We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Ennerdale Country House Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Ennerdale Country House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

456 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Ennerdale Country House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 456: English reviews
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 25 August 2015

Staying here, on route doing C2C. First impression was grandeur. Sweeping Gardens immaculate. Very friendly staff and extremely helpful, seeing we arrived much earlier than expected. Our room overlooking these beautiful gardens. Very clean and appointment ensuite. Dinner was delicious (met the chef) and breakfast was what any walker/hiker needed. Highly recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Judy D
Alan N, General Manager at Ennerdale Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Judy, Thank you for your positive comments from your stay with us at The Ennerdale Country House Hotel. Glad to note that you were well looked after and enjoyed the stay with us. Trust the rest of your walk went well. Many thanks for taking the time to record your comments. Kind regards Alan

North Wales
Reviewed 24 August 2015

Got a cheap 2 night deal b&b with dinner on the first night and I wasn't expecting much to be honest. Was very good though. I was massively delayed getting there and the held dinner for us as last orders was 9pm but I didn't get there until 9.15pm. There was loads of choice and really nice - 3 courses...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shaerob
Alan N, General Manager at Ennerdale Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to post a review from your stay with us at The Ennerdale Country House Hotel. I was pleased to note that we exceeded you expectations and there was many positive aspects that you commented on. I was also pleased to note that with you running late the staff held back dinner service...

Washington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 August 2015

Stayed for a weekend with my partner as a getaway and from the moment we parked up we were greeted by smiling faces, all members of staff were very friendly and helpful. Could not fault the room, plenty of space and a stunning view of the grounds with a quaint balcony which was lovely to stand out on first thing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shornajane
Alan N, General Manager at Ennerdale Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your posting following your stay with us at The Ennerdale Country House Hotel. I was pleased to note that you found many positive aspects during your time with us and the staff were friendly and helpfull. There is a programme of minor works ongoing at the hotel and the exterior work will be starting in...

Sabie, South Africa
Reviewed 17 August 2015

Stayed one night, at the end of our first day on Wainwright’s Coast To Coast Path. Glad we didn’t have to walk any further that day, as quite tired, so a great location for us. It was raining when we arrived, and when we left next morning, so unfortunately didn’t get to spend any time in the grounds. Our meal...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FuzzySalt
Alan N, General Manager at Ennerdale Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your review from your stay with us at The Ennerdale Country House Hotel. Glad to note your positive comments from your stay with us and it sounds like you were ready for a rest. Trust the rest of your walk was an enjoyable experience. Many thanks for taking the time to post your review as...

Mexborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 August 2015

Booked a weekend stay at this fantastic hotal unfortunately we had to cut our stay short due to family emergency, the room we stayed in was amazing the view from the balcony was breath taking and the hotel staff was very friendly and helpful, we booked to have a meal which was very nice, visited Whitehaven and St bees the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank karen4squesh
Alan N, General Manager at Ennerdale Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Karen, Thank you for taking the time to post your comments from your stay with us at The Ennerdale Country House Hotel. Sorry to note that you had to cut your visit short on this occasion. I was pleased to note that you did enjoy many aspects of your stay with us and that the staff looked after your...

Hebburn, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 August 2015 via mobile

Myself, my husband and our 1 yr old stayed here on Friday and what a lovely stay it was. As soon as we arrived we were greeted by Fiona on reception with a warm and friendly smile. Lots of fuss over our little one-which he loves! Room was lovely, light and airy. Took our little one into the gardens and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mrsdob
Alan N, General Manager at Ennerdale Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thank you taking the time to post your review from your stay with us at The Ennerdale Country House Hotel. I was particularly pleased to note that the staff looked after you well and you were able to enjoy some time with your husband while your son played around. Also pleased to note that you found other aspects...

Reviewed 14 August 2015 via mobile

We stayed for one night in August 2015 as a family of three. The room was large, comfortable, extremely clean and led out directly onto the beautiful lawns. We had an evening meal and breakfast during our stay; both meals were absolutely delicious! The staff at this hotel absolutely made our stay, our trip was planned for a family funeral...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Nikki B
Alan N, General Manager at Ennerdale Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Nikki, Thank you for your review from your stay with us at The Ennerdale Country House Hotel. I was pleased that you found many aspects of the hotel to be to your liking and that you had an enjoyable stay with us. It was a pleasure to make your daughter's birthday a little more special with the cake and...

Fleet, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 July 2015

We stayed at this hotel in July 2015 when attending a family event nearby. The lobby is welcoming and the staff friendly. The hotel building itself is very interesting, Scottish baronial style is perhaps the nearest approximation I can make. The quality of the furnishings in the public areas adds to the ambience of the hotel, antique chairs in abundance....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank GerardCrum
Alan N, General Manager at Ennerdale Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Gerard, Thank you for posting a review of The Ennerdale Country House Hotel. It was pleasing to note that overall you had an enjoyable stay with us and found your stay to represent good value for money. I do hope you find the time to visit us again and I look forward to welcoming you back to The Ennerdale....

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 July 2015

Stayed for two days with my wife and another couple. On first appearance it looks a little care worn. The grounds are brilliant. Staff are very informative and friendly. It is Alitalia out of the way but that means it is quiet if that's what you want. Bedrooms are very clean. Again a lick of paint in places wouldn't go...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank over40dave
Alan N, General Manager at Ennerdale Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Dave, Thank you for your review of The Ennerdale Country House Hotel. I was pleased to note that overall you found your stay to be an enjoyable one and you would visit us again. I have noted your points as regards a lick of paint. The poor condition of parts of the exterior will be addressed in the near...

Lancaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 July 2015 via mobile

We went there a few days ago as a few days honeymoon for us , its a great place helpful friendly staff our room was clean and big, nice semi four poster bed clean linen only disappointment was the pillows very tired needed replacing ,the bathroom was spacious and clean but I have to say the bathroom mirror was far...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Irishrover59
Alan N, General Manager at Ennerdale Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Congratulations on your recent marriage. Many thanks for your detailed review from your recent stay at The Ennerdale. I was pleased to note that you found many aspects of your stay to be enjoyable and you rated the hotel a 'great place'. I can confirm that recently we have replaced all the pilllows in the hotel and that...

129 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (119)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cleator
1.5 km away
Grove Court Hotel
Grove Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cleator
60 reviews
6.7 km away
Premier Inn Whitehaven Hotel
5.8 km away
The Manor
The Manor
#1 of 3 in St Bees
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 km away
Seacote Hotel
Seacote Hotel
#3 of 3 in St Bees
384 reviews
11.1 km away
Hunday Manor Country House Hotel
21.8 km away
Embleton Spa Hotel
Embleton Spa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Embleton
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Banquet Room
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Ennerdale Country House Hotel is a Grade 2 listed building nestled within 5 acres of tranquil landscaped gardens and Italian fountains and figurines. As you walk through our large beautifully refurbished hallways you will pass by painstakingly restored original fireplaces and ceilings and you will start to realise that this is only the beginning of an experience you will never forget. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ennerdale Country House Hotel

Address: Northern Lakes, Cleator CA23 3DT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Cleator
Price Range: $80 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ennerdale Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Ennerdale Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ennerdale Country Hotel
Ennerdale Country Cleator
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ennerdale Country House Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Ennerdale Country House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose one of the rooms in the annexe which overlooks the garden. Dog friendly having rooms with patio doors that open up into the gardens.”
 of 5 bubbles laineyiow, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We had a room with a garden view which was very attractive”
 of 5 bubbles bw800, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
“I loved Room 2”
 of 5 bubbles Stu6792, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Best rooms are on the back of the hotel overlooking the gardens”
 of 5 bubbles Whitley1962, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“To drain tub, flush toilet; do not miss the monkey tree; dim lighting in rooms. Worst food on the hike, other than the fresh vegetables.”
 of 5 bubbles fhungolfer, 8 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay