Stillwater Park Campground

Stillwater Park Campground

Trans-Canada Highway 358 Highway 11/17, Nipigon, Ontario P0T 2J0 Canada
Traveller (3)
Dining (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

3.5
#1 of 4 campsites in Nipigon
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Value
Camping with all the conveniences at the gateway to the great outdoors north of Superior; 48+ sites, some in wooded area, some along Stillwater Creek - a cool trout stream, some open and grassy. Conveniently located on the Trans-Canada Hwy 11-17 in Nipigon, Ontario. 5 minutes away from downtown Nipigon and 1 hour east of Thunder Bay.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Self-serve laundry
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
10Reviews0Q+A0Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 5
  • 2
  • 0
  • 1
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
N0rthTravel wrote a review Sep 2015
Thunder Bay, Canada
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I have stayed at Stillwater any time that I have camped in the Nipigon area over the past several years. since the campground changed hands there have been alot of improvements and looks like more updates are planned for the future. The full service area is a bit cramped (EWS) but the rest of the campground is spacious and large sites most have 15 amp electrical and water. Staff is friendly and helpful. I certainly will stay there again!
I can't comment on the washroom facilities as I use facilities in my trailer.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2015
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JayArrinBC wrote a review Sep 2020
Vancouver, Canada
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Our reservation was for a site with services but that was in a parking lot between two other trailers so we asked the host if there was something available without power and he gave us #19 with only one neighbor beside a babbling brook! Great big site, lots of room for the dogs, near the end of the road so no traffic, he delivered firewood to the site for free since we switched to non-serviced. This was just a great stop! There was even a laundry room just up the hill.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
muppetfan wrote a review Jul 2015
Edmonton, Canada
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We were most looking forward to this campground on our cross Canada journey. Online, the campground looks quaint, invites an anticipation of peacefulness and boasts an onsite Amethyst and Gem store. We were looking for a campground that had power, water and sewer that was not a typical 'RV' Resort and had a 'tent' camping feel to it; the online description invited that sense. We were very disappointed.

The RV pull through sites were squished together such that there were 2 RV/trailers per site (5E/5W) where at any other campground only one RV would be on a site that size. There was no privacy and had we chosen to eat outside of our trailer we would have had to share the picnic table with our neighbours- who were so close, they might as well have been family... We did appreciate, however, the set up of the sewer and fresh water- amply spaced and clean.

The bathrooms required a code which we did not receive upon check in. Showers were not clean. Bathrooms were poorly lit- in the men's room, to turn on the light, he had to reach into another man's stall to flick the light switch.

A quick walk around the campground revealed some nicely treed sites which would have been nice for tenters. There was a sketchy broken down van in one of the sites that looked like it had been placed there as part of a horror movie set.

This place was not without it's positives:

- the owners were quick to respond to email reservation requests
- they were friendly and prepared for our arrival
- the gem shop was a lovely touch and they had some beautiful pieces available for sale.
- they offered free WiFi and allowed for CAA discounts

Overall, I would not stay again, even for a night but I am not sure much can be done to change the state of the RV sites- perhaps limiting to one RV per E/W spot? Unfortunately that would mean less revenue for the owners.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2015Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Denis B, Owner at Stillwater Park Campground
Responded Jul 16, 2015
I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I do agree that there is more appeal and nicer spots for tenting and lower amperage campers. The full service sites we call "The Deck" I agree are not that great and to my defense that is how they were when we bought this place. I will update my website to show some pictures of the actual spots and to identify the “Deck Area” and other sites. Normally we do not park anyone beside each other unless they request it. There are times a smaller camper comes in and we have asked if the person staying overnight minds if they park beside them. We are working on having 30 amp sites in nicer spots, but that does take time and money. It is also my fault entirely on not giving you or your husband the codes for the showers/washrooms and when I saw your husband walking around I knew right away I forgot to put the codes on the receipt and walked towards him to ask if he needed assistance with anything. We try to keep the shower house clean as possible, but cannot get up there to clean after every person has showered. As for the sketchy broken down van ... I am not too sure on that one. I personally do not judge what campers come to stay in and will not turn someone away from camping at my location because they cannot afford expensive luxurious trailers or motor homes. If they show up duct taped and held together by rope, then I will question their stay with us. Once again I do apologize that you did not enjoy your stay with us and I thank you for the review so that we can address the issues. If people do not say anything how can we correct the problems? When the upgrades have been done we do hope to see you and your husband again.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
nik719 wrote a review Sep 2023
Thunder Bay, Canada
1.0 of 5 bubbles
After phoning numerous times and never getting through i booked three spots online. Was so excited to check in. On arrival they informed me that they dont let baseball players stay there, We were there for the annual soft ball tournament. This is the first line in their camper policy. Being a 50 yr old professional i honestly didnt read them because why would they generalize such a group of people. They were very rude and now were not going to give back my deposit. The owner was apparently cooking and sent out an employee to do his dirty work for him. This was awful as we were stuck in the middle of a town without any where to go. Thankfully someone let us stay on their property without any issues and left it cleaner than we found it. We would have eaten there a couple times a day as well but will not support such a lack of humanity. I would stay clear of this if your in any kind of organized sports. The marina in Nipigon is a much better solution and much cheaper.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Den Bec, Owner at Stillwater Park Campground
Responded Dec 28, 2023
Not only has my business banned baseball teams, so has every motel and even the Nipigon Marina. They are destructive and were banned for burning my picnic tables over the fire pits as well as the rude and disrespectful behavior towards other campers who are trying to sleep. If you would have read the rules and policies you could have saved yourself the trouble as we are very clear on baseball teams not being permitted. Thank you
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jebediahhamswing1 wrote a review Aug 2020
Kitchener, Canada
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Nice sites, power, showers and hot hot water. Accommodating service and so close to Nipigon services and the many Amethyst mines! Stunning scenery, a babbling brook and so many areas to fish with many reservoirs, dams, lakes and rivers, not to mention all the waterfalls! Bathrooms were immaculate!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ha P wrote a review Jul 2020
Ontario, Canada
5.0 of 5 bubbles
It was raining hard when I got to the campground and it kept raining the whole night. The staff checked me in is very efficient and friendly. The facilities are very clean. The laundry is very neat. I would definitely stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Matthew B wrote a review Aug 2019
Grayling, Michigan
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Nice campground with a variety of sites. You can choose from no hookups to full hookups. The owners of the campground do a great job in helping out their customers with local tourist information. My friends also had an electrical issue with their refrigerator. One of the owners helped them resolve the issue. Keep up the great work. Don’t forget to visit their gift shop! The day we were leaving, the entrance to their park received new blacktop due to recent road construction.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
rmaperu2016 wrote a review Jun 2019
Minneapolis, Minnesota
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed two nights on a fishing trip in Canada. We we’re able to purchase fishing licenses right in the office which helped us out a lot. We had great WiFi. I am a germaphobe and the bathrooms were CLEAN which is MOST important to me. The showers had nice hot water that was soft so easy on my hair. They have firewood for sale in the office.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Nipigon area.
LOCATION
CanadaOntarioThunder Bay DistrictNipigon
NUMBER OF ROOMS
45
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Stillwater Park Campground - Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Stillwater Park Campground
Which popular attractions are close to Stillwater Park Campground?
Nearby attractions include Paddle to the Sea Park (4.2 km), Deer Lake Mountain Hiking Trail (3.5 km), and Nipigon Lookout (4.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Stillwater Park Campground?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, kids activities, and self serve laundry.
What are some restaurants close to Stillwater Park Campground?
Conveniently located restaurants include Edgeview Restaurant, Ducky's Diner, and Nipigon Esso Restaurant.
Are pets allowed at Stillwater Park Campground?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Is Stillwater Park Campground accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Nipigon HotelsNipigon Hotel DealsHotels near Stillwater Park Campground
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars