Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Elgin, an IHG Hotel

Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Elgin, an IHG Hotel

Café area, not too big not too small
Traveller (17)
Guest Room
Room & Suite (23)
coffee station
Dining (8)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

5.0
#2 of 7 hotels in Port Elgin
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
Proudly introducing the brand-new Holiday Inn and Express Suites Port Elgin, located in Bruce County on the shores of Lake Huron. Port Elgin, a four seasons community is renowned for its beaches and magnificent sunsets.Our hotel is a convenient 1 km from downtown Port Elgin, a vibrant business centre offering unique shops, restaurants, cafes, libraries, nightly entertainment, and many seasonal festivals, including the ever popular October Pumpkinfest. Our hotel's two meeting rooms are designed and equipped to best serve your meeting and business needs. We are conveniently located just a short drive to Bruce Power, Unifor Family Education Centre and many other businesses.Port Elgin's Main Beach Park and playground, a 2 km distance from the hotel, offers a sandy beach, picnic areas, and children's playground. The nearby Woodland trail, one of many local trails , is perfect for walking, cycling, snowshoeing, or cross-country skiing.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
Wifi
Indoor pool
Breakfast available
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Iron
Laptop safe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Microwave
Refrigerator
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Book Direct & Save with IHG One Rewards
23Reviews0Q+A3Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 19
  • 3
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
LaMichelita wrote a review Mar 2023
London, Canada84 contributions14 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a newly built hotel- approximately 3 years old. It is therefore modern and it’s also very clean. Breakfast was excellent. We had a choice of hard boiled eggs, yogurt, white and chocolate milk, omelettes, scrambled eggs, beans, bacon, sausage( pork and turkey). There was a pancake station, bread, English muffins, bagels , muffins and fruit. My husband liked that there were salt and pepper shakers at each table and he didn’t have open those annoying little packages.
We had a room with a king bed that was comfortable. There are lots of plugs and usb ports for your devices. The bathroom comes equipped with liquid hand soap and there is shower gel, shampoo and conditioner attached to the shower wall. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Trevor Raynsford, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Elgin, an IHG Hotel
Responded Mar 25, 2023
LaMichelita, Thank you so much for the 5 bubble review. I'm so glad you enjoyed our amazing breakfast and your King guest room. IHG does an amazing job on making sure the environment comes first with as little single use items as possible. We just recently switched back to proper salt and pepper shakers and glad you enjoyed the added touch. We hope you have a chance to come and stay with us again real soon. Yours in Hospitality, Trevor Raynsford, General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Brian wrote a review Jun 2021
Canada132 contributions63 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The Holiday Inn in Port Elgin is very new so everything is clean and sparkling. When we booked in we asked for two double beds instead of the King we had booked. We had to wait a while for the room to be cleaned and then we noticed that the room only had a shower and no tub, my wife prefers to have a bath instead of a shower. When we requested a room with a tub we were given a room with a connecting door. Although we could hear the people in the connecting room (they had loud voices), we decided to stay rather than move again! The room was very clean and the beds comfortable. Due to COVID, the Breakfast was served to us on trays which we took back to the room to eat.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Trevor Raynsford, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Elgin, an IHG Hotel
Responded Jun 26, 2021
Merv, We wanted to thank you for taking the time and letting us know about your recent stay with us. Many of our rooms do come with a shower and not a bath. We are happy to make sure you all of your preferences are looked after. We might suggest calling us directly when making reservations so we are better able to assist you. We are glad you enjoyed our full hot breakfast and we hope you have a chance to come and stay with us again real soon. Yours in Hospitality, Trevor Raynsford, General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
globefamily wrote a review Jul 2021
Toronto, Canada166 contributions152 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The room was clean, but was kind of tight to be honest (the two queen standard). This hotel only has 60 rooms. There is a pool for the kids, but you can only book it up to 24 hours in advance for a 45 minute period. It's heated and there are towels for use so it's great.

The room has coffee maker, a mini fridge, closet, and dresser, and a nice flat screen TV with many channels. The blinds don't exactly black out, but it's all good.

There is a hot breakfast, but you have to get in line. you can't enter due to Covid. They had sausage, eggs, bacon, and pancakes. They also had yogurt, choclolate and white milk, double chocolate and blueberry muffins, nutrigrain bars, cereal, oatmeal, toast and bagels. Individually portions of peanut butter, jam, syrup, honey, ketchup, etc. are also there for your use. There are grapefruit, orange, and apple juice for you to drink. Finally, there is self serve hot chocolate, tea, coffee, hot apple cider for you to enjoy 24 hours a day which I really enjoyed. The pancakes were quite horrible, as was the syrup, but hey... it's included!

Sauble Beach is about 25 minutes away so that is precisely why we stayed there. There is also a grocery store conveniently located right beside the hotel. Finally, there is a Shoppers Drug Mart and Bulk Barn across the street. Dominos is also j300 meters away. Downtown Port Elgin is also very close so there are a lot of bars and casual restaurants for you to enjoy.

The only drawback is the tightness of the room and the fact that we were overcharged at checkout by about $27. They apologized profusely and fixed it but it's just a bummer because what if I hadn't noticed?

In short, I would go back.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Trevor Raynsford, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Elgin, an IHG Hotel
Responded Jul 27, 2021
globefamily, We truly appreciate taking the time and letting us and others know about all the details of your stay. We will soon be able to let people into our breakfast area for self serve and we can't wait for that. We apologize for the billing issue and are also glad we were able to correct our error. We hope you have a chance to come and stay with us again real soon. Yours in Hospitality, Trevor Raynsford, General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
T K wrote a review Jul 2022
4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
From the front desk manager and staff to the cleaners we felt like the staff were welcoming us into their own home. Everyone was friendly, courteous and eager to make sure that we had a great experience. The hotel was spotless and any spills were immediately cleaned. Breakfast was excellent with many choices of hot and cold. Beds and pillows provided a good nights sleep. Congratulations to management and staff for creating a memorable experience!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Trevor Raynsford, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Elgin, an IHG Hotel
Responded Jul 5, 2022
J6380AGtk, Thank you so much for taking the time and letting us and fellow TripAdvisor followers all about your recent stay with us. We are so happy we were able to provide a 5 bubble experience and your experience was memorable. We hope you enjoy the rest of your summer and you have a chance to come and stay with us again real soon. Yours in Hospitality, Trevor Raynsford, General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
mattyO54 wrote a review Dec 2023
Owen Sound, Canada3 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife and I went away for 1 night and stayed in a King bed room. What a fantastic experience!

When we first arrived, the front desk agent was very helpful, polite, and informed us about all the facilities that would pertain to us.

We had an issue getting into the pool shortly after we arrived. This problem was resolved quickly and the front desk agent/manager were very apologetic. Everyone we encountered that worked here were polite and friendly.

The room was exceptionally clean, well decorated, and spacious. The bed was comfortable and the pillows were nice. The TV had great clarity and the channel selection/guide was one of the better ones I’ve experienced in a hotel.

The complimentary breakfast was amazing! A great selection including eggs, bacon, sausage, home fries, pancakes, waffles, cereals, toast, juices/coffee, etc. Everything was clean and tongs were provided to limit the spread of germs. The manager seemed a little stressed about it not being good enough. I told him it looked great but he must have higher standards than I do! As currently presented, I would have no problem recommending this hotel based on the breakfast alone!

Checkout was done by the same friendly face that checked us in and it was quick and easy.

The only minor complaint was the ambient noise from the other rooms. I’m not sure if the walls are thin or the other travellers just had the volume on their TV cranked all the way up.

5/5. The hotel was nicely decorated with a couple Christmas trees, a nice lounge area, and one of the cleanest hotels we’ve ever visited!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Margaret S wrote a review Aug 2021
Toronto, Canada97 contributions35 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A great hotel with breakfast included. We had a lovely suite that was quiet and very clean. The management observes strict covid protocols. Sumptious breakfast with an abundance of choice was available in a bright and spacious main floor area. Perfect place to stay for those who use mobility devices. Excellent parking. Large indoor pool. Lovely large landscaped patio area with two barbecues. Not near the beach but both Port Elgin and Southampton beaches are an easy drive. Recommend reservations to dine for restaurants in both as they are very popular. Hotel staff is very pleasant.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Trevor Raynsford, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Elgin, an IHG Hotel
Responded Aug 23, 2021
Margaret S, Thank you so much for taking the time and letting us know about your recent stay with us. We are so pleased everything worked out so well for you and your family. We are doing our best to maintain a great Hotel stay during these difficult COVID times. I'll be sure to pass on your kind comments to the rest of the staff. We hope you have a chance to come and stay with us again real soon. Yours in Hospitality, Trevor Raynsford, General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Leslie T wrote a review Jun 2021
Bracebridge, Canada141 contributions57 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had two nights at this clean, modern hotel. Location is convenient for our day of cycling. Hotel is bright, modern and clean. Staff here are exceptional. They are all friendly and very courteous. Breakfast is served daily and my husband was in heaven with all the food that they provide. Bacon, sausage, omelettes, home fries, pancakes, toast, yogurt, fruit, oatmeal, juice and the list goes on. The ladies that provide breakfast are a lovely group and we appreciated their kindness.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Trevor Raynsford, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Elgin, an IHG Hotel
Responded Jun 26, 2021
Leslie, All of the staff at our new Hotel wanted to thank you for taking the time and letting us know about your recent stay. We are so happy that you and your husband enjoyed your stay and enjoyed our full hot fresh breakfast. We will always do our best to provide you with the best customer service and strive to be Saugeen shores finest Hotel. We hope you have a chance to come and stay with us again real soon. Yours in Hospitality, Trevor Raynsford, General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MuskokaTraveller87 wrote a review Feb 2022
Port Sydney, Canada35 contributions18 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I cannot even begin to describe how amazing the experience was at Holiday Inn. But I will try. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.
First off the staff, amazing. So kind, wonderful, pleasant! We stayed for 3 nights as we were in town for an event and even with change over staff, no one ever looked grumpy, upset. It didnt matter if it was front staff or cleaning staff. They would strike up a friendly conversation and were always eager to offer any assistance.
Even on a day when a crazy blizzard came in and a lot of them were late getting to work, they were still so pleasant.
Breakfast buffet is fantastic. Full buffet, something for everyone. My son loved the pancake maker.
We got a lot of use out of the pool, which again was very nice and clean.
Room was great. Again, very clean, the beds were comfortable and so were the pillows.
I would definitely recommend this to anyone.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Trevor Raynsford, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Elgin, an IHG Hotel
Responded Mar 2, 2022
MuskokaTraveller87, I wanted to thank you so much for taking the time and providing with everyone a detailed experience from your recent stay with us. I'm so happy we were able to exceed your expectations on all fronts and you even had a chance to enjoy some good "Bruce County" weather. All the staff hope you have a chance to come and stay with us again real soon. Yours in Hospitality, Trevor Raynsford, General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jeff M wrote a review Sep 2021
50 contributions29 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here one night on business in September. I had seen this property but the summer in season rates were always high. Finally had the chance to try.

Unfortunately, there was a large storm upon my arrival and the hotel had a power outage for the entire time I was there. No fault of the hotel but they were absolutely tested here to the max and their staff were super.

The lady at the front desk when I checked in was the same lady in the morning. It appeared she had stayed they entire night… there were no lights, but water etc and being September, the hotel was very warm. She sure was committee here.

The property was clean and modern, the bed comfortable. An opening window would have been nice, especially with their AC being down but seems standard in newer hotels not to have an opening window.

While the power outage was a tough night for guests and staff, their team did an exceptional job dealing with the circumstances.

I will be back next time I’m in this area to this property again!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Trevor Raynsford, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Elgin, an IHG Hotel
Responded Sep 23, 2021
Joe M, Thank you so much for staying with us and your understanding during a recent major weather event in Port Elgin. We are so happy that everyone was safe and you plan on returning during your next. Please call me directly for you next stay and we will be more than happy to upgrade you to one of our suites to make up for the lack of power last time. Stay well and we hope to see you soon. Yours in Hospitality, Trevor Raynsford, General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
YCai wrote a review Jul 2023
Toronto, Canada7 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Ok, this is a decent hotel if you're staying near Sauble Beach, especially during summer holidays, when all motels are booked up. The price won't be that much of a difference. Ask for a two-bed queen suite.
Very very clean, including an ok not-bad breakfast. Has a swimming pool.
I like the outdoor table sets where you can dine outside.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Bring your own flip flop and personal hygiene stuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Trevor Raynsford, Owner at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Elgin, an IHG Hotel
Responded Jul 25, 2023
yushuaicai, Thank you so much for staying with us during your recent visit to our neigbouring World famous Sauble Beach. We are so please you enjoyed our larger suites, swimming pool and the rest of our public spaces at our award winning Hotel. We are pleased to let everyone know we were the recepient of the IHG Torchbearer Award for 2022. We take service and cleanliness very seriously and I'm glad we exceeded your expectations. We hope you enjoy the rest of your summer and have a chance to come and stay with us again real soon. Yours in Hospitality, Trevor Raynsford, General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
YCai wrote a tip Jul 2023
Toronto, Canada7 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Bring your own flip flop and personal hygiene stuff"
Read full review
Malcolm R wrote a tip Sep 2021
1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Rooms on the corners are quieter. Bring ear defenders so the A/C does not keep you awake!!! Bring your own kettle and bottled water."
Read full review
Mitch M wrote a tip Jun 2021
Cayuga, Canada25 contributions2 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don’t order the Hot Breakfast"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Port Elgin area.
PRICE RANGE
C$212 - C$385 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
CanadaOntarioBruce CountyPort Elgin
NUMBER OF ROOMS
60
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Elgin, an IHG Hotel - UPDATED Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Elgin, an IHG Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Elgin, an IHG Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Southampton Board Walk (5.3 km), Macgregor Point Provincial Park (7.3 km), and Southampton Olive Oil Company (5.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Elgin, an IHG Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Elgin, an IHG Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a refrigerator, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Elgin, an IHG Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Elgin, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Elgin, an IHG Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Saffron, Lord Elgin Restaurant, and The Walker House.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Elgin, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Elgin, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Elgin, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Is Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Elgin, an IHG Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Port Elgin HotelsPort Elgin Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Port ElginHotels near Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Elgin, an IHG Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars