We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Almaplena Eco Resort & Beach Club

Traveller (503)
Pool & Beach (117)
Room & Suite (64)
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget"}}
About
  • Excellent70%
  • Very good20%
  • Average6%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible2%
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeaders Gold level
Almaplena is a small Ecological Beach Resort that strive to be low environmental impact. The Hotel sets directly on a private beach of the Mexican Caribbean Sea with powdery white sand and turquoise water. Almaplena is far away from the crowds and next the tropical jungle. All the 9 accommodations are beachfront. Right in front of the beach there is an excellent spot for snorkeling. Shaded palapas, lounge chairs, beach cushions and hammocks.
Read more
Property amenities
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Multilingual Staff
Non-Smoking Hotel
Room features
Suites
Non-Smoking Rooms
Family Rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Family Resort
Great View
HOTEL CLASS
Location
Full view
Getting there
Chetumal Airport65 km
Corozal Airport76 km
See all nearby hotels
Nearby restaurants
See all nearby restaurants
Nearby attractions
See all nearby attractions
Reviews (433)
Filter reviews
175 results
Traveller rating
122
31
13
5
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
122
31
13
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shrimp tacos costa maya the owner day pass wanted lunch cruise ship excursion amazing lunch fish detailed directions black beans guacamole get away this wonderful place perfect getaway taxi ride piece of heaven amazing hotel
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 175 reviews
Reviewed October 29, 2018

If you want to be far away from the crows but with a good structure, this is the hotel for you. Only 25 min away from Mahahual by car, this hotel is one of the best I have stayed in isolated beaches. The service is...More

2  Thank Juestra
Reviewed October 26, 2018

Though the location may not be appealing to those looking for a place to stay close to Mahahual beach, it actually worked wonders for us. It is close enough to the "malecon" that driving there is not a big hazzle, but being a few miles...More

1  Thank porff
Reviewed August 20, 2018 via mobile

I stayed here with my partner in August and the resort was amazing. We called up on our way and Margarita was very helpful in giving us detailed directions on how to find the property. I really liked the style of the rooms having viewed...More

2  Thank Kirsty S
Reviewed August 10, 2018 via mobile

**RECOMMENDATION** Contact the Hotel to review the current seagrass conditions prior to booking because you will not get a refund if the beach in inaccessible and you can’t swim in the water because it is choked with churning brown drifts of seagrass. We live in...More

6  Thank Kerry S
Reviewed July 22, 2018 via mobile

Beautiful resort with an excellent personnel attention. Special thanks to Mayte for all the kindness and helpful information. She makes you feel home. This resort has a restaurant. The food is very good, price wise normal for a resort in this area. Try out “pasta...More

Thank Rosario S
View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Megs867
September 6, 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from LondonSchnecke | Reviewed this property |
Hello, No it is very deserted in fact as there is no other hotel around. The only thing to bear in mind is the seagrass, when we were there there was a problem all along the coast up to Cancun with massive amounts of... More
1
Vote
Kerry S
July 26, 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from wendy04662016 | Reviewed this property |
Hi, the wifi only works in the eating area. Its OK however not super fast.
0
Votes
Diane V
February 19, 2018|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from MOnchi377 | Reviewed this property |
I am not sure Better to contact the hotel The hotel is 17 km from town
0
Votes
Room Tips
"All rooms are beach front. Choose a ground floor room if you want to get directly from your bed to the sand."
224s_bastienm
Jul. 3, 2017
Read review
"ask for a room with private terrace, amazing sunset/sunrises and the breeze is awesome"
alexjablonski
May 9, 2017
Read review
"Pick a room on the upper floor. There is no A/C so get a room with a lot of windows"
ElianaG870
Feb. 20, 2017
Read review
"Upstairs rooms will have better views of the ocean but downstairs rooms are right on the beach!"
Munichchick
Oct. 17, 2016
Read review
Show More 
PRICE RANGE
US$91 - US$201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
MexicoYucatan PeninsulaQuintana RooCosta MayaMahahual
NUMBER OF ROOMS
9
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing