We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

BEST WESTERN PLUS Bowmanville

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bowmanville
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

67 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 65: English reviews
Banff National Park, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

We flew to TO to spend a couple weeks visiting family and friends, we had booked Best Western Peterborough, and had a beautiful nights stay, however once we returned home we were billed for both the Best Western Peterborough and Bowmanville, however never wished to stay in Bowmanville in first place! Called to try and remedy the issue and found... More 

Helpful?
Thank Louise B
Kingston, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Attended a volleyball tournament, and we decided to make a weekend out of it. Arrived at hotel and although very close to highway, the highway noise was not an issue for us. Reception, hotel service and breakfast were great. One element that stood out for us was how wonderful the staff was. Well done.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank 566mege
quebec, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago

good service and very good breakfast, dont use firts floor room the service is great but the first floor room nedd upgardee that'S what they told me. its near th highway but you dont ear it so its great for that and you dont search for it.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank 610ghislainp
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2016

The Best Western Plus hotel in Bowmanvile is an incredibly clean and quiet hotel with a comfortable modern presence. About an hour out of Toronto it provides an alternative place to stay on the way to, or from, Pearson Airport. I've often stayed in Toronto after a long flight from Australia before setting off, but in the future, I will... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michael B
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2016

my first impression was that it was modern. check in was easy and the staff friendly. We stayed in room 134. upon arrival to the room I did my normal bed check and was surprised to find the top cover for the bed was badly stained and looked like it had food stuck to it on the inside. I pitched... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ti83
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2016 via mobile

Pool small..dirty bandaid in pool. Pool closes early. Room was cold...couldn't find thermostat. Kids woke up several times in the night because they were cold. Sticky floor and walls. Loud traffic from 401. Room set up was good though.

Helpful?
Thank S S
Smorris160, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Bowmanville, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us, it is through our guests feedback that we can continue to improve. I do apologise that we not able to exceed your expectations. Based on the property size the pool has always accommodated our guests needs very well and is serviced every 2 hours to maintain a... More 

Alfred, Canada
Level Contributor
175 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2016

To add to other positive reviews, this hotel is an easy recommendation. It is reasonably priced (senior rates) and includes an excellent breakfast menu. Staff is welcoming and helpful. Room amenities are of the highest quality. Another excellent stay at a Best western hotel.

Helpful?
Thank thegrandstan
Smorris160, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Bowmanville, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the excellent review, glad to hear you had such a great stay. We look forward to hosting your accommodation needs again in future. Regards, Steve Morris More 

Hamilton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2016

The staff at this hotel were more than accomodating of our needs and questions of the area. The room was lovely and beds so comfortable we tried to figure a way to sneak tham out of the room and take home. It was so nice to have an extra area where one of us could work and the other relax... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Heather A
Smorris160, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Bowmanville, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience, you certainly wouldn't be the first to want to take the bed home with them most of our guests find extremely comfortable. Our staff take pride in making your stay an enjoyable experience and appreciate the feedback. We look forward to your next visit. Regards Steve Morris More 

Chatham, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 September 2016

This hotel has been recently renovated. It is very convenient to the 401, easy off and easy on. Excellent breakfast included both hot and cold. I would recommend this hotel for either business or pleasure.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Diane H
Smorris160, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Bowmanville, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, I am glad to hear the Hotel works well for your needs and you were able to depart with an excellent breakfast. We look forward to accommodating your next stay in the area. Regards Steve Morris More 

1 review
Reviewed 20 September 2016

The bed sheets were soiled, garbage cans sticky, towels stained, bathtub did not work, cable signal fuzzy - overall a terrible experience. The hotel is next to the highway and there is constant traffic noise, which builds from 5AM onward. This is not a "Premium" property except that it looks relatively modern; it is the lack of day to day... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank johntN9118ZT
Smorris160, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Bowmanville, responded to this review

I appreciate you bringing the issues of your stay to the Hotels attention via several different mediums, i just wish we were given the opportunity to address while you were staying with us. i am sure we could have addressed any concerns to your satisfaction. As always your comments and concerns have been shared with all staff and are used... More 

40 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowmanville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vanier
Travelodge Oshawa Whitby
Downtown Oshawa
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Oshawa Downtown
Quality Suites
#3 of 7 in Whitby
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bowmanville can be seen from Highway 401, conveniently located off the Liberty Street exit. Our newly renovated 52 room hotel offers brand new rooms and hotel grounds! The hotel has an elevator, indoor pool and complimentary full hot breakfast. There is an outdoor seated patio area with BBQ available. Also available, are barrier-free rooms, and pet friendly rooms. We are close to all major local attractions such as the Bowmanville Zoo, Canadian Tire Motorsport Park and Ontario Power Generation and Lakeridge Health Corporation. Newly refurbished rooms offer an enjoyable and comfortable visit with friendly staff available 24 hours. We hope to see you soon! ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Bowmanville

Address: 160 Liberty St S, Bowmanville, Ontario L1C 2W4, Canada (Formerly Howard Johnson Hotel)
Region: Canada > Ontario > Bowmanville
Price Range: $111 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Bowmanville 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Bowmanville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bowmanville Ontario
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN PLUS Bowmanville staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Clean the bathroom and replace towels and toiletries. Also ensure there is on hair left on the bathroom floor especially upon arrival!!”
 of 5 bubbles WendyKB, 8 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Choose a different hotel, please!!”
 of 5 bubbles 747carloo, 2 Sep 2016 | Read review
“avoid the road side motel and stay here”
 of 5 bubbles vught2015, 28 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Don't choose the 3rd floor for the view”
  • View from 3rd floor room
 of 5 bubbles heatherpeterson36, 23 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Have to get passed 2 steps of stair in 2nd floor. Avoid that floor if the accessibility to your room is important.”
 of 5 bubbles JacobM912, 25 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay