We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Au Diable Vert

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sutton
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Au Diable Vert
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

153 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Au Diable Vert
See the most recent reviews
Showing 61: English reviews
Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 6 February 2013

It was our first time renting a cabin here. We had a great time. We stayed at a small cabin called "echo de bois". It was exactly what we wanted. Small , cozy , and romantic. Went snowshoeing for about 4 hours the next day, and really enjoyed the trails. Try the organic meat, it was amazing. The owners are...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CherylandDarryl
AuDiableVert, General Manager at Au Diable Vert, responded to this review

Dear Darryl C, Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are glad you had a great time, that is what keeps us going. So happy you enjoyed the trails, too. We'll be adding another 4km this year and 10km over the next 2-3 years on the new part of the property. Our Highland meat is always available...

Cowansville, Canada
Reviewed 20 December 2012

Au Diable Vert is an incredibly beautiful place! Over the years, we have stayed in most of the cabins, prospector tents, treehouses and gone camping numerous times. Every experience has been a great one. We enjoy hiking from spring to fall, and snowshoeing in the winter, and the view is spectacular year round. We have have always been very well...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nathalie L
AuDiableVert, Owner at Au Diable Vert, responded to this review

Dear Nathalie L thank you for taking the time to review us. Spending your weekends here when you are only 30min drive away really says a lot. Thank you and we'll see you again soon. Julie & Jeremy and the Au Diable Vert team

Montreal
Reviewed 12 December 2012

I just came back from my 4th visit to Au Diable Vert. We (family) had a blast. The views, the quiet, the cattle, the hiking, the campfires...always highlights of the trip. We are fans of alternative lodging. eco-lodges, glamping...whatever you want to call it. If you stay in an ice hotel it will be cold, if you sleep on a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ontheroadmtl
AuDiableVert, Owner at Au Diable Vert, responded to this review

Dear ontheroadmtl, thank you for taking the time to review us. We appreciate it and are thrilled you had a great time, again. You are also absolutely right to suggest guests look at the website before choosing. There are so many choices, each one special and each one with it own set of features. We are also happy to help...

Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 11 December 2012

My wife, 2 boys, 8 and 10 and me, spent a weekend in one of the tree houses recently and loved it! Check in was easy enough before we all hiked to our accommodations, which was a terrific transition into the outdoorsy weekend we were about to have. Kids were freaking out, they loved being up high with the views...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SittingBear
AuDiableVert, Front Office Manager at Au Diable Vert, responded to this review

Dear SittingBear, Thank you for taking the time to review our place. Sounds like you had a great time, although it doesn't sound like you did much "sitting" :-). It's a perfect place to bring kids, and believe it or not even though I work here I have had many family outings/vacations here. My favorite is that all the cars...

Reviewed 10 December 2012

We've stayed here as a family a few times over the years, in the treehouses and cabins. We have 2 kids age 4 and 5 and we live in BC- but we visit Sutton from time to time on our trips back east. We're used to camping in tents with the kids so the cabins are a big improvement! Don't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Skycake
AuDiableVert, Owner at Au Diable Vert, responded to this review

Dear Skycake, Thank you for taking the time to review our place. We take it as a huge compliment that your BC outdoorsy family has been a repeat customer... there is great outdoors out West, but we pride ourselves in having one of the best spots out here in the Eastern Townships. Did you know that we won the Quebec...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 5 December 2012

What a beautiful place. The scenery is spectacular. My favorite was the early mornings when the valley is filled with fog, a lake of clouds. The Highland cattle are not out of place at all, the early sun brings out the reds in their fur, i took so many pictures. They taste delicious, too. We ordered steaks and had them...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank traveljuicety
AuDiableVert, Manager at Au Diable Vert, responded to this review

Dear traveljuicety, thank you for taking the time to review us. we are absolutely thrilled you had such a good time and that you'll be back very soon. Also you dog is always welcome, and we mean it, in all lodging, on all our trails, by the river, any size no extra charge....we only ask that you help them to...

Richmond, Canada
Reviewed 28 November 2012

After booking my dream getaway to a solitary cabin in the woods at Au Diable Vert, I found all the negative reviews posted and became a little worried that I had made a big mistake. Undeterred, I packed my own pots, pans, dishes etc. and headed out with an optimistic outlook. This vacation was more than I had hoped for....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Whitefeather769
AuDiableVert, Owner at Au Diable Vert, responded to this review

Dear Whitefeather769, Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are happy you loved your stay. When it comes to personal standard everyone is different, so the rustic, romantic, quiet cabin for one, becomes the dirty old shack you had to slog to for the next. We certainly don't mind personal opinions, we do our best to give...

New York
Reviewed 23 November 2012

My husband and I used to live in the Montreal area, and we loved the Townships. Then 7 years ago we moved to NYC, and boy, do we miss the beauty, silence and fresh air of rural Quebec! Thank God, right before our move, we discovered “Au Diable Vert", and we have been going back up multiple times a year,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lilia P
AuDiableVert, Owner at Au Diable Vert, responded to this review

Dear Lilia P, Thank you for your review. We are happy to share our little paradise! There are many guests like yourself that come year after year and have followed our progress and success. Have you heard that we won both the Quebec and Canadian Tourism Award (small or medium business of the year) for 2012. You and all our...

Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 22 October 2012

I have never written a review before, but I am going out of my way this time to help others avoid having the same experience we did. Although the website gives the sense that this is a special eco-award winning resort, you should expect nothing more than a camp ground. The cabins and dishes are not left clean (some are...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank loveisyou11
AuDiableVert, Manager at Au Diable Vert, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are sorry to hear you had a bad time. We will try and respond to your comments. There has been some disconnect since the person that reserved stated: Please let me start again... Your place is wonderful and we had an enjoyable time staying there. Thank you very much...

Saint-Léonard, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed 13 September 2012

I stayed in the Eagle's Nest Treehouse cabin and I was really happy the place was clean and was exactly what I was looking for. We were there 2 nights and 3 days, it was really worth going midweek because we saved a ton and there were less guests. My husband and I are now making it a thing for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ashleyxr
AuDiableVert, Owner at Au Diable Vert, responded to this review

Dear Ashleyxr, thank you for taking the time to review our place - we are so happy that you have already made plans to come back. You will see that each season offers a very special experience. And yes, you are absolutely right during the week is usually easy to book and less busy than the weekends. until next time,...

204 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (156)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (103)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (48)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sutton
7.4 km away
Auberge des Appalaches
8.3 km away
Le Pleasant Hotel & Cafe
7.4 km away
Le Montagnard
Le Montagnard
#4 of 6 in Sutton
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 km away
Horizon Hotel
Horizon Hotel
#5 of 6 in Sutton
27 reviews
8.1 km away
Auberge Sutton Brouerie
12.5 km away
Jay Peak Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Au Diable Vert is an unusual concept in the world of wilderness outfitters, agrotourism and recreotourism, but a concept that proves more and more popular and relevant each year. Instead of just a fishing rod or gun, our guests have the chance to appreciate nature and the spectacular view of the Appalachian and Green mountains, with binoculars, camera, hiking poles, a kite or the hand of a loved one. Facilitating the Quebec wilderness experience, no matter the season, is what we strive to do better and better each year. A compelling and unique choice of activities, range from exploring our mountain top site in the mountains, to splashing, paddling and fishing in the valley, to pedalling through the treetops on the unique-in-Canada VeloVolant canopy cycle. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Au Diable Vert

Address: 169 Staines | Glen Sutton, Sutton, Quebec J0E 2K0, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Sutton
Number of rooms: 50
Also Known As:
Au Diable Vert Sutton, Quebec
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Au Diable Vert staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Montreal, Canada

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Au Diable Vert staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Superb view, 10 x 10 wooden camping platform.”
 of 5 bubbles samirghazi, 1 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Make sure you're in great shape before you go.”
 of 5 bubbles v_roniquet909, 24 Nov 2015 | Read review
“Choose away from the trails”
 of 5 bubbles 4498HERO, 9 Sep 2015 | Read review
“I always pick a cabin that is further away from the reception desk to get away from the noise of arriving and leaving guests as well as children. I usually pick a cabin towards the top of the hill to get better sunlight and a better view.”
  • The Zugspitze perched cabin
  • This is the view from the Zugspitze perched cabin.
 of 5 bubbles heather13graham, 30 Nov 2014 | Read review
“Paths away from the main field and parking area can be difficult to access with all your gear as the sites are walk in only and the terrain is mountainous. The fantastic views and night sky are the payoff!”
 of 5 bubbles joaquind866, 30 Nov 2014 | Read review
5 of 5