We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
15299 Cabot Trail, Cheticamp, Nova Scotia B0E 1H0 Canada
Booking.com
Priceline
eDreams
StayForLong
FindHotel
Agoda.com
View all 7 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (43)
Room & Suite (31)

About

#7 of 10 in Cheticamp
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

If you’re looking for an inn in Cheticamp, look no further than Bay Wind Suites.

Gypsum Mine Trail (3.3 km), located nearby, makes Bay Wind Suites a great place to stay for those interested in visiting this popular Cheticamp landmark.

The rooms offer air conditioning, a refrigerator, and a minibar, and getting online is possible, as free wifi is available, allowing you to rest and refresh with ease.

In addition, as a valued Bay Wind Suites guest, you can enjoy a restaurant that is available on-site. Guests arriving by vehicle have access to free parking.

While in Cheticamp be sure to experience local surf and turf favourites at Harbour Restaurant.

Best of all, Bay Wind Suites makes it easy to experience many great Cheticamp attractions like Sunset Art Gallery and Gallery La Bella Mona Lisa, which are some popular art galleries.

The staff at Bay Wind Suites looks forward to serving you during your upcoming visit.

Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Babysitting
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Seating area
Telephone
Microwave
Minibar
Complimentary toiletries
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Great View
88Reviews0Q+A27Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 31
  • 38
  • 11
  • 5
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
nslisa wrote a review Oct. 2021
Nova Scotia1180 contributions197 helpful votes
+1
We stayed at the Baywind Suites on October 5, 2021. We stayed in the Lighthouse Suite which had a fantastic view and balcony right on the boardwalk. The room was spacious with a living area, bedroom and a huge bathroom. The rooms are a little dated but nothing serious. Be a great spot to stay for a few days. We missed that there was nothing in the room about the local area, or at least we couldn’t find anything. Check in was easy and done in the restaurant. You pay on checkin and just leave the key when you check out. We missed having a TV in the bedroom, tissue and the bed was very firm. Bathroom was very well stocked with towels and I loved the shower. We paid 217.35 for one night which considering it’s location was good. We walked everywhere we needed to go.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Roseann M wrote a review Aug. 2020
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada50 contributions21 helpful votes
Located next to the water, boardwalk right behind the inn, restaurant on the premises, we didn't eat there. the space was clean and spacious. We had the highlander room. Full kitchen, livingroom and dining room. The tub is huge, careful getting in, slippery, still have the bruise on my leg from slipping! There is no breakfast included. The bed was awful.... hard and could feel all the springs. An upgrade would make this place so much better!!! For $182.00 /night newer beds would be expected... There's a great pizza place just a few steps way!!!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
BenLar137 wrote a review Oct. 2019
Calgary, Canada13972 contributions806 helpful votes
+1
We loved our one night stay here! This is a quiet town and a quiet unit, even though it is above the restaurant (great food there!) and the bedroom faces the street. There was no noise from the street or restaurant. The unit is right on the towns lovely harbour boardwalk, so the little lighthouse is practically outside your window. This unit does not have its own outdoor space, but as it was October and coolish, it was perfect for us. For the summer, the unit does have air conditioning and a fan. You check in at the restaurant downstairs, and the staff we met there were always friendly and helpful. A slight limitation could be for parking due to the restaurant, but there's lots of street parking if needed. We did find that the dining room chairs were a little wobbly, a slight contrast to the otherwise high spec of the decor. The bathroom is large, with a nice jet tub. Highly recommended place!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Each unit has its advantages, but unit 3, the deluxe one bedroom was very spacious
See more room tips
1 Save
Helpful
Share
Timmer wrote a review Oct. 2019
Winnipeg, Canada530 contributions122 helpful votes
We stayed here for a few days. We had the lighthouse suite which has its entrance right on the boardwalk. The room was very comfortable. A very large bathroom with walk in shower. A nice sitting area with couch and television. And a comfortable bedroom. There was a fridge and microwave. Very welcoming people, you check in at the restaurant. Nice clean accommodations. Good wi–fi. We had dinner in the restaurant one evening, very nice food. Great spot on the west side of Cape Breton, just outside Highlands Park. Close to some great day drives and awesome hiking. Fantastic golf course in town too. Plenty of food choices in town. We enjoyed our stay here very much.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
lisel445 wrote a review Aug. 2019
Winnipeg, Canada101 contributions69 helpful votes
My husband and I sat on our balcony over-looking the bay for a few hours. It is so very peaceful! The inside is nice as well. The couch and bed are comfortable and the place is very clean. The decor is unique (love the table!). The shower is a little weird though and the tub is HUGE! The staff is so friendly and answered all our needs. We ate ate the Harbour Restaurant and Bar (on the premises) - reserve a table if you would like to view the bay! My husband had the lobster and I had the crab legs - excellent! We then took a very nice walk on the Quai Mathieu. I would stay here again in a heartbeat!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: Bayview Suite #1 for the best view!
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
LizLaurel wrote a review Jun. 2019
Montpelier, Maryland134 contributions28 helpful votes
This place sits right on harbourside in Cheticamp, a perfect place to drive the Cabot Trail and explore the National Park. We had the Bayview Suite, which has a harbour view and a view of Isle de Cheticamp, which you should visit though the road is I paved (more later). Room was very quiet and clean. Lots of room: my spouse is a night owl so it is always hard for me to get to sleep if everything is going on in the same room. Our suite had a separate bedroom. There is a restaurant attached to the inn and they serve lunch and dinner; we had dinner there twice and were pleased. They do not serve breakfast but there is a restaurant within walking distance that does and it is very good (Restaurant Evangeline).
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
StevoinMinnesoto wrote a review Dec. 2018
Cottage Grove, Minnesota576 contributions347 helpful votes
We were a bit apprehensive while trying to find this place. Our GPS said we had arrived and all that we saw was a restaurant. We walked inside and asked at the front desk if we were in the right place and we were directed to the woman behind the bar. She gave us a key and directions to our room and that was it. We opened the door, right on the main road through town and walked up the steep flight of stairs. There is only one room at the top and we were pleasantly surprised to find a huge apartment with views of the water. The rooms were spotless and the bathroom was huge. Our only suggestion would be for brighter lights in the kitchen. This is a great location for hiking the western side of Cape Breton Highlands NP as you are right on the highway that leads into it. Recommended!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2018
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Randy D wrote a review Aug. 2018
Morgantown8 contributions
The location was the perfect stop for our tour of Nova Scotia. The weather turned as we traveled to this lodging, and after the rain started, it rained all day. We had to cancel our plans for the day and instead traveled straight to Bay Wind. Fortunately our room was ready early and we checked right in. We had a suite located on the top floor, and while not bay front, it had a lovely bay view. We could not believe our luck. The suite really was a suite, we were more or less stuck inside due to the weather and had lots of room to move around in. Our suite was a large living room with a refrigerator hidden inside of a cabinet, a nice sized television, and lots of natural light flowing in the living room window. Our bedroom was very nice with lots of room, with an adjoining spacious bathroom with all the amenities, including lots of extra towels. As the rain poured, we watched a movie and enjoyed a bottle of wine, walked to a local pizza shop for a late lunch, and came back for a good afternoon nap, then enjoyed a wonderful dinner at the restaurant located below our room. When we went down several hours after our arrival to reserve a table for dinner, the host called us by name, remembering our names from check in. Our dinner choices were delightful. We had requested a table with a view and that is exactly what we got. Our nights rest was very good, the bed was comfortable. The shower curtain was a little different and it did not cover the back side of the oval shaped tub. We worried about shower water getting on the floor, but surprisingly the water did not go outside the shower area so our worries were unfounded. We would have enjoyed our accommodations no matter what the weather, but we agreed that if it had to rain, we were glad we were there.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
WGG1962 wrote a review Aug. 2018
Montreal, Canada160 contributions168 helpful votes
At first glance this place does not look so great from the outside. My water view suite on the 2nd floor was very nice and very comfortable. The room was spotless and large. Bed was good. Bathroom is very large. If you are more than 2 people there is a pull out sofa in the living area. Had dinner at the restaurant below and the food was good. Great staff and very friendly service.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Sre wrote a review Jul. 2018
27 contributions3 helpful votes
This lodging establishment is not as it as advertised . Very disappointing. Sorry we opted to stay here but we would have had to pay for the night there and then somewhere else. Left as quickly as possible in the morning.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2018
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: Don't choose this place
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Manager3800, Manager at Bay Wind Suites
Responded Jul. 23, 2018
Hi! Im curious to know what is advertised wrongly? Or where you saw this wrongly advertised? We do have 4 rooms within the building and one restaurant... what was misleading? Sorry you had to leave “as quick as possible” in the morning... hope you enjoyed the rest of your vacation!
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$152 - US$181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
CanadaNova ScotiaCape Breton IslandCheticamp
NUMBER OF ROOMS
4
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Bay Wind Suites
Which popular attractions are close to Bay Wind Suites?
Nearby attractions include Les Trois Pignons (1.4 km), Gypsum Mine Trail (3.3 km), and Flora's Gift Shop (5.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Bay Wind Suites?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Bay Wind Suites?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Bay Wind Suites?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Bay Wind Suites?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Bay Wind Suites?
Conveniently located restaurants include Aucoin Bakery, L’abri, and Harbour Restaurant & Bar.
Is Bay Wind Suites accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.