We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
90 Main St, Whycocomagh, Nova Scotia B0E 3M0 Canada
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
PricelineUS$110
TripadvisorUS$110
StayForLong
Agoda.comUS$110
eDreamsUS$110
Vio.comUS$110
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (109)
Room & Suite (51)
Videos (7)

About

#2 of 4 Specialty lodging in Whycocomagh
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Keltic Quay's Cape Breton cottages are located on the northeast shore of the Bras d'Or Lakes in the village of Whycocomagh, at the entrance of the Cabot Trail an area of outstanding natural beauty and spectacular vistas. Ranked one of the top places to stay our twelve 4.5 star Canada Select one and two-bedroom Cape Breton cottages and suites include everything you need for world class accommodations and our main lodge is the ideal place for a great game of pool or darts with new friends. Whether you're here to see the Cabot Tail, conduct business or for pleasure we can help you plan what will surely be a memorable place to stay on Cape Breton Island.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Canoeing
Game room
Children's playground
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Conference facilities
Wifi
Hiking
Billiards
Darts
Fishing
Patio
Board games / puzzles
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Meeting rooms
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Sun terrace
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Dining area
Fireplace
Seating area
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Bath / shower
Sofa
Iron
Private bathrooms
Kitchenette
Dishwasher
Microwave
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
On-demand films
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Languages Spoken
English
106Reviews0Q+A27Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 98
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
IamLindyLou wrote a review Oct. 2022
Pitt Meadows, Canada165 contributions51 helpful votes
We did a three-week traveling tour of the Maritime provinces and this was one of our favourite places to stay! We had a two-bedroom cottage on the water, and it was lovely in every respect. It was nicely decorated, clean, and had a washer/dryer in the unit which was really appreciated. The kitchen was well equipped so we bought prepared frozen meals from the Farmer's Daughter (which were all tasty!) as we needed a break from restaurant food. It was cool, but we still spent time out on our deck, enjoying an evening drink and morning coffee - savoring the beauty and tranquility. Randy and Sheila were really hospitable, and Bailey the dog was adorable! We were sorry to leave.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
debnath wrote a review Sep. 2021
Brampton, Canada166 contributions46 helpful votes
Property's Favourite Review
We stayed in the one bedroom unit in one of the cottages for 4 nights. Our stay was relaxing and hassle free. The check in was smooth with a warm welcome from Sheila. The unit was very clean, and the kitchen was well stocked with cutlery, cups and plates. The view from the balcony was outstanding. We enjoyed paddle boating one afternoon in the lake. The facility is dog friendly and our pug enjoyed his time too. The grounds are well maintained. We did the Cabot Trail for 2 days and returned in the evening. We received a gift card for Charlene’s restaurant and made good use of it too. We would definitely recommend this place to our friends.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: One bedroom units are on the 2nd floor only.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from James Smeaton, Marketing at Keltic Quay Cottages & Bayfront Lodge
Responded Mar. 31, 2022
Hi Deb, thank you so much for your detailed review that covered so many of the elements that make us stand out! From the pet friendliness to the cleanliness we strive to simply make life easy for our guests. We are also pumped to hear you made over the Cabot Trail, the beauty found there is hard to beat anywhere in the world. From all of us at Keltic Quay we hope to see you again soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Denise D wrote a review Sep. 2022
Halifax, Canada6 contributions
We joined some friends of ours who were vacationing here and were blown away by how amazing the locale is. Nova Scotia truly is a beautiful province and these cottages are perfectly positioned to allow visitors to enjoy a once in a lifetime experience.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Allison B wrote a review Sep. 2021
Canada21 contributions10 helpful votes
What a disappointment this place was and we never even got to stay here! I phoned on Monday night before closing and spoke to a man named Ray (?) who told me that the Bras d'or room was available for Saturday night and told me how perfect it would be to celebrate our 11 year wedding annivesary. He told us to book that night online to secure it and promised us it would be ours and so we did within 10 minutes of hanging up with him. Two days later I didn't receive a confirmation e-mail so I phoned the front desk who told me she had never received the reservation and that they are now fully booked. This is completely unacceptable and now everything EVERYWHERE is booked and we have no where to go to celebrate our anniversary. I am sure it would be a wonderful place to stay, but management really needs to look into their reservation system to ensure this does not happen to another guest. We are heartbroken.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from James Smeaton, Marketing at Keltic Quay Cottages & Bayfront Lodge
