoring that sign to stop in to the office) and found the very private site they wanted. I stated we were closed and they roared out of the campground making as much noise as they could. It was an awful experience.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
WayneStubbert93 wrote a review Jun 2017
Little Bras d'Or, Canada
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in deluxe cabin 2, it was very clean inside when we arrived. Spacious lot, very quiet, great spot to unwind and relax. Great staff very friendly and helpful. This would be our 3rd year visiting, will definitely be back again soon!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2017Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MKRoyalOak wrote a review Aug 2014
Royal Oak
2.0 of 5 bubbles
After a long discussion on the phone to make a reservation for one of the luxury cabins, we were given a price and the first night was deducted from my visa card. When we arrived, the price was raised but of course I didn't have much choice about it.
the pool is not heated and was so cold my boys weren't even interested in swimming in it. The beach is barely big enough to sit on and wouldn't take a child more than 3 minutes to walk down.
Luxury cabin #`1 is completely lit up at night by the street light outside. Why is there a street light there? No obvious reason.
On the other hand, the laundry area is clean and not overpriced.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2014Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marianne G wrote a review Jul 2017
Long Island City, New York
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Although this is basically an RV city the camping was unexpectedly great....we were right on the sandy beach. Great view if we did not look to left or right, just across the water. The lake was delicious to swim in. No bugs!!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2017Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Leslie F asked a question Feb 2017
Saint John, Canada89 contributions8 helpful votes
Which trailer sites are better?
Answer from BrasDorLakes
Baddeck, Canada1 contribution
All of the sites are three way hookups. The ones closer to the lake are a bit smaller so are more suitable for smaller trailers or motorhomes. The center section can accommodate all sizes of trailers and motorhomes with 30 amp electrical service. The upper section of the campground has extra large back in sites with 30 amp and 50 amp electrical and some of them also have cable. Hope this helps.
Jeff L wrote a tip Aug 2023
Vancouver, Canada8 contributions1 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"No boat launch"
Read full review
Radster wrote a tip Aug 2021
Halifax, Canada107 contributions52 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"There is a way better place up the road on the opposite side."
Read full review
fmacdona wrote a tip Jul 2018
Halifax, Canada1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"water view"
Read full review
Glennis S wrote a tip Aug 2017
Evans, Washington36 contributions12 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"This is NOT a hotel, it is an RV park."
Read full review
pmacmiles wrote a tip Jul 2017
Tatamagouche, Canada73 contributions18 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"We stayed on site 91"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Baddeck area.
LOCATION
CanadaNova ScotiaCape Breton IslandBaddeck
NUMBER OF ROOMS
99
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Bras d'Or Lake Campground - Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Bras d'Or Lake Campground
Which popular attractions are close to Bras d'Or Lake Campground?
Nearby attractions include Theatre Baddeck (5.6 km), Alexander Graham Bell National Historic Site (6.1 km), and Baddeck Gathering Ceilidhs (5.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Bras d'Or Lake Campground?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
Is parking available at Bras d'Or Lake Campground?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Bras d'Or Lake Campground?
Conveniently located restaurants include the cable room at the TELEGRAPH HOUSE, High Wheeler Cafe, and Stand & Stuff Your Face.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Bras d'Or Lake Campground?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Bras d'Or Lake Campground?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Bras d'Or Lake Campground?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Alexander Graham Bell National Historic Site (6.1 km) and Victoria County Court House (5.6 km).
All Baddeck HotelsBaddeck Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Baddeck
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars