We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

YHA Borrowdale

Save
Traveller (41)
Dining (5)
Room & Suite (5)
Overview
  • Excellent65%
  • Very good30%
  • Average3%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“games room”(20 reviews)
“youth hostel”(22 reviews)
“drying room”(28 reviews)
Free Parking
Breakfast Available
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Family Rooms
Bar/Lounge
Kitchenette
4.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (233)Write a Review
Filter reviews
230 results
Traveller rating
147
70
8
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
147
70
8
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgames roomyouth hosteldrying roomself catering kitchenbunk bedscamping podstop bunkcommon roomscafell piketable footballlake districtgreat gablereal alereal firebeautiful locationnight's sleepboard games
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 230 reviews
Reviewed 6 days ago

A cosy hostel with an alpine lodge feel to it. The log fire in the main room and comfy sofas were great after a day's walking. Breakfast was good and plenty of it to even fill our hungry teenagers. The location is gorgeous and we...More

Thank PoyntonSmith
Response from Rhys M, Manager at YHA BorrowdaleResponded 2 days ago

Many thanks for your review, I am really pleased that you made use of our cosy lounge and our fire is always comforting on a Winter's eve. It sounds like you chose a really pleasant round trip for your walk catching several of the local...More

Reviewed 13 January 2018 via mobile

We had a one night stay in a pod on a very cold January night - but no problem at all. Wonderfully warm and cosy! Staff were all exceptionally helpful and welcoming, the bar is fantastic, and quite simply it's my most very favourite YHA....More

Thank Paul2226
Response from Rhys M, Manager at YHA BorrowdaleResponded 2 weeks ago

That's fantastic :) We are chuffed to bits to hear you liked it so much your already planning your next trip! See you again soon All the best Chris & the Team YHA Borrowdale

Reviewed 13 January 2018

All time favourite Winter hostel with great drying facilities. Otherwise, has a most charming wood panelled common room with cosy sofas and fire place. Great to relax in. Lovely staff and set in stunning location.

Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)
Thank TanjaVB
Response from Rhys M, Manager at YHA BorrowdaleResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for an amazing review. We love it this time of year too! See you again soon Chris & the Team YHA Borrowdale

Reviewed 3 January 2018

The location of this hostel is stunning and you can forget the car - park up and walk away. The hostel was beautifully decorated for Christmas- the wreaths on each door was a really nice touch. The staff were friendly and helpful .More

Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)
Thank Gerard339
Response from Rhys M, Manager at YHA BorrowdaleResponded 5 January 2018

Many thanks for leaving us a lovely review, we are very lucky with our location and the instant access to the fells, I am pleased you made use of it. Our staff got really involved in the Christmas decorations and I really think it paid...More

Reviewed 24 December 2017 via mobile

By far my favourite hostel that I have been to so far, a one I would love to go back to again. The only downside for me was the drive from the village to the hostel itself, it’s a rough one track road where you...More

Thank Frankie079
Response from Rhys M, Manager at YHA BorrowdaleResponded 29 December 2017

Thank you so much for leaving us such a wonderful review, it is reassuring to hear such positive feedback, our staff work very hard to provide a warm welcome to our guests and their work is obviously paying off. The drive way is unfortunately narrow,...More

View more reviews
PreviousNext
12345646
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Hotel Amenities
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Free Parking
Self-Serve Laundry
Breakfast Available
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$34 - US$190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Family Rooms, Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Details
Price range
US$34 - US$190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Family Rooms, Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (41)
Dining (5)
Room & Suite (5)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Ammo83
7 July 2017|
Answer
Response from Rhys M | Property representative |
Hello, Unfortunately we do not allow fires when camping, the camping field is a grass lawn and just couldn't take the damage. There is a river running through the grounds where guests sometimes make a small campfire. Kind... More
0
Votes
Patrick S
14 May 2017|
Answer
Response from Rhys M | Property representative |
Hello Patrick, Yes you can rent towels with us, we charge £2 per towel and you can retain it for the duration of your stay. Thanks, Rhys
1
Vote
Room Tips
"book in advance for weekends."
Read review
"Ring the hostel and ask for there assistance, with any special requests."
Read review
"Only one power socket per room!!!!!"
Read review
"Try and get a room looking over the front to the river."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing