We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Lodore Falls Hotel

TripAdvisorUS$248*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$248*
US$248*
US$248*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
Panoramas (1)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,028 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Lodore Falls Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,027: English reviews
Annan, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 September 2015

This is one of my favourite hotels, we booked it through secret escapes and what a bargain, bed, breakfast evening meal and afternoon tea for £124 for my husband and I. The hot tub is outside and is to die for and the walks around the hotel are for all levels of fitness

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anne Marie H
GMLodore, General Manager at Lodore Falls Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ‘Anne Marie H’ Thank you for your review, we are all so pleased you enjoyed your short stay with us and everything was perfect for you both. As you mention there are a number of wonderful walks around us to cater for all levels, Reception can help if needed. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future....

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 September 2015

Very pleasant hotel, food excellent,staff friendly. Paid extra for view of the lake,which was beautiful but lots of rooms expensive with no views. Standard process was to take £50 from you rather than just swipe your debit card - this was refunded promptly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carole D
GMLodore, General Manager at Lodore Falls Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ‘Carole D’ Thank you for your review, so pleased you enjoyed all aspects of your stay. I am pleased you found the staff friendly and enjoyed the food on offer for Dinner and breakfast. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Many thanks Matt Collins General Manager

victoria
Reviewed 28 September 2015 via mobile

Very nice traditional hotel. ..stayed for one night but felt like this hotel was a place that friends and families have been coming for many years. The surrounding grounds we beautiful and meticulous. ..the hotel is of course a little dated but that can be expected. The common areas had great furniture and were all very comfortable. Staff writer very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tylercon
GMLodore, General Manager at Lodore Falls Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ‘tylercon’ Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay with us. We are so pleased you enjoyed all aspects of your stay, we have a lot of regular visitors to the hotel who have been coming for years, some as far back from when my Father worked here! We hope to welcome you...

Victoria, Canada
Reviewed 28 September 2015

We booked our room through Secret Escapes and by and large it was a lovely and quintessentially English experience. The room was well appointed with comfortable bed, good linens, nice amenities including bathroom toiletries and tea service. And yes, there was a trouser press - but no iron. Our rate included dinner the night of arrival and breakfast on departure....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leah M
GMLodore, General Manager at Lodore Falls Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ‘Leah H’ Thank you for your review, I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. I will as I do with all feedback share with my team to continue to improve our offer. We try not to clutter the rooms too much and as such we do not put Iron & Boards in all the rooms...

Reviewed 28 September 2015

Situation is of course perfect but the Hotel is entirely average, £250 per night is way overpriced, rooms are decent but MFI furniture and small bathrooms are not what you expect at 5 star London prices. Food is of course Lake District tariff but restaurant is good and breakfast hearty enough for walkers. Instead of 2 nights try a cottage...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Spikes-Dad
GMLodore, General Manager at Lodore Falls Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ‘Spikes Dad’ Thank you for your review, I’m sorry you didn’t like the furniture. We are in the process of upgrading rooms and as with the original furniture we purchase good quality solid items. The rooms are all different sizes and in general the higher the category the larger the room. We have a varied age group that stays...

Reviewed 27 September 2015 via mobile

The hotel location is great and allows you to go for walks around the area. The food is amazing! Breakfast and dinner were brilliant. It is sometimes hard to try other places when you know the food in there is so good. I would definitely recommend it for a weekend with your other half. Lovely experience

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rosario S
GMLodore, General Manager at Lodore Falls Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ‘Rosario S’ Thank you for taking the time to review your short break with us, we are all so pleased all aspects were of a high standard and hope to welcome you back soon. Many thanks Matt Collins General Manager

Edinburgh
Reviewed 27 September 2015

Been here for two hours for our honeymoon. First level apartment 133 is the worst. View of the car park, restricted view of the lake, and the only one without a balcony. Ordered afternoon tea and the waitress rolled her eyes when I did not know my table number.... Great start Lodore, I guess you can only get better!!

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Bridget C
GMLodore, General Manager at Lodore Falls Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ‘Bridget C’ Thank you for your review, please except my apologies for the disappointment received. I’m pleased we managed to overcome the initial challenges. Not all our Lake View rooms have Balconies the majority were a recent addition this year. We look forward to welcoming you back. Many thanks Matt Collins General Manager

Harrogate, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 September 2015

i have stayed here for many years enjoying the beautiful and fabulous countryside. the hotel is situated on the side of the lake. I find the hotel very comfortable with excellent rooms, very good food.its just great to relax and admire the scenery. will look forward to my next stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank roger t
GMLodore, General Manager at Lodore Falls Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ‘Roger T’ Thank you for your review, it is always nice to hear from one of our regular guests. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Many thanks Matt Collins General Manager

Troon
Reviewed 24 September 2015 via mobile

I don't agree with the negative reviews. Booked this hotel on booking.com for a very competitive price. Room was perfectly nice overlooking the side of the fells. The hotel is situated in a beautiful position and we had 2 lovely days just walking in the country , swimming in the pool and relaxing in the sauna. Staff were excellent and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CarolTroon
GMLodore, General Manager at Lodore Falls Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ‘Carol Troon’ Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review, we are pleased you enjoyed all aspects of your stay. We strive to always achieve excellent customer service and occasionally we don’t get it right and we always try to address any comments at the time when raised. We look forward to welcoming you back....

Exmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 September 2015

We were here for a family wedding which could not have been in more idyllic surroundings.. Such a beautiful wedding. Sadly the hotel itself had a few issues. The room was rather small and more reminiscent of a travelodge. The room was a jaw dropping £270 per night. For that I would have expected more when you consider where you...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank NYC4Me
GMLodore, General Manager at Lodore Falls Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ‘NYC4me’ Thank you for your review and for taking the time to speak with me after you checked out. I’m really sorry that there were some shortfalls during your stay with us. I am not aware of any difference in price between the two bars as they use exactly the same buttons on the till, if you chose a...

952 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (713)
Viewed
View from Room (53)
Viewed
Room/Suite (62)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (15)
Viewed
Dining (58)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (194)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (8)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (308)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (200)
Viewed
Amenities (22)
Viewed
Fell View Double Room (46)
Viewed
Indoor Pool (5)
Viewed
Outdoor Heated Pool (3)
Viewed
Outdoor Hot Tub (5)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
The Hotel (95)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (39)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (8)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borrowdale
25.1 km away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
28.3 km away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,316 reviews
0.8 km away
The Borrowdale Hotel
The Borrowdale Hotel
#3 of 5 in Borrowdale
922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 km away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,588 reviews
33.4 km away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
1,259 reviews
14.0 km away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled in the heart of the Borrowdale valley and overlooking Lake Derwentwater, the Lodore Falls Hotel has one of the finest settings in the Lake District, with access to some of the most impressive walks in the area from the front door. The hotel offers the Lakeland welcome associated with family ownership and courteous staff, who are always on hand to welcome and assist you in a friendly way during your stay. Delicious light meals and afternoon teas are available throughout the day in the comfortable lounges overlooking Derwentwater and in the early evening you can enjoy a drink in the bar before experiencing some of the region's finest cuisine served in the elegant Award Winning AA Rosette Lake View restaurant. Famous for style, service and hospitality, the Lodore Falls Hotel offers the perfect location to suit all tastes. Hotel Improvement works 2017 We have exciting plans to create a new chapter in the history of the Lodore Falls Hotel. The ground floor of the hotel has been completely renovated, from the start of our renovations in January 2017 our leisure club and beauty salon will remain closed until Summer 2018, when we reveal our brand new luxury spa and a brasserie restaurant with an outdoor terrace, as well as 18 new exclusive bedroom suites. While this carefully planned development is underway we will do everything in our power to ensure these works do not impact on our guests experience. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Lodore Falls Hotel

Address: Borrowdale | Keswick, Borrowdale CA12 5UX, England (Formerly Hilton Keswick Lodore)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Borrowdale
Price Range: $256 - $505 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lodore Falls Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Lodore Falls Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodore Falls Keswick
Hotel Lodore Falls
Lodore Falls Hotel Borrowdale/Keswick, UK
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Lodore Falls Hotel staff and other travellers.
20 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (20)

Questions? Get answers from Lodore Falls Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Request a room overlooking the front.”
490claudiab, 24 May 2017 | Read review
“Lake view if you can afford it will mean you do not overlook the building site”
mausie69, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“Lake views are not disrupted by the building work, whereas fell view rooms are very much so.”
  • View from room 310
  • View from room 310
  • View from room 310
  • View from room 310
  • View from room 310
Lucie02, 16 May 2017 | Read review
“Choose a room with a view, and preferably French doors - too good to miss!”
166garyt, 8 May 2017 | Read review
“Be sure to follow up if the product or service is not up to the standard the hotel apparently offers”
ScotWasp, 1 May 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
TripAdvisor
US$248* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$248
PricelineUS$248
Agoda.comUS$248
View all 6 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates