Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa

Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa

Carretera Federal Chetumal- Puerto Juarez Km.259-100, Predio 1, Akumal 77710 Mexico
Traveller (10806)
Room & Suite (795)
Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa
Videos (2)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#9 of 16 hotels in Akumal
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Park View
Green
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Diving
Babysitting
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Private pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Tennis court
Aerobics
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Table tennis
Indoor play area for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Salon
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Butler service
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Safe
VIP room facilities
Iron
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms

Location

Carretera Federal Chetumal- Puerto Juarez Km.259-100, Predio 1, Akumal 77710 Mexico
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 63 out of 100
63
Cancun Airport
78.9 km
See all flights
Aerodromo de Playa Del Carmen
29.5 km
See all flights
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles9,790 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

The Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa is nestled in lush greenery, offering a vibrant atmosphere and modern rooms that receive compliments for their cleanliness. However, some travelers have raised concerns about housekeeping and noise levels in the rooms. While the array of amenities, including pools and entertainment options, is appreciated, service inconsistencies and reservation difficulties have been noted. Guests are divided on value, with some questioning the rates and overall experience at this property, despite the positive remarks about the staff's friendliness and professionalism.
Atmosphere
Lively
Rooms
Modern
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Mixed
Service
Inconsistent
Amenities
Comprehensive

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveller reviews and learn more about how the site works.
9,790Reviews1,655Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 5,708
  • 2,412
  • 915
  • 429
  • 327
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Lesley M wrote a review Aug 2022
Knowsley Village, United Kingdom
+1
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Where do I start, I was terrified about going here after reading such negative reviews, and as this holiday had cost £10,000 for my family to spend two weeks here and this had taken us 18 months to save for.

I stayed in Kantenah, and was given two adjoining rooms one for me, hubby and teenage son, and my daughter and her boyfriend were just next door. We stayed in rooms 4407 & 4408, both rooms were fabulous and spacious , comfy beds and we all slept well for the whole two weeks, bathroom had bath & lovely powerful shower and little bottles of toiletries were provided and replenished as needed.

I absolutely love this hotel from the moment we stepped off the coach, it is grand and gorgeous, check in was easy and the transport drivers loaded our cases into a vehicle and drove us to our rooms and brought all the cases up the two flights of stairs for us.

Although exhausted after 16 hours of travelling due to a delay with our airline, we were exhausted and hungry so we went for a bite to eat and a quick drink before going to bed, lots of hot food still available and a. Ice cold beer to two was exactly what we needed before we went to bed.

The restaurants serve such a fantastic variety of food and have chefs cooking any pasta dish you want fresh although they have lots prepared if you prefer to help yourself, and the amount of steaks, pork chops, salmon and fish being cooked before you shows there is no expense spared here, there are also lots of fish and the salmon is absolutely delicious, which I ate most days with the rice dish on offer that day.

How people can say there is nothing to eat, or it is repetitive I can only say you have not gone to the same place as me, as there is lots and lots to choose from, and yes it can be repetitive but with the huge variety they offer it would be hard for them to not be repetitive, we always found lots of delicious food to eat, even my fussy teenager although he didn’t eat most foods he didn’t go hungry, the waiters & waitresses always attentive in filling water glasses and getting beers or soft drinks for you, and if you finish your drink they are back over asking if they can get you another one. They work damn hard and do it all with a smile even when they couldn’t understand my scouse accent they got someone else over to ask us what we wanted.

The pool is amazing, and they have lots of activities on throughout the day, one of the entertainment staff called Aaron is just what the hotel needs, he is so full of enthusiasm and fun, I couldn’t join in any activities due a knee injury but enjoyed watching his aqua gym from poolside on my sun bed sipping a mango marguerita, now they are delicious.

The girls poolside who take your drink orders are worth their weight in gold, we had our favourite although they all work hard, if anyone deserved to be tipped well it is them, they don’t stop all day, and will remember your drinks and make sure you are well looked after, please tip them any opportunity you can.

