We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
9517 Cavendish Rd Bayview, Cavendish, Prince Edward Island C0A 1E0 Canada
Booking.com
eDreams
Priceline
FindHotel
Etrip
ZenHotels.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (37)
Room & Suite (32)
Dining (7)

About

#2 of 8 in Cavendish
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
For more than 30 years our motel has been serving the Cavendish area. Our large property, convenient location and breath taking views have been attracting families and friends from all over the world. Please be advised that there are Pet Restrictions.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Hiking
Water park offsite
Books, DVDs, music for children
Children's television networks
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Meeting rooms
BBQ facilities
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Bottled water
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
225Reviews0Q+A31Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 125
  • 73
  • 21
  • 2
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
S D wrote a review Jun. 4
Worldwide2 contributions
Our first time in the area and we found this gem. Beautiful grounds, friendly staff/owners. Quaint and comfortable. They gave us a great recommendation for a stop along our drive and it was beautiful. If we’re ever in the area again we will stay with them.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Bay Vista Motel, Owner at Bay Vista Motel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you, it was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we do have you return in the future!
Read more
kitten50 wrote a review Jul. 2021
New Brunswick, Canada853 contributions323 helpful votes
We’ve always recommended this resort to friends wanting to visit cavendish. But we won’t now. We’ve been coming here off and on for 30 years, since the years of Fiddles and Viddles…and loved being there but this year (didn’t visit last year because of Covid) we were so disappointed. The new owners are so nice and trying so hard to make the place work but…..our room was so damp and very musty, we stayed but got air fresheners to mask the smell. The air conditioner was so noisy…the pool was cold and most of the decking was roped off with caution tape plus some of the deck on the house keeping units. The pool gate was missing. Grounds looked like they hadn’t been mowed for awhile. I know the owners monitor this site and do hope they understand that maintaining the property is important. I wish them the best.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Bay Vista Motel, Owner at Bay Vista Motel
Responded Aug. 1, 2021
We do apologize that you did not enjoy your stay, though we do dispute some of these claims. There is a small section of the pool deck roughly 5 X5 near our newly built pool building blocked off, there is roughly another 60+ feet of decking available for guests use around the entire pool, we have also never removed the pool gate as it is against code to not have one for safety reasons. There is also no caution tape and never has been among any of our guest rooms or units. The air conditioning in each guest room has the ability to be turned to different speeds, the higher the speed the louder it will seem, though we do apologize and will look into replacing them as necessary. We do keep a daily long of our pool temperature and our heater does the same thing, we looked in our logbook back to June when we first opened it and the coldest temperature recorded was 23 Celsius. Though we understand that it may not be as warm as it could be, and know that everyone's bodies adjusts differently to the water. We take pride in this property and have a very dedicated maintenance crew that cuts the grass weekly, weeds and plants flowers, due to a very rainy July, it has made it difficult at times. We truly appreciate your years of business and are extremely grateful that you have continued to come back each year. We know that there are always things that need improvement and try our best to meet the needs of our guests. We dispute these claims because they are misleading to potential guests. We do not dispute some aspects of your review as a very humid July has made it difficult to contain the occasional dampness in the air, though we do appreciate you letting us know and we shall be running the air conditioners to help bring excess moisture level down.
Read more
902Sharbear wrote a review Sep. 2019
Bridgewater, Canada76 contributions28 helpful votes
We spent 3 nights at the Bay Vista in Cavendish ..the last of August . Our room had a King size bed which was very comfy . The room was nice & clean . Also a free breakfast is included . There is a nice sized pool on this property . This was our 2nd time staying here . When in PEI give this motel a try :-)
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: Our room was at the back of the building making it nice & quiet !
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
likesthemaritimes wrote a review Aug. 2019
Havertown, Pennsylvania62 contributions9 helpful votes
The Bay Vista Motel continues to deliver in the areas of cleanliness, convenience and hospitality. The motel is located on a quiet bay on the edge of the Cavendish Resort area. Rooms are a wonderful value considering the amenities (good size pool, playground facilities for kids and BBQ grills) and included continental breakfast. We visit the Bay Vista annually and enjoy the facilities and the interaction with the staff. Highly recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Queen Suite above breakfast room is very comfortable.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Mf M wrote a review Aug. 2019
Dieppe, Canada23 contributions26 helpful votes
We just got back from a 3 night stay at the Bay Vista. We have stayed with them many times before in previous years but this was our first visit with our 3.5 pound Yorkie, Cricket. Check in was a breeze by friendly, informative staff. Our room was absolutely spotless. I have stayed in other hotels/motels with high star rating who weren't as clean as this place. You can't beat the area. The grounds are impeccable and everyone is extremely friendly. The air conditioning worked fine. We were in the middle of a heat wave at the time. We were comfortable during our entire stay. They also serve a continental breakfast which is very helpful to start your day. I would highly recommend Bay Vista if you are travelling with your pet. I wouldn't want to stay anywhere else
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019
Helpful
Share
Irishlazz wrote a review Jul. 2019
Barre, Vermont346 contributions85 helpful votes
The bed was comfortable and the place over all was clean, but the hardwood floor in our Room didn't stay clean and we had to clean it ourselves in order to be able to walk barefoot. The Wi-Fi was absolutely horrible. We don't spend a lot of time at a motel, we are there to see the sights, so that was a minor inconvenience but would be pretty major for people who rely on Wi-Fi. We were in the lower building, parking was weird. There was always somebody parked in the space in front of our Room so we had to park in front of somebody else's Room. The parking spaces should be numbered. And it feels weird having to drive on the grass in order to get in-and-out of parking spaces. There was a pool, we didn't use it. There was a continental breakfast, we only used it one of the 4 days we were there. There was no good source of protein, and the fruit offered was from a can not fresh. Rather disappointing. One of the days our cleaner seems to have got distracted and thought she was done before our towels got changed out, so we had to go get our own fresh towels for the evening. Guessing the bathroom didn't get cleaned that day either. At this point you're probably wondering why it's getting 3 dots instead of 2. There's a lot to be said for clean sheets on a comfortable bed, and great water pressure for the shower.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Bay_Vista10, Front Office Manager at Bay Vista Motel
Responded Jul. 31, 2019
We are very sorry to hear you didn't fully enjoy your stay. We firstly would like to apologize for the missing towels as well as our internet. We have been experiencing issues and are currently having people look at our service to see what we can do to improve it. We are always trying to improve and so we will be looking into fixing our parking issue as well our breakfast. We hope you had a safe trip home and please enjoy the rest of your summer.
Read more
Julie M wrote a review Jul. 2019
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Room was clean, but smelled like moth balls. The windows were open as we walk to room, and could smell it outside. We were at the back side of the main building. Staff were very nice. We would not stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Bay_Vista10, Front Office Manager at Bay Vista Motel
Responded Jul. 31, 2019
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are very sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay and will be immediately looking into the smells you noticed. We do hope you give us another chance in the future.
Read more
hnoland1964 wrote a review Jun. 2019
Frazeysburg, Ohio7 contributions
We spent the night at this quaint motel in Cavendish, Prince Edward Island in early June. Small, but incredibly clean rooms at a wonderful price. The young man at the front desk was very helpful and kind—especially when our television in the room didn’t work. He came straight away and fixed it. I would definitely stay again!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Bay_Vista10, Front Office Manager at Bay Vista Motel
Responded Jun. 6, 2019
Thank you so much for the kind review! We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you enjoyed the Basketball game last night! Safe travels and hopefully see you again!
Read more
n0vagirl99 wrote a review Aug. 2018
Halifax, Canada1 contribution
Hotel was a last minuet find and worked out in our favor! the grounds of the Motel are kept tidy and and pool was an excellent place to cool off again after coming home from the beach. The availability of BBQs around the grounds offered the opportunity to cook your own meals. A great tip for our next stay. the breakfast was a great start to the day; cereal, bagels, toast, fruit salad. Yogurt would be a nice addition to the breakfast The rooms may be dated in style but our room was very clean and comfortable.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Bay_Vista10, Manager at Bay Vista Motel
Responded May 26, 2019
Thank you so much for the wonderful review! We really hope to see you again soon!
Read more
CanUK33 wrote a review Aug. 2018
Moncton, Canada11 contributions6 helpful votes
This motel was very clean, the staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. When we checked in, the man at the desk told us there would be a Caleidh that evening at the WI Hall in Stanley Bridge. We attended that and had a great time, lots of laughs, great music! This is the way to experience PEI way of life. So glad we went. The motel room and bathroom were clean, the beds and pillows were very comfortable and we had a good sleep. The atmosphere was peaceful, quiet and safe. A continental breakfast was served in an adjacent building, the coffee and tea were good, there were several kinds of cereal, toast and bagels and a lovely fruit salad. It was help yourself, of course, including the making of the toast. It was a nice breakfast with the option of eating outside on the patio.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Bay_Vista10, Front Office Manager at Bay Vista Motel
Responded Aug. 13, 2018
Thank you for the very kind review, it was a pleasure having you stay with us and we hope to see you again soon!
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$81 - US$117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
bay vista hotel cavendish, bay vista motel
LOCATION
CanadaPrince Edward IslandCavendish
NUMBER OF ROOMS
31
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Bay Vista Motel
Which popular attractions are close to Bay Vista Motel?
Nearby attractions include Cavendish Cliffs (5.1 km), Prince Edward Island National Park (4.3 km), and Cavendish Beach (3.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Bay Vista Motel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Bay Vista Motel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Bay Vista Motel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Bay Vista Motel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Bay Vista Motel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Ship's Company Pub & Galley, The Lost Anchor, and COWS Cavendish Boardwalk, Cavendish PE.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Bay Vista Motel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Bay Vista Motel?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Bay Vista Motel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Bay Vista Motel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Green Gables (4.4 km).