We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Ashwood Inn

34777 Bayfield River Road, Bayfield, Bluewater, Ontario N0M 1G0 Canada
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (60)
Dining (16)
Room & Suite (6)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#1 of 3 hotels in Bayfield
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Renovated with an indoor saltwater pool and cedar sauna. We offer 22 rooms with excellent value and a great location. Near our location, there are nearby golf courses, horseback riding, craft beer tours, and wineries. World class restaurants and shopping are a feature in the historic Village of Bayfield on the shores of Lake Huron.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Restaurant
Patio
Kids stay free
Children's playground
Taxi service
Electric vehicle charging station
Parking
Wifi
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Saltwater pool
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Vending machine
Children's television networks
Kids' outdoor play equipment
BBQ facilities
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
First aid kit
24-hour check-in
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Additional bathroom
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Microwave
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Seating area
Sofa
Bottled water
Iron
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
Languages Spoken
English, Hindi
144Reviews4Q+A24Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 51
  • 52
  • 21
  • 9
  • 11
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Irene F wrote a review Yesterday
2 contributions
The Ashwood hotel was not as advertised. No breakfast offered. No safe and secure feeling. No persons on front desk or anywhere on the premises. Rooms and hallway need sprucing up. No resturant. Contact management with email only. No room cleaning service.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Pool and resturant not in service. Ask questions about services before booking. Generator going...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Frontseatdriver wrote a review Aug 2023
Toronto185 contributions105 helpful votes
Nice little motel! Just a quick drive from town and beaches, so makes coming and going pretty easy. Beds are very comfortable, and the rooms are well equipped with a good coffee machine, microwave and bar fridge. The back of the motel has drive-up rooms, and the front rooms are accessible through the hall, with a second door accessing the outside. Both are equipped with outdoor chairs. We had a back room, which was great if you need frequent access to your car. Front rooms had a better view - both had their advantages. The restaurant has permanently closed, and the rooms are showing signs of age, but it's clean and friendly, and the owners are fantastic.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Nancy K wrote a review Jul 2023
2 contributions
Wonderful motel very clean and owners are kind and thoughtful. Rooms were nice a decent location to the various beaches. We were greeted well and beds were nice. Pool was clean and warm. I would stay there again
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
CanadianTravelGal76 wrote a review Jul 2023
Toronto, Canada126 contributions76 helpful votes
So let’s start with the obvious - chain hotels and 5 star resorts are not a thing in Huron County so travellers needs to manage their expectations. Overall, the Ashwood Inn is a nice little motel that is just starting to show its age. New floors and fixtures help mask its age. The rooms were clean, with fridges, microwaves and smart tvs. Some small attention to details may be needed as some linens were stained and or dirty/ripped. The pool is nice for kids but the building can barely keep up with the outdoor humidity so that while things were cool with AC they were damp and cool. It’s a little odd that after 10 pm you can’t access your room from the indoor hallway and have to walk around the building on the lawn to access the outside facing room door. This can be challenging when carrying multiple bags and with children. Overall it was a pleasant stay.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Lisa K wrote a review Mar 2023
Waterloo, Canada57 contributions8 helpful votes
This is a great place to stay for families. The main level has a bed, seating area, tv, mini fridge, coffee machine and microwave. The loft has 2 beds and a sink. It was great because the kids had their own space. There is no tv in the loft but that really wasn’t a big deal for us. The room was clean and bright and owners are amazing.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Elle wrote a review Mar 2023
2 contributions
Lovely stay at the Ashwood. Rooms are bright and very clean. Love the food. You must attend for the awesome Indian cuisine. Staff are friendly and helpful. Really make you feel at home. Lake Huron is typically still warm in September. Keep that in mind if unable to attend during peak summer. Also, Ashwood has an indoor pool for those chilly days.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Ontariogirl wrote a review Nov 2022
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Room was spotless, bright and cozy. Comfortable beds. Welcoming staff. Pool area a great amenity this time of year to go from sauna to pool to chairs to relax. We also parked right outside our room - an asset in cold weather. The restaurant looks really inviting and smells great but somehow we never get to eat there as we are too busy in Bayfield. It's a perfect spot for us to meet halfway between Windsor and Toronto. The price is right and we wish we didn't have to leave!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: in summer a room at the front is nice because you have a better view and easier patio access
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Stacey A wrote a review Sep 2022
2 contributions1 helpful vote
My family and I stayed here in august 2022. Upon arriving , it was noticeable that it wasn’t the cleanest place to stay. However, we looked passed it since we would be at the beach and in town, etc and wouldn’t be in the room except for morning and evening. A few weird splatters on the light shades and the floor was dirty so we wore our shoes the whole time. Fast forward two weeks, I found some bedbugs in our beds where we had brought my kids stuffies. I know for a fact that this hotel is where they came from. We didn’t travel anywhere this summer except for here. I contacted the motel and inquired about it and they automatically denied it (not surprised) and said they cared about their customers concerns but yet failed to provide any reimbursement for the anxiety, stress and money that this ordeal has cost us. They provided a report the other day (sept 22) that stated it was completed September 13. The report also stated they only checked one unit. So the managers at the motel had weeks to clean and prep the room for inspection. They also only “inspected” one room. Bugs could have left room looking for their “next meal”. I would never recommend this hotel to anyone. It wasn’t clean, their garbage stunk up the whole parking lot because their garbage bins were exploding with garbage and all over the place. … they are clearly dirty. They tried to appear to be handling my concerns, but they haven’t provided any compensation for the $1000 of dollars this has cost us. Do not stay here if you care about cleanliness and customer service. I am really hoping that this review can help another family avoid this terrible and traumatic experience. I’ve lost sleep and it will take me a while to feel comfortable in my house again even though we’ve had it treated (which was so much work and exhausting). Please please stay somewhere else!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote1 Repost
Helpful
Share
Response from The Ashwood, Owner at The Ashwood Inn
Responded Sep 24, 2022
This is completely false . Guest had not reported any of this concerns during their 3 night stay, not a single concern brought to the front desk. After 3 weeks, this concern was reported to us and we have it checked by professional pest service taken as responsible actions what we always do. Pest inspection dates are not in our hands and hence was delayed. Room was not vacant in-between for most of the days in-between. We do not have any bed bugs issues in our hotel. Guest must have got this from somewhere else but not from the hotel for sure . We take cleanness and hygiene seriously. Please check the other reviews.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
K A wrote a review Jul 2022
Markham, Canada7 contributions3 helpful votes
Our stay was the summer of 2021. The place was clean and the staff were very hospitable and accommodating. The pool was large and the accommodations were cozy. We had everything that we needed. All in all, it was a good trip:)
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: The family suite was a nice size.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
VMS wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
We booked 4 nights at this hotel months in advance for a wedding in August during peak tourist season which is why we booked and planned so far ahead. We received an email last minute cancelling our room due to maintenance and when we called to discuss the gentleman we spoke with suggested we ask the wedding party to change the date of their wedding?!?!?!! Horrible and ridiculous customer service!! Would recommend looking elsewhere.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Bayfield area.
PRICE RANGE
C$150 - C$239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
CanadaOntarioHuron CountyBluewaterBayfield
NUMBER OF ROOMS
22
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

The Ashwood Inn - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about The Ashwood Inn
Which popular attractions are close to The Ashwood Inn?
Nearby attractions include Pioneer Park (0.9 km), North Beach Provincial Park (1.9 km), and Main Street Gallery (1.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Ashwood Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at The Ashwood Inn?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The Ashwood Inn?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, barbeque facilities, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at The Ashwood Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Ashwood Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Black Dog Village Pub & Bistro, The Little Inn, and The Albion Hotel.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Ashwood Inn?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Ashwood Inn?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Hindi.
Are there any historical sites close to The Ashwood Inn?
Many travellers enjoy visiting School on Wheels (14.0 km).
Is The Ashwood Inn accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.