We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Peckforton Castle

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Peckforton Castle
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,997 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,990: English reviews
Start your review of Peckforton Castle
 Click to rate
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This was our second stay here so we knew what to expect, a stunning location with great food and great staff. On arrival to our room there was a birthday card from the directors for me along with a room upgrade! We spent time exploring the castle and you can have a free guided tour which is great as you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helen N
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My Husband and I have just returned from a joint birthday treat. This was our 2nd visit to Peckforton Castle, Whilst our room was clean and well presented, with a tiny bathroom. it just didn't have the wow factor . Whilst waiting for my husband to return from the car park another couple arrived to check in , The receptionist...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank carol j
Stefan H, Guest Relations Manager at Peckforton Castle, responded to this review

Thank you Carol for your review. I am sorry to hear of the initial issues with your stay, and I would also like to thank you for your feedback as it is invaluable for us to ensure that we maintain what I believe to be the usual high standards of Peckforton Castle. I am glad however that our staff have...

Warrington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The Castle is stunning, the facilities for the conference, activities, evening banquet, entertainment and overnight stay were excellent. The day ran like clockwork. I was one of the organisers and the feedback from colleagues was they really enjoyed the day and it was one of the best, the location and facilities could not be faulted. We ran a medieval theme...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 50Hazel
Stefan H, Guest Relations Manager at Peckforton Castle, responded to this review

Thank you Hazel for a wonderful review. I am very pleased that your event has been a success, and that you and your have enjoyed your time here so much. It's always wonderful to hear such positive feedback, and I do hope to welcome you back to Peckforton Castle in the future.

Stoke-on-Trent, England
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Took my bud for a birthday treat. The castle is lovely and we could see the attractions for weddings. The spa however qas puzzling for such a sizeable venue. The communal changing room had two showers. There were lockers but nowhere to change. We had to wait for the occupants to shower and dress before we could do either. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JussyErgo
Stefan H, Guest Relations Manager at Peckforton Castle, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations. I would like to thank you for your feedback however as it is invaluable for us to ensure that we maintain what I believe to be the usual high standards of Peckforton Castle. I will discuss your comments regarding the Spa with...

Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We recently stayed here 11th March for the couples offer which included the Spa Treatment/Dinner/Breakfast. We did find the booking itself quite unorganised. Upon booking the package, I paid my deposit and that was that. It was only through reading tripadvisor reviews that I spotted we needed to book the treatments and dinner in advance, which no one informed me...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leah G
Stefan H, Guest Relations Manager at Peckforton Castle, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry that your experience has not lived up to your expectations, however I would like to thank you for your feedback as it is invaluable for us to ensure that we maintain what I believe to be the usual high standards of Peckforton Castle. I am glad however that the staff have been...

Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewed 1 week ago

The only negative thing I can say about the hotel is the motivation of the staff at the reception. Welcome could be more friendly. But the rest is superior. The location in the country side. The buildings. The rooms. The food in the restaurant. It is a special location for marriage or business meetings. I can recommend the hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank snowrover
Ellen B, Guest Relations Manager at Peckforton Castle, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and for your recommendation. Glad to see that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay, hope to welcome you back again in the future.

sarahball78
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This was our 3rd stay at Peckforton and yet again could not fault a thing. There was a large Wedding on which we only knew about as we spotted it through a door as the staff we're delivering food! There was no noise or disruption to anywhere in the hotel which amazed us! Staff attentitive, food excellent and room was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sarahball78
Ellen B, Guest Relations Manager at Peckforton Castle, responded to this review

Thank you Sarah for your wonderful review. It was lovely to welcome you back to the Castle again and so glad we could impress. Hope to see you back again soon!

Runcorn, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Treated by my nephew to a champagne afternoon tea and what a delight! The setting is sumptuous, the staff could not be better and the food..... well!!!!! We started with tea and coffee, the latter of which was a little weak for my taste but non the less served in a nice chintzy service. Then the tiers of sandwiches and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ruthsad
Lauren J, Guest Relations Manager at Peckforton Castle, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review of our Indulgent Afternoon Tea. I am delighted to read that you had a wonderful experience and you enjoyed every aspect of the service and food. We do hope to welcome both yourself and your nephew back to the castle in the near future.

