We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
16537 Cabot Trail PO Box 268, Cheticamp, Nova Scotia B0E 1H0 Canada
E-mail hotel
Hotel direct offer!Stay 1, 2 or 3 days and SAVE more $$$ !!! (**BEST RATE, GUARANTEED)
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveller (165)
Room & Suite (40)
Videos (5)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 21-09-19 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Cornerstone Motel
Updated 21-09-19 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#2 of 6 hotels in Cheticamp
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
The Cornerstone Motel is situated directly on the "World Famous" Cabot Trail and sides directly on the majestic Cheticamp River and is at the west entrance to the Cape Breton Highlands National Park in Cheticamp NS. With restaurants nearby and just minutes to downtown Cheticamp, this motel is possibly one of the best kept secrets in Cape Breton. Special amenities are in place for motorcycle riders, nature lovers and bird watchers. The property boasts of several private walking trails on the 8 acre property and a communal fire pit to relax at at the end of a long day! Only 15 minutes from the most popular "Skyline Trail" and within walking distance from your door to several trails in the Cape Berton Highlands Nat'l Park. Rooms were recently renovated in 2019 and provide a fresh, clean and comfortable stay with amazing customer service! Try us and see what true Cape Breton hospitality is all about!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hiking
Fishing
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Car hire
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Wifi
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Private check-in / check-out
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Seating area
Coffee / tea maker
Microwave
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Radio
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Family
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Rate:Stay 1, 2 or 3 days and SAVE more $$$ !!! (**BEST RATE, GUARANTEED)
329Reviews7Q+A88Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 206
  • 89
  • 26
  • 6
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Susan M wrote a review Aug. 12
guelph6 contributions4 helpful votes
The Cornerstone Motel is beautifully situated along the river and close to the entrance of the Cape Breton Highlands National Park. Super clean rooms and the motel is a short drive into town for shopping and restaurants. We really enjoyed our stay here ! Cathy and Greg were great hosts and happy to provide recommendations for the park and for dining. Also recommended a cooling dip in the river which can be accessed from the trail by the rooms! Thank you.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
NCandFL wrote a review Jul. 2022
Florida663 contributions1 helpful vote
Hotel's Favourite
So glad we chose Cornerstone Motel! Everything was perfect! Just wish we had a couple more days to enjoy the fire pit, trails on the property, especially along the river. Cathy and Greg thought of everything from the plate of dark chocolate to the nice big mugs for our coffee which we drank on the bench by the river. Its only minutes from great restaurants in Chéticamp and very close to the Skyline and other great trails. After checking in and heading to get some supper we hiked the Skyline and enjoyed a gorgeous sunset there. At least four more trails nearby we would have done if we had booked another night or 2. We loved staying in the deluxe king with a beautiful river view!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Greg Larocque, Owner at Cornerstone Motel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hi NC and FL, Both Cathy and I would like to thank you for staying with us and taking the time to share your amazing experience with other travelers so they too can experience the hospitality, special touches and great property we have to offer! It is very difficult to explain over the phone to guests all of the many things we have to offer at the Cornerstone Motel, but you have definitely covered most of them in your review! We take great pride in knowing your stay was exceptional and we try very hard to do that for all of our guests. We simply want you to experience something that will make you want to come back again and again! Sounds like we succeeded in providing you with memories that will last for years to come! Looking forward to seeing you back here someday, but as you say, for several days next time so you can see and do more!
Read more
Jonathan L wrote a review Aug. 11
2 contributions
Incredible view, incredible landscape, they clearly put a lot of effort into maintaining the site, including a short but well groomed trail worth the few minutes. As someone who has made his fair share of trails, I though this effort was worth highlighting.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Greg Larocque, Owner at Cornerstone Motel
Responded 2 days ago
Appreciate you highlighting this Johnathan and we like sharing the great property we have with our guests. It is so rewarding to hear it was a highlight when you were here and it can imagine it would be for many others. Thanks for staying with us and we hope to have you stay with us when you are out this way again!
Read more
C S wrote a review Aug. 11
Saskatchewan, Canada111 contributions23 helpful votes
+1
Greg & Cathy are great and we enjoyed our stay at the Cornerstone Motel. The room was clean and comfortable. On our last day in Cheticamp it was raining. We were on motorcycle so decided to stay put and just rest. Greg came and asked if there was anything we needed or wanted as he was going to the store - we appreciated that thoughtfulness. We can certainly recommend the Cornerstone Motel & would stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: We had a room with a nice view of the river and away from the highway. They also have a fire pit...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Greg Larocque, Owner at Cornerstone Motel
Responded 2 days ago
Hi guys, It was too bad the rain wouldn't let up for you and your friends on that last day, but sometimes a day resting is also needed. We try very hard to make sure all of our guests have food and supplies on rainy days! Nothing worse than being stranded and we understand that (as riders), so we make an effort to help anyone out when the weather isn't cooperating with the mode of transportation you are in! Hope your trip was awesome and you made it back home safe and sound! Hope to see you back in the future!
Read more
Ralph M wrote a review Aug. 9
22 contributions4 helpful votes
Simple accomodations--a traditional road-side motel, but very clean and recently updated. Literally adjacent to Cabot Breton Highlands National Park. Nice trail, picnic table, etc on the property too. Owners are on-site, very friendly and had a wealth of knowledge of the locale.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Greg Larocque, Owner at Cornerstone Motel
Responded 2 days ago
Hi Travel586783, We thank you for taking the time to share your experience you had at the Cornerstone Motel! Our location is the best one if you are doing the trails in the Cape Breton National Park as we are the closest location as you stated and we pride ourselves on keeping the property as kept as we can. Hope to see you back soon!
Read more
Allan B wrote a review Aug. 2
1 contribution
Excellent budget motel. Rooms basic but well equipped, including mini-fridge. Spotlessly clean throughout. Only a 15 minute drive to the Skyline Trail and less than 5 minute drive into town of Cheticamp. Friendly owner-operators Greg and Kathy will give you free coffee in the morning. No pool but cool off in the beautiful Cheticamp River that borders the property.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Greg Larocque, Owner at Cornerstone Motel
Responded 1 week ago
Appreciate the awesome review AllanB, as we really enjoyed all of our chats and making your experience an amazing one! Dipping in the river while staying here is something bicyclists do regularly when they get here, as it cools down those burning muscles and revives them for pedaling the next day! On the hotter days the River is a great place just to cool down and feel revived even if you didn't ride here! SO glad you stayed with us and will be looking forward to seeing you back soon!
Read more
831RobinC wrote a review Jul. 2022
4 contributions1 helpful vote
We spent three nights at the Cornerstone. It is located just outside the Cape Breton National Park. If you just want to drive around the Cabot Trail there is no charge. I highly recommend paying the small fee to explore the trails. We loved the colorful painting of the units. Rooms were very comfortable and extremely clean. There was a fire pit on the property where other guests were playing guitars and singing one night. Would stay here again, but next time longer !! Cathy and Greg were very hospitable. Loved our chats and laughs.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Not a bad room on the property
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Greg Larocque, Owner at Cornerstone Motel
Responded 1 week ago
Hi RobinC, We would like to thank you for sharing your experience with other travelers and letting them know how your stay was at the Cornerstone Motel! Gathering around the firepit every night (when the "fire ban" isn't on) is an amazing experience, sharing stories and music and laughter!. It is so uplifting and everybody has a great time! Hope to see you back soon!
Read more
Paul M wrote a review Jul. 2022
Toronto, Canada40 contributions22 helpful votes
Spent one night at this lovely motel just outside the C.B. Highlands national park. So colorful from the outside. We went for a short hike of the property. Very beautiful surroundings. Used the Microwave and fridge in room. Great AC on a hot day. Went to office for coffees and a chat next morning. Great sleep. Rooms very clean and modern. Cathy gave us a good tip on the Gypsum mine hike in Cheticamp and a place to have a breakfast buffet.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Greg Larocque, Owner at Cornerstone Motel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hi Paul, Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with others so they too can experience the Cornerstone Motel, with our great hospitality and all of the newly renovated rooms! Hope to see you back soon!
Read more
njp77 wrote a review Jul. 2022
Washington DC, District of Columbia66 contributions69 helpful votes
This is a truly comfortable place in a gorgeous location right at entrance to the park. The Queen room had everything we needed, with a deep bathtub and good A/C. Our host helped us newbies with a Cabot Trail itinerary. Would definitely stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Greg Larocque, Owner at Cornerstone Motel
Responded 3 weeks ago
We are so glad you stayed with us and we always love to share our knowledge with all of our guests so they have nothing short of an amazing trip while in Cape Breton and the Cheticamp area! As you found out, we do take great care to make this one of the most comfortable and memorable locations to stay, and without trying to be too biased, your absolutely right, the location of the Cornerstone Motel just simply can't be beat!! Hope to see you guys back soon and hope the rest of your trip goes as well as your stay with us!
Read more
Hans L wrote a review Jun. 2022
1 contribution
Great stay in an amazing area. Clean room, great bed and we had our breakfast with a view of the river just outside. Hosts Cathy and Greg were very welcoming and happy to answer any questions we had and provide recommendations where needed. Thanks again!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Greg Larocque, Owner at Cornerstone Motel
Responded 3 weeks ago
We enjoyed having you stay with us "938hasl" and having a breakfast in your room overlooking the river is such an amazing thing to do. Watching the tranquil Cheticamp river from your room and enjoying the birds and animals frolicking on the river while relaxing and taking in a chocolate croissant from the Aucoin's Bakery or your favorite morning meal is a memory we can all picture that will stay with you forever! So happy to hear we were able to make your stay as amazing as this and look forward to having you guys back soon!!
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$120 - US$125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Park View Motel
LOCATION
CanadaNova ScotiaCape Breton IslandCheticamp
NUMBER OF ROOMS
17
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Cornerstone Motel
Which popular attractions are close to Cornerstone Motel?
Nearby attractions include Les Trois Pignons (3.4 km), Gypsum Mine Trail (2.4 km), and Freya & Thor Gallery and Cafe (2.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Cornerstone Motel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and kids activities.
Which room amenities are available at Cornerstone Motel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a refrigerator, and a desk.
Is parking available at Cornerstone Motel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Cornerstone Motel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Aucoin Bakery, L’abri, and Harbour Restaurant & Bar.
Does Cornerstone Motel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.