Responded Sep. 3, 2021
Good Day Allison We are so very sorry to hear about this situation. We want to invite you to call us at 1-877-350-1122 so we can hopefully remedy the scenario and still find you an alternate suite to stay in for your special day. We ask that you reach us by the end of today (Fri, Sept 3rd) as our suites do book up fast this time of year. We hope to hear from you soon. Thanks
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
AndreaandMuffs wrote a review Aug. 2021
Fonthill, Canada59 contributions12 helpful votes
Keltic Quay is a hidden gem in a sleepy town just minutes from Baddeck. Our two bedroom cottage was absolutely darling, spacious and incredibly clean. The view from our cottage was spectacular and we enjoyed spending many hours sitting on our covered deck resting and relaxing. When we felt a little urge to do something, we enjoyed the paddle boats and indoor games room that offered a pool table, television and multiple board games. Our own private BBQ was perfect for creating a home cooked meal. With VERY obvious pride in ownership, from the second you pull through the gates of this community you know the worst part of visiting Keltic Quay will be leaving.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Don’t forget to pack some laundry detergent… you’ll enjoy freshening up your suit case with the...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from James Smeaton, Marketing at Keltic Quay Cottages & Bayfront Lodge
Responded Mar. 31, 2022
Hi Andrea, we got a good laugh from your warning to start the review, thank goodness it was followed by all positive things! Your writing style is also very entertaining and rich, a really joy to read your review. As you might expect we could not be more pleased you had a good time and we hope to see you back again soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tracy C wrote a review Jul. 2021
3 contributions
Had a great visit here. The hosts were so friendly and helpful. Rooms were beautiful and comfortable. We had fun kayaking and paddleboating during the day. Enjoyed a bbq and campfire with smores in the evening. Highly recommend this resort!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from James Smeaton, Marketing at Keltic Quay Cottages & Bayfront Lodge
Responded Mar. 31, 2022
Hi Tracy, thank you kindly for your review. We are so happy you got to enjoy so many of the amenities that make us a special option when visiting Cape Breton. Wishing you a great day and we hope to see you again soon :)
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Laura wrote a review Jul. 2021
2 contributions
Stayed at the Keltic Quay with a group of female motorcyclists. We had an absolute blast at Keltic Quay's beautiful property. Enjoyed sitting around the fire, using the amenities room and playing pool, and the company of Randy and Sheila. They were fantastic hosts and made sure we were comfortable and having a good time throughout our stay. Can't recommend Keltic Quay enough!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from James Smeaton, Marketing at Keltic Quay Cottages & Bayfront Lodge
Responded Mar. 31, 2022
Thanks Laura for your very kind words, the whole operation is geared towards creating an experience just as you described... an absolute blast! Wishing you a wonderful day and we hope to see you again soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Gina M wrote a review Jan. 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
We had stayed at the chalets in the past and found it was lovely except for a very strong sewage smell that prevented us from sitting on our deck during our stay. Unfortunately we had a tragic loss of friends who lived close by ( husband and wife who passed in a car accident ). We live in Halifax and were denied a place to stay while supporting the grieving family! We were told this was because of a “travel ban due to Covid 19”. We were beyond shocked and disappointed in this reasoning as it was certainly not a rule issued by the provincial government. I am a nurse and am very knowledgeable in infection control protocols, if the staff at this facility are doing what they say on the website there would be zero chance of any Covid 19 risk. You can not imagine the stress this caused us during an unbelievably painful and sad time in our family’s life. The folks who lost their lives were well loved in the community and had previously supported this business. Luckily we were able to find other accommodations, but I do promise we will NEVER book here again!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from James Smeaton, Marketing at Keltic Quay Cottages & Bayfront Lodge
Responded Jan. 22, 2021
We are so very sorry for the tragic loss of your friends and that you were unable to stay at our resort. We looked into the requirements posted by the Province of Nova Scotia and thought we were following the protocols correctly. We have since determined that you were correct and you should have been able to book your stay, again we are very sorry for this mistake. Please contact us directly at info@kelticquay.com as we would like to discuss further via phone or email.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
2travellingstones wrote a review Aug. 2020
Canada147 contributions50 helpful votes
+1
Keltic Quay is located on the beautiful Bras d’ Or Lakes in Whycocomagh. Great base for your Cape Breton stay. A lovely gated entrance with a pond and fountain. The grounds are immaculate and very well maintained. We were looking to decompress and just relax from work and that is exactly what we did and achieved. What a beautiful spot. The cottages are right on the water and there are kayaks, canoes and a paddle boat available to use as you like at no charge. There is a lodge there with game tables and a beautiful fire place however due to COVID it was not open. We stayed in the Bras d’ Or Suite. It was a one bedroom cottage on the top floor with a Queen size bed. Full kitchen with everything you need. There was a BBQ on the deck which we did not use. The deck was so nice to sit out and the view was outstanding. We spent our last night at the fire pit with a great fire and met a very nice family from our area. We brought our 4 month old puppy which was great to know they are pet friendly. They have a great lab Hank that lives on the property. He loves the water and will fetch a stick thrown into the water. Great dog. We did two day trips which one to Baddeck and one to Inverness Beach both being only about a 25-30 minute drive. There is a Co op in the area for groceries etc. a Guardian Drug Store and a Farmers Market that you can get baked goods, the best hot dog ever, meaning the bun was amazing. They had a lot on their menu for take out. They had a store there as well. Great as it’s just a quick drive from the cottage. Renie who manages and lives on property was great! Extremely accommodating for anything you need. Very helpful with recommendations, places to eat, see and go. Thanks Renie you really completed our stay. I would highly recommend Keltic Quay for your stay in Cape Breton. We will be back for sure! The hidden gem in Cape Breton!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from James Smeaton, Marketing at Keltic Quay Cottages & Bayfront Lodge
Responded Sep. 2, 2020
Thank you so much for this very detailed review, we loved reading every bit of it and we know it will help others discover why we are a great place to stay. From your suite, to our staff, to the grounds and the surrounding area we could not be more pleased you found everything you could hope for. From the whole team we want to wish you a beautiful fall and hopefully we will see you again soon, with a slightly older puppy!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
tgw375 wrote a review Aug. 2020
Nova Scotia30 contributions11 helpful votes
We stayed here for four nights since they offered a discount for staying an extra night which was great. The cottages were very clean, modern and very well stocked. We did a fair amount of cooking and they had everything we needed to prepare meals. They are very pet friendly which made us nervous because one of us has pet allergies but with no carpeting in the cottage and it being so clean this wasn’t an issue. The manager is so approachable and friendly. The spectacular views are what made the stay special for me. We also used their complimentary canoes and kayaks.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from James Smeaton, Agency / Consultant at Keltic Quay Cottages & Bayfront Lodge
Responded Sep. 2, 2020
Thank you for your review and recommendation! Your review is all we could ask, you noted the discount on the forth nights, you noticed how clean we keep everything and that your suite is ready for you to cook in! It means a lot to us that you found the whole team friendly and it's great that you got out on the water with our free onsite canoes and kayaks, there is quite the view out there. Wishing you a great day!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$129 - US$146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
CanadaNova ScotiaCape Breton IslandWhycocomagh
NUMBER OF ROOMS
12
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Keltic Quay Cottages & Bayfront Lodge - UPDATED 2022 Prices, Reviews & Photos (Cape Breton Island, Nova Scotia) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Keltic Quay Cottages & Bayfront Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Keltic Quay Cottages & Bayfront Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Whycocomagh Provincial Park (1.2 km) and St Margaret of Scotland and Church Cemetery (2.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Keltic Quay Cottages & Bayfront Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and meeting rooms.
Which room amenities are available at Keltic Quay Cottages & Bayfront Lodge?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Keltic Quay Cottages & Bayfront Lodge?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Keltic Quay Cottages & Bayfront Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Keltic Quay Cottages & Bayfront Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Charlene's Bayside Cafe, Farmers Daughter, and Auld Brass Door.
Are pets allowed at Keltic Quay Cottages & Bayfront Lodge?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Keltic Quay Cottages & Bayfront Lodge offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.
Is Keltic Quay Cottages & Bayfront Lodge accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.