We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Keltic Quay Cottages & Bayfront Lodge

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (116)
Room & Suite (51)
Videos (7)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

#1 of 1 lodge in Whycocomagh
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Keltic Quay's Cape Breton cottages are located on the northeast shore of the Bras d'Or Lakes in the village of Whycocomagh, at the entrance of the Cabot Trail an area of outstanding natural beauty and spectacular vistas. Ranked one of the top places to stay our twelve 4.5 star Canada Select one and two-bedroom Cape Breton cottages and suites include everything you need for world class accommodations and our main lodge is the ideal place for a great game of pool or darts with new friends. Whether you're here to see the Cabot Tail, conduct business or for pleasure we can help you plan what will surely be a memorable place to stay on Cape Breton Island. NS Tourism Accommodation Registration: RYA-2023-24-03011452572382363-90
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Canoeing
Game room
Children's playground
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Conference facilities
Wifi
Hiking
Billiards
Darts
Fishing
Patio
Board games / puzzles
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Meeting rooms
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Sun terrace
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Dining area
Fireplace
Seating area
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Bath / shower
Sofa
Iron
Private bathrooms
Kitchenette
Dishwasher
Microwave
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
On-demand films
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Great View
Languages Spoken
English
111Reviews0Q+A29Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 101
  • 3
  • 4
  • 1
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Cheryl wrote a review Sep 2023
Laguna Hills, California9 contributions
I was so excited about coming to this to rated property. It was such a disappointment. The least favorite of all our places in Nova Scotia. Yes beautiful view and location. But amenities were greatly lacking. Toiletries sub standard, linens pilly and rough, toilet ran every 15 minutes entire time, poorly sound proofed upstairs plumbing drain and smoke alarm noise . Keurig coffee was no brand and no flavor, no sugar, no milk. Ice trays not filled in freezer..vacuum cleaner out... Sorry I wouldn't recommend this beautiful place
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Sheila H wrote a review Aug 2023
Ottawa103 contributions19 helpful votes
+1
Property's Favourite Review
The photos don't show you how beautiful and peaceful it is here. You're looking out directly at the lake. It is truly a beautiful place to sit and relax on the patio or balcony. There is a fully equipped kitchen with lots of plates, utensils, glasses, etc. They are pet friendly and even have an outdoor dog washing station! The main cabin is gorgeous, it has beautiful leather couches, a shuffleboard game, pool table and a bar area. They have kayaks and paddle boards and a beautiful dock area.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from James Smeaton, Marketing at Keltic Quay Cottages & Bayfront Lodge
Responded Aug 16, 2023
Hi Cali! Thanks for your most wonderful and concise review of our property. It's so nice to hear that you have to experience it to fully know it, we totally agree! We also appreciate you noting all of our amenities, we are proud of all we have to offer. Thanks and we hope to see you again soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Billy V wrote a review Jul 2023
5 contributions2 helpful votes
Love the Keltic Quay for a few days relaxation and to enjoy the beautiful views of our Island..We usually do a few days in the summer and then a couple of different times in the winter and have always enjoyed our stays…Sheila and Randy are great and so welcoming to the guests..This stay my daughter and her service dog joined us and loved the accommodations…I found it odd however that there is a charge of $30 for the dog as we have stayed in many provinces at different places and just last week in PEI and have never been charged a fee for the service dog…
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from James Smeaton, Marketing at Keltic Quay Cottages & Bayfront Lodge
Responded Jul 25, 2023
Hi Billy Thank you very much for your review, it was great to see you back with us again, we really appreciate our recurring guests. We would like to offer you a $30 credit to your next stay and if you could call us 1-877-350-1122 so we can collect your information and have that on file. We likely did not know it was a service dog and just applied our standard fee for having a pet stay. Wishing you a wonderful summer ahead.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
lovetotravel846 wrote a review Jun 2023
Boston, Massachusetts183 contributions33 helpful votes
What a wonderful hidden gem in Cape Breton. All cottages face the lake with a beautiful porch or deck. We stayed in cottage 1B, a one bedroom 2nd floor unit that was newly renovated. Everything you need is at your fingertips with a full kitchen. Kayaks and paddle boats are available for use. Sheila and Randy, the managers of the property are so sweet and helpful, we could have easily stayed a week. And we can’t forget Bailey, the resident puppy! We hope to visit again soon!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Just bring bug spray if you plan to spend a lot of time outdoors
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from James Smeaton, Marketing at Keltic Quay Cottages & Bayfront Lodge
Responded Jul 25, 2023
Hello Valued Guests! Thank so darn much for this absolutely perfect review. You touched on all the lovely things that we hope make us special to the folks that stay with us and you even gave Bailey, our golden lab, a shout out. We hope to see you again soon and that your summer is as lovely as your review.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Ranald M wrote a review Jun 2023
Ottawa, Canada152 contributions49 helpful votes
Great place to stay for a night or a week (as we did) when visiting anywhere in Central Cape Breton. These are self catering cottages (two bedroom units on ground floor and one bedroom units on second floor both with their own entrances) with everything you need for an enjoyable vacation. We have stayed there several times and each unit has been very clean, comfortable and well maintained. The view looking out over the Whycocomagh Bay is fantastic especially if you get up to see the sunrise. Highly recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Book in advance as this place fillus up quickly especially on weekends and holiday periods.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from James Smeaton, Marketing at Keltic Quay Cottages & Bayfront Lodge
Responded Jul 25, 2023
Hello Valued Guest We just love your phrase "self catering cottages" and may have to borrow that in the future! It pleases us greatly that everything was as you expected and that you also experienced our lovely sunrise. We hope to see you back again soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
IamLindyLou wrote a review Oct 2022
Pitt Meadows, Canada175 contributions53 helpful votes
We did a three-week traveling tour of the Maritime provinces and this was one of our favourite places to stay! We had a two-bedroom cottage on the water, and it was lovely in every respect. It was nicely decorated, clean, and had a washer/dryer in the unit which was really appreciated. The kitchen was well equipped so we bought prepared frozen meals from the Farmer's Daughter (which were all tasty!) as we needed a break from restaurant food. It was cool, but we still spent time out on our deck, enjoying an evening drink and morning coffee - savoring the beauty and tranquility. Randy and Sheila were really hospitable, and Bailey the dog was adorable! We were sorry to leave.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from James Smeaton, Marketing at Keltic Quay Cottages & Bayfront Lodge
Responded Feb 1, 2023
Hi Lindy Lou What an amazing write for your review. Its nice that you highlighted the Farmers Daughter frozen selection and the fully equipped kitchens we provide in our suites. We agree, drinking coffee on the decks of our cottages is quite the nice view and a great way to start a day of adventure. We hope to see you again soon! Thanks again!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Denise D wrote a review Sep 2022
Halifax, Canada6 contributions
We joined some friends of ours who were vacationing here and were blown away by how amazing the locale is. Nova Scotia truly is a beautiful province and these cottages are perfectly positioned to allow visitors to enjoy a once in a lifetime experience.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from James Smeaton, Marketing at Keltic Quay Cottages & Bayfront Lodge
Responded Feb 1, 2023
Thanks for your lovely review. Our slogan is: Your Destination for Exploration, and your review speaks to that!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
debnath wrote a review Sep 2021
Brampton, Canada166 contributions46 helpful votes
We stayed in the one bedroom unit in one of the cottages for 4 nights. Our stay was relaxing and hassle free. The check in was smooth with a warm welcome from Sheila. The unit was very clean, and the kitchen was well stocked with cutlery, cups and plates. The view from the balcony was outstanding. We enjoyed paddle boating one afternoon in the lake. The facility is dog friendly and our pug enjoyed his time too. The grounds are well maintained. We did the Cabot Trail for 2 days and returned in the evening. We received a gift card for Charlene’s restaurant and made good use of it too. We would definitely recommend this place to our friends.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: One bedroom units are on the 2nd floor only.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from James Smeaton, Marketing at Keltic Quay Cottages & Bayfront Lodge
