We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Canada's Best Value Inn - Port Hawkesbury/Port Hastings

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Canada\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

29 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 26: English reviews
Start your review of Canada's Best Value Inn - Port Hawkesbury/Port Hastings
 Click to rate
Cancun, Mexico
Reviewed 26 August 2016

We booked the 'suite', which is the room that is shown in the photos. This room is newer then the others, and is attached to the indoor pool. That doesn't mean that its in better shape, but I will get to that in a moment. We arrived that the motel to see the office was closed and we were redirected...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank heatherdawnstewart
Thierry S, General Manager at Canada's Best Value Inn - Port Hawkesbury/Port Hastings, responded to this review

Dear Heatherdawnstewart, We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your recent stay. I do understand that it can be challenging having to cross the highway to access some of the hotel amenities. I have addressed all of your concerns with our maintenance and housekeeping teams and want to assure these items have been corrected. Kind regards, Thierry

Newent
Reviewed 26 August 2016

Definitely not worth the $168 that we paid for this room. Outside veranda was scruffy, although the room itself was clean and tidy. Quite a lot of road noise from the highway and we had a disturbed night due to noisy neighbours going into the room at 1.30am!. Check in was a bit confusing as it was on the opposite...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm17450
Thierry S, General Manager at Canada's Best Value Inn - Port Hawkesbury/Port Hastings, responded to this review

Dear Malcolm17450, We are sorry to hear you did not have a restful night. We do appreciate your feedback and are currently working on our veranda to make it more cosmetically appealing for our guests. We hope you have an opportunity to stay with us again in the near future. Kind regards, Thierry

Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 4 August 2016

The hotel looks deserted at first sight. There was a sign on the office door asking guests to check in at the Hearthstone Inn across the street. The room is filthy with mouse at the door step, coffee-maker has unknown brown grits in it, very dirty towels with soiled spots visible, hair everywhere... This booking seriously jeopardized our trust with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Grumpy088
Thierry S, General Manager at Canada's Best Value Inn - Port Hawkesbury/Port Hastings, responded to this review

Dear Grumpy088, I would like to apologize for the incorrect information provided to you by Hotwire. I have asked our marketing manager to touch base with them and ensure they are not promoting free breakfast. With respect to your cleanliness concerns, please rest assured that I have reviewed your comments with our housekeeping supervisor to ensure we do not offer...

Burlington, Canada
Reviewed 22 July 2016

Where to start? When we arrived the office was closed (it is now used for storage) and a sign instructed us to check in at the motel across the street. While checking in we were told "the phones don't work - but you have cell phones right?". We were then told that the pool is open and clean but the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cathi M
Thierry S, General Manager at Canada's Best Value Inn - Port Hawkesbury/Port Hastings, responded to this review

Dear Cathi M, Please accept my sincere apologies for not meeting your expectations during your recent stay. We are currently in the process of renovating the office at Canada's Best Value as well as our guestrooms. We expect to have all of the renovations completed by the first week of August. We are also in the process of installing a...

Reviewed 26 February 2016 via mobile

We stayed here with our basketball team on Feb 26th 2016...the room is completely unexceptable....it was dirty very out dated just overall disgusting. ..paint peeling off walls...bed was broken....floors were dirty ...rusty bathroom....not much for bedding....when my husband and I got into bed it lifted and the front fell on the floor where are heads were suppose to be....we then...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Charlotte M
Thierry S, General Manager at Canada's Best Value Inn - Port Hawkesbury/Port Hastings, responded to this review

Dear Charlotte M, I am terribly sorry that we did not meet your expectations during your recent stay. We are currently in the process of renovating all of our guestrooms and I hope that you have an opportunity to stay with us again in the future and experience our new product. We appreciate your feedback and value your business. Kind...

Fall River, Canada
Reviewed 18 August 2015 via mobile

I travel for work a lot and lately have been brought back to Port Hawkesbury. Normally I do not like staying in Port Hawkesbury because of the quality of Hotels. But lately I have been staying in the Hearthstone Inn or the MacPuffin Inn under the same owner. The staff are great and the rooms are the cleanest I have...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lawrence P
HAMPTON
Reviewed 3 August 2015

We were pleasantly surprised with the accomodations at this facility given all the negative comments that were posted. When you book at a budget price you cannot expect five star. We were looking for a clean quiet place to lay our heads while watching the budget and this fit the bill perfectly. No internet access in our room but doesn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RON R
Palm Harbor, Florida
Reviewed 12 July 2015

I have traveled extensively and this was the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. The ceiling and wallpaper in the bathroom were peeling. There was no refrigerator. The TV was old style (not a flat screen). The AC unit from the room above dripped onto ours which was so loud it woke us up. There was gravel in the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank PineapplePrincess353
Paradise, Canada
Reviewed 4 July 2015 via mobile

The internet wouldn't work, the TV was old and outdated and only had a few channels. The worst part is that fire alarm kept beeping because the battery was low in it and the inn did nothing to fix it. If we had done our homework and looked at reviews first we defiantly would not have stayed. Honestly the only...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Juanitahead_
Smithers, Canada
Reviewed 28 June 2015

We have learned to do a bit of research (tripadvisor and brochures usually) before selecting accommodations but we arrived on Cape Breton late in the day so the tourist information office was already closed. As we had no idea of what facilities were available in the area we decided to stay in Port Hastings. The motel across the street was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CrowsRus

30 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Hastings
4.3 km away
Maritime Inn Port Hawkesbury
Maritime Inn Port Hawkesbury
#1 of 2 in Port Hawkesbury
156 reviews
20.8 km away
Dundee Resort & Golf Club
107.2 km away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Capeway Motel
Capeway Motel
#2 of 3 in Port Hastings
11 reviews
2.6 km away
Mackenzie House Tourist Home
Mackenzie House Tourist Home
#3 of 5 in Port Hawkesbury
54 reviews
42.6 km away
The Fiddle and the Sea, B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Canada's Best Value Inn - Port Hawkesbury/Port Hastings

Address: 373 Highway 4, Port Hastings, Nova Scotia B9A 1M8, Canada (Formerly Econo Lodge)
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Port Hastings
Hotel Class:2 star — Canada's Best Value Inn - Port Hawkesbury/Port Hastings 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Canada's Best Value Inn - Port Hawkesbury/Port Hastings reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Port Hastings
Port Hastings Econo Lodge
Canada's Best Value Inn - Port Hawkesbury/Port Hastings Cape Breton Island, Nova Scotia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Canada's Best Value Inn - Port Hawkesbury/Port Hastings staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There is no good room”
 of 5 bubbles 778cathim, 22 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Wifi was very weak and slow. Ask for the room in the company photos, if it exists.”
 of 5 bubbles CrowsRus, 28 Jun 2015 | Read review
“ask to see room first.”
 of 5 bubbles countrygirl1948, 5 Oct 2014 | Read review
“Don't stay here!”
  • Peeling wallpaper
  • Rust stains
  • Peeling wallpaper
  • Rust stains
 of 5 bubbles Geogemini, 22 Sep 2014 | Read review
“Upstairs room had two queen size beds for the same price as downstairs rooms with double beds”
 of 5 bubbles RobertMaher, 18 Sep 2014 | Read review
5 of 5