We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello

392 Notre Dame, Montebello, Quebec J0V 1L0 Canada
E-mail hotel
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Take Your Time - Save Up to 20%
View deal
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (1395)
Panoramas (7)
Videos (7)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 20-10-14 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello
Updated 20-10-14 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.


#1 of 3 hotels in Montebello
Retreat to the charming countryside of Quebec! Quiet, private and peaceful — our exclusive resort manages to feel both grand and cozy at the same time. A Bucket List destination in itself, Fairmont Le Château Montebello is known for its rustic-chic flair, warm French-Canadian hospitality and cachet as the only resort within easy access of Canada’s capital. Set on 300 bucolic acres overlooking the Ottawa River, the landmark is a quintessential Canadian resort, with 210 guest rooms and suites. Soak in the 90 years of history at this former Canadian Pacific Railway hotel and private club, and take advantage of some 40 guest activities year-round. In true resort style, everything is right here. Lounge by the largest indoor hotel pool in Canada, swim and sunbathe outside, and luxuriate at the spa. Boat in to our marina. Play 18 holes of golf, a match of tennis, go dog sledding, curling, ice skating or cross-country skiing. Find solitude among our tranquil woods and cycling paths. Join us for a traditional Canadian Christmas celebration or springtime Quebecois sugar shack excursion. Sip white martinis in the château’s magnificent 1930s lodge by the towering three-story stone fireplace, the iconic centerpiece of the biggest log cabin ever built. Bienvenue (welcome)!
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Golf course
Paid wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Tennis court
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Head massage
Baggage storage
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
Languages Spoken
English, French
Hotel links
Special Rate:Take Your Time - Save Up to 20%
2851Reviews22Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,300
  • 881
  • 397
  • 188
  • 85
Time of year
Traveller type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Garnet S wrote a review Nov. 15
5 contributions1 helpful vote
Nice stay but somewhat disappointed after reservation promised some form of recogintion for our wedding anniversary . Hotel did not follow through with any recognition of wedding anniversary. Our breakfast server was attentive and pleasant.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Sleep Quality
Response from Genevieve Dumas, General Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello
Responded 1 week ago
Hello Garnet S, Please allow me to express our sincerest apologies. We are very sorry to read you did not receive any form of recognition for your wedding anniversary. The arrangements had been made and we will follow-up with our team to know what happened. We understand your disappointment. We hope that you will present us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Geneviève
Read more
Teresa K wrote a review Nov. 14
2 contributions
I’ve been coming to the château montebello for a very long time. The rooms are showing their age (wallpaper peeling from the walls, hair drying broke, backed up sink in the bathroom etc) and the staff is not very friendly or efficient so this time I was really disappointed
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Response from Genevieve Dumas, General Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello
Responded 1 week ago
Dear 325teresak, We are very sorry to read our staff did not meet your expectations as our amazing staff is one reason we are recognize throughout Fairmont Hotels. We thank you for your feedback on our rooms. We are currently working on the phase 2 of the renovation of our hotel. Regards, Geneviève
Read more
Erin D wrote a review Nov. 14
Ottawa, Canada45 contributions13 helpful votes
I highly recommend this hotel. We had a great time relaxing by the fireplace, swimming in the beautiful pool, walking the grounds and dining in the restaurant. The Covid-19 protocols made us feel very safe. The hotel had a lot of amenities that we did not even try - mountain bike and other rentals for outdoor activities. We will come back when the weather is nicer to take advantage of those offerings.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Response from Genevieve Dumas, General Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello
Responded 1 week ago
Dear 804erind, Thank you for your positive feedback. We hope to welcome you again very soon. Regards, Geneviève
Read more
SadieFrost8 wrote a review Nov. 8
Ottawa, Canada167 contributions105 helpful votes
Unfortunately Covid has really impacted the Fairmont brand. This is my third stay during Covid at a Fairmont property and yes I feel very safe by their measures but extremely disappointed with lack of staffing and with the luxuries that have tanked. In the past you would always get outstanding service Now they still aren't serving their signature Fairmont cocktails. When we arrived at noon to hang out in the lobby by the fireplace with friends the bar couldn't open till 4 due to staffing. We wanted to order food but had to either dine at the restaurant or go pool side. Our dinner was excellent so that was a bonus. All 4 of us enjoyed our meals. Our renovated room was lovely but the linens were disappointing and the thin duvet wasn't as plush and luxurious as we are used to. The mattress felt extremely firm. At breakfast we had a very stern waitress that almost rolled her eyes when we decided not to do the breakfast buffet, it was almost comical how cross she was taking our breakfast orders. Another huge issue I have is everytime I have a $50 CAA food and drink credit or this time a $20 dinning creditwith their Sunday getaway it is always this big deal at the restaurant and at reception. We end up taking about 20 minutes checking out with these credits each time. It seems so unnecessary. We are visiting the Chateau Frontenac and Queen Elizabeth this February. I am really hoping we can have better visits because it is such a shame to continually be disappointed with the Fairmont brand.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Response from Genevieve Dumas, General Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear SadieFrost8, thank for your sharing your honest constructive feedback with us. We understand the experience offered currently is different from the one we used to have prior to the pandemic. However, we are taking note of this and are working very hard to bring back similar offers we used to have while respecting the sanitary measures in place. We wish you a great stay at Château Frontenac and Queen Elizabeth and hope to receive the chance to better serve you on your next stay. Sincerely, Geneviève
Read more
Gilles B wrote a review Nov. 2
Gatineau, Canada2 contributions
The hotel seems to rely on the “rustic look” to justify the overall old and dirty carpets and old/used furniture at the foyer and in the rooms. A disappointing stay at best. You pay good money for small/basic rooms and very small bathrooms. Everything costs money, theres not even a complimentary coffee when you are waiting to check in: Starbucks coffee from a dispenser. No one to help you with the doors outside “peek” hours but eager for the tip when they are there. Not the doormen’s fault, it’s just the way the hotel seems to be managed. I’ve been there on about 10 different occasions (all organized events from an employer or friends) and nothing seems to have changed outside a newly renovated wing (that costs more)!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Response from Genevieve Dumas, General Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your honnest feedback GillesB1636. We have actually completed half of the room renovations and have received the new lobby carpet so we are looking forward to proceeding with the completion of the project as soon as we can. I do not feel we brag about being rustic; we are however proud of our historic heritage, but also looking forward to complete the renovation. Again thank you for taking the time to respond. Geneviève
Read more
US$170 - US$298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
fairmont le chateau montebello hotel montebello, chateau montebello, fairmont montebello, montebello fairmont
CanadaQuebecOutaouais RegionMontebello
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello
Which popular attractions are close to Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello?
Nearby attractions include ChocoMotive (0.7 km), Bar Le Foyer at Fairmont Le Château Montebello (0.02 km), and Lieu historique national du Canada du Manoir-Papineau (0.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello?
Conveniently located restaurants include Le Cafe Entre Amis, Le Bistro, and Snack et délices.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and locker rooms available in the fitness centre during their stay.
Is Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.8 km away from the centre of Montebello.
Are any cleaning services offered at Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.