Reviewed 1 week ago

I never normally get around to writing a review but for Peckforton, I feel i just have to do one straight away! From first contacting you about booking our relax and play package, the communication from Jane was superb! Really helpful and friendly. I brought my daughter here for her 18th birthday treat (13th March). From the moment we drove...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Traci T
Stefan H, Guest Relations Manager at Peckforton Castle, responded to this review

Thank you Traci for your wonderful review. I am very pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us so much, and that you cannot wait for a return visit! It's always lovely to hear such great feedback, especially about our staff who are always aiming to exceed expectations. I will pass on your comments about Jane, Christie, Jess and...

Milton Keynes, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Lovely atmospheric castle with an amazing restaurant - the best meal I have ever experienced! Unfortunately the room was extremely small and due to a large wedding we had to wait 25 mins for a coffee at breakfast. However a lovely place to visit and very attentive staff.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gillian W
Stefan H, Guest Relations Manager at Peckforton Castle, responded to this review

Thank you Gillian for your review. I am glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us, and that you have taken in the special atmosphere that Peckforton Castle has to offer. It's also always nice to hear about the attentiveness of our staff, who are always aiming to exceed expectations. I am sorry to hear of your wait on...

1,062 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1034)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (242)
Viewed
Room/Suite (130)
Viewed
Bathroom (28)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (21)
Viewed
Dining (37)
Viewed
View from Room (22)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (552)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarporley
12.8 km away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
5.7 km away
Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa
20.3 km away
Crewe Hall
Crewe Hall
#2 of 9 in Crewe
2,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 km away
Nunsmere Hall Hotel
Nunsmere Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oakmere
816 reviews
2.7 km away
Wild Boar Hotel
Wild Boar Hotel
#3 of 5 in Tarporley
1,124 reviews
14.3 km away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
1851 Restaurant
1851 Restaurant
Cuisines: British
2010 Brasserie
2010 Brasserie
Cuisines: British
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Peckforton Castle - An enchanting Hotel in the heart of Cheshire. Rising majestically above the Cheshire landscape, the castle is both enigmatic and enchanting. Originally the home of Lord Tollemache and built in the early 19th Century, this Grade I listed building is the only intact medieval style Castle in the country. Over the years the castle has been the location for numerous movies including Robin Hood and Dr Who. Now owned by the Naylor family, the stunning exterior has been complemented by a loving and considered restoration programme resulting in a magnificent hotel and venue offering contemporary luxury and impeccable service. Services include 48 stunning individual guest rooms, conference, events, and wedding facilities for up to 180. Tranquility beauty, on site Falconry and team activities all adding up to a rather magical experience. Dining at the Castle truly is a special occasion, welcoming the public as well as hotel guests. The 1851 Restaurant offers a dining experience fit for royalty. Holder of 3 AA Rosettes and a Taste Cheshire Award. Alternatively the more informal and cosmopolitan 2010 Brasserie, located in the former scullery of the castle, features many of the amazing features of the original scullery including two cast iron cooking ranges dating back to the 1840's. Peckforton Castle's enchanting medieval style beauty and stunning location make it a truly impressive and desirable venue for weddings, christenings, birthday parties, or just about anything that's worth celebrating. Everything plays a part; the fabulous setting, stunning location, the attentive service and smiling faces, the bespoke menus and decorations. A magnificent venue for conferencing and meetings. Within the medieval walls, old and new combine seamlessly to offer state of the art multi media and conference facilities. Captivating on arrival, Peckforton Castle's unspoilt, natural beauty will stimulate and motivate, delight the eye, inspire the mind, tantalise the taste buds and leave you enchanted. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Peckforton Castle

Address: Stone House Lane, Tarporley CW6 9TN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Tarporley
Price Range: $285 - $365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Peckforton Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Travelocity, LateRooms and HRS so you can book your Peckforton Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peckforton Castle Hotel Tarporley
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Peckforton Castle staff and other travellers.
21 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (21)

Questions? Get answers from Peckforton Castle staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't choose room 111”
 of 5 bubbles EnDSymms, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Well worth the upgrade if you can - makes it extra special”
 of 5 bubbles KellyRickDerby, 7 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Apparently the rooms in the 300's or 800's are the best of them all, we had 401, which was lovely, so not sure how they could improve!”
 of 5 bubbles karenbury_11, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“If you can't manage the steps ask for a lower floor”
 of 5 bubbles AntoinettepCannock, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Not all rooms can be accessed by the lift, you will need to let the hotel know if you cannot climb stairs.”
 of 5 bubbles CFA69, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5