Cavendish Maples Cottages

Cavendish Maples Cottages

73 Avonlea Boulevard, Route 6, Cavendish, Prince Edward Island Canada
Fall is beautiful at Cavendish Maples
Traveller (79)
Many other cottages to choose from.
Room & Suite (64)
View of pool.
Pool & Beach (5)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

5.0
#2 of 12 cottages in Cavendish
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
Our award winning cottage rentals in PEI have developed a reputation as one of the most popular cottage resorts on our Island.The Maples property is located in a grove of mature maple trees and combines a rejuvenating setting, four-star cottages, many amenities, and the ideal location in the heart of Cavendish.Whether it’s your first visit to our Island or you are one of our many loyal guests, we look forward to helping you plan your stay with us.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Game room
Water park
Books, DVDs, music for children
Children's television networks
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Wifi
Hot bath
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Shallow end in pool
Fence around pool
Table tennis
Board games / puzzles
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids pool
Kids' outdoor play equipment
BBQ facilities
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Seating area
Sofa
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Telephone
Clothes rack
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Microwave
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.5 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, French

Location

73 Avonlea Boulevard, Route 6, Cavendish, Prince Edward Island Canada
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 73 out of 100
73
Charlottetown Airport
30.2 km
See all flights
402Reviews6Q+A64Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 350
  • 43
  • 6
  • 1
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
DotsGirl2 wrote a review Jun 2022
Vancouver, Canada
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in a two bedroom with two bathrooms (cabin 14). It was perfect for the four of us. The cabin comes equipped with kitchen stuff so you could easily cook all your meals here. There is a bbq in the deck. We swam in the outside pool which was clean We loved staying here and highly recommend it
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tishie wrote a review Jul 2023
Toronto, Canada
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We occupied the double cabin #5/6 with friends. Cabins were clean, spacious and were very well equipped for eating-in or barbecuing with utensils, plates, pots & pans, cleaning products, etc. They have coffee makers but don’t provide coffee, sweeteners or milk, paper towels or aluminum foil. We didn’t have daily maid service although I think they may offer it. There are clean onsite laundry facilities also. Pool and hot tub looked nice but we didn’t use them. There is a small grocery store across the street and prices are more expensive than regular grocery stores.They addressed two issues we had immediately. I would highly recommend this property.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
G P wrote a review Jul 2021
Fredericton, Canada
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a fantastic location with a wide array of cottages to choose from based on the size of your group. The grounds are very well kept, the staff is friendly, and although the cottages are a little they have everything you need for a stay, whether it’s for a few nights or a week.

There is a lot of activities on site, which include a great pool and hot tub. Wide open spaces for kids, play structures and area for sports and fire pits (with free wood!) scattered throughout the property.

The location is ideal as it’s right in the heart of Cavendish. We will definitely plan a return trip!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nikki B wrote a review Aug 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in August 2022 and absolutely loved our stay at Cavendish Maple cottages. The grounds were immaculately kept, the cottage was super clean and comfortable, even the outdoor BBQ was clean. Staff was welcoming and friendly. We loved having a firepit right outside of our cottage. The pool was fantastic and clean. We will definitely be making this a regular stay on our PEI trips. Thanks guys!!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
islanders4 wrote a review Jan 2013
Charlottetown, Canada
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This summer was to be our 4th time attending the Cavendish Beach Festival. Our group consists of two couples in our mid 50"s from PEI, we look forward to our vacation each year, taking in the Festival, Cavendish Beach and several surrounding golf courses. We also enter our 1942 Chev Half Ton truck in the International Motor Festival that is connected with the Music Festival. We like to stay in Cottages close to the grounds so that we can walk and not worry about buses or parking. The first two years we stayed in Avonlea Cottages, sharing the same driveway as Cavendish Maples and booked our rooms the 2nd of January. Last year we decided we would try Cavendish Maples as we were attracted to this lovely property. I was so pleased that I gave a five star review entitled "Great cottages on a Beautiful Property.

We inquired about booking again for 2013 and were told that they begin taking reservations on Jan 2nd...I began phoning at 8:30 am and was able to get through to the woman who owns the property at approx 8:50am. She informed me that they were giving past customers first chance at cottage rentals, also that they had several groups that were staying a week to ten days. Since I was a customer from the previous year (I even mentioned my great review on Tripadvisor) I hoped that she would take that into consideration (we also fall into their preferred age category of 40 plus) She said she would call and let me know later that afternoon or the next day....I was planning on being away the next day so I called her husband the evening of Jan 2, he assured me that she would call me back in a hour or two.

Long story short, she did not return my call, nor answer either of the two messages I left on her machine. Finally I was able to speak to her on January 8th (I called her)....nearly a week later. She had no cottage booked for me and at this point in time it is too late for me to book anywhere else suitable. Perhaps a better way to handle reservations for repeat customers would have been to allow us to book our 2013 cottage when we were checking out in 2012. As it stands now, I followed all of their rules and instuctions, waited a week for my call to be returned (which it really never was) and I am without a suitable cottage for Cavendish Beach Festival. THANK YOU SO MUCH CAVENDISH MAPLES!!!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2012
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
lisagS9374JS wrote a review Apr 2015
Fredericton
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I feel compelled to write this review, as what happened to my daughter and her 3 friends was nothing but down right GREED!!!
As you know the Country Music Festival is held in PEI every July. My daughter, who is attending University along with her three friends, had purchased tickets to go to the festival. This is the only time they would have off over the summer as anyone that has any children in University...there is not much time for fun as working to save enough money is the only thing they have on their Agenda from the time they write their last exam until they Register again in September.
I had confirmed their reservation for these young personable, respectable girls with my credit card...the dates were for July 10, 11, 12...
I journeyed down to pick up my daughter at University in NS and the first thing she said to me was, "Mom the only thing that got me thru this stressful exam period was thinking of the Music Festival in PEI in July...I am so excited!!!
When I returned to work the next day, I had received an email from Shelley MacInnis, the owner, she told me that I was to call her back on Monday to confirm the reservation?!?!?!?! Since I had not called, they gave the cabin to another party for FIVE nights!!!!
Well you can only imagine how this crumbled these girls world when I told him what had happened.
I had messaged her back to tell her that I secured the room as she took all of my information Name, Credit Card #, expirey date, 3 numbers on back of the card etc. There was no mention in the conversation of me calling her back to confirm the room as I did that with all the information she had taken from me...I then told her that I was willing to book the room for an additional 2 nights in order for them to be able to attend the concert...To date I have not heard one word back from these people, I have left messages for them to return my call and NOTHING!!!
What a great way to conduct business!!! These people are not to be trusted...if you happen to have a spot reserved for them...don't be surprised if you get bumped for a better offer!!!! Terrible, Terrible, Terrible. Greedy, Greedy, Greedy!!!
These people have crumbled these young girls only weekend in the summer...there of course now is nothing available at all for accomodations!!! I hope they have a terrible terrible season...I believe in KARMA!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2015Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from MacInnisFamily, Owner at Cavendish Maples Cottages
Responded Apr 29, 2015
We do acknowledge this unfortunate misunderstanding of you being unable to secure a booking for your daughter. When we spoke to you regarding the booking for 4-5 nights, we clearly set out the guidelines we have in place for our guests staying with us during the Cavendish Beach Music Festival. Because this is one of the busiest weeks of our summer, we agreed to place a hold on the cottage for you until Monday after you’d had a chance to speak with your university attending daughter about whether your daughter and her friends were willing to abide by our rules. These rules are in place to ensure we provide our guests with a quality stay. At the time of our initial discussion, we took your contact details and credit information (we did not process your credit card) to hold the cottage until Monday. When we didn’t hear from you on Monday as per our arrangement, we took the hold off of the cottage and it was booked by another party. You stated you would call us when in fact the next time we heard from you was via email on Tuesday evening at 4:56pm. In this email you stated you were confirming the booking for July 10, 11 and 12. Your email was 1 day past the hold deadline and requested a different length of stay of 3 nights that we had not agreed to. We felt we explained the situation very clearly in our email exchange with you. Unfortunately, you do not seem to be willing to accept that: 1) Since you missed the deadline to hold the cottage for you, we followed our standard policy and released it 2) Unfortunately we do not have any vacancies left for your requested dates. 3) we are not willing to contact other booked guests to ask them to give up their booking for you. When you continued to call our office after our email exchange, we decided that it would not be productive to continue our difference of opinions any further. We are a small family business and we operate on a fair and honest basis. We appreciate you have the right to share your views and we have the responsibility to state our viewpoint
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Karen W wrote a review Jan 2015
Sydney, Australia
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We came to visit Prince Edward Island from Australia in June/July 2014. Having done lots of research on trip advisor to find the best place to stay, we decided on Cavendish Maples. So glad we did! It was close to everything especially all the Anne of Green Gables attractions.It was a great central location for us to visit all the attractions on the island. It was very clean and the grounds were immaculate. If something got broken the maintenance were very quick to fix the problem. The hosts were very helpful in helping us find our way to things on the island. My son was very impressed that we were literally right next door to the Shining Waters Family Fun Park and right across the road from Sandspit Amusement Park. We loved being so close to the Cavendish boardwalk and getting Cows Ice Cream every day! The service of the houskeeping ladies was outstanding and they always had a cheerful smile and made sure we had everything we needed and was so nice to have a lovely made bed every night we came back. We will definately choose Cavendish Maples when he we hopefully come back to Canada again in the future.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2014
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: The 1 bedroom deluxe was nice and cosy for my son and I. It was further up the back and was nice...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Atlanticca wrote a review Jul 2006
Nova Scotia
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed at a cottage here for two nights in July. We arrived without reservations and were fortunate to get a cabin... normally this is highly unlikely but tourism is down in PEI this summer 2006. The owners gave us a discounted rate which really was appreciated as we were on a tight budget. Their neice was working in the office when we first arrived and was very kind and helpful. The cottages are nice and roomy and the bed was comfortable. The cable TV channel selection isn't much in PEI though ! Outside the cottages were lovely tall maple trees which added to the visual appeal of the place, provided a sense of privacy and made for a delightful sound outside the bedroom when going to sleep... nothing like the rustling of maple leaves !
The grounds featured a nicely heated outdoor pool and hottub, which we enjoyed and there is some play equipment there for children. All in all our stay at Cavendish Maples is remembered fondly... in fact, I hope to return next year !
Read more
Date of stay: June 2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
shellsuff wrote a review Oct 2013
Canada
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This place is amazing! We went for 3 nights with our 1 year old and 3.5 year old. We loved the quite atmosphere, the pool, hot tub, hammocks, fire pits- everything!

We never wanted to leave and can't wait to go back!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2013
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Claudia L wrote a review Jun 2012
Ottawa
5.0 of 5 bubbles
**NOTE: LONG DETAILED REVIEW AHEAD**
-I try to provide as much details as possible so you can take from it what you will.

We just got back from Cavendish Maples cottages the last week of June (just before the high season began). This review is based on cottage #31 - two adults and one 8 month-old infant.

I was a little curious as to how we were going to fare with our baby on this vacation to PEI but I could not have been more pleasantly surprised. Right off the bat: friendly staff (very accommodating and helpful), our cottage was very clean, new furnishings, and everything I could want in the kitchen to make meals, and take care of our child. I mean everything. Microwave, fridge, stove, toaster, hand mixer, plates, wine glasses, plastic wine glasses for the pool area, the usual and even things like a colander (for spag night), they even offered guests the use of large pots in case you wanted to cook up some lobsters or corn on the cob. We told them we were bringing an infant and they provided us with a crib (a real one with mattress, fitted sheet, and blanket) and a high chair!

There was a BBQ and a large deck in an "L" shape that had a sitting area facing a beautiful open field and trees. Lots of separate space for cooking on the Q AND a separate sitting area that sat 4 comfortably.

The bathroom, with its separate entrance, I think is twice the size of my master en-suite and had the added touch of a sky-light which added some nice natural light throughout the day. The jacuzzi tub was great for bathing the baby but would make a great personal getaway too. I think two adults could get in there pretty comfortably for a romantic evening. There was a separate shower, lots of towels (could be changed up daily) shelf space, cabinet space, under the cabinet space, (notice a theme?). There was a friendly cleaning staff that came by every day to make the bed and get rid of the garbage and recycling. They even offered us to steer clear of the cabin if we had a regular "nap time" for our baby - very considerate!

The bedroom had a king-sized bed, a little squeaky but comfy. Pillows were nice and thick and new. Extra pillows and blankets provided. Ceiling fan! Helped keep the circulation but with two windows in the bedroom, it was a plus really; black-out curtains; flat-screen t.v. I noticed someone said the cable in PEI lacked a little something, I don't know if that has changed now but we had at least 40-60 channels (I'm guessing). Half-way through you get to some music channels but beyond that there's more. The office will let you borrow a dvd from their collection if that's your thing.

There's a dvd player and a separate flat-screen in the main living area. We borrowed dvd's a few nights and it was nice as a change. The main living area has a love seat and two comfy lazy-boys, a gas fireplace (nice on cooler evening and heated the place nice too!), and another ceiling fan. I was glad for all the windows. One thing I'm not too fond of when going to cottages is the dank smell that tends to go with them, not an issue here. With all the fans, windows and natural breezes in the area our place was comfortable the whole time. There is an air conditioner and electric heating too (heads-up for little fingers crawling on the floor!).

The main room also has a hide-a-bed (double) -- the kind that folds up into the wall. It had some shelf space and lighting as well and would be perfect for travelling with another couple or with kids or youth. We brought our play pen with us and it stayed out the whole time because there was enough space in the area to leave it open and still watch t.v. or the fire just fine.

Privacy: I was very happy we picked this cottage (the same would go for #30) because we were off to the side from the other cottages. We had that field view, no sounds of cars coming and going because our "lane" was a dead-end, lots of trees and we were way better off than some other cottages you could spot by the side of the road.

The grounds - wow! Pool, kids pool, hot tub (all enclosed with a fence for safety), lounge chairs, hammocks, soccer pitch, horse shoes, volleyball court x 2, swings, slides, and all cottages had smaller shared play areas in case you didn't want to go to the "main" part, almost like little play structures near your cottage in case you were cooking dinner or where using the BBQ, you could keep an eye on any little feet running around.

All cottages also shared fire pits in case you wanted to roast marshmallows, or hot dogs, or have a beer at night. There is a giant wood pile with a wheelbarrow. You just haul what you need and take the lighter from your kitchen drawer and you're good to go.

Price - I had done some research and noticed that the price was pretty comparable to other places. At times it seemed a little higher (a little) than others but it seemed like it offered more -- it did, more than even I expected. The off-season rates were a deal.

There was a games room I never went into but it offered different options in case you got rained-in. There was also coin laundry in that "games room" too.

All cabins have wireless internet. Strong connection -- not like when you go to some resorts down south and loading Google takes 2 minutes.

They offer you a pass to PEI National Park which is really great considering it's about a 5 minute drive over. You're really in a private spot yet in the middle of Cavendish. We could walk to at least 3 restaurants if we wanted to. We walked to the Cavendish boardwalk for ice cream and shopping and it might have taken us 15 minutes because we're slow walkers with ice-cream. North Rustico was maybe a 7 minute drive -- more shops, food options, deep sea fishing options, and an amazing bakery!

Clean grounds, friendly people, prime spot, lots to do, private in case you want to be left alone, great for families, great for singles or couples out on their own. Really I can't say enough about this place. We're already planning our next trip back with more people.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2012
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from Rosemarie L
25 contributions4 helpful votes
Also to Cavendish Beach is maybe a 5 to 8 min drive. Beautiful beach!!
Answer from LuckyFox2015
Charlottetown, Canada
Hi Thomas, As a follow up to our previous message we sent you, we have processed your refund however it can take 7-10 days for it to be processed to your account. Unfortunately, it does take a few days and we appreciate your patience as we have processed the refund from our office. All the best, Tyson & Sherry Cavendish Maples Cottages
sathomas21 asked a question Jul 2016
St. Catharines, Canada
Are you open year round if not when than are you ?
Cavendish, Canada1 contribution
We are open for the season from mid-May to mid-October.
Linda O wrote a tip Jul 2021
Spring Hill, Florida3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Plan to stay a few nights! Lots to do and see or simply relax with family and friends"
Read full review
Bill Turner wrote a tip Jul 2019
Glace Bay, Canada4 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Cabins closest to the pool avoid traffic if you have small children."
Read full review
john32014 wrote a tip Jul 2018
Stellarton, Canada33 contributions14 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Bring your self ,have a greet time , cottages have everything .just you and some food and drink."
Read full review
melingt2018 wrote a tip Jul 2018
Halifax, Canada40 contributions7 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Reserve your cottage in advance as when I booked mine in February luckily there was two available."
Read full review
davewebster39 wrote a tip Jul 2018
1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"We left a tip"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Cavendish area.
PRICE RANGE
C$171 - C$227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
cavendish maples cottages hotel cavendish
LOCATION
CanadaPrince Edward IslandCavendish
NUMBER OF ROOMS
24
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Cavendish Maples Cottages - UPDATED Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Cavendish Maples Cottages
Which popular attractions are close to Cavendish Maples Cottages?
Nearby attractions include Room Escape Cavendish (0.4 km), Sandspit (0.5 km), and Shining Waters Family Fun Park (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Cavendish Maples Cottages?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Cavendish Maples Cottages?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Cavendish Maples Cottages?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Cavendish Maples Cottages?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Cavendish Maples Cottages?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Ship's Company Pub & Galley, COWS Cavendish Boardwalk, and Chez Yvonne's.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Cavendish Maples Cottages?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Cavendish Maples Cottages?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Cavendish Maples Cottages?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Cavendish Maples Cottages?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and French.
Are there any historical sites close to Cavendish Maples Cottages?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Green Gables (1.4 km).
All Cavendish HotelsCavendish Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in CavendishHotels near Cavendish Maples Cottages
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars