The Little Inn of Bayfield

The Little Inn of Bayfield

26 Main St N, Bayfield, Bluewater, Ontario N0M 1G0 Canada
Traveller (429)
Room & Suite (118)
The Little Inn of Bayfield
Videos (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#1 of 2 inns in Bayfield
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
Located in the picturesque, heritage village of Bayfield, Ontario, on Lake Huron's sandy shores, The Little Inn provides charming and authentic accommodations and an exceptional culinary experience.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Hiking
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Street parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Happy hour
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Horseback riding
Canoeing offsite
Darts
Fishing
Patio
Shared lounge / TV area
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Cable / satellite TV
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
Iron
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Great View
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Rate:Special rate available

Location

26 Main St N, Bayfield, Bluewater, Ontario N0M 1G0 Canada
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 63 out of 100
63
Metropolitan Area Airport
74.2 km
See all flights
Sarnia Airport
80.3 km
See all flights
781Reviews2Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 507
  • 194
  • 55
  • 15
  • 10
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Beyond_YXU wrote a review Apr 2012
London, Canada13,374 contributions2,231 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked two rooms with The Little Inn's Easter package to celebrate my mother's 80th birthday and Easter weekend. This package included two nights’ accommodations, breakfast on two mornings, an a la carte dinner on the Friday night, a South American Tour dinner with wine pairings on the Saturday night, and Easter brunch Sunday afternoon.

I made the reservations over the telephone, and Kristina could not have been more helpful in making sure I chose just the right room for my mother (we settled on Junior Suite #22 for her and Widow's Walk for us). Kristina also was able to arrange for flowers and balloons to be ordered for my mother's room and a special cake for her birthday dinner. She made our dinner reservations for us as well at that time, and promptly emailed confirmations of everything to me.

My mother was thrilled with the entire experience. Her room, while not very large, was cheery and immaculately clean (very important to her). The rattan loveseat seemed out of place given the rest of the room's decor, but otherwise it looked identical to the virtual tour on the Inn's website. The beautiful flowers and fun balloon bouquet were a terrific surprise, and she also appreciated the complimentary jars of jam and gingerbread rabbit cookies left on her pillows. We did have to call for a bathrobe and turndown service for her (should be standard in an inn of this quality and size), but it the request was cheerfully fulfilled.

Our room, Widow's Walk, was very interesting. It's on the top two floors of the hotel, offering 360 degree views of the village from the upstairs sitting room. It sort of felt like staying in a quaint tree-house! Space is a little tight for two people (it appears larger on the Inn's website), but with the separate living space upstairs it's manageable. We found the bed a little too firm for our tastes, and the pillows lacked sufficient loft and support. The bathroom is absolutely tiny-- like what you would find on a cruise ship or in a motor home-- and the grout in the shower stall needs a good bleaching. Otherwise, we would definitely consider staying in this room again in the future, especially during autumn or winter when you would not get any use out of an attached deck or veranda offered by some of the other rooms.

All of the meals were terrific. The breakfast buffet once again offered lots of nicely presented fresh fruit, cereals, yogurts and freshly baked breads and pastries. One morning I had the blueberry pancakes (delicious) and the next I had the French toast (dry and rubbery). We were disappointed that the cappuccino maker was broken during our stay, so this meant a trip down the street for our morning fix.

Mom's birthday dinner on Friday night was wonderful. We brought along a special bottle of Champagne ($20 corkage fee) which we enjoyed with our meal. All of the courses were delicious, and the service was terrific. Mom was surprised with a lovely little lemon cake with white chocolate frosting at the end of the meal.

The South American Tour menu on Saturday night was fun, interesting and delicious. We didn't realize that all of the patrons enjoying this menu would be dining at the same time-- a unique experience. The sommelier was very animated and knowledgeable, and he provided a lot of detailed information about each of the five wines served and justified his reasons for choosing them. There were a few last minute substitutions to the menu, but this was acceptable given the Inn's focus on the freshest local ingredients. We would definitely consider attending this kind of dining event again in the future.

Easter brunch on Sunday was good, but perhaps a little bit of a letdown given the other two meals we'd enjoyed. I think we expected it to be a little more 'special' given that it was a holiday, but there were only three choices of appetizers and entrees, two dessert choices, and no little Easter-y extras. The cucumber vichyssoise was so delicious and fresh tasting I could have eaten a tureen of it, and my pork chop entree was one of the best I've had anywhere. My partner's whitefish entree was "a mess" (his words): drowning in a strong soy-based sauce. Speaking of sauce, the waitress seemed a little hurried (we were the last table seated), and she spilled the sauce from his entree down onto the table and into my mother's purse. Another waitress came by and noticed the mess and cleaned it up. We laughed it off, but she will have to have the purse cleaned (the sauce stained the leather and the lining). It was the only misstep however, in a weekend of exemplary service by all of the employees we dealt with.

It was a wonderfully relaxing weekend, whether we were browsing the shops on Main Street, poking around the shoreline, enjoying a glass of wine in the lounge, playing cards in the games room, or reading up in the sunlit Widow’s Walk. I have to once again mention the outstanding personalized service offered by Kristina. Her attention to detail and concern for her guests’ comfort and enjoyment is what keeps guests like us coming back. Thanks again for a very memorable birthday and holiday weekend, Little Inn. We’ll be back soon!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Beyond_YXU wrote a review Apr 2016
London, Canada13,374 contributions2,231 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We have stayed at the Little Inn several times over the past 15 years, but this most recent visit was our first since the extensive renovations undertaken by the new owners. Overall, we were very impressed with what they have accomplished and we look forward to more visits in the future.

This trip was a last minute getaway, prompted by an incredible "April Fool's" package rate (accommodations, dinner and breakfast) that was so low we wondered if it was in fact a joke! We booked two Carriage House rooms with fireplaces: one for us on the second floor and one for my less-mobile elderly mother on the first floor. There were no photos of these rooms online so I just made my best judgment going by the descriptions.

We tried to check in as usual by entering through the main doors for the restaurant, but I had not noticed the hotel now has its own dedicated entrance and charming lobby on the ground floor of the Carriage House. We were given our keys and settled my mother in her room. It was #3-- the same one she last stayed in. The bed and flooring were new, but everything else appeared the same.

We went upstairs to our room and upon opening the door we were surprised to see how tiny it was, disappointed to discover the fireplace was electric, and shocked to learn there was no door to the bathroom--just a curtain! We immediately determined we would not be comfortable in this room, so I returned to the front desk to see what our other options would be. Although the Inn seemed very quiet, we were only offered two other rooms on the same floor. Both were tiny and lacking closets. The very small bathrooms did have doors of sorts (sliding barn type doors that really do not close sufficiently), but no fireplaces and no closets. As we were there for just one night we decided to make do, but if we had been staying the weekend we would have been very uncomfortable.

There was just one small electric baseboard heater for the entire room, which meant it was very cold--especially in the bathroom. I called down to the front desk and we were brought a small space heater to bring the room up to a comfortable temperature. We hung our clothes on the three hangers that dangled from hooks on the wall, did a little dance around each other as we tried to unpack our suitcases into the available drawers, shrugged our shoulders and tried to make the best of it. In retrospect, we should have taken one of the Junior Suites across the street.

Despite our disappointment in the size and furnishings of the room, we did appreciate the new colour scheme throughout the Inn, the products from L'Occitane, and the luxurious Frette towels. Unfortunately we had to drink the champagne we had brought from tumblers (quite a surprise that there was no tray with an ice bucket and wine glasses), and there was almost no shelf room for any of our toiletries in the bathroom.

The three of us enjoyed a few games of cards in the games room, accompanied by excellent cocktails and good wine served by the friendly and exceedingly professional staff. We also enjoyed a wonderful dinner in the Willow Room, where we were one of only two occupied tables (likely due to a poor weather forecast calling for snow squalls). The meal was delicious, the service was impeccable, and the special cake the chef made for my mother's birthday was much appreciated.

Breakfast the next morning was as good as ever: fresh fruit, pastries, etc. available from the buffet plus a good selection of hot dishes from the menu. The only disappointment is that they still do not have an espresso machine in the restaurant. I don't understand how a restaurant can earn a AAA Four Diamond rating without having a proper espresso/cappuccino machine.

Overall we enjoyed our brief getaway, and we will definitely return in the near future, but we will never again stay in a Carriage House room. Next time we will go back to a Junior Suite or Select Suite we've become accustomed to.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Joanne O, Owner at The Little Inn of Bayfield
Responded Apr 12, 2016
Thank you very much for your detailed review of your most recent stay. The rooms at the Inn do vary a lot in terms of size due largely in part to the historical nature of the building and the limitations we had when we renovated. Our expresso machine is in the process of being replaced and apologies we did not have it for you on this trip. But glad you enjoyed your other meals with us. Rooms 1, 4, 6 and 9 in the original inn do offer more space. The Carriage rooms you stayed in do have less storage space but during the renovations we made the decision to have larger bathrooms with full size showers/tubs at the expense of dedicated closets. It was a tough decision but the majority of our guests provided feedback that this was important. We will continue to look for ways to refine the storage in the rooms in question. Thank you very much for your valuable feedback as without it we cannot continue to improve things. We hope to welcome you back to the Inn again very soon. Warm regards, Mike Oliver -Owner
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
gwilliams wrote a review Jul 2009
Stratford, Canada247 contributions200 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We arrived at 2:00 in the afternoon and were told our suite wasn't ready. When we came back at 4:00 we were told that they had double booked the suite and that we had two options; cancel, or take a room across the road. This room was cramped, with a basic bathroom, able to hear every sound in adjoining rooms, poorly ventilated, and nowhere to relax. Not at all the suite we had booked for our anniversary. While they gave us this room at a reduced price, it would have been far more acceptable had they offered a good deal on a return date at another time, paid for a better room at a hotel they didn't own, or given us the experience gratis. While a glass of ersatz champagne was supposed to make us feel better at dinner, the whole experience left a very sour taste in our mouths.
We did eat dinner in the restaurant. Appetizers were excellent, but avoid the squab sous vide - greasy skin and tough meat, although it was accompanied well. Scallops, on the other hand, were delicious. The cheeses plate had been taken out of the cooler too recently, but the tart was very good. Breakfast was standard, and nothing to write home about. Wine by the glass was indifferent, and expensive.
When we are next looking for a place for a special occasion we will be sure to avoid the Little Inn, and will instead look at other places we have stayed with none of the incompetence demonstrated here.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Madeline O wrote a review Sep 2015
Cambridge, Canada6 contributions6 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
First, I must say that the staff, for the most part, was great. However, the lack of any designated parking for hotel guests was the first strike. No elevator was another, but understandable given the age of the Inn. We were not happy about being stuck up on the third floor. That final flight of stairs is so steep and treacherous that my oldest sister had considerable difficulty negotiating it up and down, and refused to make the trip more than the absolutely required twice daily.
The room itself, #17, was cute, but really unsuitable for three women. There was nowhere to put luggage, except on one bench and the only straight back chair in the room, which left nowhere to sit. One sister kept tripping on the rocking chair. Lighting in the room was very poor, especially for three women trying to put on makeup. The bathroom shower-stall tiles looked moldy and the carpet in the room looked worn and not the cleanest. I, being the youngest, had to be the one to sleep on the sofabed in the widow’s watch, accessed by more steep stairs. I stumbled more than once during the night attempting to get down to the bathroom. The sofabed itself would have been dreadfully uncomfortable had it not been for our request for another duvet, which I folded in four to sleep on. I was grateful that I had earplugs as well, or would not have been able to sleep during the nasty storm on Sunday night.
I had made a dinner reservation in the Willow Room before going to a show at the Huron Country Theatre. We were astounded by the food prices! We all ordered the “ricotta dumplings”. We had envisioned gnocchi, and were disappointed with the half dozen Timbit-like things that arrived. The green “ragout” was very unappetizing as well as lacking flavour, and lucky me, mine had a piece of hair, or what could have been an eyelash in it. By this time, our impression of the Inn was not great, to the point where we considered not staying the second night, but would have suffered the cancellation penalty.
Thankfully, breakfast was the saving grace. For some reason, the staff kept racing past our table without stopping to take our order, or even pour a glass of water, for a good 10 minutes. Another table was seated after us, had a pot of coffee and orders placed before anyone stopped at ours. Once breakfast did arrive, it was excellent! I had the lemon ricotta hotcakes; my sisters had the omelet and Canadian breakfast. All came with hash browns that were delicious and perfectly cooked eggs. Coffee and grapefruit juice were outstanding as well. There was supposed to be a basket of toast delivered with the egg orders, but none came. When asked about the forgotten toast, we were told it would be right out. We were finished eating when one lonely slice of dry toast on a plate was set at the table. There was no butter or jam or anything to put on the toast. The three of us debated over a tip and decided that the service did not warrant one. However, I noticed on the bill at check out that a $5 tip had been added. We were happy that breakfast was included in the room rate, because we would not have eaten at the Inn otherwise. $12 for fruit salad and $6 for half a grilled tomato seemed extremely steep. Overall, we did not feel that the hotel offered good value for the money spent, about $700 for 2 nights.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Joanne O, Owner at The Little Inn of Bayfield
Responded Sep 25, 2015
We are so sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your recent visit to the Inn. We are a one of a kind boutique establishment that is over 150 years old, are located in a heritage protected village and housed in an historically designated building. The appeal that the inn possesses lies in it's authenticity and charm that it exudes after continually operating as a coaching inn since it's inception in 1847. Because of this heritage designation there will never be the opportunity for elevators to be installed at the inn, nor will be there ever be designated parking for our business in particular as the village itself controls this, and it is communal for all of the businesses in Bayfield. Our staff is always happy and willing to help our guests with any luggage as required. When booking a room at the inn, we are very cognizant about providing the best descriptions possible about our rooms, including where they are located in order to address mobility issues some of our guests may experience. We apologize if this information was not clear when you booked your stay with us. Had this been drawn to our attention upon arrival, we would have done our utmost to rectify the situation and provide you with a more convenient and accessible space for your stay. We do pride ourselves in the level of housekeeping and amenities provided in our guest rooms. Again, we apologize if this fell short of your expectations, and we have reviewed our procedures to further ensure our commitment to maintaining the highest standards possible. Thank you for both your compliments and concerns regarding our breakfast service and culinary offerings. As always, feedback is important for us as we continually strive to improve our quality of service. Our commitment to sourcing proteins and produce locally and preparing all of our dishes made to order from fresh ingredients, is one that we take very seriously and we endeavour to constantly exceed expectations.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Beyond_YXU wrote a review Aug 2020
London, Canada13,374 contributions2,231 helpful votes
+1
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We’ve stayed at The Little Inn many times over the years, in every room/suite category. Last week we chose to stay for just one night since we had an event to attend nearby. We would have extended it to a two-night stay, but as it was mid-week their restaurant was not open, so we decided to save a longer visit for when they are fully operational.

Lots has changed since our last stay.

Obviously, due to COVID-19, the hospitality industry at large has had to make significant changes. For The Little Inn, that meant arriving to an empty front desk and picking up an envelope with our room key and a brochure about what is and is not available. The wifi password in the brochure is inaccurate, but I noticed a different one posted at the front desk as we were leaving for dinner.

Our Select Suite (#12) was small compared to other suites we’ve stayed in, but the bathroom (with awkward, not totally private bifold doors) appeared to have been recently renovated. All throw pillows, glassware, literature, etc. had been removed. I called the front desk to request a bucket of ice and wine glasses, and they were provided, but unfortunately it wasn’t until later when we realized there were no bathrobes in the room, and by that time there was no one on duty from whom to request them. Also, they no longer offer L’Occitane toiletries; these have been replaced with generic motel-quality “Esa” products. There as only one small bar of soap for the sink (nothing for the tub). There were no tissues/Kleenex provided either.

The room was too cold, but we were unable to adjust the temperature, and both windows were painted shut. I had to stand on a chair to close the vent on one of the ceiling outlets, which helped a bit. (And there are lots of cracks in the ceiling that need some attention.)

Since the restaurant was closed, there was no room service. The Black Dog down the street was open, so we were able to have a very good dinner there before heading out to our event. Before turning in for the night, we submitted our choices from a very limited continental breakfast menu, which we could have served on the veranda or in the dining room. I had to go down to the front desk and look for a pen with which to fill out the breakfast menu requests; not seeing one, I went out to my car and got one from the glove compartment. There's no reason why they can't provide a disposable golf pencil, or just sterilize pens in between guests.

The breakfast was disappointing. The house made granola was good, but the yogurt and jams were generic packaged brands, the fruit cup was a few pieces of chopped melon, and the croissant and blueberry muffin were small and uninspired. No fresh juices were offered, and there is no opportunity to request additional coffee—or anything else.

The Little Inn is still a charming hotel in a charming village, but we did not feel our experience merited the $319 room rate. Given the cutbacks and limited services, the rate structure needs to be reconsidered; it’s no longer a 4-star/4-Diamond experience.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Archeus1 wrote a review Aug 2015
London, Canada130 contributions114 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
On our last trip to Bayfield we stayed at the Little Inn Annex across the street from the main building. It perpetuates that deep-south feeling that is prevalent in Bayfield; the wood is somewhat mossy, the building is mostly in shade and you really get that dripping-with-history feeling, not unlike New Orleans. If you are assigned a loft room, please keep in mind that if you have knee or hip problems, the stairs to the bed-loft are steep and the bathroom is located on the main floor, so night-time nature calls can be somewhat treacherous. Other than that, we are looking forward to going back in the fall to enjoy a cosy night in a cosy room at the Little Inn!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Joanne O, Owner at The Little Inn of Bayfield
Responded Sep 2, 2015
Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent visit to the Little Inn! We always love to hear feedback of all kinds, as we are constantly striving to improve our product and service. We have undergone a large renovation of the main inn, with the cottage property to follow. Keep an eye on our Facebook and Twitter pages for updates and also to hear about upcoming events! We hope to welcome you back to the Inn soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ragdollabbi wrote a review Aug 2015
Lanarkshire Scotland28 contributions21 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Had a two night stay there last month as a treat from my sister and brother in law whom we had been visiting in Mississauga. As they have a small dog they were given a room in the guest accommodation whilst we were given Room 10 in the main building. As we unpacked I was totally amazed to find that there was nowhere in the room to hang clothes (except for a few hooks on the back of the door!!!!!!). There was also no drawer space at all in our room as well as no clothes hangers. I have stayed in many hotels and never once have I experienced this before. We had to live out of our case for 2 nights. The guest accommodation, on the other hand had a closet with hangers and also,a large storage cupboard, as well as a coffee machine (which we didn't have). My sister was embarrassed as she thought she had chosen the better room for us (at a higher price as well) and it turned out that their room was much better equipped. We still had a most enjoyable stay and the meals which we had were all very good, so no complaints there. I'm just glad we were not staying for a longer period of time (because of the storage) or were staying because we were attending a wedding or something similar. If you want storage space avoid Room no. 10
Read more
Date of stay: July 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Joanne O, Owner at The Little Inn of Bayfield
Responded Aug 17, 2015
Many thanks for taking the time to provide a review of your most recent visit to the Inn. We truly appreciate all manner of feedback, as we are constantly striving to improve our product and services. We understand our historical property has some limitations when it comes to providing all the space one may need for storage in our guest rooms, and rest assured, we are working toward sourcing solutions to provide better options for our guests. We hope to have some solutions in place very shortly, and welcome you back any time to see our improvements!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Helen N wrote a review Apr 2015
Toronto, Ontario, Canada118 contributions45 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The Little Inn at Bayfield just opened after some extensive renovations. Great job -- it looks lovely and all the amenities are in place (as long as you aren't looking for a pool, sauna, all that stuff!). The service is nothing short of incredible. We needed a chair or stool for the room and one was found for us within minutes.

The rooms themselves are not fancy (though there is a gas fireplace). The Inn first opened as an in in about 1832! So the rooms are on the small side. But very well appointed, lovely fluffy towels and robes. High quality toiletries. Perfect services from the friendly staff. We would go again in a minute!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Joanne O, Owner at The Little Inn of Bayfield
Responded May 19, 2015
Dear Helen, Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Inn, we appreciate your comments, and are happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit. We hope to welcome you back to the Inn very soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
businesstravellermb wrote a review Jul 2014
Guelph, Canada15 contributions13 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
My boyfriend and I wanted a quiet weekend away at the beach with a bit of luxury. The Little Inn's reputation and its purported "CAA Four Diamond Award" status suggested that we'd be treated to comfort, luxury, and charm. We enjoyed none of these things. Although the staff were pleasant, and the room was very clean (shockingly clean, compared to most hotels), those are the only nice things we can report. We were upgraded to a "larger" room, which was still embarrassingly small. The furnishings were dated (not quaint and historic, just old), mismatched, and uncomfortable. We both slept poorly on the hard bead in threadbare sheets, and struggled to shower in the tiny plastic shower stall hidden behind the bathroom door. The breakfast included in our package was outstanding the first morning, and inedible the next morning, even after we sent back the pancakes for being uncooked -- very inconsistent. I have spent less money for a more spacious room with more character and better quality furnishings in Times Square. The Little Inn grossly misrepresents itself, and I cannot understand why reviewers buy into the "country charm" myth. It can only be for lack of experience.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Joanne O, Owner at The Little Inn of Bayfield
Responded Aug 19, 2016
While we did not own the Inn during this time we have made many changes to improve the Inn including beds, linens, bathrooms, towels amenities etc. Hope you will get can a chance to stay with us again in the newly renovated rooms in the Original Inn. Warm regards, Joanne Oliver - Owner
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MOrfitt2014 wrote a review Jul 2019
Dundalk, Canada1,788 contribution198 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I look forward to my annual trip to stay at the Inn after I attend a play down the road at Huron County Playhouse. Yes, the town can be crowded, depending on the time of year, but a relaxing walk to the cliff to see glorious Lake Huron, a nice soothing shower and a fabulous dinner will allay all those trials and tribulations.

Staff are great ! Hotel mamangement has changed from 2018 (going to miss you Michael !) but appears to be running well and smoothly.

Each room has been decorated differently. Love the vintage bathroom tiling. Great shower head, nice towels.

See you in 2020 !
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from MikeO2522, Owner at The Little Inn of Bayfield
Responded Oct 22, 2019
Thank you MOrfitt2014 for your review. Though as you said Michael has left us our management team is doing a get job keeping the Inn running smoothly. Thank you again and see you in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Susan P asked a question Apr 2016
Toronto, Canada89 contributions136 helpful votes
Hi, Can you tell me if breakfasts are included in the stay?? Thanks Susan
Answer from Anik1989
57 contributions9 helpful votes
Yes it is and its a delicious menu. :)
Beyond_YXU wrote a tip May 2024
London, Canada13,374 contributions2,231 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Rooms vary widely in size and decor. Review the photos on the website. Some are quite tight."
Read full review
Shelley I wrote a tip May 2022
Tillsonburg, Canada7 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Rooms at the back of the inn are a bit quieter in terms of traffic noise"
Read full review
TRCD wrote a tip Jul 2021
Toronto, Canada71 contributions18 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"We stayed in room 12 which was spacious, had a pull out couch and access to the upstairs balcony."
Read full review
Beyond_YXU wrote a tip Aug 2020
London, Canada13,374 contributions2,231 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Room sizes and decor vary widely. Ask to see photos in advance of committing to a choice."
Read full review
John Lance Howie wrote a tip Aug 2020
3 contributions2 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Try to avoid suite 6."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Bayfield area.
PRICE RANGE
C$273 - C$349 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the little hotel bayfield
LOCATION
CanadaOntarioHuron CountyBluewaterBayfield
NUMBER OF ROOMS
16
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

The Little Inn of Bayfield - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

All Bayfield HotelsBayfield Hotel DealsHotels near The Little Inn of Bayfield
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars