We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Peckforton Castle

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Peckforton Castle
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget"},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,853 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Peckforton Castle
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,846: English reviews
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2015

Stayed once again at this lovely hotel. Nice room, excellent evening meal in 1851 and then followed by a good breakfast in the morning. We visited the wine cellar for drinks after dining in 1851 and had a really good night. I would recommend this place for a romantic break.

Helpful?
Thank leeshearwood
Michael A, General Manager at Peckforton Castle, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed the anniversary stay. Do come back soon. More 

Cheshire, England (UK)
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2015

We went for afternoon lunch. When we initially sat down the waitress was attentive but then went down hill. We ordered extra chips with our lunch, these didn't come and I had to ask for them. After we'd finished, we waited for 15 mins for somebody to take away our finished plates before I had to ask somebody to do... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank bobleeigo
Michael A, General Manager at Peckforton Castle, responded to this review

Sorry to read that we weren't speedy enough in terms of service. I will share your comments with the team and affect additional training where necessary. More 

DONCASTER - UK
Level Contributor
109 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2015 via mobile

Decided to stay for wedding anniversary and found a reasonably priced deal on the Internet. Check in and out both smooth with cautious staff on hand to assist at each event. Dinner was well prepared and presented well, though i would say the menu is somewhat simple in choice. The castle itself is spectacular and added greatly to the occasion.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank KThewanderer
Michael A, General Manager at Peckforton Castle, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed your visit, hope to see you back again. More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2015

Haven't been here since it's been turned into a hotel. We went for a 30th anniversary, our stay, the castle and the service all met our expectations. We shared a cream tea on arrival in the lounge before relaxing in our beautifully appointed turret room. Pre dinner drinks in the lounge followed by a pretty good dinner capped off a... More 

Helpful?
Thank David T
Michael A, General Manager at Peckforton Castle, responded to this review

Firstly, happy anniversary from the team here! So great to read how much you enjoyed your anniversary celebrations with us. Hope to see you again soon. More 

Ilkeston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2015

my son got married here, spent many thousands of pounds, both sets of parents booked our rooms months in advance to ensure we had them, and both were extremely disappointed with them, some rooms are lovely and spacious with rolltop baths, while ours were so small you had to open doors a certain way to squeeze around them, also if... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank D O
Michael A, General Manager at Peckforton Castle, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. As in any hotel, we have different bedroom categories. The rooms you had booked were classic doubles, our standard bedrooms at the standard room rate of £155.00. Had you wanted a larger room with roll top bath, these are available at a supplement, as these are classed as executive rooms. Glad you though all other... More 

Level Contributor
54 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2015

stayed here for one evening like a number of people for the landrover experience the following day. The room was fine nothing special but a decent room. We booked an evening meal which I must say was excellent, the service the food and the atmosphere in the restraunt was amazing. The staff were different class. We slept well even though... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dmaw
Michael A, General Manager at Peckforton Castle, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. I will be sure to share your feedback with our breakfast team and use them to improve service where possible. More 

Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2015 via mobile

I have never written a review on anything before, but felt I had to review the amazing Peckforton Castle in Cheshire. I have wanted to visit Peckforton Castle since I have seen it on a number of wedding programmes. I wasn't disappointed. The drive up to the castle is like something from a fairytale and when I entered the castle... More 

Helpful?
Thank Amie_Holland
Michael A, General Manager at Peckforton Castle, responded to this review

Thank you for the fabulous write up! So glad we exceeded your expectations and we look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2015

We were impressed with the castle. Checking in was efficient & friendly. Our room was delightful - I especially enjoyed using the slipper bath. Some parts of the hotel are small e.g. The courtyard - an outside area for drinking & eating, the 2010 bar & surrounding tables is a little crowded. In the evening we ate in a lovely... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kelbobs
Michael A, General Manager at Peckforton Castle, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. Good to read how much you enjoyed the visit. More 

Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2015 via mobile

The most amazing few days away! I surprised my boyfriend for his 21st going to Peckforton castle, staying overnight and also booked him in to do a Land Rover experience which was incredible! We were left speechless! The 1851 restaurant was so luxurious and the waitresses were lovely! So relaxing, managed to get a table by the window looking over... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Shona C
Michael A, General Manager at Peckforton Castle, responded to this review

Thanks for the fab review! So glad you and your boyfriend enjoyed the break and we hope to see you again. More 

Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2015

Just spent 2 nights at the castle celebrating our wedding Anniversary, expecting an outstanding experience but this was not always the case. had to park and walk up to the castle with bags, not the 5 star start we were expecting. We checked in and the room was ready, we went up in the lift but were not advised how... More 

Helpful?
Thank macbeauty
Michael A, General Manager at Peckforton Castle, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We do offer a full valet parking service and there are signs on the way up the drive informing guests of this. Apologies that you were disturbed by other guests, we hope it will not deter you from visiting again. More 

968 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (940)
Viewed
Room/Suite (126)
Viewed
Bathroom (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (216)
Viewed
View from Room (22)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (16)
Viewed
Dining (35)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (497)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarporley
12.8 km away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
12.2 km away
Nunsmere Hall Hotel
Nunsmere Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oakmere
754 reviews
15.0 km away
Oddfellows
Oddfellows
#8 of 45 in Chester
958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 km away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
5.8 km away
Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa
2.7 km away
Wild Boar Hotel
Wild Boar Hotel
#3 of 5 in Tarporley
1,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Peckforton Castle - An enchanting Hotel in the heart of Cheshire. Rising majestically above the Cheshire landscape, the castle is both enigmatic and enchanting. Originally the home of Lord Tollemache and built in the early 19th Century, this Grade I listed building is the only intact medieval style Castle in the country. Over the years the castle has been the location for numerous movies including Robin Hood and Dr Who. Now owned by the Naylor family, the stunning exterior has been complemented by a loving and considered restoration programme resulting in a magnificent hotel and venue offering contemporary luxury and impeccable service. Services include 48 stunning individual guest rooms, conference, events, and wedding facilities for up to 180. Tranquility beauty, on site Falconry and team activities all adding up to a rather magical experience. Dining at the Castle truly is a special occasion, welcoming the public as well as hotel guests. The 1851 Restaurant offers a dining experience fit for royalty. Holder of 3 AA Rosettes and a Taste Cheshire Award. Alternatively the more informal and cosmopolitan 2010 Brasserie, located in the former scullery of the castle, features many of the amazing features of the original scullery including two cast iron cooking ranges dating back to the 1840's. Peckforton Castle's enchanting medieval style beauty and stunning location make it a truly impressive and desirable venue for weddings, christenings, birthday parties, or just about anything that's worth celebrating. Everything plays a part; the fabulous setting, stunning location, the attentive service and smiling faces, the bespoke menus and decorations. A magnificent venue for conferencing and meetings. Within the medieval walls, old and new combine seamlessly to offer state of the art multi media and conference facilities. Captivating on arrival, Peckforton Castle's unspoilt, natural beauty will stimulate and motivate, delight the eye, inspire the mind, tantalise the taste buds and leave you enchanted. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Peckforton Castle

Address: Stone House Lane, Tarporley CW6 9TN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Tarporley
Price Range: $237 - $360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Peckforton Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HRS and LateRooms so you can book your Peckforton Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peckforton Castle Hotel Tarporley
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Peckforton Castle staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Peckforton Castle staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try to avoid one of the older rooms unless its got a decent mattress.”
  • View from room 301
 of 5 bubbles MartinEdwards1, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Theme named and Executive rooms are quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles 840hilaryg, 12 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Make sure you are not too high up if you are over 50 . Many half lit stone steps.”
 of 5 bubbles LeslieP531, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Talk to reception prior to arrival, also check room heating before you unpack.”
 of 5 bubbles N7801ROdenisep, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Take some sensible shoes for the hundreds of stone steps”
 of 5 bubbles F9688KJsusanm, 7 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay