We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Stoke Place

PricelineUS$89*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Stoke Place
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

622 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 616: English reviews
Start your review of Stoke Place
 Click to rate
London
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

We got married here in 2014 and celebrated our anniversary here recently. The grounds are beautiful and the staff are all very welcoming. The service is excellent and the new menu was wonderful. We can't wait to come back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JasmineSall
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Best night sleep for a long time. Super Comfy bed. Egyptian cotton sheets feather pillows and a nice deep bath. Lovely views of the lake and all for under £100 mid week last minute break only complaint that I didn't see a lift

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Petethepear
Adam S, General Manager at Stoke Place, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments, so pleased you enjoyed your visit to Stoke Place, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards Adam Salter General Manager

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The check in process was smooth and pleasant and we were shown to the bar as well as our room which was excellently appointed - The Gloucester Suite. The room was large with views of the fabulous gardens. I found the hotel to have its nuances being a grade II listed property however, these added to the charm and feel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andy W
Adam S, General Manager at Stoke Place, responded to this review

Thank you for your excellent feedback on your recent stay with us at Stoke Place, particularly in relation to the team and service you received. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards Adam Salter General Manager

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The building and grounds are outstanding. Service at check in and check out was excellent. The only reason for the lower score was that there was no hairdryer in the room. Every time we rang reception there was no answer despite it supposed to be manned 24 hours a day...this was at 6pm. We finally got through to someone yet...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RebeccaLuce
Adam S, General Manager at Stoke Place, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, and I was pleased to see that in general you enjoyed your stay with us, and indeed would recommend Stoke Place to other guests; however, I am sorry we so clearly under-performed in providing you with a hairdryer promptly, and please do accept my apologies for this - it is unlike the team to fall...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After ringing round several hotels, I spoke to Cam who was quite possibly the nicest and most helpful person you could ever speak to. I couldn't make my mind up about what kind of room to go for and asked a ridiculous amount of questions! She honestly couldn't have been any better. Upon arrival, Chris had been fully briefed on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank liannesims
Adam S, General Manager at Stoke Place, responded to this review

Wonderful feedback following your stay with us, thank you so much. We look forward to welcoming you back to Stoke Place in the future. Kind regards Adam Salter General Manager

Harlow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were sold this break as a luxury one, not so. The room was poor, bathroom even worse, then dinner... half of it went back to the kitchen where the chef was too busy to speak to us. Avoid this (Stoke) place and treat yourself to some genuine luxury at the nearby Stoke Park, where James Bond played golf!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank King_Leonidas_300
Adam S, General Manager at Stoke Place, responded to this review

As you are aware, we have already fully responded to your complaint directly, on now three separate occasions; a complaint which we feel to be largely unjustified and unfair. Whilst we will always fully accept constructive and deserved criticism, we will equally refute that which is not, particularly when a level of unnecessary rudeness to the staff has been reported...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is the second time we have stayed in Stoke Place - first for our 'mini-moon' and now for our fist anniversary and we absolutely love this place! We have stayed in two suites which are very big, have stand-alone baths and have beautiful views of the garden. This time we had food included in our deal (celebration package and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joel F
Adam S, General Manager at Stoke Place, responded to this review

I was pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us recently, particularly the quality of the food and service, and thank you very much for your positive feedback, and I will certainly pass on your kind comments to Rene. Equally, I have taken on board your comments on staff knowledge in terms of the package inclusions, and...

Maidstone, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Beautiful period country house. I have to agree with previous reviews who said that there was no explanation of where the restaurant was and bar but I found the staff very pleasant. On the first night I had an attic room, as the reception said they were fully booked and this was all they had. Well I didn't really sleep...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carol H
Adam S, General Manager at Stoke Place, responded to this review

Thank you for your constructive review, and whilst I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us overall and intend to return in the future, I have addressed the points where we fell short of expectations on this occasion with the team, and we will also ensure that you are provided with a room on a lower floor in future....

Stanford in the Vale, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked four rooms for a family event nearby but were sadly disappointed. To be more specific we all stayed in the Garden Rooms and although lower end price for this location we still expected a level of quality at £123 (with breakfast) per night which was not delivered. Yes, the main house looked and grounds looked very nice and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank andrewglenday
Adam S, General Manager at Stoke Place, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, however I was disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us with regard to your accommodation. The garden rooms where you stayed are enjoyed by many of our guests, particularly in terms of their position in the old kitchen gardens, and are due to be fully refurbished this year as part...

Solihull, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 March 2017 via mobile

Check in was poor - no explanation of anything. No mention of the restaurant for dinner or breakfast or bar or anything else for that matter. The room was shocking for £136 per night. One of the worst hotel rooms i have ever stayed in. Worn, wonky and stupidly warm. Bed was shocking, creaking and not comfortable. The desk space...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jeza87
Adam S, General Manager at Stoke Place, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, however I was extremely concerned to read of your poor experience at Stoke Place, especially in relation to the service you received upon your arrival. All of our bedrooms do vary considerably in size and layout as you would expect from a 16th century house, however we would have made every effort to offer you...

327 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (269)
Viewed
Dining (50)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (57)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (43)
Viewed
Bathroom (29)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
2:17
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (78)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (58)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Other (26)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stoke Poges
1.3 km away
Stoke Park Country Club, Spa and Hotel
4.5 km away
Burnham Beeches Hotel
Burnham Beeches Hotel
#2 of 3 in Burnham
757 reviews
1.4 km away
Pinewood Hotel
Pinewood Hotel
#12 of 21 in Slough
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 km away
Grovefield House
Grovefield House
#1 of 3 in Burnham
565 reviews
7.2 km away
Crowne Plaza Gerrards Cross
Crowne Plaza Gerrards Cross
#1 of 7 in Beaconsfield
343 reviews
7.8 km away
Cliveden House
Cliveden House
#1 of 2 in Taplow
925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A Modern Country HouseStoke Place is a reinvention of the traditional country house - a home from home environment, ideal for celebrations and with the feel of an aristocratic-owned private house.With 39 bedrooms, 7 individually designed private rooms seating from 8 to 200 people, extensive gardens designed by the legendary Capability Brown and a gym and treatment room, Stoke Place offers conferences, weddings, quiet getaways and fantastic dining.Recently awarded 3 AA Rosettes for culinary excellence and a Notable wine list award. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Stoke Place

Address: Stoke Green, Stoke Poges SL2 4HT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Stoke Poges
Price Range: $149 - $344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Stoke Place 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stoke Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stoke Place Hotel Stoke Poges
Stoke Place Poges
Stoke Place Hotel Poges
Stoke Place Stoke Poges, Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Stoke Place staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Solihull, United Kingdom
London, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Stoke Place staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“How to get a good room..... go elsewhere.”
King_Leonidas_300, 6 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Alexander Suite is the best in the Hotel - definitely recommended.”
joelf496, 5 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Do not book The Garden Rooms - either pay more for main house or stay somewhere else.”
andrewglenday, 3 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Get ones with a view or bungalows in the grounds”
davey099, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“It's an old house, so you are up and down stairs all the time. All rooms seemed fine, based on our wedding guests feedback.”
FlyBacon, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Priceline
US$89* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$92
Hotwire.comUS$89
Hotels.comUS$89
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates