We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Dalvay by the Sea Hotel

Expedia.comUS$144*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Dalvay by the Sea Hotel
Dalvay by the Sea Hotel
Panoramas (17)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

259 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Dalvay by the Sea Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 250: English reviews
Coldstream, BC
Reviewed 21 September 2016

I stayed there in August and there were several unpleasant surprises. This hotel is run by a management that condones unethical practices. They take no interest in their quality control. I paid too much money for 1 night stay to be treated poorly. Of note: you do not get coffee in your room but can go downstairs to the lobby...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Nora A
Management response:

Dear Leonora B, I am sorry again about your poor experience at Dalvay by the Sea. Your issue was dealt with internally and the owners and management were involve in this process. We took your feedback to our last meeting and we will make some changes next year on a few issues. Best regards,

Reviewed 21 September 2016 via mobile

OK - it needs a little paint , but classic small mansions converted to hotels are unusual and rare. So much of the place is original you can feel like you are a guest at a large estate home. Its on the upper end of PEI prices and the rooms are small, but the setting is beautiful . Dinner was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ted B
Management response:

Thank you Ted B for your feedback. We always take our guests comments in consideration. We hope to see you again in the near future. Best regards, Sylvie

Reviewed 20 September 2016 via mobile

What a great trip, we will be back PEI and when I do we'll stay here again. The Dalvay is first class. The front desk was awesome and provided great insight. The food is excellent. I oils recommend they keep the coffee at open later in the morning. The entire staff was so friendly and helpful. No felt like the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gregory S
Management response:

Thank you Gregory S for the wonderful review! It is much appreciated and I will make sure to pass this along to all the staff. We hope to see you again in the near future. Best regards, Sylvie

Miami, FL
Reviewed 16 September 2016

Our $227/night tiny room had no AC, no TV, nor other amenities, just a bed and a bathroom. No place to even open a suitcase except on top of the bed. Closet filled with a standing fan and other items—no room for clothes. I make allowances for historic hotels, but this was just plain awful. Dalvay-by-the-sea restaurant– Dinner excellent, but...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank johnpE908TO
Management response:

Thank you for your review johnpE908TO. I am sorry to hear you had a bad experience at Dalvay. I would like to hear more about your stay at Dalvay if you could reach me at 902-672-2048 or my email smichaud@dalvaybythesea.com. Again, sorry for your bad experience at Dalvay. Sylvie

Reviewed 15 September 2016 via mobile

We had lunch at this hotel. The ground was nice. Lake and beach were nearby. Tennis, boating and bike rental were available. Several rental cottages were on site. Food and services were great. Price was reasonable. Inside was nice and charming.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank steven s
Management response:

Thank you steven s for your great review. We really appreciate it! We hope to see you in the near future,. Best regards, Sylvie

Canada
Reviewed 15 September 2016

We had a lovely time at this property, staying 1 night. The room was quite comfortable and we enjoyed a couple games of chess in the sitting room. Shannon provided great customer service and loved learning about the Dalvay. We hope to visit again. One recommendation would be better marked trails or map.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HolidayTimeNow
Management response:

Thank you HolidayTimeNow for your wonderful review. I will pass this along to Shannon. We hope to see you again in the near future. Best regards, Sylvie

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 13 September 2016

Stayed for two nights in June for a mini vacation and wasn't disappointed. If you're a fan of good food, classic decor, beachside activities (the beach is literally across the road), and just wanting to have a classic experience, it's hard to beat Dalvay. Now if only the bar was open just a few hours longer.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank canadiancreed
Management response:

thank you canadiancreed for you feedback. We really appreciate it. We usually close the bar at 10pm in June for the simple fact that we get noise complaints from rooms on the 2nd floor, but we will take your suggestion in consideration for next year. Best regards, Sylvie

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 10 September 2016 via mobile

Beautiful location along the Gulf shore. The rooms are very comfortable with all your amenities. Showers were a bit inconsistent with water temperatures so be careful as it is an old building. Dining was nice with great food but I never understood why the basics weren't on the tables like salt and pepper or sugar. We were constantly asking for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gdmckinnon
Management response:

Thank you for your constructive opinion gdmckinnon. We will certainly take this into consideration going forward. We are also aware of the plumbing issue and presently working on trying to fix it with a plumbing company. Again, thank you for your feedback. Best regards, Sylvie

Barrie, Canada
Reviewed 10 September 2016

First time visitor to the Dalvay-by-the-Sea Hotel. Found staff rude and abrupt, specifically manager and bar staff. Despite a bad first impression we elected to stay for drinks and dessert hoping things would improve, Unfortunately things went downhill quickly, surley employees in abudance, dirty dishes on the porch with flies buzzing around, empty glassware on the muskoka chairs on the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank sandra98walter
Management response:

Thank you for your feedback sandra98walter. I am sorry to hear about your bad experience at Dalvay and I would to hear more about what happened the day you were here and try to make you want to come back. I can be reached at 902-672-2048. Best regards, Sylvie

San Jose, California
Reviewed 5 September 2016 via mobile

We s stayed in a cottage and I found it to be quite spectacular with its loft master bedroom and luxury rustic feel I really appreciated it and thought it scored very high on the relaxation scale. Being from California we really appreciated how different the style of resort with a blend of traditional and artistic flare and connection to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank arnbrown
Management response:

Thank you arnbrown for your nice comments! I really appreciate it and I will make sure to pass this along to the staff. We will consider adding more activities for teenagers for next summer. We hope to see you again in the near future. Best regards, Sylvie

366 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (166)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (47)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (77)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (191)
Viewed
Cozy Queen Room (27)
Viewed
King Room (30)
Viewed
Queen Room (24)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
The Hotel (86)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dalvay
20.8 km away
The Harbour House
The Harbour House
#2 of 23 in Charlottetown
698 reviews
20.5 km away
The Great George
The Great George
#1 of 23 in Charlottetown
582 reviews
20.4 km away
The Holman Grand Hotel
The Holman Grand Hotel
#3 of 23 in Charlottetown
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 km away
Shaw's Hotel and Cottages
Shaw's Hotel and Cottages
#2 of 2 in Brackley Beach
94 reviews
9.6 km away
Brackley Beach North Winds
Brackley Beach North Winds
#1 of 2 in Brackley Beach
164 reviews
25.2 km away
Kindred Spirits Country Inn & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Dalvay-By-The-Sea, a National Historic Site of Canada, is an elegant Queen Anne Revival home built in 1895 by a Scottish-American oil tycoon. A summer resort hotel since the 1930's, Dalvay By-The-Sea is located at the east end of Prince Edward Island's National Park on scenic Dalvay Beach. There are 25 guest rooms; all are largely furnished in period antiques and all rooms offer a four-piece private bath. Each of our rooms is singular and unique. In addition, there are eight three-bedroom cottages located adjacent to the inn, offering vistas of the ocean, Dalvay Lake and acres of manicured grounds. The inn currently operates from June 1st - mid October, offering both accommodations and dining. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Dalvay by the Sea Hotel

Address: 16 Cottage Cres. | Rte. 6, Dalvay Beach, Dalvay, Prince Edward Island C0A 1P0, Canada
Region: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Dalvay
Price Range: $92 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dalvay by the Sea Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Dalvay by the Sea Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Dalvay By The Sea
Dalvay By The Sea Hotel Prince Edward Island
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Dalvay by the Sea Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Milwaukee, Wisconsin

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Dalvay by the Sea Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Best views are on the lake side.”
TommyMom, 22 May 2017 | Read review
“Fantastic location Ocean + Lake Views, Fresh Lobster, Great Chef,Service 5 star....”
Catherine2464, 14 May 2017 | Read review
“You might want to spend the extra on a room in the front with a view of the lake, especially if you spend much time in the room”
947stevenc, 28 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Choose a room overlooking the lake for wonderful sunrise views”
919rebeccap, 1 Oct 2016 | Read review
“detox from this world here!”
mikem696, 23 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$144* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$148
Hotels.comUS$144
Orbitz.comUS$144
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates