We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Shining Waters - Ingleside Resort

7600 Cawnpore Lane / Rte 13, Cavendish, Prince Edward Island C1A 1N0 Canada
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (67)
Room & Suite (24)
Dining (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#5 of 7 hotels in Cavendish
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Shining Waters-Ingleside Resort is the premier cottage resort in the Cavendish area and also contains a country inn and motel units on the same site. The resort is located in the heart of Cavendish and is close to Cavendish Main Beach, the PEI National Park, Green Gables House, golf courses and many other family and cultural attractions.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Pool
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Outdoor pool
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Kitchenette
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
142Reviews1Q+A34Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 37
  • 50
  • 33
  • 10
  • 12
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Rosadiva wrote a review Jul 2023
Ottawa, Canada111 contributions46 helpful votes
We booked through Expedia and was pleasantly surprised by the conditions an grounds of the resort. Our cabin was in excellent condition and ideal for our one night stay- but could easily stay for much longer with the efficiency kitchen. The staff super friendly and the cabin super clean. We intend on coming back for longer!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Super big area fo parking- beautiful heated pool
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
rosie3217 wrote a review Feb 2023
Sydney, Nova Scotia5 contributions
Well this is my third attempt on a review. We have been renting from this establishment for approximately 10 years for the Cavendish Beach Festival. Unfortunately I have made several attempts to contact owner to discuss a few things. As we have been great patrons. However due to a situation unable to reach the owner. We were a family of 15. Due to circumstance that we had no control over as it is a communal community during the music festivities. We are all professional people from different levels of government. A few bad apples have made this a nightmare for our family. As the maintenance guy that was on the grounds last year had issues. Over a community fire pit that was open to approx 50 other people. And unfortunately our family took the fall for it. We always book for five nights, however leave after the forth night. That gives the cleaning staff plenty of time. The cleaning Staff are amazing women. Who we have the utmost respect for as it is a lot of work. We would do everything possible to make sure our mess was packed in blue bags and put out every night/morning to make it easier on the staff to pick up. Our group of family would play and entertain other concert going children and adults during the day. We had have done this for years. I have made several attempts to contact the owner to no success. As being punished or blames for something we had no part in. But unfortunately got the blame. Our family had even helped the cleaning staff clean up after young children who unfortunately got sick on the grounds four cabins down. We actually felt bad for the ladies. We always make sure our rooms are cleaned, dishes get done before we leave as it is the right thing to do. We wood sweep and even washed floors if we had access to a mop. We would have the beds stripped before we left to help out cleaning staff. We seen things during our stay that were not appropriate but we mind our own business. Had no part in. The family was always respectful and respectable to the ladies and other families around us. We made sure everyone had eaten, drank water and had made great memories and families. We always recommend this establishment to friends and family visiting pei. But we are distraught and disappointed in how we are being treated for this years music festival. All of the regulars that go have been texting and asking are we returning. As most of these neighbours have become extended family to us. So if the owner of this establishments could reach out to me for a discussion, I would gladly appreciated. To the Maloney, Taylor’s, the macDonalds, the great beautiful women from moncton. Unfortunately we don’t believe we will be back. Please have a sociable for us. Hopefully we will have the opportunity to speak to the owner and return. We will miss playing volleyball, sing alongside, our barbecue with each other. It will saidly be missed. So anyone using the fire pit between cabin 30 and 31 becareful cause even though the fire pit is for approx 10 different cabins to use. You may get blamed for something you have not done. For the kiddies we met last year we all loved playing soft ball, red rover, dance off, sing offs, and listening to your stories you will be dearly missed this year. Fingers crossed we get to speak to Mr wood and some of us may possibly get back to see you! Cheers to great memories and friendships! Hope to see you all again another time! Just be warned that if they don’t like the look of the fire pit you can be blamed for something you have no part of. This is our group plus others who also stayed at the cabins. We are a group of teachers, ahl hockey players, social workers, and federal government. The neighbours and the kids. So we are or where not a rowdy bunch. Or disruptive to the cabin areas. When others came who were younger or underage they would be asked to leave our area as again we didn’t want no trouble or put our jobs at risk! The range of ages in our group was 24-56. In this picture it was groups staying at the cabin. So how can they pick one family to say we were disrespectful of the grounds or the rules. And the staff there are over 100 cabins on this ground. And Doris if she didn’t see me in one cabin new were to find me within the grounds. And if there was people that wasn’t in our party trying to join are party was asked to leave by myself or the other older adults in respect for the grounds and the fact we have been going to same spot for 10 years!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Kim M wrote a review Feb 2023
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Had a great time during the music festival. Hoping the same people are back waiting to hear about cottages again thru sister in law. Met a lot of great people. The grounds were alive between neighbours at cottages. Great bunch of young adults next to us. We have been meeting up with that group the last number of years. Hope to see us all back together this year to the Taylor’s, Mahoney, MacDonalds and Beatons! Cheers to great neighbours! Looking forward to seeing the staff and being in the grounds again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
S V wrote a review Oct 2022
We shared a 3 bedroom cottage with my daughter’s family and loved the proximity to the pool. The cottage was a good size for the six of us and the children loved their stay there. The pool was clean and a good size, with chairs around the deck. The washroom in the cottage was good, with bath and shower, air conditioning and wifi were great.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Wood is prepared for a bonfire at night. The beach is a very long walk so I would drive if you...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
RoseBeau wrote a review Sep 2022
Matheson, Canada15 contributions7 helpful votes
+1
Myself, adult son n his girlfriend enjoy our one night stay here. We stayed in the office building which is such a nice change from the franchise motels. The staff were very friendly, rooms where quaint, clean n had everything we needed. The Continental breakfast was great as well as the location.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Phil Wood, Owner at Shining Waters - Ingleside Resort
Responded Sep 15, 2022
Thank you very much for staying with us. I'm glad to hear that you were comfortable. Kind regards, Doris
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Recreation S wrote a review Aug 2022
Region of Waterloo, Canada3 contributions
+1
Pros: Location within walking distance to Tim Hortons, Dunes and Visitors Centre. Lodge Room 13. Quiet comfortable rooms with A/C. Full breakfast included fresh pastries, eggs, ham, assortment of breads, cereal, yogurt, fruit, coffee and tea. Large living room with couches for seating. Beautiful views from wrap around porch. One of the quietest stays I have ever had. Cons: Steep staircase to second floors where rooms are. No in-room coffee maker or mini fridge. Older building means creaky floors. At the time of our visit only one pool was open.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Electric bus from city drops off across the street at Visitor centre.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Phil Wood, Owner at Shining Waters - Ingleside Resort
Responded Aug 28, 2022
Thank you very much for staying with us. We look forward to your next visit. Kind regards, Doris
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Laur wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
We were staying here with all of our family - who we hadn’t seen in 3 years due to Covid, for a big reunion. Sadly, we had a very uncomfortable experience. After a few awkward encounters with the staff and with a man who we understand is the owner, a day later we were finally ready to enjoy our reunion get together. The kids were playing and accidentally got our frisbee stuck on the roof of another cabin. We were attempting to get it down but it was too high (we didn’t climb on the cabin, furniture or anything). The owner came down and yelled at us for trying to get it, after we ask for a long object, and would not help us at all! He left and then came back and continued to yell at the kids and young adults and said he tried to get it and couldn’t, but he didn’t even try. We just seemed like a huge inconvenience to him. When he was leaving and after rudely talking to our teenager, our teen accidentally ran into him while trying to catch a ball and THE MAN PUSHED OUR CHILD. He actually put hands on our family member. That is absolutely unacceptable. This man made our time here terrible and we always felt like we were walking on eggshells. You can’t advertise that you’re kid friendly and than constantly moan and groan at your guests for little things. We also experienced him threatening other guests during our stay. We will not recommend and we will not return.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Phil Wood, Owner at Shining Waters - Ingleside Resort
Responded Aug 27, 2022
Dear Guest I am responding to your recent complaint on TripAdvisor. At the outset I want to express my sincere apology for your recent experience at our resort. My name is Phil Wood and I am the owner. I am 73 years old and I walk with a cane. I like to think that if we had met in person you would remember me. The person you had your confrontation with was our evening maintenance man. You won’t be surprised that his version of the events was quite different from yours. I completely accept your comments, however, and I am extremely disturbed. Laying hands on a guest is completely unacceptable and grounds for immediate termination. This person has been removed from his position. My family has operated the Shining Waters-Ingleside Resort since 1996. In that 26 years we have never had a complaint like this. Most of my staff have been with me for many years and I am very proud of the consistent comments from guests about their very friendly and helpful attitude. Your experience simply does not fit who we are and how we normally treat our guests. Given your experience I certainly understand if you decide not to return. I am very proud of our facility and my staff, however, and I hope you will decide to give us another chance. Please contact me directly as I would very much like to discuss this matter in person. Phil Wood Owner
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
budsfan29 wrote a review Jul 2022
Vaughan, Canada224 contributions112 helpful votes
Our family of parents and two teenagers stayed at Shining Waters for 5 nights. Our three bedroom, two full washroom, two floor cottage was the nicest one that we have ever stayed at! Just having the three bedrooms and two full washrooms (including a jet tub in the ground floor one) was wonderful! The cottage also had a full kitchen, utensils, tv with satelite channels, and a barbecue on its porch (with chairs and a picnic table) Towels were provided and you could exchange them each day if you chose to. You have the option of having housekeeping come in to clean, but we didn't. Other facilities include two large pools (but one is still not operational, free parking next to the cottage, fire pits, and a children's play structure. There is free wifi, but it wasn't great, and usually only worked while on the porch. The office staff were welcoming and helpful whenever we needed assistance. The location is also fantastic, in the heart of Cavendish, across from the tourist information centre, and walking distance to shops, restaurants, PEI National Park, and a Tim Horton's. It is just a drive down the the road to beaches, Green Gables, a grocery store and many other eateries and attractions. Even Charlottetown, Summerside, North Rustico and Brackley Beach are all a 30 minute drive or less away. Our family had a great stay in our cottage at Shining Waters Resort, and wouldn't hesitate to stay there again on our next visit to PEI.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Don't count on the free wifi. The tourist information office across the street is very helpful.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Phil Wood, Owner at Shining Waters - Ingleside Resort
Responded Aug 6, 2022
Thank you very much for staying with us. I'm very happy to hear that you and your family were comfortable and able to enjoy some of the many fine things our little Island has to offer. I look forward to your next visit. Kind regards, Doris
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Emanuela R wrote a review Jun 2022
Vancouver, BC81 contributions83 helpful votes
We had never visited PEI and decided to stay at this Inn. Doris was lovely and greeted us and made us feel at home. Along with our 2 friends were were the only ones at the Inn. I felt like I had stepped back in time. The parlour was adorable, the grounds were lovely and our room, (yes it was a little small compared to what we are used to) was comfortable and quaint. I wish we had more time there as everyone was so nice. In the morning just before breakfast the power went out but we were still able to have our fruit and muffins. Doris gave us some great information on where to see and what to visit, she was just so helpful. It is so close to everything and we really enjoyed the Shining Waters Inn.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Phil Wood, Owner at Shining Waters - Ingleside Resort
Responded Aug 6, 2022
Thank you for staying with us! It was my pleasure to be able to assist. Warm regards, Doris
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Debbie P wrote a review Aug 2021
St. John's, Canada176 contributions64 helpful votes
We have stayed here many times and live the resort. One pool was open, which was great. Check-in was contactless, which was a plus. Definitely needs a little upgrading with leaky taps and squeaky beds and internet still leaves a lot to be desired but we would stay here again. Love the staff and the location.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Phil Wood, Owner at Shining Waters - Ingleside Resort
Responded Sep 4, 2021
It was lovely to have you folks visit with us again. Looking forward to seeing you in 2022! Kind regards, Doris
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Cavendish area.
PRICE RANGE
C$102 - C$164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
CanadaPrince Edward IslandCavendish
NUMBER OF ROOMS
59
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Shining Waters - Ingleside Resort - UPDATED Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Shining Waters - Ingleside Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Shining Waters - Ingleside Resort?
Nearby attractions include Cavendish Cliffs (0.8 km), Prince Edward Island National Park (1.2 km), and Cavendish Beach (2.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Shining Waters - Ingleside Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Shining Waters - Ingleside Resort?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
Is parking available at Shining Waters - Ingleside Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Shining Waters - Ingleside Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Ship's Company Pub & Galley, Blue Mussel Cafe, and The Lost Anchor.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Shining Waters - Ingleside Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Shining Waters - Ingleside Resort located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 km away from the centre of Cavendish.
Are any cleaning services offered at Shining Waters - Ingleside Resort?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Shining Waters - Ingleside Resort?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Green Gables (0.6 km).