We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
40 Simpson Mill Road, Cavendish, Prince Edward Island COA 1NO Canada
Booking.com
Priceline
Vio.com
StayForLong
eDreams
Agoda.com
View all 7 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (28)
Room & Suite (40)
Dining (1)

About

#12 of 22 Specialty lodging in Cavendish
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Quiet, peaceful setting nestled off the beaten path in Cavendish. Moments away from the hustle of attractions nearby, but far enough away to relax and unwind after a day of exploring. All cottages are fully equipped with all the amenities of a home away from home, including satellite TVs, air-conditioning, and ceiling fans in all rooms. Upgraded wireless high-speed internet for 2012! Stay with us and create a vacation package that will hold precious memories for a lifetime.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Game room
Golf course
Books, DVDs, music for children
Children's television networks
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Sauna
Hiking
Darts
Table tennis
Board games / puzzles
Indoor play area for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids' outdoor play equipment
BBQ facilities
Non-smoking hotel
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Microwave
Refrigerator
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Languages Spoken
English
99Reviews0Q+A12Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 55
  • 24
  • 10
  • 4
  • 6
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
mochachocalatte wrote a review Sep. 2022
Quispamsis, Canada38 contributions6 helpful votes
+1
This was our 2nd visit and already booked 2023. Excellent spot for families or groups. We were 6, 3 adults, 3 children and had lots of room in the A Frame. Kitchen was complete with microwave, dishwasher. And room for all of us to eat at table. ❤️❤️ The kids loved the pool, trampoline and playground. It is situated so most cottages have a view of the playground. Lots of room to run and play outside and we even flew our new kites in the hayfield! Sunsets...gorgeous! Firepits for all cottages. A propane barbecue. We even had air conditioning and a jacuzzi tub which the kids loved to enjoy after a busy fun day! Location is excellent! 5 min drive from Sandspit, Cavendish beach and boardwalk for shopping. So glad we found this lovely spot! Can't wait to return!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Easy to get to, lots of parking but visitors have to leave by 9 pm. Bring extra bowls, sharp...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Shelley M wrote a review Aug. 2022
1 contribution
Stayed at Swept Away mid August 2022 for 4 nights. There was a very strong skunk smell on front porch when we arrived but we were not told about it when we checked in. We thought maybe it had happened recently and it would be gone the next day but it was still there next morning. The third day it rained and the smell became much worse. It was nauseating! We couldn’t sit on porch, couldn’t leave windows open and we had to to go in and out of cottage quickly so smell wouldn’t enter. Couldn’t even sit outside anywhere close to cottage. All the cottages were occupied so it would have been impossible for management to move us to another cottage. Furthermore, we were there for a large family reunion so impossible for us to leave. Staff member told us the smell had been there since SPRING! Porch floor was dirty, gross and disgusting. Skunk spray probably soaked in boards. We found out that it was rented as soon as we left with no effort to get rid of the smell. I realize that the cottages are in a wooded area so there will be animals but I can’t accept that they would rent (over $1600) a cottage with that strong a skunk smell over and over again all summer without doing something about it. Management replies to negative comments so looking forward to their spin on this! NAUSEATING SKUNK SMELL AT FRONT DOOR OF COTTAGE SINCE SPRING AND STILL RENTING ! NO WARNING OF THE SMELL UPON ARRIVAL AND NO APOLOGY FROM MANAGEMENT WHEN WE COMPLAINED!!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Kristie M wrote a review Aug. 2022
4 contributions
Terrible service, no respect or understanding. Just in it for the money. There are better places to stay in canvandish PEI. Don't stay here, they ruin our stay, experience in PEI. We rented three cottages over 5 days. On day 4 my mother got COVID, we decided to leave for her safety and the safety of the other people. The manager wouldn't refund me for the day, and even re-rented our cottage that night. I called to discuss the situation, I asked her to do the right thing, she hung up on was rude and disrespectful. She could done the right thing, they got there money x 2. Stay some where else. Pay extra, don't stay here. It's sad that PEI tourism is representative by business like this.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
nancy wrote a review Aug. 2021
Quispamsis, Canada1 contribution
Everything you need. Very clean and great service. Pool with hot tub was a very enjoyable temperature. Own bbq and fire pit. Stayed in cottage 3 with 2 bedroom, 3 beds. Very comfortable and spacious for a bigger family. All was in great condition. Fire place, air condition and wirlpool tub was added bonus.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Brittany M wrote a review Sep. 2019
1 contribution3 helpful votes
Bad experience trying to cancel/rebook reservations. Tried to switch reservations to another weekend with the money we paid for the 3 nights and was told that was a problem. I emailed as I was told to do- and got an email back stating they couldn’t give me another (at least 2 of the 3 nights we paid for ) and I would have to pay for the whole stay again. I wouldn’t even go there for a second now that the Owner hung up the phone on me after making a promise, the night before. Never book with them- very rude. No stars to even recommend this place of operation.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Christine B wrote a review Jul. 2019
1 contribution
Our combined family of six (2 adults, 4 children - ages 8,13,14,15) really enjoyed our four night stay in cottage #3. The cottage was very clean and close to everything in Cavendish. The cottages are far enough apart that you don’t feel like you are right on top of the other families in other cottages. There is a large bbq at every cottage. The staff was diligent in changing the towels and garbages every day and ensuring we had anything we needed. One of the best features was that the pool towels were plentiful and we did not need to bring our own! (This is a big deal when traveling with four children who swim everyday). The property had a great pool and hot tub and a games room (which was often used by the teenagers). Unfortunately, for a large cottage it did not have a lot of cutlery and plates. We had to keep running the dishwasher although it wasn’t full to get enough clean. It’s a great spot that we would certainly visit again!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from worldtravel2216, Front Desk Clerk at Swept Away Cottages
Responded Jul. 28, 2019
Hello Christine, Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We are happy to know you all enjoyed your stay. We are sorry there wasn't enough cutlery and plates for your family, We would have been happy to have given you more to use if we had of known. We hope you do come back and visit us! Thanks again!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Therichpeasant wrote a review May 2019
Toronto, Canada134 contributions119 helpful votes
This was our second visit to Swept Away cottages - the previous visit was 3 years ago. As there has been a change in ownership and some improvements to our experience, I thought it warranted another review. Some things remain the same - it is an affordable option for those exploring the Cavendish area. It's close to shops, restaurants,fishing villages and golf courses. And being PEI, it's an easy drive to almost everywhere! We rented the smallest cottage for 3 nights in mid-May. Ours was a two bedroom unit with 1 Queen bed, 2 single beds and a sofa bed. We were a family of 5, so while it did fit us in most aspects, the sofa bed is quite uncomfortable, so it is best suited for only 4 people. The new owners have upgraded certain things since we were last there - some of the kitchen appliances and the TV in our cottage were new, and cable and wifi service are much improved. The entire bathroom had been recently renovated. Some things at Swept Away that are included one might normally not expect at such a cottage, including daily housekeeping and a dishwasher! The facility also has a pool and hot tub, but since it was May, it was to chilly for us to consider using. The staff are very friendly and helpful, whether it be the reception staff, housekeeping or maintenance staff. They were proactive and very responsive. My fellow travellers were extremely impressed with their stay, especially when I told them the price we paid. We will definitely return in the future.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2019
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from worldtravel2216, Front Desk Clerk at Swept Away Cottages
Responded May 17, 2019
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay! Looking forward to seeing you again! Enjoy the rest of your summer. Management and staff - Swept Away Cottages
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Paul H wrote a review Sep. 2018
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Start off by saying the location was great, and the interior was very clean. That's where the positives stop. Seems to lack some serious maintenance like the decking was all green from moss growing on it, there was some weird rug thing on the long side of the patio (assuming to cover up rotted boards), the basketball net was bent down completely, the toys room was leaking and most toys were incomplete missing items. The hot tub was broken for the entire duration and the pool was freezing... overall I would try to find someplace else to stay.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2018
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jennifer X, Owner at Swept Away Cottages
Responded Oct. 9, 2018
Thank you for your feedback. Our maintenance staff will be looking into the moss and outdoor carpet replacement in the spring. At the time of your stay we were gearing our property down for the season which includes the toy room, hot tub and pool. Our hot tub was shut down for the season due to temperature and the pool heater had been shut off in order to drain and clean for the winter. We are sorry for any inconvenience this may have caused. We look forward to a fresh start again in May 2019!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Gina A wrote a review Sep. 2018
1 contribution
Terrible costumer service. We were not there except to drop our stuff off and to sleep. They went into our cottage after we left to “bring extra towels” someone ordered which we’re not ordered because we were not there long enough to use any. Called us all day gave us a hard time about noise complaints and how you can’t have stagettes when it was clearly stated in the email upon arrival that it was for a stagette and they had no problem then and took our money. Very ignorant on the phone to us and dead bolted our door with all of our stuff inside when we were not there.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2018Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Grandma wrote a review Sep. 2018
Sydney, Canada6 contributions1 helpful vote
This is our second time at Swept Away. In July 2017, we gathered with our four adult daughters, their spouses/partners, and grandchildren in a six-bedroom house. We absolutely loved our stay.......the house itself, the pool, the playground, and the location. This time we are here with three other couples, again in a spacious six-bedroom house. We all have our own space. The only suggestion I would make would be to upgrade the furniture in the living area.......and to perhaps enlarge the deck. We will continue to return at any time we are looking for a great place to house a large group.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$117 - US$178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
swept away cottages hotel cavendish
LOCATION
CanadaPrince Edward IslandCavendish
NUMBER OF ROOMS
16
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Swept Away Cottages - UPDATED Prices, Reviews & Photos (Cavendish, Prince Edward Island) - Cottage - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Swept Away Cottages
Which popular attractions are close to Swept Away Cottages?
Nearby attractions include Ellerslie Escape Room (7.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Swept Away Cottages?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and a fitness centre.
What food & drink options are available at Swept Away Cottages?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Swept Away Cottages?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Swept Away Cottages?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Swept Away Cottages?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Is Swept Away Cottages accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.