Responded Mar 31, 2022
Hi Deb, thank you so much for your detailed review that covered so many of the elements that make us stand out! From the pet friendliness to the cleanliness we strive to simply make life easy for our guests. We are also pumped to hear you made over the Cabot Trail, the beauty found there is hard to beat anywhere in the world. From all of us at Keltic Quay we hope to see you again soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Allison B wrote a review Sep 2021
Canada21 contributions11 helpful votes
What a disappointment this place was and we never even got to stay here! I phoned on Monday night before closing and spoke to a man named Ray (?) who told me that the Bras d'or room was available for Saturday night and told me how perfect it would be to celebrate our 11 year wedding annivesary. He told us to book that night online to secure it and promised us it would be ours and so we did within 10 minutes of hanging up with him. Two days later I didn't receive a confirmation e-mail so I phoned the front desk who told me she had never received the reservation and that they are now fully booked. This is completely unacceptable and now everything EVERYWHERE is booked and we have no where to go to celebrate our anniversary. I am sure it would be a wonderful place to stay, but management really needs to look into their reservation system to ensure this does not happen to another guest. We are heartbroken.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from James Smeaton, Marketing at Keltic Quay Cottages & Bayfront Lodge
Responded Sep 3, 2021
Good Day Allison We are so very sorry to hear about this situation. We want to invite you to call us at 1-877-350-1122 so we can hopefully remedy the scenario and still find you an alternate suite to stay in for your special day. We ask that you reach us by the end of today (Fri, Sept 3rd) as our suites do book up fast this time of year. We hope to hear from you soon. Thanks
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
AndreaandMuffs wrote a review Aug 2021
Fonthill, Canada59 contributions12 helpful votes
Keltic Quay is a hidden gem in a sleepy town just minutes from Baddeck. Our two bedroom cottage was absolutely darling, spacious and incredibly clean. The view from our cottage was spectacular and we enjoyed spending many hours sitting on our covered deck resting and relaxing. When we felt a little urge to do something, we enjoyed the paddle boats and indoor games room that offered a pool table, television and multiple board games. Our own private BBQ was perfect for creating a home cooked meal. With VERY obvious pride in ownership, from the second you pull through the gates of this community you know the worst part of visiting Keltic Quay will be leaving.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Don’t forget to pack some laundry detergent… you’ll enjoy freshening up your suit case with the...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from James Smeaton, Marketing at Keltic Quay Cottages & Bayfront Lodge
Responded Mar 31, 2022
Hi Andrea, we got a good laugh from your warning to start the review, thank goodness it was followed by all positive things! Your writing style is also very entertaining and rich, a really joy to read your review. As you might expect we could not be more pleased you had a good time and we hope to see you back again soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Whycocomagh area.
PRICE RANGE
C$202 - C$204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
CanadaNova ScotiaCape Breton IslandWhycocomagh
NUMBER OF ROOMS
12
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Keltic Quay Cottages & Bayfront Lodge - UPDATED Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Keltic Quay Cottages & Bayfront Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Keltic Quay Cottages & Bayfront Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Whycocomagh Provincial Park (1.2 km), St Margaret of Scotland and Church Cemetery (2.0 km), and Skye Glen Creamery (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Keltic Quay Cottages & Bayfront Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and meeting rooms.
Which room amenities are available at Keltic Quay Cottages & Bayfront Lodge?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Keltic Quay Cottages & Bayfront Lodge?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Keltic Quay Cottages & Bayfront Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Keltic Quay Cottages & Bayfront Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Charlene's Bayside Cafe, Farmers Daughter, and Helen's Bakery.
Are pets allowed at Keltic Quay Cottages & Bayfront Lodge?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Keltic Quay Cottages & Bayfront Lodge offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.
Is Keltic Quay Cottages & Bayfront Lodge accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.