We didn’t see any shows so cannot comment on them, we normally just enjoyed a few drinks in the lobby bar as we are more about making the most of our days as a family rather then staying out al night, I think the latest we got in was 22:30, the shame of it as we are on holiday but we would of nodded off on the comfy couches they have in the reception areas.

We did have an issue in sports bar as we asked for a coke for my teenage son but he was given a vodka & coke, and said it tasted funny but as he had just had ice cream he thought it was that, we did report this and are satisfied with the outcome, training and support will be given and hopefully this mistake will not happen again.

Please don’t read the reviews like I did, haters going to hate and find issues when looking to them, I didn’t go looking for them and ignored any I found as I have fallen deeply in love with this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Palladium Hotel Group, Atención al huésped/Recepción at Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa
Responded Aug 31, 2022
Dear 558LesleyM. Thank you for choosing Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & SPA for your recent stay in the Riviera Maya. We appreciate your review about your overall experience at our resort, which we are delighted that it was to your and your family's total satisfaction. We are delighted that you were able to enjoy our facilities, our variety of food and beverages, and above all the main element that distinguishes us: the excellent service of our staff. We regret the incident at the bar, we appreciate you mentioned it as it helps us to create strategies for improvement and prevent it from happening in the future, however we are glad that the problem was solved in a good way and did not tarnish in the least your experience. We look forward to welcoming you again and providing the service you and your family deserve. Ivan Campos Guest Satisfaction Lead
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
firks wrote a review Mar 2020
Lancs,England
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We just returned this morning from our 4th visit to this hotel and it was just as good as it has always been. Some areas of the hotel are ready for a bit of refurbishment but nothing major.

The thing that makes this place so great is the staff without a doubt; everyone is so friendly and helpful. They work really hard to make sure everything is right for your holiday. Special shout out to Daniel, Alberto and Filiberto in the swim up bar for looking after my hubby, also to Maria and Lourdes who walk endlessly around the huge pool area delivering drinks to the guests. Also to Alfredo and all the guys in the Gran Azul bar for their excellent service. In Kantenah lobby we were served by Santiago, Maribel and Gennaro and in Hemingways and Churchills by the 2 Luis's and Dalila.Special thanks to Luis in Churchills for my final night cocktail and to Hemingway's Luis for my sombrero. We also need to mention German who is in training to become a supervisor which means he has to work very long days at the moment, despite this he never failed to greet us with a smile, we wish him all the very best for the future. Last but not least I have to mention Jesus who educated my husband about the sapote tree and many other things pertaining to Mayan culture.

The entertainment and activity programme at Grand Palladium is continuous and wide ranging, from the professional shows in the Colonial theatre to the individual performers throughout the resort. The people of Palladium work tirelessly to ensure guests are entertained and have the opportunity to exercise too. Dance lessons, tequila tasting, beach and water volleyball, aqua aerobics, yoga, pilates, you name it they provide it!

The choice of a la carte restaurants is fantastic- we especially love the steak house, Portofino and the Brazilian restaurant. All the buffet restaurants cater for whatever you might need and the dessert selection is fabulous.

Finally the gardeners, cleaners and maintenance staff never stop working to enhance the environment and keep things working and the guys who clean the pools all day long both above and below the waterline.

We will definitely be returning to this hotel in the future, keep up the great work, what a team!!!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Villas 41/42/46/47 are close to the lobby and to the pool
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from PalladiumRivieraMaya, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa
Responded Mar 10, 2020
Dear firks, On behalf of the entire team of Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, we would like to thank you for sharing your opinion. We are delighted to read you had an excellent experience enjoying all our facilities and especially the attention provided by our hard-working staff. Your nice words will certainly be shared with each one of the mentioned above. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future. Kind regards, Lizeth Arratia Hospitality Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
SUNshine23-10 wrote a review Feb 2020
Harlow Essex
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I stayed here for 10 nights from 27th Jan-5th Feb. We had previously stayed at the Colonial 9 years ago, and whilst that holiday was also good, we feel our stay this time was even better.
Check in was quick, and we were taken by shuttle to our room. Block 41 was just around the corner from the lobby, which was very convenient.The downside to that was our room was facing the main road, which although you could not see it, was quite noisy when out on the balcony.
Our room was a deluxe double, it was spacious, beds were comfortable. The bathroom had a modern shower fixture and a bath, we always had plenty of hot water sometimes too hot!. Our room was always clean and we had plenty of towels etc. Thanks to Liliana for this. The whole hotel is kept spotlessly clean.

You will not ever go hungry if you stay here! food is on offer 24hrs a day. Basically as one restaurant closes another one opens. We ate mostly in the Hacienda buffet. We have seen many all inclusive buffets over the years, and I think this buffet has to be the best for choice and variety that we have ever seen. We ate in 2 A La Cart restaurants, Portofino, and Ribs & More. The food quality was good, thanks to Angel for his service.

The grounds are kept lovely, as are the swimming pools. There was no need to get up early to get a sun lounger, always plenty available. In fact, even though there are 4 hotels on site, they cover such a large area, no where, not even the restaurants ever felt crowded. The beach was lovely and plenty long enough to have a good walk/run. We never had any problem with seaweed whilst we were there.

The only negative about the whole holiday, was the air conditioning in our room.It was quite noisy, but we managed to remedy the problem by turning it off!!

As the hotel is in the middle of the jungle, there was lots of wildlife to see, which was a cute bonus! It therefore also means that there is no where to walk to outside of the complex. We did go into Playa Del Carmen one afternoon by taxi, and this was arranged for us by one of the bell boys in the lobby.

We loved our holiday at Kantenah, and have no hesitation to recommend it.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Block 41 was close to Lobby of Kantenah
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from PalladiumRivieraMaya, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa
Responded Feb 15, 2020
Dear SUNshine23-10, Thank you for choosing our resort after 9 years to spend your vacations in the Mexican Caribbean and for sharing your impressions through this social media outlet. It is great to know you had an amazing time and that you especially appreciated the cleanliness, the natural surroundings and our food offerings. We appreciate you recommending us, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future. Kind regards, Lizeth Arratia Hospitality Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
savvyamsterdamtraveller wrote a review Feb 2020
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We have just returned from the Grand Palladium (Katenah) after one week of nothing less than a magical holiday. I am quite a picky traveler with very high standards, especially because I am a chef and sommelier and expect a high standard in service. This hotel does not miss a beat, no stone is unturned and every single detail is planned and taken care of.

We were treated like VIPs and were absolutely astounded at the level of kindness, genuine and care from everyone. And I mean EVERYONE.

The quality of food and the variety of food offered at the two show kitchens we went to (Hacienda and Tekal) were superior. There is something for everyone. The quality of ingredients used, the level of creativity and the level of cleanliness I have never seen before at such a mass production level. Marbella, one of the hostesses there is sharper than a tack, never missing a beat, promptly seating guests in the most warm and welcoming way. Her shining bright smile started our day and she warmed our hearts.

The pool areas always clean, never a need to reserve lounge chairs (same applies for the beach area), and always full of staff walking around with happy faces offering you a drink. To see such genuine care from staff who work so hard and so many hours was so refreshing and just contributed even more to our vacation.

The activities were abundant, again, always something for everyone. Activities staff were such gems, Didier, Abril and Fernanda never not trying to involve us or engage in conversation with us which, with all the guests at the property, made us feel incredibly welcome and special.

Our 6 year old daughter chose to go to the Mini-Club every day and I don't blame her. Brenda, Ariadna and Mayku are three phenomenal women who made sure our daughter (and all the other children) were active, engaged, having fun, learning, participating in the nightly shows. These three go above and beyond the call of duty to do their jobs (and more) so that we could have much needed Mom and Dad time as a couple. What angels.

The bar staff at the main pool at Katenah...Alberto, Filiberto, Carlos and Daniel...what can I say. By the second day of our stay, as soon as they saw us, already had something waiting for us to drink. These men work so incredibly hard and with such passion.

The only suggestion I would like to make is to replace the matresses. They do need an upgrade. But minor when you are being treated like royalty. Thank you for such a wonderful vacation!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from PalladiumRivieraMaya, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa
Responded Feb 24, 2020
Dear DKGAmsterdam, Thank you very much for choosing Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa for your vacation. It is great to know for your assessment that your stay was up to your expecations, mainly thanks to the attentions of our miniclub staff. We want to thank you for sharing your honest comments regarding our mattresses, for us they are of great help to create improvement strategies aimed at the satisfaction of our guests. Our doors will always be open to please you once again with our unparalleled Palladium hospitality. Best regards, Kenia Rodríguez Hospitality Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
kathi c wrote a review Mar 2020
Austin, Texas
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I booked this trip for Spring Break 2020, based on the ratings and reviews. Let me add my 2 cents. First of all, the resort is very large. Plan on doing LOTS of walking. I knew this going in, but what I did not appreciate were all of the cats on the property! My daughter is severely allergic, and if I had read one review mentioning all the cats, we would never have stayed here. Thank goodness we had brought her epipens! Some other things to note:
1. The property needs more signage and clarification to get where you want to go. It all can get pretty confusing.
2. Our 2 rooms were on the 3rd floor. There are NO elevators on the Kantenah property, so be aware of that if you don't want to walk up and down stairs.
3. The electricity would randomly turn off in our rooms. We guessed there must be a timer or motion sensor?? Never could figure that one out.
4. The resort has a wonderful photo lab on site. Unfortunately, we had no knowledge of it until our last night there. It would have been great to get some family portraits on the beach! No one really explains all the available amenities to you. You have to investigate and figure them out for yourselves.
6. The staff are very kind when you need to request something.
7. The "trains" that run "every 10 minutes"??? Not so much! We were lucky to see one every 15 minutes and unless you threw your body in front of it, the driver would drive right by you without a glance. Maybe the resort could put up some dedicated train stops where people have a good chance of actually getting picked up.
8. The mini-golf course is terrible! Basically the same hole repeated 18 times. It was challenging for my 3 teens who regularly golf, can't imagine a younger child not getting incredibly frustrated. Needs to be redesigned and redone to modernize it and make it more family friendly.
9. The food was interesting. Our family is not used to seeing a lot of foreign food, so a majority of the dishes offered on the buffet were not appealing to us personally, but the food always looked well prepared and there was plenty of it!
10. The teen activity center, the Black and White Club, was empty every time my kids ventured there. "Pretty lame" was their opinion. This feature was a big selling point for this resort when I booked, so pretty disappointing!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Cancelon.com
Date of stay: March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from PalladiumRivieraMaya, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa
Responded Mar 23, 2020
Dear kathic542, Thank you for choosing Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa as your vacation destination and for the time you have invested in sharing your opinion. We appreciated you mentioning the aspects you consider need some improvement; you can rest assured that we will give the utmost consideration to your observations in order to keep providing memorable stays to all our guests. We hope that we remain an option for your next vacations and that we can host you in the future so you can experience all the positive changes made based on our guests’ recommendations. Kindest regards, Lizeth Arratia Hospitality Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tiffany Evans wrote a review Jan 2020
4.0 of 5 bubbles
My family and I went to Mexico for the Christmas holiday. We stayed at this resort. The resort is huge! It's not too bad of a walk, but there are trams that come around every 10 minutes or so to take you to your destination. We stayed in a junior suite and it was a clean, decent room. The balcony was small with no view, only trees. The beds were comfortable with many pillows which is a plus for me. The mini bar consisted of only water, beer and juice. The grounds were beautiful and well kept. The beach was nice but, very rocky. I would definitely suggest water shoes. The entertainment team, POP, was very fun and entertaining. Fernanda, Celeste, Armando and Benjami. They all were very engaging and energetic! The pools were VERY cold and really deep. Not the depth I'm accustoming to seeing at resorts. My daughter whom loves to frolic in the pool was unable to do so due to the depth. It was impossible for her to come off of the steps due to not being able to touch the bottom of the pool. This resort is very quiet and laid back though. If we weren't at the pool or beach, most of our time was spent at the Colonial. The nightly shows were held here and pretty much all other entertainment. If you're looking to party the night away, this is not the resort for you. :)
The buffets were not the best. The food was constantly cold. We ate omelets, made to order, every morning so to have a hot breakfast. For dinner, we definitely chose to frequent the a la cartes to ensure hot, prepared food.
All in all, we had a beautiful and fun holiday here. It was our first time in Mexico and hopefully it will not be our last.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from PalladiumRivieraMaya, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa
Responded Jan 9, 2020
Dear E_Tiffany, We would like to thank you for choosing Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa as your vacation destination and for the time you have taken in sharing your opinion. We are delighted to know that you had a great time during your Christmas vacations enjoying our facilities, the attention provided by our staff, our grounds and the different entertainment activities. Likewise, we appreciate your observations and you can rest assured that we will give them the utmost consideration as we are a company which strives to be better and the comments from our customers are crucial to achieve that. We hope you give us the opportunity to welcome you back in the future. Kind regards, Lizeth Arratia Hospitality Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
wtravellersny wrote a review Jun 2021
New York City, New York
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is the second time we stayed at the Grand Palladium in Riviera Maya. We stayed before in 2010 and loved it.
Things changed a bit though and also because of covid.
Overall, our experience is very nice! We loved the hotel, the giant pools, we got upgraded to Junior suite at the white sands section because the kantenah section was closed due to lack of travelers. I love this resort also because of a lot of animals roaming around the resort including iguanas, coatis, agoutis and beautiful pelicans on the beach.
The resort had lots of restaurants but because of covid only two per day were open for dinner and buffet for breakfast and lunch. We very much loved the service. The food is good in the buffet but a bit worse at the a-la-carte restaurants. The service was overall very good. We felt everyone really cared and tried to go above and beyond to make the stay comfortable and memorable. The beach is very nice even though you cants swim everywhere due to parts of the beach are rocky. Back in 2010 the spa entrance was included in the regular price and I remember how much we loved it. This time it is no longer included and it’s $30 per person extra. On the first date we were promised free entrance and half off massage if we attend the membership presentation. It was a big mistake. The presentation took a lot of time and some hard sell technics. We booked a massage but when we came to the spa we were told that because the price is discounted already, 50% isn’t applicable. Looking back, I would have paid $30 per person entrance fee to the hydro services in spa instead of spending hours on the club presentation and hard sell discussions. No offense, we really like this hotel but membership just doesn’t sound flexible enough for us.
Do we want to be back at this hotel? Definitely yes!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kenia Rodriguez, Atención al huésped/Recepción at Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa
Responded Jun 7, 2021
Dear wtravellersny, We would like to thank you for choosing Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa, as your vacation destination and for sharing your detailed feedback. We are glad to know that regardless some aspects you did enjoy the attention provided by most of the staff members, our wildlife, the pool, as well as the relaxing ambience. Grand Palladium, is already your second home in the Mexican Caribbean, and our doors will always remain open to create permanent family memories that last for a lifetime. Kind regards, Kenia Rodriguez, Hospitality Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Shannon M wrote a review Jan 2020
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My family and I had such a wonderful vacation. This is our second time at the Kantenah, our first time was 12 years ago and this place is still incredible. Friendly, attentive staff. Ryan at the front desk checked us in and I think it was the best check in after a long day of travelling we’ve ever received. The entire grounds are kept so clean. Even the bathrooms down at the pools and beaches are well looked after. Always a spot for sun or shade down at the pools and beaches. The food here is delicious. A big variety and great flavours. Yes sometimes the food at the buffets are not as hot, but again it’s a buffet and it’s a matter of timing and availability. Everyone in the buffets work hard to turn over tables and are always walking around checking for refresh. Rooms are kept clean, cold and beds are very comfortable. We will definitely be coming back to this resort.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from PalladiumRivieraMaya, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa
Responded Jan 28, 2020
Dear Jet622979, Thank you for the lovely review and for returning! We love to see our guests back with us and feel that a repeat guest is our highest compliment. We are glad that we lived up to and even exceeded your expectations from the moment you arrived until the time you left. Personalization is key to our service philosophy, and we’re elated to know that our efforts made your stay all the better. Finally, I’d like to thank you for the personal acknowledgment to Ryan. It would be a pleasure to host you any time. Kind regards, Kenia Rodriguez Hospitality Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
PeterJFraczek wrote a review Feb 2020
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We have booked 3 rooms as a one group traveling together, all room has been allocated in the different building. We were told also that we cannot get a room on the ground floor, even though we have been travelling with infant and toddler (no lift in the building to transport buggy). Apparently it was H&S requirement set by TUI UK.
Pool towels never available.Room towels and bed sheets very old (grey).
None of the staff is able to help you resolve any issue.
Queuing to buffet restaurants each time (sometimes up to 20 mins).
Very stony beach (sharp stones in the water), not visible on Google map.
Poor evening entertainment.
Cons:
Flamingos, crocodiles and other living create to watch on daily basis.
Nice flora.
Really nice swimming pools, especially small heated pools (one adults only).
Nice staff in bars and good room service.
Lobby looks good (but rooms needs updating).
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from PalladiumRivieraMaya, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa
Responded Feb 29, 2020
Dear PeterJFraczek, Thank you for sharing your experience at Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa to contribute to the constant improvement of our service. We appreciate your feedback regarding some areas of opportunity as our rooms. You can rest assured that we will give the proper follow-up to your observations in order to keep providing memorable stays to all our guests. Again, thank you for making us your chosen Hotel, we would love to have the opportunity to welcome you in the future and arrange every detail to ensure that your family holidays are as perfect as you deserve. Warmest regards, Kenia Rodríguez Hospitality Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
yaser002 wrote a review Apr 2022
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Reception staff were not friendly at all, only very basic information was provided
Clearly customer service isn't top of their priority
The room was not clean at all, dust was visible in corners and on the ceiling fan lots of dust as well
Small spiders around which we had to clean up
Hair in the bathtub which was disgusting
The overall smell of the room was very odd and it took few days for that to go
Pillows also had a filthy smell inside, and stains all over the pillow cases
Mattress was unbelievably uncomfortable, very soft and bouncy, probably older than both me and my partner age together
Air con stopped working on the third day and it made it impossible to sleep that night
Coming back from a very long day trip, we couldn't get in the room for over one hour and a half as the card stopped working and it took them very long and a lot of back and forth to get someone to change the door handle and get us in the room
Only once we received some additional water from room service and an already opened orange soda bottle
We only found out very late of all the different activities available, only after meeting the entertainment staff and speaking to them, reception did not inform us about any of these
The entertainment staff was absolutely amazing, best employees around there, most friendly and fun, we only wish we knew about everything from our first day so we could engage in more activities, we only enjoyed these in the last 2 days

All problems we had took long to get resolved and some were just workarounds. It also felt like they were very used to getting complaints. When speaking to manager about our issues we were offered a 25mins massage and spa access "as a gesture of good will" to compensate for the stress caused. To have that we were asked to sign a document which stated we wouldn't share any bad experience on social media or make any formal complaint. We refused to sign that as we wanted to share our experience and were no longer given the massage and spa.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2022
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Palladium Hotel Group, Atención al huésped/Recepción at Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa
Responded Apr 6, 2022
Dear yaser002, It was a pleasure to welcome you at Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa. I regret to hear, however, that you felt let down by your visit . I can understand your frustration, the issues you faced were avoidable, and we'll be sure to correct them. Again, we regret that this situation affected your overall impression of our Hotel and staff, nevertheless we would appreciate a second opportunity to show you that we can offer you the truly remarkable experience that you deserve. Kind regards, Kenia Rodriguez Hospitality SR Advisor
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from annoncapecod
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina16,474 contributions99 helpful votes
Yes, catamaran, paddle boards, paddle boats, kayaks,snorkeling
Joanne asked a question May 2024
10 contributions4 helpful votes
Hello how long is the transfer to the hotel from the airport. Thank you.
Answer from annoncapecod
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina16,474 contributions99 helpful votes
If you have a private, direct transfer it is an hour - 75 minutes depending on traffic. If you have a shared transfer that makes other stops it can tak much longer. I suggest hiring a private transfer through VIP Riviera Maya or AGI Tours.
Joanne asked a question May 2024
10 contributions4 helpful votes
Hi deluxe garden view room what number block is nearest the pool .many thanks .
Answer from Pudge56
Arizona114 contributions35 helpful votes
Go online and Google: Grand Palladium Riviera Maya Resort map. Kantenah is in yellow. The big main Colonial pool is "F" on the map. You'll have a bit of a walk.
Answer from Pudge56
Arizona114 contributions35 helpful votes
Tipping is a personal thing. Staff appreciates it when you do but you still get great service if you don't. You can do what you feel is right. There is no set standard amount for tipping. There are big tippers, middle of the road tippers, low tippers and no tippers! We have gone to the resort since 2007. This is what we do (USD currency): $5.00 for bellman that takes your luggage to your room (also to the bellman on departure from the resort).....Housekeeping $3.00 per day (lay it under the pillow).....room fridge person $1.00 per day (stick it inside the fridge)......buffet breakfast and lunch $1.00 and evening buffet $2.00......waitstaff in evening restaurants $5.00-10.00......barman or bar waitress $1.00 every other round.....cart driver $1.00 a ride.
Answer from kayak56
Halifax, Canada112 contributions42 helpful votes
We often brewed our own coffee in our room in the morning. The buffet opens at 7 am and coffee (or cappuccino) is available there - if you go in and sit down. Also once the bars open - las Olas on the beach next to the pool- coffee was available there as well. There is no coffee shop as a stand alone.
Kari W wrote a tip Yesterday
7 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The large pools have different vibes. The White Sands pool is much more relaxing and The Colonial pool is more party orientated."
Read full review
mark p wrote a tip Jun 16
Northumberland, United Kingdom7 contributions1 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"The secret adult pool is worth seeking out for peace and quiet "
Read full review
Bonnie wrote a tip Jun 7
8 contributions4 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"White sands buffet and pool area are quieter, adults only pool is great and open until midnight "
Read full review
Sam wrote a tip Jun 4
Ystrad Mynach, United Kingdom18 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Xel-ha is a brilliant day out Don’t take towels - you can get them at the poolside daily so save the space in your case Download their app"
Read full review
Seaside37768227658 wrote a tip May 2024
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book restaurant's at earliest possible opportunity. "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Akumal area.
PRICE RANGE
C$415 - C$659 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
kantenah palladium grand, grand palladium kantenah hotel, palladium mexico, palladium grand resort, hotel grand palladium kantenah, palladium kantenah, grand maya palladium riviera, grand palladium kantenah resort spa, g palladium kantenah, grand palladium mayan
LOCATION
MexicoYucatan PeninsulaQuintana RooRiviera MayaAkumal
NUMBER OF ROOMS
422
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa
What are some of the property amenities at Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Chic Cabaret & Restaurant, La Adelita, and El Gaucho.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa have airport transportation?
Yes, Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Does Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
All Akumal HotelsAkumal Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in AkumalHotels near Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars