We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Save money. We search 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices.

Keltic Quay Cottages & Bayfront Lodge

Save
Share
90 Main St, Whycocomagh, Nova Scotia B0E 3M0 Canada
E-mail hotel
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
eDreams
Priceline
US$157
View deal
Booking.com
Agoda.com
ZenHotels.com
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveller (109)
Room & Suite (39)
Videos (6)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 21-10-06 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Keltic Quay Cottages & Bayfront Lodge
Updated 21-10-06 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#2 of 4 Speciality lodging in Whycocomagh
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Keltic Quay's Cape Breton cottages are located on the northeast shore of the Bras d'Or Lakes in the village of Whycocomagh, at the entrance of the Cabot Trail an area of outstanding natural beauty and spectacular vistas. Ranked one of the top places to stay our twelve 4.5 star Canada Select one and two-bedroom Cape Breton cottages and suites include everything you need for world class accommodations and our main lodge is the ideal place for a great game of pool or darts with new friends. Whether you're here to see the Cabot Tail, conduct business or for pleasure we can help you plan what will surely be a memorable place to stay on Cape Breton Island.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Canoeing
Game room
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Meeting rooms
Wifi
Hiking
Billiards
Darts
Fishing
Board games / puzzles
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Sun terrace
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Dining area
Fireplace
Seating area
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Bath / shower
Sofa
Iron
Private bathrooms
Kitchenette
Dishwasher
Microwave
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
On-demand films
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Languages Spoken
English
104Reviews0Q+A27Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 96
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Gina M wrote a review Jan. 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
We had stayed at the chalets in the past and found it was lovely except for a very strong sewage smell that prevented us from sitting on our deck during our stay. Unfortunately we had a tragic loss of friends who lived close by ( husband and wife who passed in a car accident ). We live in Halifax and were denied a place to stay while supporting the grieving family! We were told this was because of a “travel ban due to Covid 19”. We were beyond shocked and disappointed in this reasoning as it was certainly not a rule issued by the provincial government. I am a nurse and am very knowledgeable in infection control protocols, if the staff at this facility are doing what they say on the website there would be zero chance of any Covid 19 risk. You can not imagine the stress
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from James Smeaton, Marketing at Keltic Quay Cottages & Bayfront Lodge
Responded Jan. 22, 2021
We are so very sorry for the tragic loss of your friends and that you were unable to stay at our resort. We looked into the requirements posted by the Province of Nova Scotia and thought we were following the protocols correctly. We have since determined that you were correct and you should have been able to book your stay, again we are very sorry for this mistake. Please contact us directly at info@kelticquay.com as we would like to discuss further via phone or email.
Read more
2travellingstones wrote a review Aug. 2020
Canada146 contributions50 helpful votes
+1
Keltic Quay is located on the beautiful Bras d’ Or Lakes in Whycocomagh. Great base for your Cape Breton stay. A lovely gated entrance with a pond and fountain. The grounds are immaculate and very well maintained. We were looking to decompress and just relax from work and that is exactly what we did and achieved. What a beautiful spot. The cottages are right on the water and there are kayaks, canoes and a paddle boat available to use as you like at no charge. There is a lodge there with game tables and a beautiful fire place however due to COVID it was not open. We stayed in the Bras d’ Or Suite. It was a one bedroom cottage on the top floor with a Queen size bed. Full kitchen with everything you need. There was a BBQ on the deck which we did not use. The deck was so nice to
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from James Smeaton, Marketing at Keltic Quay Cottages & Bayfront Lodge
Responded Sep. 2, 2020
Thank you so much for this very detailed review, we loved reading every bit of it and we know it will help others discover why we are a great place to stay. From your suite, to our staff, to the grounds and the surrounding area we could not be more pleased you found everything you could hope for. From the whole team we want to wish you a beautiful fall and hopefully we will see you again soon, with a slightly older puppy!
Read more
tgw375 wrote a review Aug. 2020
Nova Scotia30 contributions11 helpful votes
We stayed here for four nights since they offered a discount for staying an extra night which was great. The cottages were very clean, modern and very well stocked. We did a fair amount of cooking and they had everything we needed to prepare meals. They are very pet friendly which made us nervous because one of us has pet allergies but with no carpeting in the cottage and it being so clean this wasn’t an issue. The manager is so approachable and friendly. The spectacular views are what made the stay special for me. We also used their complimentary canoes and kayaks.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from James Smeaton, Agency / Consultant at Keltic Quay Cottages & Bayfront Lodge
Responded Sep. 2, 2020
Thank you for your review and recommendation! Your review is all we could ask, you noted the discount on the forth nights, you noticed how clean we keep everything and that your suite is ready for you to cook in! It means a lot to us that you found the whole team friendly and it's great that you got out on the water with our free onsite canoes and kayaks, there is quite the view out there. Wishing you a great day!
Read more
Lori S wrote a review Jul. 2020
2 contributions
I recently took my daughter, puppy and friends to Keltic Quay for our birthday weekend and felt very comfortable with the cleanliness and sanitation, having a gorgeous view, pristine surroundings made this trip so worthwhile. Renie and Hank were so friendly and welcoming. I highly recommend making this central spot a vacation highlight for families or couples.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from James Smeaton, Agency / Consultant at Keltic Quay Cottages & Bayfront Lodge
Responded Sep. 2, 2020
Thank you kindly for your lovely review. Having a clean suite is very important to us and we are glad you noticed. We're also pleased you got a chance to get to know Renie and Hank, they are one of the best parts of our whole place. Very nice of you to also highlight us as a jump off point for other adventures, we could not agree more! Have a great day and we hope to see you again.
Read more
Expedition285420 wrote a review Nov. 2019
Mont Tremblant, Canada13 contributions4 helpful votes
Recommended on a blog and was a little hard to find, but well worth the effort. A picturesque setting overlooking the water with well appointed rooms and facilities. Would be great to come back to in the summer and might just plan that the next time.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from JamesSmeaton, Marketing Manager at Keltic Quay Cottages & Bayfront Lodge
Responded Jan. 27, 2020
Hello Thank you so much for your review, we are super pleased you liked the rooms and facilities. We are definitely a little bit hidden off the main highway but we like to think it adds to our charm, perhaps more signage would be helpful? Do you recall which blog you heard about us from? We really look forward to seeing in the warm summer weather. Wishing you a great day.
Read more
PRICE RANGE
US$110 - US$176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
CanadaNova ScotiaCape Breton IslandWhycocomagh
NUMBER OF ROOMS
12
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing