We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
2017-10-29 2017-10-30
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    YHA Borrowdale

    Longthwaite, Keswick CA12 5XE, England
    011 44 345 371 9624
    Hotel website
    Save
    Lowest prices for your stay
    2017-10-292017-10-30
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    US$32
    US$14
    SAVE US$18
    US$32
    Traveller (39)
    Dining (5)
    Room & Suite (5)
    Overview
    • Excellent66%
    • Very good29%
    • Average3%
    • Poor1%
    • Terrible1%
    Travellers talk about
    “games room” (20 reviews)
    “youth hostel” (20 reviews)
    Free Parking
    Restaurant
    Family Rooms
    Bar/Lounge
    Kitchenette
    Wheelchair Access
    Self-Serve Laundry
    Breakfast included
    4.0 Star Hotel
    All hotel details
    Offers from YHA Borrowdale
    Special Offer: BOOK DIRECT: 10% OFF
    Deals
    Oct 29Oct 30
    |
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    • Check booking site for details
      US$14
      View Deal
    • Check booking site for details
      US$32
      View Deal
    View all 4 deals
    Write a Review
    Reviews (219)
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language

    1 - 5 of 216 reviews

    Reviewed 1 week ago

    Stayed in a pod with the dog while doing the Cumbrian Way. this place has the best drying room I've ever been in. Me and my mate were soaked through from a day in the hills, but next day our kit was totally dry. They...More

    Thank Mark_BSurrey
    Response from Rhys M, Manager at YHA BorrowdaleResponded 6 days ago

    Thank you for your review Mark, I am so pleased you found the hostel to be a Walker's Paradise. I am appreciate your commendations on our drying room, as outdoor enthusiasts ourselves we understand the need for a large and toasty room to dry gear....More

    Property's Favourite Review
    Reviewed 4 March 2017

    Lovely setting. Great staff. Friendly bar. Stayed in a pod for 3 night which was great - warm and cosy even in sub zero temperature. Clean facilities. Good breakfast. Could go on forever - just see for yourself.More

    1  Thank Bugs1947
    Response from Chris E, Manager at YHA BorrowdaleResponded 14 March 2017

    Thanks for an amazing review :) We are chuffed to bits that you were so impressed with the pod and the hostel facilities. If you liked it this time of year when it can get pretty cold on an evening then you should try coming...More

    Reviewed 2 weeks ago

    The layout of this place is good - all on one floor. The drying room is very effective. The cook plays good dance music in the kitchen. The library contains an interesting biography of Alfred Wainwright by Hunter Davies. Staff are all really helpful, gave...More

    Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)
    Thank dwt1950
    Response from Rhys M, Manager at YHA BorrowdaleResponded 1 week ago

    Thank you for a very lovely review, it is much appreciated. I will pass on your comments to our chef about their music. We do have a fine selection of books, there have been a significant amount of books written about the Lakes and there's...More

    Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

    I was disappointed with our room. Tiny wooden bunk bed that would be better suited to a child. Couldn't even sit up straight on the bottom bunk. We stayed at the yha grasmere the next night and they had far more suitable bunk beds. Obviously...More

    Thank lynda B
    Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

    Stunning location in the heart of the lake district. Very peaceful. Ideal for walkers and families. Fellow guests seemed to call it a night at a reasonable hour so had a good night's sleep. No WiFi in the rooms. Would definitely stay here again.More

    Thank Jesse D
    Response from Rhys M, Manager at YHA BorrowdaleResponded 3 weeks ago

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us a fantastic review, we generally have lovely and respectful guests stay with us, making for a sounds night sleep. I am glad we could provide you with some peace in such lovely surroundings. We are always...More

    Scafell Hotel
    832 reviews
    #1 of 1 hotels in Rosthwaite
     
    The Derwentwater Hotel
    749 reviews
    #1 of 1 hotels in Portinscale
     
    The Keswick Country House Hotel
    1,604 reviews
    #5 of 17 hotels in Keswick
     
    Mary Mount Hotel
    552 reviews
    #4 of 17 hotels in Keswick
     
    About
    Awards & Recognition
    Certificate of Excellence
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
    • Free Parking
    • Self-Serve Laundry
    • Things to do
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    Details
    • Price range
    • US$16 - US$172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Hotel class
    • Room types
    • Family Rooms ,
    • Kitchenette
    • Number of rooms
    • 22
    • Reservation Options
    • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your YHA Borrowdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
    • Location
    • United Kingdom >
    • England >
    • Cumbria >
    • Lake District >
    • Keswick >
    • Borrowdale
    • Also Known As
    • YHA Borrowdale Keswick, UK
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (39)
    Dining (5)
    Room & Suite (5)
    Hotel & Grounds (57)
    Nearby
    Sponsored by:
    Mary Mount Hotel
    552 reviews
    5.05 km away
     
    The Derwentwater Hotel
    749 reviews
    9.38 km away
     
    Scafell Hotel
    832 reviews
    .71 km away
     
    The Keswick Country House Hotel
    1,604 reviews
    9.60 km away
     
    Nearby Restaurants
    Flock Inn cafe & tea shop
    137 reviews
    .61 km away
    Littletown Farm
    44 reviews
    5.73 km away
    King's Head Inn
    71 reviews
    7.13 km away
    Swinside Inn
    218 reviews
    7.64 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Castle Crag
    51 reviews
    1.79 km away
    The Bowder Stone
    151 reviews
    2.18 km away
    Catbells Lakeland Walk
    1,232 reviews
    6.29 km away
    Lodore Falls
    95 reviews
    4.69 km away
    Ask a question
    Questions & Answers
    Ammo83
    7 July 2017|
    Answer
    Response from Rhys M | Property representative |
    Hello, Unfortunately we do not allow fires when camping, the camping field is a grass lawn and just couldn't take the damage. There is a river running through the grounds where guests sometimes make a small campfire. Kind... More
    0
    Votes
    Patrick S
    14 May 2017|
    Answer
    Response from Rhys M | Property representative |
    Hello Patrick, Yes you can rent towels with us, we charge £2 per towel and you can retain it for the duration of your stay. Thanks, Rhys
    1
    Vote
    Room Tips
    "book in advance for weekends."
    Read review
    "Ring the hostel and ask for there assistance, with any special requests."
    Read review
    "Only one power socket per room!!!!!"
    Read review
    "Try and get a room looking over the front to the river."
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing