Auberge des Falaises

Auberge des Falaises

250 Chemin des Falaises, La Malbaie, Quebec G5A 2V2 Canada
la chambre de luxe
Traveller (228)
Room & Suite (100)
Dining (39)

View prices for your travel dates

Fully refundable before Thu, May 30
C$192
Fully refundable before Wed, May 29
No prepayment needed
Go to your Happy Price
C$192
Fully refundable before Wed, May 29
No prepayment needed
C$192
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#1 of 13 hotels in La Malbaie
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Value
Overlooking the St-Lawrence river, our inn offers comfortable rooms, with a river view and most with a sitting area, fireplace, whirlpool bath, and private balcony. Combined with our renowned cuisine, pool, and panoramic restaurant, your stay will be a feast for both the eyes and palate! Whether you want to relax in the comfort of your room, lounge beside our panoramic pool or savour our delightful food, charm, beauty, fine dining and romance are combined with excellence to offer you a fabulous feast for your eyes and your palate. We just added a magnificient spa, next to the pool. Nested in a restfull space surroundded by trees and flowers, it is yours to relax and enjoy this brand new equipment.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Spa
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fence around pool
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Full body massage
Massage
24-hour front desk
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Room service
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, French
413Reviews4Q+A30Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 239
  • 125
  • 29
  • 11
  • 9
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
gattara3 wrote a review Sep 2021
Ottawa, Canada391 contributions60 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This place was lovely, and the staff was very helpful. Although the room was rather small and didn’t have much space to move around, it was a very nice room with a beautiful view of the river. The shower was great – it had a large rain head, plus a handheld shower head, and also 2 water jets. The shower was spacious and had good water pressure.
We had dinner in the restaurant, and had a wonderful meal (this will be a separate post).
I would definitely return to this inn.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from David Cloutier, Directeur général at Auberge des Falaises
Responded Sep 30, 2021
Dear Gattara Thank you very much for this comment about our inn, we appreciate it. We hope to see you again if you return in our area. Best regards. David
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sapo59 wrote a review Jul 2023
New York City, New York193 contributions50 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Recently stay at Auberge and we were very pleased with the room.
If you are a light sleeper, you might want to book a room on third floor.
Rooms are carpeted so that helps if kids above you are running around or there’s a Flamenco dancer practicing their moves.

Dinner at hotel restaurant is quite good.
Nice wine list,fairly priced.
Breakfast is nice but they really can use some more servers and an a la Carte section.
Not that watching tv is a major thing but it would be nice to have something to explain how items work in more than French.
I finally figured out how to get the cable system to work on the morning we checked out.
Room balcony was a nice spot for a cocktail after a long day of whale watching.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from David Cloutier, Directeur général at Auberge des Falaises
Responded Jul 26, 2023
Dear Sapo. Thank you very much for your visit at our inn. We really appreciate you took time to share your experience at our hotel, we wish you a good end of summer and hope to see you again. David pour la famille Cloutier
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
bevbelle wrote a review Oct 2021
Ottawa, Canada8 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a wonderful dinner in an elegant dining room. The amuse-bouche was delicious, as were our appetizers of emu rolls, soup or salads. The veal was tasty but a little tough, and I enjoyed the accompanying fresh vegetables. The maple crème brûlée was very good and surprisingly so was the goat cheese banana pie! Excellent service, superb wine list.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Lots of parking, great view over the bay.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ArtsyGalBaltimore wrote a review Jul 2023
Maryland834 contributions386 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Arrived at 6:30 and learned that "the room: we booked had a non-functioning toilet so the Auberge arranged for a larger room with a view at the Petit Manoir du Casion and offered to compensate with a dinner at the auberge. I guess these disappointments even with booking months in advance and travel from far away just happen. Sigh...
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from David Cloutier, Directeur général at Auberge des Falaises
Responded Jul 8, 2023
Dear M. Baltimore. We are really sorry about the situation you had at your arrival. We got a big problem that we were unfortunately unable to fix quickly, having no other option to move you into another Hotel. we are sorry again, I hope you have enjoy your stay in the other place, we trully tried to find you something the more confortable possible. best regards David
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Patricia H wrote a review Jun 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This auberge is a gem. The food was fabulous as was the service. The staff could not have been more accommodating. As one of the few English speakers in the hotel, the French speaking staff went overboard to make my stay wonderful. Loved the location overlooking the St. Lawrence. The outside sitting area was cozy and encouraged us to rest and relax and enjoy the quiet, the view and the ambiance. My room was up a few flights of stairs but so cozy and comfortable. I felt like I was back in France. I would recommend this gem to anyone, and in fact, already have.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from David Cloutier, Directeur général at Auberge des Falaises
Responded Jul 8, 2023
Dear Patricia Thank you very much for this comment and your visit at our hotel. We are really happy to know you have enjoyed so much your stay and our installation. Thanks for taking time to come here. Best regards David
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lindak54 wrote a review Jul 2021
Montreal, Canada190 contributions91 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I’ve been here twice. It’s lovely. But only on the second visit did we notice how dated the rooms are. Old furniture pieces. But the rest makes up for it.

Yes, it has a balcony, very dated but offers spectacular views. However, you only get a few hours of sunshine early in the morning.

There is a spa area that’s just beautiful, several jacuzzis, lovely pool (the frost fence kills the mod - change it to Glass please).

There are small huts with gas fireplace and blankets for cold nights. Even a tea kettle with lovely assortment of teas.

The dining room is spectacular. Closed due to Covid this time but loved it last time. Very grand.

Tons of parking.

From the outside it looks more like a motel and so does the inside.

It’s going to take a lot of money to fix it up to a real 4 star hotel.

The food in the restaurant is superb. Worth dining in.

It’s a 10 minute walk downhill to the restaurant and town area. It’s a very small town. You can see it in a few hours.

The beauty is the location to places up the river. Spend 2 nights and discover Ile aux Coudres, Baie St Paul (only 1/2 hours).

For gold I think they have one of the most majestic views anywhere!

It’s worth visiting but the rooms are disappointing.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Higher floor to ensure nice gulf view
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from David Cloutier, General Manager at Auberge des Falaises
Responded Jul 12, 2021
Dear Miss Linda. I am sorry about your deception abour your stay at our hotel and I am pretty surprise to have this comments about our rooms. All our rooms have been renoveted on the last two years. We kept a seaside look to our room but all furnitures. tv, beds, lamps are brand new. I thing picures on our website give a good idea of the new look we gave to them. Sorry if you feel as it is old. I note that you hav enjoyed the rest of your stay. So we take note of your comments and hope to see you again Best regards David Cloutier
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
dbell753 wrote a review Jul 2022
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada5 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed for 3 nights at the Auberge . It was perfect. Breakfasts were excellent. We had dinner one ight in the restaurant and it was superb. Our room had a beautiful private balcony overlooking the St. Lawrence. Very quiet. The pool and spa area are terrific. Simon, the owner, arranged for us to go whale watching in St. Catherines which was fantastic. I would stay at the Auberge again and strongly recommend it. What a lovely area of Quebec. Merci !!!

M
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from David Cloutier, Directeur général at Auberge des Falaises
Responded Jul 15, 2022
Dear Mister Dbel, Thank you very much for taking time to review our hotel. We really appreciate it. Hope you had a good trip back to Niagara. Best regards David
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
GlobetrotterSH wrote a review Jul 2016
Canada840 contributions767 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The Charlevoix region is blessed with many good hotels and charming country inns. This is one of them. It sits just high enough above the town of La Malbaie to give us an exceptional view of the St. Lawrence River, both from the lovely dining room as well as the rooms and private balconies. Even better, it is located in the heart of Charlevoix, making it an excellent base from which to roam and discover one of the most beautiful regions in the province that is also known for its many gourmet delights that come from the Charlevoix terroir. Some of the destinations you may want to keep in mind are Parc National des Hautes-Gorges, Tadoussac's whale watching, Saguenay River and Baie Saint-Paul.

We came here with friends to play golf on the magnificent Fairmont Le Manoir Richelieu Golf Course; a day we will not soon forget. The owners of the hotel were very helpful in coordinating reservations for both Hotel and Golf Club. The spacious luxury rooms with comfortable sitting areas make you feel at home and provide ample room to get together with friends. A little re-decorating might be in order to keep up with times and the two-level floor is somewhat of an inconvenience, for us anyway.

If you plan to come here to escape from the hectic world of ours, the romantic garden with sitting areas, swimming pool, whirlpool, sauna and heated rest pavilion will make your day, I am sure.

If this review has been helpful, please let me know by clicking on Thank below.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2016
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from falaises, Gérant at Auberge des Falaises
Responded Jul 20, 2016
Dear Globetrotter Thank you very much for your comments, we really appreciate you took time to write this long review about our hotel and the region. We hope to see you again et we wsh you a really good summer. Best regards David Cloutier
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
gmarcus wrote a review Jul 2007
Toronto208 contributions189 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Very little information on hotels in this area on this website. Did receive some helpful advice regarding the hotel on one of the forums.
Auberges des Falaises is as beautiful as it looks on their website.
There are 2 buildings- one which has rooms which are one bedroom suites. These rooms are large spacious rooms with a Queen bed, jacuzzi tub, sunken living room with fireplace, and private balcony overlooking the St. Lawrence river. (It is not however a separate bedroom.)
The other building is the main lodge. We had a beautifully decorated corner room in the main lodge, which was spacious, had 2 walls of windows, and access to a shared balcony. Each room in the main building however is different, and we had friends who had booked a room which was pretty, but very small, and they then paid the upgrade fee to be in one of the suites.
The hotel sits high on a hill with spectacular views. There is a fenced in pool at an upper level, but weather was not warm enough to use it during our stay.
We had breakfast included, which was one of the best breakfasts we've ever had. Buffet table with danishes, croissants, fresh fruit, etc. You can, in addition, order one of about 12 egg or crepe dishes off a menu. Food is not only tasty, but is presented beautifully and creatively on the plate.
Dining room has 2 parts- one is more casual, and one is more formal. There is also an outside patio with (an electric) fire going in a fire pit, and an outside covered area with wicker furniture with cushions where you can gather for a drink. We used this area, while waiting for preparation of our desserts.
Dinner is fantastic. 5 course meal (table-d'hote). We liked it so much that we chose to eat here a second time during our 3 night stay. Would recommend this restaurant even if you are staying at a different hotel in the area.
Hotel is run by a family, and service is friendly and warm. Very helpful in giving advice regarding and booking activities.

For those who visit the area, we recomment the following:
1.Baie St. Paul- artist colony with lots of galleries, restaurants
2.Iisle aux Courdres- take free ferry across. Rent bicycles- tour the island in about 2 hours.
3. Hautes-Gorges Provincial Park- hiking, biking, kayaking and canoeing on the Malbaie river, boat tour
4. Whale watching (amazing- saw tons of whales!) out of Baie St. Catherine (about 45 minutes away)
5. Magnificent golf course overlooking the river

This is a beautiful area of Quebec, only 4 hours from Montreal.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2007
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesCheck-in / front desk
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Withorwithout wrote a review Sep 2012
Montreal, Canada38 contributions60 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Food was excellent, stunning view, helpful staff and nice spa installations. Rooms not sound proofed at all though and small washroom. Would definitely go back however!! And for longer. Had only one night and didn't get to enjoy all the installations.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2012
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from falaises, Manager at Auberge des Falaises
Responded Sep 19, 2012
Thank you very much for your comments. We really appreciate it and we hope to see you back next year! David Cloutier
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
rikety asked a question Sep 2016
Nova Scotia3 contributions1 helpful vote
Pet friendly ???
Answer from readytogo16
Toronto, Canada38 contributions17 helpful votes
I don't know about pets. I didn't see any during our visit. Yes there are packages with breakfast and dinner included. Our meals were very good.
Answer from David C
6 contributions2 helpful votes
Yes we do propose package with meals. You can also add activities to complete your visit of the area. You can find few of them on our web site
Answer from David C
6 contributions2 helpful votes
Bonjour M. Jean Michel! Selon la température, on démarre généralement la piscine vers la mi-mai au plus tard, mais on est sujet à la météo car on essaye de repeindre la piscine à chaque début de saison. Or l'année dernière on avait eu un printemps tellement moche que nous avions finalement démarré la piscine pour la fête de la Reine sans avoir eu l'occasion de la repeindre. Cette année nous n'aurons pas le choix d'attendre que la température soit assez clémente pour la peindre alors on souhaite que le printemps s'installe vite. David
bevbelle wrote a tip Oct 2021
Ottawa, Canada8 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Lots of parking, great view over the bay."
Read full review
Glenn L wrote a tip Sep 2021
Montreal62 contributions34 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"ask for 2nd (main) floor (or 3rd) to slightly improve view and avoid stairs"
Read full review
Lindak54 wrote a tip Jul 2021
Montreal, Canada190 contributions91 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Higher floor to ensure nice gulf view"
Read full review
dtrottier2 wrote a tip Oct 2019
Montreal, Canada126 contributions70 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"All the rooms are good"
Read full review
Debi1959 wrote a tip Oct 2019
Thornhill, Canada122 contributions139 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Select a deluxe room with a river view"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the La Malbaie area.
PRICE RANGE
C$174 - C$247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
CanadaQuebecCharlevoixLa Malbaie
NUMBER OF ROOMS
41
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Auberge des Falaises - UPDATED Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Auberge des Falaises
Which popular attractions are close to Auberge des Falaises?
Nearby attractions include Galerie d'art Au P'tit Bonheur (0.4 km), Musée de Charlevoix (0.9 km), and Boutique Charlevoix (0.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Auberge des Falaises?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Auberge des Falaises?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Auberge des Falaises?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Auberge des Falaises?
Conveniently located restaurants include Chez Truchon, Restaurant Allegro, and Cafe Chez-Nous.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Auberge des Falaises?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a sauna during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Auberge des Falaises?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and French.
Does Auberge des Falaises have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.
Is Auberge des Falaises accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All La Malbaie HotelsLa Malbaie Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in La MalbaieHotels near Auberge des Falaises
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars